DETAILED ACTION
1. This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/791,366 originally filed on 07/31/2024. Amendment presented on 07/07/2026 in which provide claims 1 and 9 - 10 are currently amended, claims 14 - 16 are currently added and claims 13 is currently canceled is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1 - 12 and 14 - 16 are pending.
Response to Amendments
3. This is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 07 July
2026, wherein: claims 1 - 12 and 14 - 16 are pending. Claims 1 and 9 - 10 have been amended. Claims 14 - 16 have been added.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments filed on July 07, 2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 1 - 12 and 14 - 16 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1 - 5, 7 - 11 and 14 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reeves “US 2013/0024778” in view of Kang “US 2020/0142566”.
Re-claim 1, Reeves teaches a method for controlling multi-screen display, (fig. 8) wherein the method is applied to a main display device, (fig. 8; 110) and wherein the method comprises:
displaying on the main display device: (fig. 8; display properties of one or more display(s) 116)
a displayer setting interface, (par. [0081] mobile computing device 110 may maintain operation of user environment 115 and par. [0053] mobile computing device 110 has multiple touch screen displays 116) on the main display device, (fig. 8; 110) wherein the displayer setting interface displays layouts of a plurality of secondary display devices (par. [0081] a user experience profile of secondary terminal environment 840 corresponds to a tablet-style secondary terminal environment, and that a device setting or user setting of mobile computing device 110 indicates that this type of secondary terminal environment is to be associated with mobile OS 130. ) connected to the main display device, (par. [0082] Once mobile computing device 110 and secondary terminal environment 840 are connected through interface 122 and mobile OS 130 is associated with secondary terminal environment 840, the user may display one or more active application screens on the second active user environment.) and
a screen-mode setting page on the main display device, (fig. 8 and par. [0067] displayed in various configurations on the displays 116 associated with the first user environment 115) wherein the screen-mode setting page comprises an extended mode (fig. 8; 840 & 130) or a duplicated mode (claim written alternatively) to be selected for each of the plurality of secondary display devices; (par. [0082] Once mobile computing device 110 and secondary terminal environment 840 are connected through interface 122 and mobile OS 130 is associated with secondary terminal environment 840, the user may display one or more active application screens on the second active user environment. For example, the user may have indicated through a gesture or menu selection that application 752 is to be displayed in secondary terminal environment 840. Upon detection of an event indicating that the application screen associated with application 752 is to be displayed on display 844 of tablet-style secondary terminal environment 840, mobile OS 130 builds application screen 864 on display 844 using resources that are appropriate for application screen 864)
when the extended mode (fig. 8; 840 & 130) is selected for at least one of the plurality of secondary display devices, (fig. 8; 840) displaying a first application management interface, (par. [0053] mobile computing device 110 has multiple touch screen displays 116) wherein the first application management interface, comprises a window display area and a device display area, wherein the window display area is configured to display an application window having already been executed in the main display device, (par. [0028] A screen may be associated with an application and/or an operating system executing on the mobile computing device 110. For instance, application screens or desktop screens may be displayed and an application may have various kinds of application screens that are capable of being manipulated) and wherein the device display area is configured to display respective display controls of the main display device (fig. 8; 110) and the plurality of secondary display devices (fig. 9; 840); (par. [0082] Once mobile computing device 110 and secondary terminal environment 840 are connected through interface 122 and mobile OS 130 is associated with secondary terminal environment 840, the user may display one or more active application screens on the second active user environment. For example, the user may have indicated through a gesture or menu selection that application 752 is to be displayed in secondary terminal environment 840. Upon detection of an event indicating that the application screen associated with application 752 is to be displayed on display 844 of tablet-style secondary terminal environment 840, mobile OS 130 builds application screen 864 on display 844 using resources that are appropriate for application screen 864)
Reeves does not explicitly teach receiving a drag instruction applied to the window display area, wherein the drag instruction is configured to drag a target application window in the window display area to an area where a display control of one of the layouts of a device body is located in the device display area, wherein the device body is the main display device or the plurality of secondary display devices, and wherein the target application window is an application window operated by the drag instruction; and
displaying the target application window in the device body in response to the drag instruction.
However, Kang teaches receiving a drag instruction applied to the window display area, wherein the drag instruction is configured to drag a target application window in the window display area to an area where a display control of one of the layouts of a device body is located in the device display area, wherein the device body is the main display device (fig. 9; 100) or the plurality of secondary display devices, (fig. 9; 200) and wherein the target application window is an application window operated by the drag instruction; (par. [0212]) and
displaying the target application window in the device body in response to the drag instruction. (par. [0213])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Reeves with the teaching of Kang to capable of providing the display device-specific screen layouts so as to improve the user convenience. (par. [0242])
Re-claim 2, Kang teaches wherein the display control comprises a first control corresponding to the main display device (fig. 9; 100) and a second control corresponding to the plurality of secondary display devices, (fig. 9; 200) and the displaying the target application window in the device body in response to the drag instruction (par. [0212]) comprises:
in response to the target application window being dragged to an area where the first control is located, displaying the target application window in the main display device; (par. [0213]) and
in response to the target application window being dragged to an area where the second control is located, displaying the target application window in the plurality of secondary display devices. (par. [0214])
Re-claim 3, Kang teaches when receiving a trigger instruction for the application window within the window display area, displaying a close button on the application window; (par. [0123]) and
after receiving a touch operation for the close button, closing the application window in a corresponding device body. (par. [0127])
Re-claim 4, Kang teaches wherein the main display device displays a program identifier (par. [0084] The controller 170 determines the user gesture as one of touch, double touch, tap, double tap, long tap, tap & touch, drag, flick, press, pinch-in, and pinch-out, and/or the like based on the touch coordinates, whether the touch is applied or released, whether the touch moves, touch displacement, touch movement speed, and/or the like) of an application installed in the main display device, (figs. 9 & 10; 100 and par. [0078] the display unit 130 displays the execution screens of various functions (or applications) running on the mobile terminal 100) and the method comprises:
receiving a program drag instruction issued for any target program identifier, wherein the program drag instruction is configured to drag the target program identifier into a display control of any device body in the device display area, (par. [0086]) and
in response to the program drag instruction, starting a target application program corresponding to the target program identifier in the main display device, and displaying the application window of the target application program in the device body represented by the program drag instruction. (par. [0127])
Re-claim 5, Kang teaches wherein after receiving the drag instruction applied to the window display area, (par. [0212]) the method further comprises:
Kang does not explicitly teach when the target application window is in a top display state in the device body, setting the display control of the device body to a frozen state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to display the display body, if the application window is already displayed in the selected device, i.e. in a top display stat, it is a well-known in the art to display the control of the secondary display in a frozen state so that it cannot be selected.
