Claim(s) 5 and 14 are canceled.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, and 15-17 is pending for examination.
This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
With regards to claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 15-17 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claim(s) 7-9, 13, and 15 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Smith discloses an autonomous vehicle that creates and follows a path in real time. Independent claim 1, on the other hand, describes an autonomous vehicle that does not create and follow a path in real time. Instead, in claim 1, the first path is created and then, afterwards, the autonomous vehicle follows the first path. Similarly, the second path is created and then, afterwards, the autonomous vehicle follows the second path. Because Smith does not disclose this recitation of claim 1, Smith does not anticipate claim 1.”
Examiner disagrees. Applicant has not claimed that the developing of the first path from start to finish in its entirety has to be completed prior to autonomous driving, but rather developing a path “toward” a destination is performed. Toward is defined as “in the direction of” or “along a course leading to”, thus the entirety of the path need not be developed to be considered as toward a destination. Autonomous maneuvering inherently requires developing a path as the vehicle is autonomously making decisions (e.g. developing) for moving along a trajectory (e.g. a path) based on those autonomous decisions. This autonomous maneuvering is discussed in para [0195] “Control of the truck 200, 300, 400 can be implemented in a self-contained manner, entirely within the controller 270, 370, 470 whereby the controller receives mission plans and decides on appropriate maneuvers (e.g. start, stop, turn accelerate, brake, move forward, reverse, etc.)” and para [0012] “A processor facilitates autonomous movement of the AV yard truck, substantially free of human user control inputs to onboard controls of the truck, and connection to and disconnection from trailers in the yard.”
Applicant also argues:
“The Office Action rejects claims 5 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) over Smith in view of Gesch (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0273034) and Mellinger III (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0189591). The Office Action rejects claims 6 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) over Smith in view of Tiwari (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0010061). The Office Action rejects claims 8 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) over Hoofard (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0064835)in view of Smith. These claims are not obvious based on their dependence on independent claims.”
Examiner disagrees, as discussed in the office action below Gesch in view of Mellinger teaches “wherein the second path has a second turning radius requirement that is wider than the first turning radius requirement and a second speed requirement that is slower than the first speed requirement;”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 8, and 10 recites “…wherein the second path is developed take into account at least the geometry of the yard truck and the geometry of the specific trailer, wherein the second path is developed to take into account at least the geometry of the yard truck and the geometry of the specific trailer…” Where the same limitation is repeated twice in a row making the meaning of this repeated claim language unclear.
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 9, 11-13, and 15-17 do not cure the deficiencies of claims 1, 8, and 10 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20190302764 A1, hereinafter known as Smith) in view of Gesch et al. (US 20180273034 A1, hereinafter know as Gesch) and Mellinger III et al. (US 20200189591 A1, hereinafter known as Mellinger).
Regarding claim 1, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 10 and therefore is rejected on the same basis. (See Below)
Additionally Smith teaches backing up the autonomous yard truck toward the specific trailer;
{Para [0191] “At some later time, the (i.e. loaded) trailer in the staging area 130 is hitched to a yard truck/tractor, which, in the present application is arranged as an autonomous vehicle (AV). Thus, when the trailer is designated to be unloaded, the AV yard truck is dispatched to its marked parking space in order to retrieve the trailer. As the yard truck backs down to the trailer, it uses one or multiple mounted (e.g. a standard or custom, 2D grayscale or color-pixel, image sensor-based) cameras (and/or other associated (typically 3D/range-determining) sensors, such as GPS receiver(s), radar, LiDAR, stereo vision, time-of-flight cameras, ultrasonic/laser range finders, etc.) to assist in: (i) confirming the identity of the trailer through reading the trailer number or scanning a QR, bar, or other type of coded identifier; (ii) Aligning the truck's connectors with the corresponding trailer receptacles...”
Where the AV yard truck autonomously navigates to the specific trailer and uses sensors to back down to the trailer (backing up the autonomous yard truck toward the specific trailer); this step occurs after the start of navigating the AV yard truck and prior to engaging the fifth wheel of the AV yard truck with the kingpin of the trailer
See Also: Para [0195]; Para [0193]
}
Regarding claim 2, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 11 and therefore is rejected on the same basis. (See Below)
Regarding claim 3, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 17 and therefore is rejected on the same basis. (See Below)
Regarding claim 4, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 15 and therefore is rejected on the same basis. (See Below)
Additionally Smith teaches disengaging the second hose connector from the robotic arm; and
{Para [0385] “...The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged...The connection is tested for security and success (decision step 6780). Such tests can include visual tests and/or whether the pneumatic system holds its pressure. If successful, the procedure 6700 signals success and the manipulator can disengage the truck-based connector and return to a neutral position (step 6790)....”
Where the controller tests the connection between the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, and the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 and disengages the robotic arm from the connection (disengaging the second hose connector from the robotic arm); this step occurs after the start of imaging the connection between the second hose connector on the truck and the second trailer hose connector and prior to testing the connection between the second hose connector on the truck and the second trailer hose connector (Smith, see at least Para [0385] and mapping for claims 15 and 16)
See Also: Para [0445]; FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
Regarding claim 6, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 12 and therefore is rejected on the same basis. (See Below)
Regarding Claim 10, Smith teaches An autonomous yard truck comprising:
{Abstract “A system and method for operation of an autonomous vehicle (AV) yard truck is provided...”
See Also: FIG. 2-FIG. 4; Para [0193]
}
A speed control mechanism;
{Para [0195] ““...Control of the truck 200, 300, 400 can be implemented in a self-contained manner, entirely within the controller 270, 370, 470 whereby the controller receives mission plans and decides on appropriate maneuvers (e.g. start, stop, turn accelerate, brake, move forward, reverse, etc.)...”
Where the controller controls the AV yard truck’s acceleration and braking (a speed control mechanism)
See Also: FIG. 2-FIG. 4;
}
A steering system
{ Para [0195] ““...Control of the truck 200, 300, 400 can be implemented in a self-contained manner, entirely within the controller 270, 370, 470 whereby the controller receives mission plans and decides on appropriate maneuvers (e.g. start, stop, turn accelerate, brake, move forward, reverse, etc.)...”
Where the controller controls the AV yard truck’s turning (a steering system)
See Also: FIG. 2-FIG. 4; Para [0193]
}
a geolocation sensor that produces autonomous yard truck geolocation data;
{Para [0237] “...the processor/controller 2910 coordinates operation of the various functions and components. The AV yard truck is instructed to drive to, and back into, a slip containing the trailer. This movement can be based on local or global navigation resources—such as satellite based GPS”
Where the controller uses GPS to drive the AV yard truck (a geolocation sensor that produces autonomous yard truck geolocation data))
See Also: FIG. 2-FIG. 4; FIG. 29; Para [0191];
}
a plurality of sensors positioned on the autonomous yard truck;
{abstract “A system and method for operation of an autonomous vehicle (AV) yard truck is provided. A processor facilitates autonomous movement of the AV yard truck, and connection to and disconnection from trailers. A plurality of sensors are interconnected with the processor that sense terrain/objects and assist in automatically connecting/disconnecting trailers...”
Where the controller is connected to a plurality of sensors on the AV yard truck (a plurality of sensors positioned on the autonomous yard truck)
See Also: FIG. 2-FIG. 4; FIG. 29; Para[0191]; Para[0194];
}
a fifth wheel coupling;
{Para [0193] “...The fifth wheel 240, 340, 440 is shown tilted downwardly in a rearward direction so as to facilitate a ramping action when the truck is backed onto the trailer in FIG. 2...”
See Also: FIG. 2-FIG. 4; Para [0191];
}
a robotic arm disposed on the deck;
{Para [0081] “FIG. 28 is a fragmentary side view of a truck chassis showing a multi-axis robotic arm and end effector assembly for connecting a truck pressure or electrical connector to a trailer receptacle...”
