Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 06/03/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-19, 21, and 23 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “… wherein a transmittance of a fifth light in the first state is approximately the same as a transmittance of the fifth light in the second state, …, wherein an inclination of the fifth light relative to the front-viewing direction is greater than an inclination of a critical light relative to the front-viewing direction, wherein for each light inclining towards the positive direction of the first direction, in a case that an inclination thereof relative to the front-viewing direction is greater than the inclination of the critical light, a transmittance of the light in the second state is significantly less than the transmittance of the light in the first state, …” The limitations regarding the light transmittance vs. viewing angle for “each light” and “the fifth light” are contradictory to each other because “each light” inherently includes “the fifth light”. Claims 2-5, 7-9, and 11-15 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected base claims.
6. Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the new limitations “… wherein a transmittance of a fifth light in the first state is approximately the same as a transmittance of the fifth light in the second state, …, wherein an inclination of the fifth light relative to the front-viewing direction is greater than an inclination of a critical light relative to the front-viewing direction …”, which are not supported by the original disclosure. According to Fig. 13 and [0086]-[0087], applicant discloses “… There is a critical light between the first light L1 and the second light L2. In a case that an inclination of a light is greater than an inclination of the critical light, it may be determined that the transmittance of this light in the second state is significantly less than the transmittance of this light in the first state, such as the first light L1. In a case that an inclination of light is less than the inclination of the critical light, it may be determined that the transmittance of this light in the second state is not significantly different from the transmittance of this light in the first state, such as the second light L2 …”. The new limitations regarding the light transmittance vs. viewing angle is in contradictory with the specification. Therefore, claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 2-5, 7-9, and 11-15 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Acreman (US 20190353944 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Acreman discloses a viewing angle controller (e.g., Figs. 5-7; view angle control device), comprising at least one liquid crystal controlling box, wherein the at least one liquid crystal controlling box comprises a first liquid crystal controlling box, the first liquid crystal controlling box comprises:
a first substrate (first substrate 1006);
a second substrate (first substrate 1008), arranged opposite to the first substrate (first substrate 1007); and
a first liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 1001), arranged between the first substrate (first substrate 1006) and the second substrate (first substrate 1007), wherein:
the first liquid crystal controlling box is configured to operate in a first state or in a second state (Figs. 5-7, view angle control, wide view angle mode and narrow view angle mode; [0054]-[0056]); and
a transmittance of the first liquid crystal controlling box with respect to a first light in the second state is less than one or both of: a transmittance of the first liquid crystal controlling box with respect to the first light in the first state, and a transmittance of the first liquid crystal controlling box with respect to a second light in the second state (Figs. 5-7; transmittance of light L1 in narrow view angle mode is less than transmittance of light L1 in wide view angle mode; transmittance of light L1 in narrow view mode is less than transmittance of light L2 in narrow view angle mode);
wherein an incident angle of the first light (Figs. 5-6; light L1) at a surface of the first liquid crystal controlling box is greater than an incident angle of the second light (Figs. 5-6; light L2) at the surface of the first liquid crystal controlling box,
or an inclination of the first light (Figs. 5-6; light L1) relative to a front-viewing direction of the viewing angle controller is greater than an inclination of the second light (Figs. 5-6; light L2) relative to the front- viewing direction of the viewing angle controller,
wherein an incident direction of the first light (Figs. 5-6; light L1) inclines towards a first direction (Y direction) relative to the front-viewing direction, the first direction has a positive direction (+Y direction), and the incident direction of the first light (Figs. 5-6; light L1) and the positive direction of the first direction (+Y direction) form an acute angle (acute angle θ1),
wherein a transmittance of a fifth light (Figs. 5-6; light L5) in the first state is approximately the same as a transmittance of the third light in the second state (Fig. 7; light L5 has an approximately same transmittance in wide view angle mode and narrow view angle mode; [0057]), wherein an incident direction of the third light (Figs. 5-7; light L5) and a negative direction of the first direction (-Y direction) form an acute angle (Figs. 5-7; acute angle θ2, corresponding to an zenith angle from ~ −10° to 0°), and the negative direction (-Y direction) is opposite to the positive direction (+Y direction),
wherein an inclination of the fifth light relative to the front-viewing direction is greater than an inclination of a critical light relative to the front-viewing direction, wherein for each light inclining towards the positive direction of the first direction, in a case that an inclination thereof relative to the front-viewing direction is greater than the inclination of the critical light, a transmittance of the light in the second state is significantly less than the transmittance of the light in the first state, and in a case that the inclination thereof relative to the front-viewing direction is less than the inclination of the critical light, the transmittance of the light in the second state is approximately the same as the transmittance of the light in the first state (Fig. 7 shows plots of light transmittance vs. viewing angle in wide viewing angle mode and narrow viewing angle mode, each viewing angle indicates an inclination angle of a light relative to the front-viewing direction, in a case that an inclination angle
θ
of a light is greater than
θ
0
(e.g., θ0 ≈ 10° or -10°), a transmittance of the light in the narrow viewing angle mode is significantly less than the transmittance of the light in the wide viewing angle mode, in a case that an inclination angle
θ
of a light is greater than
θ
0
(e.g., θ0 ≈ 10° or -10°), a transmittance of the light in the narrow viewing angle mode is approximately the same as the transmittance of the light in the wide viewing angle mode, a light corresponding to inclination angle θ0 is the critical light).