Re-claim 7, Kang teaches wherein the main display device (fig. 9; 100) is a touch display device, the plurality of secondary display devices (fig. 9; 200) are non-touch display devices, and the main display device comprises a touch operation interface configured to control the plurality of non-touch secondary display devices, (par. [0127]) the method further comprises:
receiving a touch instruction issued on the touch operation interface, and adjusting the target application window displayed on the plurality of secondary display devices in response to the touch instruction. (par. [0192])
Re-claim 8, Kang teaches wherein the main display device displays a control system identifier corresponding to a control system for multi-screen display, wherein the control system for multi-screen display is configured to implement a method for controlling multi- screen display, and wherein the displaying the first application management interface (see claim 1 rejection above) comprises:
providing the displayer setting interface after receiving a trigger operation on the control system identifier. (par. [0077])
Re-claim 9, is rejected as applied to claim 1 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Re-claim 10, the rejected of claim 1 is incorporated herein and only further limitations are addressed below.
Reeves teaches a main display device, comprising a processor and a memory for storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, performs a method for controlling multi-screen display, (figs. 1-3 and par. [0039]) wherein the method comprises: See rejection claim 1.
Re-claim 11, Kang teaches wherein when the duplicated mode is selected for all of the plurality of secondary display devices, displaying a second application management interface, wherein the second application management interface comprises a second device display area, wherein each display screen corresponding to each of the plurality of secondary display devices displayed on the second device display area is consistent with that corresponding to the main display device displayed on the second device display area. (pars. [0136] and [0140])
Re-claim 14, Reeves teaches wherein content displayed on the plurality of secondary display device (par. [0081] a user experience profile of secondary terminal environment 840 is consistent with content displayed on the displayer setting interface (par. [0081] mobile computing device 110 may maintain operation of user environment 115) of the main display device (fig. 9; 110). (par. [0053] mobile computing device 110 has multiple touch screen displays 116. In this embodiment, display ID 0 is associated with one of the touch screen displays 116 and display ID 1 is associated with the other touch screen display 116. Display ID 2 is associated with both touch screen displays 116 (i.e., the application is displayed on both displays at the same time).
Re-claim 15, Reeves teaches wherein the screen-mode setting page comprises the extended mode (fig. 8; 840 & 130) or the duplicated mode (claim written alternatively) to be selected for each of the plurality of secondary display devices (par. [0081] a user experience profile of secondary terminal environment 840) via a control button displayed on the screen-mode setting page. (par. [0030] I/O devices 118 generally includes buttons and other user interface components that may be employed in mobile computing device 110. For example, I/O devices 118 may include a set of buttons, (e.g., back, menu, home, search, etc.) and par. [0082])
Re-claim 16, Reeves teaches wherein the window display area, displayed on the main display device, (fig. 9; 110) is configured to display a preview image of content represented by the application window that has been executed in the main display device. (par. [0028])
9. Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reeves “US 2013/0024778” in view of Kang “US 2020/0142566” and further in view of Singh “US 2021/0342042”.
Re-claim 6, Reeves in view of Kang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Kang teaches wherein the displaying the target application window in the device body in response to the drag instruction (par. [0212]) comprises:
Reeves and Kang do not explicitly teach when the target application window is in a non-top display state in the device body before receiving the drag instruction, displaying the target application window at the top in the device body in response to the drag instruction.
However, Singh teaches wherein the displaying the target application window in the device body in response to the drag instruction comprises: when the target application window is in a non-top display state in the device body before receiving the drag instruction, displaying the target application window at the top in the device body in response to the drag instruction. (fig. 11; 292a and 292b and pars. [0111] - [0113])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of combination with the teaching of Singh allowing users access to numerous types of app and data resources. (par. 0076])
Re-claim 12, Reeves in view of Kang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but do not explicitly teach wherein a virtual touchpad is provided in the device display area of the main display device to adjust a layout of a corresponding application window displayed on one of the plurality of secondary display devices.
However, Singh teaches wherein a virtual touchpad is provided in the device display area of the main display device to adjust a layout of a corresponding application window displayed on one of the plurality of secondary display devices. (figs. 6 - 7 and pars. [0093], [0099] - [0100])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of combination with the teaching of Singh allowing users access to numerous types of app and data resources. (par. 0076])
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 10/1/26C