Para [0226] “…Reference is made to FIG. 26, which shows an AV yard truck 2600 having a conventional chassis bed 2610 with a fifth wheel 2612, and a cab 2620 in front of the chassis bed 2610…”
Where the AV yard truck includes a robotic arm (a robotic arm) mounted to the back of the AV yard truck on the chassis (disposed on the deck);
See Also: FIG. 2-FIG. 4; FIG. 26; FIG. 28; FIG. 28A; FIG. 28B; Para [0233];
}
an air hose with a first hose connector;
{Para [0195] “...the AV yard truck 200, 300 and 400 of FIGS. 2, 3 and 4, respectively, includes an emergency brake pneumatic hose 250, 350, 450 (typically red), service brake pneumatic hose 252, 352, 452 (typically blue) and an electrical line 254, 354, 454 (often black), that extend from the rear of the cab 210, 310, 410...”
Where the AV yard truck includes pneumatic hoses 250, 350, 250, 252, 352, 452 (an air hose with a first hose connector)
See Also: FIG. 3; FIG. 28B; Para [0012];
}
a transceiver that communicates with and receives data from at least a base station; and
{Para [0195] “...The controller 270, 370, 470 interconnects with one or more sensors 274, 374, 474, respectively, that sense and measure the operating environment in the yard, and provides data 160 to and from the facility (e.g. the YMS, server 120 etc.) via a transceiver...”
Where the AV yard truck includes a transceiver (a transceiver) in communication with and receiving data from a facility (that communicates with and receives data from at least a base station)
See Also: FIG. 2-FIG. 4;
}
a controller communicatively coupled with the speed control mechanism, the steering system, the geolocation sensor, the plurality of sensors, the robotic arm, the transceiver, the controller has code that:
{Para [0195] “...The controller 270, 370, 470 interconnects with one or more sensors 274, 374, 474, respectively, that sense and measure the operating environment in the yard, and provides data 160 to and from the facility (e.g. the YMS, server 120 etc.) via a transceiver. Control of the truck 200, 300, 400 can be implemented in a self-contained manner, entirely within the controller 270, 370, 470 whereby the controller receives mission plans and decides on appropriate maneuvers (e.g. start, stop, turn accelerate, brake, move forward, reverse, etc.)...”
Para [0231] “...In general, the robot 2810 is mounted to the chassis 2820, behind the truck cab 2822. It communicates with a controller 2830, which receives inputs from one or more sensor(s) 2832...”
Para [0237] “...the processor/controller 2910 coordinates operation of the various functions and components. The AV yard truck is instructed to drive to, and back into, a slip containing the trailer. This movement can be based on local or global navigation resources—such as satellite based GPS”
Para [0445] “...Likewise, it is expressly contemplated that any function, process and/or processor herein can be implemented using electronic hardware, software consisting of a non-transitory computer-readable medium of program instructions, or a combination of hardware and software...”
Where the controller (a controller) controls the AV yard truck’s acceleration and braking (communicatively coupled with the speed control mechanism), maneuvers and turns (the steering system), navigation via GPS (the geolocation sensor) and a plurality of sensors (the plurality of sensors), and robotic arm (the robotic arm), while sending/receiving data to/from the facility via the transceiver (and the transceiver), wherein the controller implements the described functions using software/program instructions (wherein the controller has code that:)
See Also: FIG. 2-FIG. 4;
}
receives an instruction to move the autonomous yard truck toward a specific trailer;
{Para [0012] “...A server (and/or yard management system (YMS)) is interconnected, wirelessly with the processor, and tracks movement of the AV yard truck around the yard. It determines locations for connecting to and disconnecting from the trailers...”
Para [0194] “The AV yard truck can include a variety of sensors as described generally above, that allow it to navigate through the yard and hitch-to/unhitch-from a trailer in an autonomous manner that is substantially or completely free of human intervention. Such lack of human intervention can be with the exception, possibly, of issuing an order to retrieve or unload a trailer—although such can also be provided by the YMS via the server 120 using a wireless data transmission 160 (FIG. 1) to and from the truck (which also includes an appropriate wireless network transceiver—e.g. WiFi-based, etc.)”
Where the AV yard truck receives an order to retrieve a specific trailer (receives an instruction to move the autonomous yard truck toward a specific trailer)
See Also: FIG. 34; FIG. 34A; Para [0100]-Para [0101]; Para [0008]; Para [0266]-Para [0267];
}
develops a first path for the autonomous yard truck to follow from a first location toward the specific trailer through a work area that takes into account the geometry of the autonomous yard truck;
{Para [0008] “In order to facilitate substantially autonomous operation of yard trucks (herein referred to as “autonomous vehicle”, or “AV” yard trucks), as well as other AV trucks and hauling vehicles, various systems are automated... Identification of trailers in a yard and navigation with respect to such trailers is automated...”
Para [0012] “...A server (and/or yard management system (YMS)) is interconnected, wirelessly with the processor, and tracks movement of the AV yard truck around the yard. It determines locations for connecting to and disconnecting from the trailers...”
Para [0195] “The controller 270, 370, 470 interconnects with one or more sensors 274, 374, 474, respectively, that sense and measure the operating environment in the yard, and provides data 160 to and from the facility (e.g. the YMS, server 120 etc.) via a transceiver. Control of the truck 200, 300, 400 can be implemented in a self-contained manner, entirely within the controller 270, 370, 470 whereby the controller receives mission plans and decides on appropriate maneuvers (e.g. start, stop, turn accelerate, brake, move forward, reverse, etc.). Alternatively, control decisions/functions can be distributed between the controller and a remote-control computer—e.g. server 120, that computes control operations for the truck and transmits them back as data to be operated upon by the truck's local control system. In general, control of the truck's operation, based on a desired outcome, can be distributed appropriately between the local controller 270, 370, 470 and the facility system server 120.”
Where the AV yard truck navigates to the specific trailer (develops a first path for the autonomous yard truck to follow toward the specific trailer) using sensors mounted on the AV yard truck to navigate the AV yard truck (trailer that takes into account the geometry of the autonomous yard truck) this all occurs in a yard which can be considered a work area
See Also: FIG. 34; FIG. 34A; Para [0100]-Para [0101]; Para [0237]; Para [0266]-Para [0267];
}
after developing the first path, autonomously drives the autonomous yard truck along the first path toward the specific trailer;
{Para [0195] “The controller 270, 370, 470 interconnects with one or more sensors 274, 374, 474, respectively, that sense and measure the operating environment in the yard, and provides data 160 to and from the facility (e.g. the YMS, server 120 etc.) via a transceiver. Control of the truck 200, 300, 400 can be implemented in a self-contained manner, entirely within the controller 270, 370, 470 whereby the controller receives mission plans and decides on appropriate maneuvers (e.g. start, stop, turn accelerate, brake, move forward, reverse, etc.)...”
Where deciding appropriate maneuvers is implied to occur before the actual execution of maneuvers.
Abstract: “A system and method for operation of an autonomous vehicle (AV) yard truck is provided. A processor facilitates autonomous movement of the AV yard truck”
Where the AV yard truck autonomously navigates to the specific trailer (autonomously drives the autonomous yard truck along the first path toward the specific trailer))
See Also: FIG. 34; FIG. 34A; Para [0100]-Para [0101]; Para [0008]; Para [0012]; Para [0194]; Para [0237];
}
engages a fifth-wheel coupling of the autonomous yard truck with the kingpin of the specific trailer;
{Para [0193] “...The respective chassis 220, 320, 420 also includes a so-called fifth (5th) wheel 240, 340, that (with particular reference to the truck 300, 400 in FIGS. 3 and 4) is arranged as a horseshoe-shaped pad 342, 442 with a rear-facing slot 344 (FIG. 3), which is sized and arranged to receive the kingpin hitch (shown and described further below) located at the bottom of a standard trailer (not shown)... The lever assembly 442 or other fifth wheel-lifting mechanisms can employ appropriate hydraulic lifting actuators/mechanisms known to those of skill so that the hitched trailer is raised at its front end. In this raised orientation, the hitch between the truck and trailer is secured”
Para [0194] “The AV yard truck can include a variety of sensors as described generally above, that allow it to navigate through the yard and hitch-to/unhitch-from a trailer in an autonomous manner that is substantially or completely free of human intervention...”
