DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed April 29, 2026 in response to PTO Office Action dated December 29, 2025. The applicant’s remarks and amendment to the specification and/or claims were considered with the results that follow.
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination in this application. In response to the last Office Action, claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 18 have been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 23, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parthasarathy (US# 2020/0134479).
Regarding claim 1, Parthasarathy teaches a container-attached storage facility comprising: a cloud-resident (distributed storage) containerized control module [virtualized controller, 0082 & 0086; see also 0104 for executable storage container such as virtual disk controller 876/826] situated in a Kubernetes Pod [0105, lines 3-5] and a locator service that stores metadata pertaining to node-local storage facilities that form a storage pool, wherein multiple different environments (repository records, files, bucket, storage, etc.) are accessible using at least the locator service [0099, lines 1-9; see also 0091; and a plurality of storage devices organized into a common access space [0057, lines 1-4] and accessible by the cloud-resident containerized control module [0110], wherein, responsive to receiving a storage I/O request referencing a portion of storage addressable by the common access space, the cloud-resident containerized control module redirects the storage I/O request to a storage device of the common access space [0113], the storage I/O request referencing a portion of storage addressable in the common access space[0102, lines 29-35; 0108, lines 1-10], the cloud-resident containerized control module redirects the storage I/O request using the locator service, and the multiple different environments are accessible by the cloud-resident containerized control module using the locator service to determine which storage device in the multiple different environments storage I/O requests should be redirected [0102, lines 20-25; 0108, lines 1-10].
Regarding claim 2, Parthasarathy teaches wherein storage I/O is redirected to at least one instance of the storage devices of the common access space forms a cloud-provided block storage facility [0102, lines 20-35].
Regarding claim 3, Parthasarathy teaches wherein at least one instance of the storage devices of the common access space is situated in at least one of, an on-premises environment, or a third-party (cloud) environment [0004;0033].
Regarding claim 4, Parthasarathy teaches wherein the storage I/O request referencing a portion of storage addressable in the common access space is translated into a long-haul I/O [0027, cloud-based storage incorporates data operations over distance (long-haul I/O not defined in claim)].
Regarding claim 5, Parthasarathy teaches wherein the _ locator service is external to the Kubernetes Pod (156) having the cloud-resident containerized controller module [0105, lines 3-9; containers can (or can not) be part of a pod (e.g. Kubernetes)].
Regarding claim 6, Parthasarathy further wherein the external locator service comprises a distributed metadata (name/key/etc.) service module [0099,lines 1-9; 0102].
Regarding claim 7, Parthasarathy teaches wherein the storage I/O request referencing a portion of storage addressable by the common access space is translated from a first protocol into a second protocol [0086; iSCSI to virtual disk communication and translation].
Claims 9 and 17 recite similar subject matter to that of claim 1, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claims 10 and 18 recites similar subject matter to that found in claim 2, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Claims 11 and 19 recite similar subject matter to that of claim 3, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Claims 12 and 20 recite similar subject matter to that of claim 4, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claim 13 recites similar subject matter to that of claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim 14 recites similar subject matter to that of claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Claim 15 recites similar subject matter to that of claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parthasarathy (US# 2020/0134479) in view of OFFICIAL NOTICE.
Regarding claim 8, Parthasarathy teaches iSCSI storage protocol for devices [0086, 0110], but fails to teach wherein the first protocol is iSCSI and the second protocol is SONET. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that protocol translating between iSCSI and SONET would solve the problem of long distance communication linking that iSCSI lacks, where SONET provides the backbone and infrastructure for routing the iSCSI IP traffic beyond standard IP networks to users at great distance from each other. The Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE of this teaching. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage translation system of Parthasarathy to include the iSCSI to SONET protocol translation because of the benefit disclosed supra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments directed towards the claim amendments, Applicant is directed towards the Examiner’s statements found in the Interview Summary of April 30, 2026. The Examiner indicated in the 4/30/26 response that large portions of previously rejected claims were moved to at least claim 1. Furthermore, claim 1 does not detail what comprises “environments” or the “locator service”, and as such a broad and reasonable interpretation of the claimed subject matter was used as the basis for the prior art rejection. Those limitations not previously recited in an associated claim are rejected in light of a broad and reasonable interpretation of the claim language as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2100.
/BRIAN R PEUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133