Regarding claim 2, Acreman discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 1, wherein orientation deviation of long axes of liquid crystal molecules in the first liquid crystal layer with respect to a direction parallel to a plane where the viewing angle controller is located in the first state is less than orientation deviation of long axes of liquid crystal molecules in the first liquid crystal layer with respect to the direction parallel to the plane where the viewing angle controller is located in the second state (e.g., Figs. 3 and 13; orientation of liquid crystal molecules in wide view angle mode and narrow view angle mode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Acreman (US 20190353944 A1) in view of HE (US 20240019725 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Acreman discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 1, wherein the first liquid crystal layer comprises liquid crystal molecules (liquid crystal molecule layer 1001), but does not disclose the liquid crystal molecules are positive liquid crystal molecules or negative liquid crystal molecules as claimed. However, HE (e.g., Figs. 9-11) discloses a viewing angle controller, wherein the first liquid crystal layer comprises liquid crystal molecules, wherein: the liquid crystal molecules are positive liquid crystal molecules, a first long axis of the liquid crystal molecules corresponds to a first reference line, a plane where the first liquid crystal layer is located corresponds to a first reference plane, and a first angle between the first reference line and the first reference plane ranges from 0° to 10° in the first state; or the liquid crystal molecules are negative liquid crystal molecules, a second long axis of the liquid crystal molecules corresponds to a second reference line, the plane where the first liquid crystal layer is located corresponds to the first reference plane, and a second angle between the second reference line and the first reference plane ranges from 85° to 90° in the first state (e.g., Figs. 10-11, 3-4, and 5-6; positive liquid crystal molecules or negative liquid crystal molecules in normal mode or wide viewing angle mode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HE to the viewing angle control device of Acreman. The combination/motivation would be to provide a view angle control liquid crystal device for protecting information privacy of the user.
11. Claims 4-5, 8, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Acreman (US 20190353944 A1) in view of MATSUSHIMA (US 20210333580 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Acreman discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 1, wherein the first liquid crystal controlling box comprises: a first alignment film (alignment film 1003), wherein the first alignment film is arranged on a side of the first liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 1001) facing the first substrate (first substrate 1006) and has a first alignment direction (first alignment direction); and a second alignment film (alignment film 1002), wherein the second alignment film is arranged on a side of the first liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 1001) facing the second substrate (second substrate 1007) and has a second alignment direction (second alignment direction), wherein in the first state, orientation of liquid crystal molecules in the first liquid crystal layer rotates clockwise or counterclockwise in a direction pointing from the first substrate to the second substrate (orientation of liquid crystal molecules is determined by alignment films 1002 and 1003). The examiner further cites MATSUSHIMA as a reference. MATSUSHIMA (e.g., Figs. 1-8) discloses a viewing angle controller similar to that disclosed by Acreman, wherein the first liquid crystal controlling box comprises: a first alignment film (alignment film AL3), wherein the first alignment film is arranged on a side of the first liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer LC1) facing the first substrate (first substrate 40) and has a first alignment direction (alignment direction AD3); and a second alignment film (alignment film AL4), wherein the second alignment film is arranged on a side of the first liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer LC1) facing the second substrate (second substrate 30) and has a second alignment direction (alignment direction AD4), wherein in the first state, orientation of liquid crystal molecules in the first liquid crystal layer rotates clockwise or counterclockwise in a direction pointing from the first substrate to the second substrate (e.g., Fig. 4 and Fig. 18; orientation of liquid crystal molecules). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MATSUSHIMA to the viewing angle control device of Acreman. The combination/motivation would be to provide a view angle control liquid crystal device for protecting information privacy of the user.