Where the AV yard truck autonomously engages the fifth wheel (engages the fifth-wheel coupling of the autonomous yard truck) with the kingpin hitch of the trailer (with a kingpin of the specific trailer))
See Also: FIG. 2-FIG. 4; Para [0237];
}
engages the brakes of the autonomous yard truck;
{Para [0195] “...Control of the truck 200, 300, 400 can be implemented in a self-contained manner, entirely within the controller 270, 370, 470 whereby the controller receives mission plans and decides on appropriate maneuvers (e.g. start, stop, turn accelerate, brake, move forward, reverse, etc.)...”
Para [0299] “Before beginning the autonomous truck tug-test procedure 4030 to confirm proper mechanical coupling of a fifth wheel with a trailer, the autonomy system on the truck a) has backed the tractor up to hitch the trailer such that the system believes the trailer's kingpin has been inserted into the tractor's fifth wheel hitch, b) no airline (emergency or service brakes) connections have been made to the trailer, and c) the tractor is stationary, with service brakes applied (precondition box 4032)”
Where the AV yard truck engages the brakes of the truck (engages brakes of the autonomous yard truck)
See Also: FIG. 40; Para [0237];
}
identifies a first trailer hose connector location on the specific trailer;
{Para [0383] “FIGS. 67 and 67A show the general procedure 6700 for operation of the gross and fine localization and manipulation for attaching truck pneumatic (or electrical) connection to the trailer glad hand using one of the connection implementations described above...”
Para [0385] “...If the fine sensing system verifies that glad hand features are present at the location, then the procedure uses that location for the fine manipulation process (decision step 6738)... Once a glad hand location is confirmed, then (via decision step 6738) the procedure 6700 estimates the glad hand pose from images acquired with the fine sensing system”
Where the AV yard truck identifies a pneumatic or electrical glad hand connection point on the trailer (identifies a first trailer hose connector location on the specific trailer)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A;
}
determines the location of a first hose connector on the autonomous yard truck;
{Para [0231] “...With brief reference to FIG. 28... the robot 2810... communicates with a controller 2830, which receives inputs from one or more sensor(s) 2832. As described above, the sensors 2832 can be used to identify both the trailer connector and its associated 3D location and the 3D location of the end effector 2840, and the associated connector 2842, which is carried by that end effector.”
Where the controller identifies the location of the end effector 2840 and the associated connector 2842 on the AV yard truck (determines the location of the first hose connector on the autonomous yard truck)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0383]; Para [0385];
}
engages the first hose connector with a robotic arm;
{Para [0385] “...Once a glad hand location is confirmed, then (via decision step 6738) the procedure 6700 estimates the glad hand pose from images acquired with the fine sensing system... Note that the carried truck-based connector has a known pose that is correlated with the determined pose of the trailer glad hand so that they can be engaged. Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760). The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged, the connection can be secured using appropriate motions and/or actuations of the truck-based connector in accordance to any of the embodiments described above or other appropriate connection mechanisms...”
Where the controller carries the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28 using the robotic arm (engages the first hose connector with the robotic arm)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
moves the first hose connector from the first hose connector location to the first trailer hose connector location on the specific trailer with the robotic arm;
{Para [0385] “...Once a glad hand location is confirmed, then (via decision step 6738) the procedure 6700 estimates the glad hand pose from images acquired with the fine sensing system... Note that the carried truck-based connector has a known pose that is correlated with the determined pose of the trailer glad hand so that they can be engaged. Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760)...”
Where the controller moves the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, (moves the first hose connector from the first hose connector location) to the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 using the robotic arm (to the first trailer hose connector location on the specific trailer with the robotic arm)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
connects the first hose connector with the first trailer hose connector;
{Para [0385] “... Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760). The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged, the connection can be secured using appropriate motions and/or actuations of the truck-based connector in accordance to any of the embodiments described above or other appropriate connection mechanisms...”
Where the controller connects the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, to the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 (connects the first hose connector with the first trailer hose connector)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
tests the connection between the first hose connector and the first trailer hose connector;
{Para [0385] “...The connection is tested for security and success (decision step 6780). Such tests can include visual tests and/or whether the pneumatic system holds its pressure...”
Where the controller tests the connection between the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, and the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 (tests the connection between the first hose connector and the first trailer hose connector)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
raises the fifth-wheel coupling; releases the brakes;
{Para [0237] “Further to the general operation of an AV yard truck as described above, once the designated trailer has been successfully secured/hitched to the AV yard truck (pneumatic line(s), optional electrical connections, and kingpin), the fifth wheel is raised by operation of the controller, in order to clear the landing gear off the ground, and the trailer is then hauled away...”
Where the controller raises the fifth wheel after engaging the kingpin (raises the fifth-wheel coupling)
Where the controller releases the brakes to haul the trailer away (releases the brakes)
}
receives an instruction to move the autonomous yard truck and the specific trailer to a second location;
{Para [0012] “...A server (and/or yard management system (YMS)) is interconnected, wirelessly with the processor, and tracks movement of the AV yard truck around the yard. It determines locations for connecting to and disconnecting from the trailers...”
Para [0194] “The AV yard truck can include a variety of sensors as described generally above, that allow it to navigate through the yard and hitch-to/unhitch-from a trailer in an autonomous manner that is substantially or completely free of human intervention. Such lack of human intervention can be with the exception, possibly, of issuing an order to retrieve or unload a trailer—although such can also be provided by the YMS via the server 120 using a wireless data transmission 160 (FIG. 1) to and from the truck (which also includes an appropriate wireless network transceiver—e.g. WiFi-based, etc.)”
Where the AV yard truck receives an order to unload a specific trailer at a specific location (receives an instruction to move the autonomous yard truck and the specific trailer to a location)
See Also: Para [0049];
}
develops a second path for the autonomous yard truck and the specific trailer to follow from the yard truck’s position at the trailer toward the second location through the work area, wherein the second path is developed take into account at least the geometry of the yard truck and the geometry of the specific trailer; and
{Para [0015] “...the processor communicates with a sensor assembly... The sensor assembly is interconnected with a height determination process that computes at least one of (a) a height of the trailer... Additionally, the computation can include a determination of a required trailer height to provide clearance for a predetermined location”
Para [0237] “...The controller also then lifts the fifth wheel when using appropriate hydraulic/pneumatic (more generally, “fluid” herein) pressure actuators on the truck to raise the trailer landing gear out of engagement with a ground surface and allow it to be hauled to another location in the yard”
Para [0389] “In the illustrative ground vehicle embodiment (FIG. 68), using on-board sensors, the UGV would position itself off of a predetermined marker (for example along the outside edge of driver's side trailer frame 6830), and by communicating with the yard truck system server, the UGV can autonomously maneuver with trailer movements and augment the AV yard truck's vision/sensor system with the use of its own vision/sensor system during reversing and trailer positioning. As shown, sensors 6822 can look up at the truck's frame to determine and guide based upon its extents...”
Para [0195] “The controller 270, 370, 470 interconnects with one or more sensors 274, 374, 474, respectively, that sense and measure the operating environment in the yard, and provides data 160 to and from the facility (e.g. the YMS, server 120 etc.) via a transceiver. Control of the truck 200, 300, 400 can be implemented in a self-contained manner, entirely within the controller 270, 370, 470 whereby the controller receives mission plans and decides on appropriate maneuvers (e.g. start, stop, turn accelerate, brake, move forward, reverse, etc.). Alternatively, control decisions/functions can be distributed between the controller and a remote-control computer—e.g. server 120, that computes control operations for the truck and transmits them back as data to be operated upon by the truck's local control system. In general, control of the truck's operation, based on a desired outcome, can be distributed appropriately between the local controller 270, 370, 470 and the facility system server 120.”
