DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 2023/0421719).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches a method, comprising: determining, at a first device of a contact center agent, to filter visual content of a video stream of the contact center agent for a contact center engagement with a contact center user; obtaining, at the first device, filtered content corresponding to the determination to filter the visual content (see fig. 2, ¶ 0023-0024, 0027, 0038-0039, 0053-0054. The smart video conferencing receives a video from a camera of the device and a second video from a camera of a second device. The conferencing system can correspond to a financial institution, such as a customer service agent. Content determination to analyze the context data and determine content presented by the smart video conferencing system. Content determination component can retrieve context data from the database and determine whether or not the information should be presented as part of a virtual background. The background can be replaced by a virtual background determined based on one or more factors. The factors can include context data acquired from a calendar, content based on the context data, and transaction history.); generating, at the first device, an updated video stream by replacing the visual content with the filtered content (see ¶ 0044, 0053-0054, 0056-0057. A virtual background is determined based on the context. The virtual background can be selected from several predetermined backgrounds in a data store. Alternatively, determination of the virtual background can comprise generating a background. A video of a meeting participant can be segmented from its actual background. Subsequently, the virtual environment comprising a virtual background and content can replace the actual background. The background can be replaced by a virtual background determined based on one or more factors. The factors can include context data acquired from a calendar, content based on the context data, and transaction history); and outputting, in place of the video stream, the updated video stream for rendering at a second device of the contact center user during the contact center engagement (see ¶ 0005, 0020, 0026, 0070. The virtual background is updated dynamically in the smart video conferencing system. The conferencing system is between customer and agent.).
Regarding 2, Zhu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining to filter the visual content of the video stream of the contact center agent for the contact center engagement with the contact center user comprises: determining that the filtered content corresponds to the contact center user (see ¶ 0028. smart video conference system can identify a scheduled video call between a customer and a service agent of a financial institution from a calendar of the customer, service agent, or both. Meeting data can also be acquired from the calendar, such as a description or title of the meeting, time, and participants. Additional content can be determined from sensors or derived from other data sources, financial institution logo, location, and current weather. The system can generate a series of virtual backgrounds or environments (1, 2, . . . n, where n is an integer greater than two) over time. If the balance satisfies the threshold, the background can be updated to include one or more potential intervention tools to nudge the user toward better financial habits, such as financial education, automatic saving, and credit building information.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining to filter the visual content of the video stream of the contact center agent for the contact center engagement with the contact center user comprises: determining that a relevance score associated with the visual content meets a threshold (see ¶ 0057. The video or image frames of a meeting participant are overlaid on the virtual environment. For example, the machine learning model can infer a probability that a pixel belongs to a human participant or not. If the probability satisfies a threshold probability, the pixel can be classified as a human participant rather than a background. Thus determine that the visual content meets a threshold. The score can be related to the threshold level.)
Regarding 5, Zhu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the visual content corresponds to a background of the video stream and obtaining the filtered content corresponding to the determination to filter the visual content comprises: obtaining, as the filtered content, a virtual background from a library accessible to the first device (see ¶ 0038-0039. The content determination component can retrieve context data from the database and determine whether or not the information should be presented as part of a virtual background.).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the visual content corresponds to a background of the video stream and obtaining the filtered content corresponding to the determination to filter the visual content comprises: generating, as the filtered content, a virtual background (see ¶ 0028. smart video conference system can identify a scheduled video call between a customer and a service agent of a financial institution from a calendar of the customer, service agent, or both. Meeting data can also be acquired from the calendar, such as a description or title of the meeting, time, and participants. Additional content can be determined from sensors or derived from other data sources, financial institution logo, location, and current weather. The system can generate a series of virtual backgrounds or environments (1, 2, . . . n, where n is an integer greater than two) over time. If the balance satisfies the threshold, the background can be updated to include one or more potential intervention tools to nudge the user toward better financial habits, such as financial education, automatic saving, and credit building information.).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the visual content corresponds to a foreground of the video stream and generating the updated video stream by replacing the visual content with the filtered content comprises: asserting a filter against the foreground of the video stream to replace the visual content with the filtered content (see ¶ 0057, 0064. The foreground imagery is overlaid on the human figure and virtual background. For example, a participant's name and position can be displayed at the bottom of the screen and over an image of the participant. In another instance, a news ticker can scroll across the bottom of the screen that includes relevant content or news. Still further yet, content can be displayed in free spaces such as over and adjacent to a participant's shoulder in a window similar to a newscast report.)
