DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 7, 2024, February 6, 2025, June 2, 2025, and June 13, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 1: insert –to—after “redirected”.
Claim 18, line 2: insert –to—after “redirected”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parthasarathy (US# 2020/0134479).
Regarding claim 1, Parthasarathy teaches a container-attached storage facility comprising: a cloud-resident (distributed storage) containerized control module [virtualized controller, 0082 & 0086; see also 0104 for executable storage container such as virtual disk controller 876/826] situated in a Kubernetes Pod [0105, lines 3-5]; and a plurality of storage devices organized into a common access space [0057, lines 1-4] and accessible by the cloud-resident containerized control module [0110], wherein, responsive to receiving a storage I/O request referencing a portion of storage addressable by the common access space, the cloud-resident containerized control module redirects the storage I/O request to a storage device of the common access space [0113].
Regarding claim 2, Parthasarathy teaches wherein storage I/O is redirected to at least one instance of the storage devices of the common access space forms a cloud-provided block storage facility [0102, lines 20-35].
Regarding claim 3, Parthasarathy teaches wherein at least one instance of the storage devices of the common access space is situated in at least one of, an on-premises environment, or a third-party (cloud) environment [0004;0033].
Regarding claim 4, Parthasarathy teaches wherein the storage I/O request referencing a portion of storage addressable in the common access space is translated into a long-haul I/O [0027, cloud-based storage incorporates data operations over distance (long-haul I/O not defined in claim)].
Regarding claim 5, Parthasarathy teaches wherein the storage I/O request referencing a portion of storage addressable in the common access space is redirected to a storage pool formed of node-local storage facilities [0102, lines 29-35; 0108, lines 1-10].
Regarding claim 6, Parthasarathy teaches further comprising an external locator service that stores metadata (name or key) pertaining to the node-local storage facilities that form the storage pool [0099, lines 1-9; see also 0091].
Regarding claim 7, Parthasarathy teaches wherein the storage I/O request referencing a portion of storage addressable by the common access space is translated from a first protocol into a second protocol [0086; iSCSI to virtual disk communication and translation].
Claims 9 and 17 recite similar subject matter to that of claim 1, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claims 10 and 18 recites similar subject matter to that found in claim 2, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Claims 11 and 19 recite similar subject matter to that of claim 3, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Claims 12 and 20 recite similar subject matter to that of claim 4, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claim 13 recites similar subject matter to that of claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim 14 recites similar subject matter to that of claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Claim 15 recites similar subject matter to that of claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parthasarathy (US# 2020/0134479) in view of OFFICIAL NOTICE.
Regarding claim 8, Parthasarathy teaches iSCSI storage protocol for devices [0086, 0110], but fails to teach wherein the first protocol is iSCSI and the second protocol is SONET. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that protocol translating between iSCSI and SONET would solve the problem of long distance communication linking that iSCSI lacks, where SONET provides the backbone and infrastructure for routing the iSCSI IP traffic beyond standard IP networks to users at great distance from each other. The Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE of this teaching. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage translation system of Parthasarathy to include the iSCSI to SONET protocol translation because of the benefit disclosed supra.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2100.
/BRIAN R PEUGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133