Where the controller determines a path to the predetermined location where the trailer will be disconnected/unloaded (develops a second path for the autonomous yard truck and the specific trailer to follow toward the location) wherein the height and other dimensions of the trailer are taken into account to maneuver the AV yard truck and the trailer (wherein the second path is developed to take into account at least the geometry of the yard truck and the geometry of the specific trailer)
See Also: FIG. 69; FIG. 70; Para [0390]; Para [0012];
}
after developing the second path, autonomously drives the autonomous yard truck puling the specific trailer along the second path toward the location.
{Para [0192] “The hitched trailer is hauled by the AV yard truck to an unloading area 140 of the facility 100...”
Para [0237] “...The controller also then lifts the fifth wheel when using appropriate hydraulic/pneumatic (more generally, “fluid” herein) pressure actuators on the truck to raise the trailer landing gear out of engagement with a ground surface and allow it to be hauled to another location in the yard”
Where the AV yard truck autonomously hauls the trailer to the location to be disconnected/unloaded (autonomously drives the autonomous yard truck pulling the specific trailer along the second path toward the location)
See Also: FIG. 1; Para [0049]; Para [0195];
}
Smith does not disclose wherein the first path has a first turning radius requirement and a first speed requirement and wherein the second path has a second turning radius requirement that is wider than the first turning radius requirement and a second speed requirement that is slower than the first speed requirement
However Gesch teaches wherein the first path has a and wherein the second path has
{Para [0019-0020] “Weight of the trailer 20 strongly depends on the trailer type thereof. Thereby, a regulated speed limit for the vehicle 10 towing the trailer 20 depends on the trailer type of the trailer 20. In general, a house-type trailer is usually heavier than a boat-type trailer. In that case, a vehicle towing the house-type trailer is regulated by a lower speed limit than a vehicle towing the boat-type trailer. FIG. 2 depicts a block diagram illustrating an advanced driver assistance system 100 according to the present embodiment. FIG. 2 shows the advanced driver assistance system 100 that includes a trailer detecting unit 31, a trailer type detecting unit 32, a driving area recognition unit 33, a speed limit recognition unit 40, a speed comparison unit 51, a speed limit control unit 52, an alert unit 61, and a control speed determination unit 62. The advanced driver assistance system 100 provides a driver with help in driving process.”
Where speed is being set by the weight of the trailer. Thus no trailer would have a high limit than when a trailer is attached.
¶[0007] “Another aspect of the present disclosure provides an advanced driver assistance system that includes a trailer detecting unit detecting whether a trailer is connected with a vehicle, and a trailer type detecting unit detecting the type of the trailer when the trailer detecting unit detects that the trailer is connected with the vehicle. The trailer type detecting unit outputs a trailer type signal. The advanced driver assistance system further includes a driving area recognition unit recognizing a driving area where the vehicle is driving when the trailer detecting unit detects that the trailer is connected with the vehicle. The driving area recognition unit outputs a driving area signal. The advanced driver assistance system further includes a speed limit recognition unit recognizing a regulated speed limit in the driving area based on both of the trailer type signal and the driving area signal, and a control speed determination unit determining a parameter of a control speed to have the vehicle driving at the control speed automatically based on the parameter of the control speed. The advanced driver assistance system further includes a speed limit control unit restricting the parameter of the control speed so that the control speed, which is determined by the control speed determination unit, is not over the speed limit, which is recognized by the speed limit recognition unit.”
Where the speed limit that is set is being enforced by the driving assistance system
)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the invention of Smith with the features taught by Gesch because attaching trailer adds weight to a vehicle it is safer to drive at lower speeds when there is added weight “In the first embodiment, the control speed determination unit 62 determines the parameter of the control speed to drive the vehicle 10 at the speed limit. However the control speed is not limited to be the same as the speed limit, and may be lower than the speed limit considering safety margins. In the first embodiment, at the same time of Step 102, Step 103 is executed. However the Steps 102, 103 are not limited to be at the same time, and may be in series.” (Gesch, para [0050]).
Smith in view Gesch does not disclose wherein the first path has a first turning radius requirement and wherein the second path has a second turning radius requirement that is wider than the first turning radius requirement
However Mellinger teaches wherein the first path has a first turning radius requirement and and wherein the second path has a second turning radius requirement that is wider than the first turning radius requirement and
{Para [0025] “There are a variety of conventional solutions that could be used to determine a steering angle for a vehicle. For example, some vehicles may be equipped with a system that chooses a steering angle or sets a steering angle limit to prevent a jackknifed condition when the vehicle is towing a trailer and traveling in a reverse direction at low operational speeds. Such a conventional system may be configured to receive a first steering angle command from a first steering module (e.g., park assist system, etc.), receive a second steering angle command from another steering module (e.g., trailer backup assist system, etc.), sense steering column torque, and generate a third (more refined) steering angle command for controlling the vehicle based on the steering column torque and the first and second steering angle commands. The third, and more refined, steering angle could be applied based on detected conditions, such as when the steering torque is less than a threshold torque.”
Where steering angle which is proportional to turning radius is limited based on the presence of a trailer
}
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the invention of Smith in view of Gesch with the features taught by Mellinger because attaching trailer and going in reverse can cause jackknifing if the turning radius is too small. “There are a variety of conventional solutions that could be used to determine a steering angle for a vehicle. For example, some vehicles may be equipped with a system that chooses a steering angle or sets a steering angle limit to prevent a jackknifed condition when the vehicle is towing a trailer and traveling in a reverse direction at low operational speeds. Such a conventional system may be configured to receive a first steering angle command from a first steering module (e.g., park assist system, etc.), receive a second steering angle command from another steering module (e.g., trailer backup assist system, etc.), sense steering column torque, and generate a third (more refined) steering angle command for controlling the vehicle based on the steering column torque and the first and second steering angle commands. The third, and more refined, steering angle could be applied based on detected conditions, such as when the steering torque is less than a threshold torque.” (Mellinger, para [0025]).
Regarding claim 11, Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner teaches The autonomous yard truck according to claim 10. Smith further teaches wherein the controller has code that disengages the first hose connector from the robotic arm.
{Para [0385] “...The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged...The connection is tested for security and success (decision step 6780). Such tests can include visual tests and/or whether the pneumatic system holds its pressure. If successful, the procedure 6700 signals success and the manipulator can disengage the truck-based connector and return to a neutral position (step 6790)....”
Where the controller tests the connection between the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, and the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 and disengages the robotic arm from the connection (wherein the controller has code that disengages the first hose connector from the robotic arm)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
Regarding claim 12, Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner teaches The autonomous yard truck according to claim 10. Smith further teaches wherein the controller has code that backs up the autonomous yard truck toward the specific trailer.
{Para [0191] “At some later time, the (i.e. loaded) trailer in the staging area 130 is hitched to a yard truck/tractor, which, in the present application is arranged as an autonomous vehicle (AV). Thus, when the trailer is designated to be unloaded, the AV yard truck is dispatched to its marked parking space in order to retrieve the trailer. As the yard truck backs down to the trailer, it uses one or multiple mounted (e.g. a standard or custom, 2D grayscale or color-pixel, image sensor-based) cameras (and/or other associated (typically 3D/range-determining) sensors, such as GPS receiver(s), radar, LiDAR, stereo vision, time-of-flight cameras, ultrasonic/laser range finders, etc.) to assist in: (i) confirming the identity of the trailer through reading the trailer number or scanning a QR, bar, or other type of coded identifier; (ii) Aligning the truck's connectors with the corresponding trailer receptacles...”
Where the AV yard truck autonomously navigates to the specific trailer and uses sensors to back down to the trailer (backing up the autonomous yard truck toward the specific trailer); this step occurs after the start of navigating the AV yard truck and prior to engaging the fifth wheel of the AV yard truck with the kingpin of the trailer
See Also: Para [0445]; Para [0195];
}
Regarding claim 15, Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner teaches The autonomous yard truck according to claim 10. Smith further teaches wherein the controller has code that: identifies a second hose connector location on the specific trailer;
{Para [0195] “...the AV yard truck 200, 300 and 400 of FIGS. 2, 3 and 4, respectively, includes an emergency brake pneumatic hose 250, 350, 450 (typically red), service brake pneumatic hose 252, 352, 452 (typically blue) and an electrical line 254, 354, 454 (often black), that extend from the rear of the cab 210, 310, 410...”