Regarding claim 8, Zhu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the visual content corresponds to a background of the video stream and generating the updated video stream by replacing the visual content with the filtered content comprises: combining a foreground of the video stream and a virtual background, as the filtered content, to generate the updated video stream (see ¶ 0057, 0064. A video of a meeting participant can be segmented from its actual background. Subsequently, the virtual environment comprising a virtual background and content can replace the actual background. In other words, the video or image frames of a meeting participant are overlaid on the virtual environment.).
Regarding claim 9, Zhu teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising: determining, at a first device of a contact center agent, to filter visual content of a video stream of the contact center agent for a contact center engagement with a contact center user; obtaining, at the first device, filtered content corresponding to the determination to filter the visual content (see fig. 2, ¶ 0023-0024, 0027, 0038-0039, 0053-0054. The smart video conferencing receives a video from a camera of the device and a second video from a camera of a second device. The conferencing system can correspond to a financial institution, such as a customer service agent. Content determination to analyze the context data and determine content presented by the smart video conferencing system. Content determination component can retrieve context data from the database and determine whether or not the information should be presented as part of a virtual background. The background can be replaced by a virtual background determined based on one or more factors. The factors can include context data acquired from a calendar, content based on the context data, and transaction history.); generating, at the first device, an updated video stream by replacing the visual content with the filtered content (see ¶ 0044, 0053-0054, 0056-0057. A virtual background is determined based on the context. The virtual background can be selected from several predetermined backgrounds in a data store. Alternatively, determination of the virtual background can comprise generating a background. A video of a meeting participant can be segmented from its actual background. Subsequently, the virtual environment comprising a virtual background and content can replace the actual background. The background can be replaced by a virtual background determined based on one or more factors. The factors can include context data acquired from a calendar, content based on the context data, and transaction history); and outputting, in place of the video stream, the updated video stream for rendering at a second device of the contact center user during the contact center engagement (see ¶ 0005, 0020, 0026, 0070. The virtual background is updated dynamically in the smart video conferencing system. The conferencing system is between customer and agent.).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the visual content corresponds to a background of the video stream (see ¶ 0057, 0064. A video of a meeting participant can be segmented from its actual background. Subsequently, the virtual environment comprising a virtual background and content can replace the actual background. In other words, the video or image frames of a meeting participant are overlaid on the virtual environment.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhu teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the visual content corresponds to a foreground of the video stream (see ¶ 0057, 0064. The foreground imagery is overlaid on the human figure and virtual background. For example, a participant's name and position can be displayed at the bottom of the screen and over an image of the participant. In another instance, a news ticker can scroll across the bottom of the screen that includes relevant content or news. Still further yet, content can be displayed in free spaces such as over and adjacent to a participant's shoulder in a window similar to a newscast report.)
Regarding claim 12, Zhu teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the determination to filter the visual content is based on a relevance score determined for the visual content meeting a threshold (see ¶ 0057. The video or image frames of a meeting participant are overlaid on the virtual environment. For example, the machine learning model can infer a probability that a pixel belongs to a human participant or not. If the probability satisfies a threshold probability, the pixel can be classified as a human participant rather than a background. Thus determine that the visual content meets a threshold. The score can be related to the threshold level.)
Regarding claim 15, Zhu teaches a system, comprising: a memory subsystem; and processing circuitry configured to execute instructions stored in the memory subsystem to: determine, at a first device of a contact center agent, to filter visual content of a video stream of the contact center agent for a contact center engagement with a contact center user; obtain, at the first device, filtered content corresponding to the determination to filter the visual content (see fig. 2, ¶ 0023-0024, 0027, 0038-0039, 0053-0054. The smart video conferencing receives a video from a camera of the device and a second video from a camera of a second device. The conferencing system can correspond to a financial institution, such as a customer service agent. Content determination to analyze the context data and determine content presented by the smart video conferencing system. Content determination component can retrieve context data from the database and determine whether or not the information should be presented as part of a virtual background. The background can be replaced by a virtual background determined based on one or more factors. The factors can include context data acquired from a calendar, content based on the context data, and transaction history.); generate, at the first device, an updated video stream by replacing the visual content with the filtered content (see ¶ 0044, 0053-0054, 0056-0057. A virtual background is determined based on the context. The virtual background can be selected from several predetermined backgrounds in a data store. Alternatively, determination of the virtual background can comprise generating a background. A video of a meeting participant can be segmented from its actual background. Subsequently, the virtual environment comprising a virtual background and content can replace the actual background. The background can be replaced by a virtual background determined based on one or more factors. The factors can include context data acquired from a calendar, content based on the context data, and transaction history); and output, in place of the video stream, the updated video stream for rendering at a second device of the contact center user during the contact center engagement (see ¶ 0005, 0020, 0026, 0070. The virtual background is updated dynamically in the smart video conferencing system. The conferencing system is between customer and agent.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhu teaches the system of claim 15, wherein, to determine to filter the visual content of the video stream of the contact center agent for the contact center engagement with the contact center user, the processing circuitry is configured to execute the instructions to: determine a relevance score for the visual content; and determine that the relevance score meets a threshold (see ¶ 0057. The video or image frames of a meeting participant are overlaid on the virtual environment. For example, the machine learning model can infer a probability that a pixel belongs to a human participant or not. If the probability satisfies a threshold probability, the pixel can be classified as a human participant rather than a background. Thus determine that the visual content meets a threshold. The score can be related to the threshold level.)