Regarding claim 5, Acreman in view of MATSUSHIMA discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 4, MATSUSHIMA (e.g., Figs. 1-8) discloses further comprising: a first polarizer (polarizer POL4), wherein the first polarizer is arranged on a side of the first substrate (first substrate 40) away from the first alignment film (alignment film AL3) and has a first polarization direction (polarization direction T4); and a second polarizer (polarizer POL3), wherein the second polarizer is arranged on a side of the second substrate (second substrate 30) away from the second alignment film (alignment film AL4) and has a second polarization direction (polarization direction T3); wherein: the first polarization direction (polarization direction T4) is perpendicular to the second polarization direction (polarization direction T3); an angle α1 between the first polarization direction (polarization direction T4) and the first alignment direction (alignment direction AD3) meets: 0° ≤ α1 ≤ 180°, and 0° ≤ |α1-k×90°| ≤ 15° (α1=90°, k=1), wherein k is 0, 1, or 2; and an angle α2 between the second polarization direction (polarization direction T3) and the second alignment direction (alignment direction AD4) meets: 0° ≤ α2 ≤180°, and 0° ≤ |α2-k×90°| ≤ 15°, wherein k is 0, 1, or 2 (α2=90°, k=1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MATSUSHIMA to the viewing angle control device of Acreman for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 8, Acreman discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 1, wherein the first liquid crystal controlling box further comprises: a first electrode (electrode 1004), arranged between the first liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 1001) and the first substrate (first substrate 1006); and a second electrode (electrode 1005), arranged between the first liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 1001) and the second substrate (second substrate 1007), wherein a voltage difference between the first electrode (electrode 1004) and the second electrode (electrode 1005) in the second state ranges from 1.5V to 4V during operation of the viewing angle controller ([0051]; 0.5V-10V). The examiner further cites MATSUSHIMA as a reference. MATSUSHIMA (e.g., Figs. 1-8) discloses a viewing angle controller similar to that disclosed by Acreman, wherein the first liquid crystal controlling box further comprises: a first electrode (electrode TE1), arranged between the first liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer LC1) and the first substrate (first substrate 40); and a second electrode (electrode TE2), arranged between the first liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer LC1) and the second substrate (second substrate 340), wherein a voltage difference between the first electrode (electrode TE1) and the second electrode (electrode TE2) in the second state ranges from 1.5V to 4V during operation of the viewing angle controller (e.g., Fig. 8; 1.5V-2.5V). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MATSUSHIMA to the viewing angle control device of Acreman. The combination/motivation would be to provide a view angle control liquid crystal device for protecting information privacy of the user.
Regarding claim 11, Acreman discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 1, wherein the at least one liquid crystal controlling box further comprises a second liquid crystal controlling box (e.g., Fig. 13; viewing angle controller comprising a first liquid crystal control panel on bottom and a second liquid crystal control panel on top), the second liquid crystal controlling box (e.g., Fig. 13; second liquid crystal control panel) comprises: a third substrate (substrate 1006), a fourth substrate (substrate 1007), and a second liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 1001), arranged between the third substrate (substrate 1006) and the fourth substrate (substrate 1007), wherein: the second liquid crystal controlling box is configured to operate in a third state or in a fourth state (Fig. 13, view angle control, wide view angle mode and narrow view angle mode); and a transmittance of the second liquid crystal controlling box with respect to a third light in the fourth state is less than one or both of: a transmittance of the second liquid crystal controlling box with respect to the third light in the third state, and a transmittance of the second liquid crystal controlling box with respect to a fourth light in the fourth state (Fig. 13; light transmittance in wide viewing angle mode is less than light transmittance in narrow viewing angle mode); wherein an incident angle of the third light at a surface of the second liquid crystal controlling box is greater than an incident angle of the fourth light at the surface of the second liquid crystal controlling box (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional); or an inclination of the third light relative to the front-viewing direction of the viewing angle controller is greater than an inclination of the fourth light relative to the front-viewing direction of the viewing angle controller (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional). The examiner further cites MATSUSHIMA as a reference. MATSUSHIMA (e.g., Figs. 1-8) discloses a viewing angle controller similar to that disclosed by Acreman, wherein the at least one liquid crystal controlling box further comprises a second liquid crystal controlling box (e.g., Figs. 17-19; viewing angle controller comprising a first liquid crystal control panel 1 and a second liquid crystal control panel 2), the second liquid crystal controlling box (e.g., Figs. 17-19; second liquid crystal control panel 2) comprises: a third substrate (substrate 60), a fourth substrate (substrate 50), and a second liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer LC2), arranged between the third substrate (substrate 60) and the fourth substrate (substrate 50), wherein: the second liquid crystal controlling box is configured to operate in a third state or in a fourth state (Figs. 17-19 and 5-7, viewing angle control, wide viewing angle mode and narrow viewing angle mode); and a transmittance of the second liquid crystal controlling box with respect to a third light in the fourth state is less than one or both of: a transmittance of the second liquid crystal controlling box with respect to the third light in the third state, and a transmittance of the second liquid crystal controlling box with respect to a fourth light in the fourth state (Figs. 5-7; light transmittance in wide viewing angle mode or narrow viewing angle mode); wherein an incident angle of the third light at a surface of the second liquid crystal controlling box is greater than an incident angle of the fourth light at the surface of the second liquid crystal controlling box (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional); or an inclination of the third light relative to the front-viewing direction of the viewing angle controller is greater than an inclination of the fourth light relative to the front-viewing direction of the viewing angle controller (Figs. 5-7; light transmittance and viewing angle characteristic in wide viewing angle mode or narrow viewing angle mode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MATSUSHIMA to the viewing angle control device of Acreman. The combination/motivation would be to provide a view angle control liquid crystal device for protecting information privacy of the user.