Para [0197] “...It is common for yard trucks to make only the emergency brake connection when hauling trailers around a yard—however it is expressly contemplated that additional connections can be made for e.g. the service brakes, as well as the electrical leads...”
Para [0204] “...Hence, the female coupling is brought into engagement with the male fitting by one of the various techniques described herein (e.g. a robotic arm, manipulator, framework, etc.)”
Para [0383] “FIGS. 67 and 67A show the general procedure 6700 for operation of the gross and fine localization and manipulation for attaching truck pneumatic (or electrical) connection to the trailer glad hand using one of the connection implementations described above...”
Para [0385] “...If the fine sensing system verifies that glad hand features are present at the location, then the procedure uses that location for the fine manipulation process (decision step 6738)... Once a glad hand location is confirmed, then (via decision step 6738) the procedure 6700 estimates the glad hand pose from images acquired with the fine sensing system”
Where the AV yard truck identifies a pneumatic or electrical glad hand connection point on the trailer (wherein the controller has code that: identifies a second trailer hose connector location on the specific trailer)
See Also: Para [0445]; FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A;
}
determines the location of a second hose connector on the autonomous yard truck;
{Para [0231] “...With brief reference to FIG. 28... the robot 2810... communicates with a controller 2830, which receives inputs from one or more sensor(s) 2832. As described above, the sensors 2832 can be used to identify both the trailer connector and its associated 3D location and the 3D location of the end effector 2840, and the associated connector 2842, which is carried by that end effector.”
Where the controller identifies the location of the end effector 2840 and the associated connector 2842 on the AV yard truck (determines the location of a second hose connector on the autonomous yard truck)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0383]; Para [0385];
}
engages the second hose connector with the robotic arm;
{Para [0385] “...Once a glad hand location is confirmed, then (via decision step 6738) the procedure 6700 estimates the glad hand pose from images acquired with the fine sensing system... Note that the carried truck-based connector has a known pose that is correlated with the determined pose of the trailer glad hand so that they can be engaged. Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760). The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged, the connection can be secured using appropriate motions and/or actuations of the truck-based connector in accordance to any of the embodiments described above or other appropriate connection mechanisms...”
Where the controller carries the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28 using the robotic arm (engages the second hose connector on the autonomous yard truck with the robotic arm)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
moves the second hose connector from the second hose connector location to the second trailer hose connector location on the specific trailer with the robotic arm;
{Para [0385] “...Once a glad hand location is confirmed, then (via decision step 6738) the procedure 6700 estimates the glad hand pose from images acquired with the fine sensing system... Note that the carried truck-based connector has a known pose that is correlated with the determined pose of the trailer glad hand so that they can be engaged. Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760)...”
Where the controller moves the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, (moves the second hose connector from the second hose connector location) to the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 using the robotic arm (to the second trailer hose connector location on the specific trailer with the robotic arm)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
connects the second hose connector with the second trailer hose connector;
{Para [0385] “... Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760). The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged, the connection can be secured using appropriate motions and/or actuations of the truck-based connector in accordance to any of the embodiments described above or other appropriate connection mechanisms...”
Where the controller connects the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, to the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 (connects the second hose connector with the second trailer hose connector)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
images the connection between the second hose connector and the second trailer hose connector; and
{Para [0385] “... Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760). The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged, the connection can be secured using appropriate motions and/or actuations of the truck-based connector in accordance to any of the embodiments described above or other appropriate connection mechanisms...”
Where the controller uses visual/sensor feedback while connecting the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, to the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 (images the connection between the second hose connector and the second trailer hose connector)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
tests the connection between the second hose connector and the second trailer hose connector.
{Para [0385] “...The connection is tested for security and success (decision step 6780). Such tests can include visual tests and/or whether the pneumatic system holds its pressure...”
Where the controller tests the connection between the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, and the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 (tests the connection between the second hose connector and the second trailer hose connector)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
Note, cited portions of Smith are identical for the first hose connections described in claim 10 as the process is merely duplicated for a second connection. Smith explicitly discloses performing multiples hose connections for each AV yard truck and trailer, including service lines for pneumatic hose connections of service brakes and emergency brakes, as well as electrical connections (Smith see at least FIG. 3; Para [0012]; Para [0195])
Regarding claim 16, Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner teaches The autonomous yard truck according to claim 10. Smith further teaches wherein the controller has code that disengages the second hose connector from the robotic arm.
{Para [0385] “...The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged...The connection is tested for security and success (decision step 6780). Such tests can include visual tests and/or whether the pneumatic system holds its pressure. If successful, the procedure 6700 signals success and the manipulator can disengage the truck-based connector and return to a neutral position (step 6790)....”
Where the controller tests the connection between the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, and the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 and disengages the robotic arm from the connection (wherein the controller has code that disengages the second hose connector from the robotic arm)
}
Note, cited portions of Smith are identical for the first hose connections described in claim 11 as the process is merely duplicated for a second connection. Smith explicitly discloses performing multiples hose connections for each AV yard truck and trailer, including service lines for pneumatic hose connections of service brakes and emergency brakes, as well as electrical connections (Smith see at least FIG. 3; Para [0012]; Para [0195])
Regarding claim 17, Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner teaches The autonomous yard truck according to claim 10. Smith further teaches wherein the controller has code that images the connection between the first hose connector and the first trailer hose connector.
{Para [0385] “... Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760). The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged, the connection can be secured using appropriate motions and/or actuations of the truck-based connector in accordance to any of the embodiments described above or other appropriate connection mechanisms...”
Where the controller uses visual/sensor feedback while connecting the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, to the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 (wherein the controller has code that images the connection between the first hose connector and the first trailer hose connector)
See Also: Para [0445]; FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
Claim(s) 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20190302764 A1, hereinafter known as Smith) in view of Gesch et al. (US 20180273034 A1, hereinafter know as Gesch) and Mellinger III et al. (US 20200189591 A1, hereinafter known as Mellinger), and Tiwari et al. (US 20200010061 A1, hereinafter know as Tiwari)
Regarding Claim 7, Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner teaches The method according to claim 1.
Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner does not disclose wherein backing up the autonomous yard truck toward the specific trailer occurs via teleoperation.
However Tiwari teaches wherein backing up the autonomous yard truck toward the specific trailer occurs via teleoperation.
{Para [0037] “The system is preferably configured to receive one or more inputs (e.g., during a teleoperation mode) from a remote operator, equivalently referred to herein as a teleoperator, wherein the remote operator is remotely located from the vehicle (e.g., outside the vehicle, between 0 and 10 miles away from the vehicle, more than 10 miles away from the vehicle, more than 100 miles away from the vehicle, at a fleet management center, etc.). The teleoperator preferably monitors a driving status of the vehicle based on a video feed taken from a set of one or more cameras arranged within or on the vehicle (e.g., on a dashboard, attached to a side of the vehicle, attached to a top surface of the vehicle, attached to a back surface of the vehicle, mounted to a hood of the vehicle, attached to a side mirror of the vehicle, attached to a rear-view mirror of the vehicle, etc.), wherein the video feed depicts at least a front view (e.g., with a front-facing camera) of the vehicle, the front view depicting the path of the vehicle. The video feed can additionally or alternatively depict any or all of: a back view of the vehicle (e.g., to determine if another vehicle is approaching, to back up the vehicle, to park the vehicle at a loading dock, etc.), a side view of the vehicle (e.g., to determine obstacles approaching from the side, to merge, to change lanes, etc.), a view above the vehicle, a view below the vehicle, an inside view of the vehicle (e.g., inside the cabin), and/or any other suitable views.”