Regarding claim 18, Zhu teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the visual content corresponds to a background of the video stream and, to determine to filter the visual content of the video stream of the contact center agent for the contact center engagement with the contact center user, the processing circuitry is configured to execute the instructions to: determine that a virtual background, as the filtered content, corresponds to an organization with which the contact center user is associated (see ¶ 0028. smart video conference system can identify a scheduled video call between a customer and a service agent of a financial institution from a calendar of the customer, service agent, or both. Meeting data can also be acquired from the calendar, such as a description or title of the meeting, time, and participants. Additional content can be determined from sensors or derived from other data sources, financial institution logo, location, and current weather. The system can generate a series of virtual backgrounds or environments (1, 2, . . . n, where n is an integer greater than two) over time. If the balance satisfies the threshold, the background can be updated to include one or more potential intervention tools to nudge the user toward better financial habits, such as financial education, automatic saving, and credit building information.).
Regarding claim 19, Zhu teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to execute the instructions to: obtain input from the first device indicating to update the video stream according to the filtered content (see fig. 8-9, ¶ 0065, 0070. The update is presented in real time. That will be the indication upon the change of the background.).
Regarding claim 20, Zhu teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the contact center engagement is facilitated over a video conferencing modality (see ¶ 0029. The smart video conference system can be implemented by a communication platform that includes video conferencing (e.g., Zoom, Teams, WebEx).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 3, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2023/0421719) in view of Agrawal et al. (US 2024/0275911).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining to filter the visual content of the video stream of the contact center agent for the contact center engagement with the contact center user comprises: determining that a first relevance score associated with the visual content is lower than a second a second relevance score associated with the filtered content.
Agrawal teaches determining that a first relevance score associated with the visual content is lower than a second a second relevance score associated with the filtered content (see ¶ 0098. Detected change in the foreground image being less than the foreground image change threshold and/or in response to neither background or foreground image presenting a change that is greater than their respective change thresholds, presenting the unmodified live video feed to the VCS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu to incorporate the virtual image being changed having a less threshold to modify the changes. The modification is to update the changes based a threshold level.
Regarding claim 13, Zhu does not teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the determination to filter the visual content is based on a first relevance score determined for the visual content being lower than a second relevance score determined for the filtered content.
Agrawal teaches wherein the determination to filter the visual content is based on a first relevance score determined for the visual content being lower than a second relevance score determined for the filtered content (see ¶ 0098. Detected change in the foreground image being less than the foreground image change threshold and/or in response to neither background or foreground image presenting a change that is greater than their respective change thresholds, presenting the unmodified live video feed to the VCS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu to incorporate the virtual image being changed having a less threshold to modify the changes. The modification is to update the changes based a threshold level.
Regarding claim 17, Zhu does not teach the system of claim 15, wherein, to determine to filter the visual content of the video stream of the contact center agent for the contact center engagement with the contact center user, the processing circuitry is configured to execute the instructions to: determine a first relevance score for the visual content; determine a second relevance score for the filtered content; and determine that the first relevance score is lower than the second relevance score.
Agrawal teaches determine a first relevance score for the visual content; determine a second relevance score for the filtered content; and determine that the first relevance score is lower than the second relevance score (see ¶ 0098. Detected change in the foreground image being less than the foreground image change threshold and/or in response to neither background or foreground image presenting a change that is greater than their respective change thresholds, presenting the unmodified live video feed to the VCS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu to incorporate the virtual image being changed having a less threshold to modify the changes. The modification is to update the changes based a threshold level.
5. Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2023/0421719) in view of Roper (US 2023/0126108).
Regarding claim 14, Zhu does not teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the determination to filter the visual content is made prior to a start of the contact center engagement.
Roper teaches wherein the determination to filter the visual content is made prior to a start of the contact center engagement (see ¶ 0066. The backgrounds are pre-process and provided before the joining of the meeting.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu to incorporate the pre defining a background before the start of the meeting. The modification is to determine background image prior to start of meeting.
Conclusion
/ASSAD MOHAMMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691