Regarding claim 12, Acreman in view of MATSUSHIMA discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 11, MATSUSHIMA (e.g., Figs. 17-19; some features of Figs. 17-19 are referred to 1-8) discloses wherein the second liquid crystal controlling box (e.g., Figs. 17-19; second liquid crystal control panel 2) comprises: a third alignment film (alignment film AL5), wherein the third alignment film is arranged on a side of the second liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer LC2) facing the third substrate (substrate 60) and has a third alignment direction (alignment direction AD5); and a fourth alignment film (alignment film AL6), wherein the fourth alignment film is arranged on a side of the second liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer LC2) facing the fourth substrate (substrate 50) and has a fourth alignment direction (alignment direction AD6), wherein in the third state, orientation of liquid crystal molecules in the second liquid crystal layer is rotated clockwise or counterclockwise in a direction pointing from the third substrate to the fourth substrate (e.g., Fig. 19; orientation of liquid crystal molecules). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MATSUSHIMA to the viewing angle control device of Acreman for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 13, Acreman in view of MATSUSHIMA discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 11, MATSUSHIMA (e.g., Figs. 17-19; some features of Figs. 17-19 are referred to 1-8) discloses further comprising: a second polarizer (polarizer POL5), wherein the second polarizer is arranged on a side of the third substrate (substrate 60) away from the third alignment film (alignment film AL5) and has a second polarization direction (polarization direction T5); a third polarizer (polarizer POL4), wherein the third polarizer is arranged on a side of the fourth substrate (substrate 50) away from the fourth alignment film (alignment film AL6) and has a third polarization direction (polarization direction T4), wherein: the second polarization direction (polarization direction T5) is perpendicular to the third polarization direction (polarization direction T4), an angle α3 between the second polarization direction (polarization direction T5) and the third alignment direction (alignment direction AD5) meets: 0° ≤ α3 ≤ 180°, and 0° ≤ |α3-k×90°| ≤ 15° (α1=90°, k=1), wherein k is 0, 1, or 2; and an angle α4 between the third polarization direction (polarization direction T4) and the fourth alignment direction (alignment direction AD6) meets: 0° ≤ α4 ≤ 180°, and 0° ≤ |α4-k×90°| ≤ 15°, wherein k is 0, 1, or 2 (α2=90°, k=1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MATSUSHIMA to the viewing angle control device of Acreman for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 14, Acreman in view of MATSUSHIMA discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 11, Acreman (e.g., Figs. 5-6 reproduced on page 3) discloses wherein an incident direction of the third light (light L3) inclines towards a second direction (-Y direction) relative to the front- viewing direction, the second direction (-Y direction) has a positive direction, and the incident direction of the third light (light L3) and the positive direction of the second direction (-Y direction) form an acute angle (acute angle θ2).
Regarding claim 15, Acreman in view of MATSUSHIMA discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 11, Acreman (e.g., Figs. 5-6 reproduced on page 3) discloses wherein an incident direction of the first light (light L1) inclines towards a first direction (Y direction) relative to the front-viewing direction, the first direction (Y direction) has a positive direction, and the incident direction of the first light (light L1) and the positive direction of the first direction (Y direction) form an acute angle (acute angle θ1), wherein the first direction (Y direction) is parallel to the second direction (-Y direction).
12. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Acreman (US 20190353944 A1) in view of Choi (US 20160357046 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Acreman discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a phase retardance of the first liquid crystal layer ranges from 200nm to 1000nm. However, Choi (e.g., Figs. 9-12 and 19-20) discloses a viewing angle controller, wherein a phase retardance of the first liquid crystal layer ranges from 200nm to 1000nm (e.g., Figs. 21-22 and [0090]-[0100]; phase retardance of 900nm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Choi to the viewing angle control system of Acreman. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display device having a function of protecting information privacy of the user.
13. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Acreman (US 20190353944 A1) in view of GENG (US 20240302684 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Acreman (e.g., Figs. 5-7) discloses the viewing angle controller according to claim 1, wherein the first liquid crystal controlling box further comprises: a first electrode, arranged between the first liquid crystal layer and the first substrate; and a second electrode, arranged between the first liquid crystal layer and the second substrate (Figs. 5-6; first electrode 1004 and second electrode 1005), but does not disclose wherein at least one of: the first electrode comprises a plurality of first sub-electrodes spaced apart from each other, and a distance between adjacent first sub-electrodes among the plurality of first sub-electrodes is greater than or equal to 10 microns; or the second electrode comprises a plurality of second sub-electrodes spaced apart from each other, and a distance between adjacent second sub-electrodes among the plurality of second sub-electrodes is greater than or equal to 10 microns. However, GENG (e.g., Figs. 2-6 and 12-13 and 24-26; [0104]-[0106]) discloses a viewing angle controller, wherein at least one of: the first electrode comprises a plurality of first sub-electrodes spaced apart from each other, and a distance between adjacent first sub-electrodes among the plurality of first sub-electrodes is greater than or equal to 10 microns; or the second electrode comprises a plurality of second sub-electrodes spaced apart from each other, and a distance between adjacent second sub-electrodes among the plurality of second sub-electrodes is greater than or equal to 10 microns ([0096] and [0155]; a plurality of electrodes 251/252, a distance between adjacent electrodes is 10um). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from GENG to the viewing angle control system of Acreman. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display device having a function of protecting information privacy of the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 16-19, 21, and 23 are allowed. The reasons for allowance refer to the Office action dated on 03/03/2026.
Response to Arguments
15. Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
16. Applicant has amended claim 1. Applicant further argues that the cited reference does not disclose the new limitations of amended claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. First of all. Claim 1 recites the limitations “… wherein a transmittance of a fifth light in the first state is approximately the same as a transmittance of the fifth light in the second state, …, wherein an inclination of the fifth light relative to the front-viewing direction is greater than an inclination of a critical light relative to the front-viewing direction, wherein for each light inclining towards the positive direction of the first direction, in a case that an inclination thereof relative to the front-viewing direction is greater than the inclination of the critical light, a transmittance of the light in the second state is significantly less than the transmittance of the light in the first state, …” The limitations regarding the light transmittance vs. viewing angle for “each light” and “the fifth light” are contradictory to each other because “each light” inherently includes “the fifth light”. In addition, Claim 1 recites the new limitations “… wherein a transmittance of a fifth light in the first state is approximately the same as a transmittance of the fifth light in the second state, …, wherein an inclination of the fifth light relative to the front-viewing direction is greater than an inclination of a critical light relative to the front-viewing direction …”, which are not supported by the original disclosure. According to Fig. 13 and [0086]-[0087], applicant discloses “… There is a critical light between the first light L1 and the second light L2. In a case that an inclination of a light is greater than an inclination of the critical light, it may be determined that the transmittance of this light in the second state is significantly less than the transmittance of this light in the first state, such as the first light L1. In a case that an inclination of light is less than the inclination of the critical light, it may be determined that the transmittance of this light in the second state is not significantly different from the transmittance of this light in the first state, such as the second light L2 …”. The new limitations regarding the light transmittance vs. viewing angle is in contradictory with the specification. Therefore, claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Furthermore, Acremen’s Fig. 7 shows plots of light transmittance vs. viewing angle in wide viewing angle mode and narrow viewing angle mode, each viewing angle indicates an inclination angle of a light relative to the front-viewing direction, in a case that an inclination angle |θ| of a light is greater than |θ_0 | (e.g., θ0 ≈ 10° or -10°), a transmittance of the light in the narrow viewing angle mode is significantly less than the transmittance of the light in the wide viewing angle mode, in a case that an inclination angle |θ| of a light is greater than |θ_0 | (e.g., θ0 ≈ 10° or -10°), a transmittance of the light in the narrow viewing angle mode is approximately the same as the transmittance of the light in the wide viewing angle mode, a light corresponding to inclination angle θ0 is the critical light
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623