)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the invention of Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner with the features taught by Tiwari to allow for teleoperation because it enables fail safe operation of the vehicle para [0025] “The system 100 can also function to enable fail-safe operation to an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle (e.g., a teleoperated vehicle, a remotely operated vehicle, a supervised autonomous vehicle, etc.) equipped with a fluid braking system (e.g., wherein power or control loss causes components of the system to automatically engage the fluid-driven brakes). and/or have any other suitable function.”.
Regarding Claim 13, Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner teaches The autonomous yard truck according to claim 10.
Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner does not disclose wherein the controller has code to allow teleoperation of the yard truck.
However Tiwari teaches wherein the controller has code to allow teleoperation of the yard truck.
{Para [0037] “The system is preferably configured to receive one or more inputs (e.g., during a teleoperation mode) from a remote operator, equivalently referred to herein as a teleoperator, wherein the remote operator is remotely located from the vehicle (e.g., outside the vehicle, between 0 and 10 miles away from the vehicle, more than 10 miles away from the vehicle, more than 100 miles away from the vehicle, at a fleet management center, etc.). The teleoperator preferably monitors a driving status of the vehicle based on a video feed taken from a set of one or more cameras arranged within or on the vehicle (e.g., on a dashboard, attached to a side of the vehicle, attached to a top surface of the vehicle, attached to a back surface of the vehicle, mounted to a hood of the vehicle, attached to a side mirror of the vehicle, attached to a rear-view mirror of the vehicle, etc.), wherein the video feed depicts at least a front view (e.g., with a front-facing camera) of the vehicle, the front view depicting the path of the vehicle. The video feed can additionally or alternatively depict any or all of: a back view of the vehicle (e.g., to determine if another vehicle is approaching, to back up the vehicle, to park the vehicle at a loading dock, etc.), a side view of the vehicle (e.g., to determine obstacles approaching from the side, to merge, to change lanes, etc.), a view above the vehicle, a view below the vehicle, an inside view of the vehicle (e.g., inside the cabin), and/or any other suitable views.”
)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the invention of Smith in view of Gesch and Melligner with the features taught by Tiwari to allow for teleoperation because it enables fail safe operation of the vehicle para [0025] “The system 100 can also function to enable fail-safe operation to an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle (e.g., a teleoperated vehicle, a remotely operated vehicle, a supervised autonomous vehicle, etc.) equipped with a fluid braking system (e.g., wherein power or control loss causes components of the system to automatically engage the fluid-driven brakes). and/or have any other suitable function.”.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoofard (US 20190064835 A1, hereinafter known as Hoofard) in view of Smith et al. (US 20190302764 A1, hereinafter known as Smith), Gesch et al. (US 20180273034 A1, hereinafter know as Gesch), and Mellinger III et al. (US 20200189591 A1, hereinafter known as Mellinger)
Regarding Claim 8, Hoofard teaches A method for operating an autonomous yard truck, the method comprising:
{abstract “Systems and methods are disclosed for controlling operations of autonomous vehicles and systems in, for example, logistics yards at distribution, manufacturing, processing and/or other centers for the transfer of goods, materials, and/or other cargo. In some embodiments, an autonomous yard tractor or other vehicle can include one or more systems for locating an over-the-road trailer parked in a yard of a distribution center, engaging the trailer, and moving the trailer to a loading dock for loading/unloading operations in accordance with a workflow procedure provided by a central control system. In other embodiments, an autonomous yard tractor can locate the trailer at the loading dock after the loading/unloading operations, engage the trailer, and move the trailer to a parking location in the yard. In some embodiments, the autonomous yard tractor can include a sensor system configured to detect the position of the trailer relative to, for example, the tractor, and/or the dock station can include a sensor system configured to detect the position of the trailer relative to, for example, the dock station during a docking procedure.”
}
receiving an instruction to move the autonomous yard truck with a trailer toward a location; developing a first path for the autonomous yard truck and the trailer to follow toward the location, wherein the first path is developed take into account at least the length of the trailer;
{Para [0130] “Returning to the routine 700a of FIG. 7A, in block 718 the central processing center 132, in response to inputs from the ERP system 401, a central processing center programming package, manual direction, or any combination of these, determines that a particular trailer 111 located in the logistics yard 102 at a specified parking location 115 is required at a specific dock station 131 for loading or unloading operations (FIG. 1). In block 720, the central processing center 132 responds to this determination by evaluating the status of the tractors 112 under its control based on position, availability, and/or other factors. In addition to the tractor's position and availability, the central processing center 132 may also take into consideration the current and future activity level and traffic in the logistics yard 102, the position of the specific tractor 112 relative to the position of the target trailer 111, and/or other common yard management activities and considerations. Based on this evaluation, the central processing center 132 assigns a specific tractor 112 to move the specific trailer 111 to the specific dock 131, as shown in block 722. In block 724, the central processing center 132 sends a wireless communication to the specific tractor 112 with instructions for moving the specific trailer 111 to the specified dock station 131. In addition to the movement task, in some embodiments, the central processing center 132 may also command a path from the current location of the tractor 112 to the parking location of the specific trailer 111, as well as a path from the trailer parking location to the specified dock station 131. In addition, the central processing center 132 may schedule the movements of the entire path or certain portions of the movement path for the specific tractor 112 to facilitate traffic control in the logistics yard 102.”
Para [0132] “FIG. 7C is a flow diagram of a routine 700c related to initial stages of a trailer movement in accordance with some embodiments of the present technology. The routine 700c starts when the ERP system 401 (FIG. 4A) generates a request for a trailer move. For example, based on the needs of the enterprise, the ERP system 401 can send a request to the central processing center 132 that a particular trailer 111 be moved to a particular dock station 131 for loading/unloading of cargo. In block 736, the central processing center 132 can query a yard or dock management system to determine if the particular trailer 111 is present in the yard 102, and if so, which parking space 115 the trailer 111 is located in. In decision block 738, based on the response to the query, the routine determines if the trailer 111 is the yard. If not, the routine returns to block 736 and repeats. If the trailer 111 is in the yard, the routine proceeds to block 740 to process move data received from the ERP. As shown in block 741, the move data can include, for example, the GPS location of the tractor starting position for picking up the trailer (as described in greater detail below with reference to, e.g., FIG. 8), the tractor action at the start position (e.g., to engage the trailer 111), the GPS location of one or more trailer destinations (e.g., a start position for backing the trailer up to a selected dock station 131 and/or the selected dock station 131, as described in more detail below with reference to, e.g., FIGS. 11A-13C), the action at the trailer destination (e.g., to begin the routine for backing the trailer up to the dock station 131), the trailer size (e.g., the length of the trailer from, for example, the kingpin 204 to the trailing edge 208, the overall length, width and/or height of the trailer body 206, etc.), trailer identification information (e.g., the GUID or other identifiers associated with the trailer targets 209a,b), and/or other information related to the trailer 111, its contents, etc.”
Fig. 14 and Para [0182] “As noted above, in some embodiments the tractor controller 220 is configured to command vehicle movement based on a stored workflow procedure. At least a portion of this function can be performed using methods and systems as described in: “Constrained Model Predictive Control for Backing-up Tractor-Trailer System” by Yang Bin and Taehyun Shim, published in the proceedings of the 10th World Congress on Intelligent Control and Automation—Beijing, China, Jul. 6-8, 2012, which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety, and/or methods and systems as described in U.S. Pat. No. 9,623,859, titled “TRAILER CURVATURE CONTROL AND MODE MANAGEMENT WITH POWERTRAIN AND BRAKE SUPPORT,” which is also incorporated herein by reference in its entirety. An example would be a series of movements required to back the tractor/trailer combination 110 into range of the dock sensors 320a, b at a dock station 131. By way of example, FIG. 14 is a schematic diagram that illustrates the geometry of the tractor 112 and the trailer 111 overlaid with a 2D X-Y coordinate system, and identifies variables that can be used to determine a kinematic relationship between the tractor 112 and the trailer 111 for use in a representative trailer backup routine in accordance with embodiments of the present technology.”
Para [0017] “Aspects of embodiments of the present technology are directed to a guidance system (e.g., a logistics yard guidance system) that can be used to guide autonomous (unmanned) and/or manned vehicles to their assigned places in a distribution center vehicle yard, and/or to provide guidance to vehicles (e.g., OTR vehicles, terminal vehicles, and/or other vehicles) backing into a dock position or parking location by following a path configured to avoid obstacles in the yard. Such obstacles can include, for example, other vehicles, building structures, and typical yard features such as light poles, bollards, etc. In some embodiments, such systems can facilitate maneuvering around and between other trailers in the tight quarters of a typical yard where vehicle damage might otherwise occur, particularly among OTR drivers operating in the yard.”
}
autonomously driving the autonomous yard truck and the trailer along the first path toward the location;
{Para [0131] “In block 726, the tractor controller 220 responds to the commands from the central processing center 132 and commands the tractor drive systems 410 (FIG. 4A) to move the tractor 112 to the location of the designated trailer 111. In block 728, the tractor controller 220 commands the tractor 112 to engage the trailer kingpin 204 with the tractor fifth wheel 211 and pick up the trailer 211, and in block 730 the controller 220 commands the tractor/trailer combination 110 to proceed to the specified dock station 131. In block 732, the controller 220 commands the tractor 112 to position the trailer 111 at the dock door 305 (FIG. 3) for loading/unloading, and in block 734, the controller 220 communicates the tractor/trailer status to the central processing center 132. Methods and systems for carrying out some embodiments of the tractor movements described above are described in more detail below with reference to, for example, FIG. 7C and FIGS. 8-13C.”
}
parking the autonomous yard truck and the trailer; engaging the brakes of the autonomous yard truck; lowering the fifth-wheel coupling; disengaging a first hose connector from the first trailer hose connector
{Para [0175] “Upon receiving a signal from the dock station control panel 340 indicating that the trailer 111 is in position at the dock station 131 or a signal from the tractor controller 220 indicating an increase in motor torque, and/or positional information from the tractor navigation system 231, the tractor sensors 210, the building sensors 320, or some combination thereof, the tractor 112 will cease backing and set the tractor brakes 246. The tractor controller 220 will then engage the tractor boom system 635 to lower the boom 216 from the trailer 111 until the boom system is in its stored position. As a result of boom disengagement or as a separately commanded task by the tractor controller 220, the air supply and electrical lines will be automatically (or, in some embodiments, manually) disconnected between the tractor 112 and the trailer 111. The tractor controller 220 will then communicate to the central processing center 132 that the trailer 111 is positioned at the dock station 131 and is ready for loading/unloading. Additionally, the tractor controller 220 can communicate to the central processing center 132 that the tractor 112 is available for another trailer move.
Para [0056] “FIGS. 2A and 2B are a partially schematic top view and a rear isometric view, respectively, of the tractor 112 of the tractor/trailer combination 110 (FIG. 1) configured in accordance with embodiments of the present technology. Referring to FIGS. 2A and 2B together, in some embodiments the tractor 112 includes a cab 201, a set of steering tires 202, at least one set of drive tires 203, a fifth wheel 211, and, if the tractor 112 is a terminal tractor, a boom 216 for raising and lowering the fifth wheel 211. Additionally, in some embodiments the fifth wheel 211 can include an angular position sensor 217 (e.g., a potentiometer or Hall effect device) that is configured to determine the angular orientation of a trailer kingpin received by the fifth wheel 211 in relation to a tractor centerline 214. In addition to these features, the tractor 112 also includes the capability for autonomous control.”
}
releasing the first hose connector;
{Para [0222] “By way of example, as many as 150 to 200 trailer moving operations may be carried out in a typical 24-hour period, each operation requiring the tractor driver to leave the driver's cab, connect the airbrake hoses to the trailer prior to moving the trailer, and then leave the cab again to disconnect the air hoses from the trailer once it is properly parked. The hose disconnecting operation can increase the cycle time of moving and parking a trailer and could present challenges to the implementation of autonomous or semi-autonomous yard operations. Accordingly, it would be advantageous to provide an automatic brake and electrical supply coupler arrangement that would provide for automatic engagement and disengagement of these systems without human intervention. There also has been a need to provide a mechanism for control of and retrieval of the flexible brake lines or hoses connected to the brake couplers to prevent the couplers from falling to the ground when they are disconnected from the trailer or otherwise becoming entangled with the tractor undercarriage. With this in mind, some embodiments of the present technology include systems and methods of automatically engaging and dis-engaging trailer brake supply and emergency air systems, as well as the trailer electrical supply, automatically upon trailer engagement and disengagement from the tractor fifth wheel in semi-trailer applications.”
}
disengaging the autonomous yard truck with the kingpin of the specific trailer;
{ Para [0175] “Upon receiving a signal from the dock station control panel 340 indicating that the trailer 111 is in position at the dock station 131 or a signal from the tractor controller 220 indicating an increase in motor torque, and/or positional information from the tractor navigation system 231, the tractor sensors 210, the building sensors 320, or some combination thereof, the tractor 112 will cease backing and set the tractor brakes 246. The tractor controller 220 will then engage the tractor boom system 635 to lower the boom 216 from the trailer 111 until the boom system is in its stored position. As a result of boom disengagement or as a separately commanded task by the tractor controller 220, the air supply and electrical lines will be automatically (or, in some embodiments, manually) disconnected between the tractor 112 and the trailer 111. The tractor controller 220 will then communicate to the central processing center 132 that the trailer 111 is positioned at the dock station 131 and is ready for loading/unloading. Additionally, the tractor controller 220 can communicate to the central processing center 132 that the tractor 112 is available for another trailer move.
Para [0222] “By way of example, as many as 150 to 200 trailer moving operations may be carried out in a typical 24-hour period, each operation requiring the tractor driver to leave the driver's cab, connect the airbrake hoses to the trailer prior to moving the trailer, and then leave the cab again to disconnect the air hoses from the trailer once it is properly parked. The hose disconnecting operation can increase the cycle time of moving and parking a trailer and could present challenges to the implementation of autonomous or semi-autonomous yard operations. Accordingly, it would be advantageous to provide an automatic brake and electrical supply coupler arrangement that would provide for automatic engagement and disengagement of these systems without human intervention. There also has been a need to provide a mechanism for control of and retrieval of the flexible brake lines or hoses connected to the brake couplers to prevent the couplers from falling to the ground when they are disconnected from the trailer or otherwise becoming entangled with the tractor undercarriage. With this in mind, some embodiments of the present technology include systems and methods of automatically engaging and dis-engaging trailer brake supply and emergency air systems, as well as the trailer electrical supply, automatically upon trailer engagement and disengagement from the tractor fifth wheel in semi-trailer applications.”
}
receiving an instruction to move the autonomous yard truck to a second location; developing a second path for the autonomous yard truck to follow toward the second location, wherein the second path is developed take into account the geometry of the autonomous yard truck without the trailer; releasing the brakes; and autonomously driving the autonomous yard truck along the second path toward the second location.
{ Para [0175] “Upon receiving a signal from the dock station control panel 340 indicating that the trailer 111 is in position at the dock station 131 or a signal from the tractor controller 220 indicating an increase in motor torque, and/or positional information from the tractor navigation system 231, the tractor sensors 210, the building sensors 320, or some combination thereof, the tractor 112 will cease backing and set the tractor brakes 246. The tractor controller 220 will then engage the tractor boom system 635 to lower the boom 216 from the trailer 111 until the boom system is in its stored position. As a result of boom disengagement or as a separately commanded task by the tractor controller 220, the air supply and electrical lines will be automatically (or, in some embodiments, manually) disconnected between the tractor 112 and the trailer 111. The tractor controller 220 will then communicate to the central processing center 132 that the trailer 111 is positioned at the dock station 131 and is ready for loading/unloading. Additionally, the tractor controller 220 can communicate to the central processing center 132 that the tractor 112 is available for another trailer move.
Para [0134] “FIG. 7D is a flow diagram of a routine 700d for moving the tractor 112 in response to a movement command from the central processing center 132, in accordance with an embodiment of the present technology. In some embodiments, the routine 700d can be executed by the tractor controller 220 (e.g., the processor 601) in accordance with computer-executable instructions (e.g., program(s) 602) stored in memory 603 (FIG. 6). In block 760, the controller 220 wirelessly receives the movement command communication from the central processing center 132, and in block 762 the controller 220 confirms the operational readiness of the tractor 112 and sends an affirmative response to the central processing center 132. In block 764, either by using a designated path provided by the central processing center 132, or by using a path determined by the programming 602 and the tractor navigation system 231, the controller 220 commands movement of the tractor 112 to the specified trailer parking location 115. In block 766, the tractor drive systems 410 and the tractor autonomous systems 430 respond to the command by initiating movement of the tractor 112 along the commanded path. In decision block 768, the controller 220 determines (using, e.g., data from the navigation system 231) whether the tractor 112 is following the commanded path. If not, then the controller 220 receives tractor sensor input in block 770 and, based on the sensor input, determines an error correction in block 772. The routine then returns to block 764 to implement the movement correction. Conversely, if in decision block 768 the controller 220 determines that the tractor 112 is following the correct path, then in decision block 774, the controller 220 determines whether the tractor 112 is at the destination, for example, the specified trailer parking location 115. If so, the routine 700d proceeds to block 776 and stops. If not, the routine 700d returns to block 764 and repeats until the tractor 112 is at the assigned destination. In some embodiments, the routine 700d described above and/or variations thereof can also be implemented by the controller 220 to move the tractor 112 from the trailer parking location 115 to the specified dock station 131 once the trailer 111 has been engaged, and then from the dock station 131 to a trailer parking location 115.”
Releasing the brakes is implied if it is going to drive to a location.
Para [0017] “Aspects of embodiments of the present technology are directed to a guidance system (e.g., a logistics yard guidance system) that can be used to guide autonomous (unmanned) and/or manned vehicles to their assigned places in a distribution center vehicle yard, and/or to provide guidance to vehicles (e.g., OTR vehicles, terminal vehicles, and/or other vehicles) backing into a dock position or parking location by following a path configured to avoid obstacles in the yard. Such obstacles can include, for example, other vehicles, building structures, and typical yard features such as light poles, bollards, etc. In some embodiments, such systems can facilitate maneuvering around and between other trailers in the tight quarters of a typical yard where vehicle damage might otherwise occur, particularly among OTR drivers operating in the yard.”
}
While Hoofard teaches disconnect and storing hoses it does not explicitly teach, identifying a first trailer hose connector location on the trailer; moving a robotic arm to the first trailer hose connector location; disengaging a first hose connector from the first trailer hose connector with the robotic arm; determining a storage location for the first hose connector on the autonomous yard truck; releasing the first hose connector;
However, Smith teaches identifying a first trailer hose connector location on the trailer; moving a robotic arm to the first trailer hose connector location; disengaging a first hose connector from the first trailer hose connector with the robotic arm; determining a storage location for the first hose connector on the autonomous yard truck; releasing the first hose connector;
{While the procedures recited in Smith are for connecting hoses to a trailer it would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the claimed process of disconnecting the hoses is merely the process presented in smith performed in reverse.
Para [0195] “...the AV yard truck 200, 300 and 400 of FIGS. 2, 3 and 4, respectively, includes an emergency brake pneumatic hose 250, 350, 450 (typically red), service brake pneumatic hose 252, 352, 452 (typically blue) and an electrical line 254, 354, 454 (often black), that extend from the rear of the cab 210, 310, 410...”
Para [0197] “...It is common for yard trucks to make only the emergency brake connection when hauling trailers around a yard—however it is expressly contemplated that additional connections can be made for e.g. the service brakes, as well as the electrical leads...”
Para [0204] “...Hence, the female coupling is brought into engagement with the male fitting by one of the various techniques described herein (e.g. a robotic arm, manipulator, framework, etc.)”
Para [0383] “FIGS. 67 and 67A show the general procedure 6700 for operation of the gross and fine localization and manipulation for attaching truck pneumatic (or electrical) connection to the trailer glad hand using one of the connection implementations described above...”
Para [0385] “...If the fine sensing system verifies that glad hand features are present at the location, then the procedure uses that location for the fine manipulation process (decision step 6738)... Once a glad hand location is confirmed, then (via decision step 6738) the procedure 6700 estimates the glad hand pose from images acquired with the fine sensing system”
Where the AV yard truck identifies a pneumatic or electrical glad hand connection point on the trailer (wherein the controller has code that: identifies a second trailer hose connector location on the specific trailer)
See Also: Para [0445]; FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A;
Para [0231] “...With brief reference to FIG. 28... the robot 2810... communicates with a controller 2830, which receives inputs from one or more sensor(s) 2832. As described above, the sensors 2832 can be used to identify both the trailer connector and its associated 3D location and the 3D location of the end effector 2840, and the associated connector 2842, which is carried by that end effector.”
Where the controller identifies the location of the end effector 2840 and the associated connector 2842 on the AV yard truck (determines the location of a second hose connector on the autonomous yard truck)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0383]; Para [0385];
Para [0385] “...Once a glad hand location is confirmed, then (via decision step 6738) the procedure 6700 estimates the glad hand pose from images acquired with the fine sensing system... Note that the carried truck-based connector has a known pose that is correlated with the determined pose of the trailer glad hand so that they can be engaged. Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760). The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged, the connection can be secured using appropriate motions and/or actuations of the truck-based connector in accordance to any of the embodiments described above or other appropriate connection mechanisms...”
Where the controller carries the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28 using the robotic arm (engages the second hose connector on the autonomous yard truck with the robotic arm)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
Para [0385] “...Once a glad hand location is confirmed, then (via decision step 6738) the procedure 6700 estimates the glad hand pose from images acquired with the fine sensing system... Note that the carried truck-based connector has a known pose that is correlated with the determined pose of the trailer glad hand so that they can be engaged. Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760)...”
Where the controller moves the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, (moves the second hose connector from the second hose connector location) to the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 using the robotic arm (to the second trailer hose connector location on the specific trailer with the robotic arm)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
Para [0385] “... Visual/sensor-based feedback can be used to servo the manipulator as it approaches the trailer glad hand (step 6760). The trailer glad hand is eventually engaged in the appropriate orientation by the end effector and carried connector in step 6762. Once engaged, the connection can be secured using appropriate motions and/or actuations of the truck-based connector in accordance to any of the embodiments described above or other appropriate connection mechanisms...”
Where the controller connects the truck based connector, e.g. connector 2842 in FIG. 28, to the trailer glad hand, e.g. coupling assembly 2868 in FIG. 28 (connects the second hose connector with the second trailer hose connector)
See Also: FIG. 28-FIG. 28C; FIG. 67; FIG. 67A; Para [0195]; Para [0197]; Para [0204]; Para [0237]; Para [0383];
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoofard to incorporate the teachings of Smith to disconnect the hoses with a robotic arm because as discussed in para [0222] “The hose disconnecting operation can increase the cycle time of moving and parking a trailer and could present challenges to the implementation of autonomous or semi-autonomous yard operations. Accordingly, it would be advantageous to provide an automatic brake and electrical supply coupler arrangement that would provide for automatic engagement and disengagement of these systems without human intervention. There also has been a need to provide a mechanism for control of and retrieval of the flexible brake lines or hoses connected to the brake couplers to prevent the couplers from falling to the ground when they are disconnected from the trailer or otherwise becoming entangled with the tractor undercarriage.”
Hoofard in view of Smith does not disclose wherein the first path has a first turning radius requirement and a first speed requirement and wherein the second path has a second turning radius requirement that is wider than the first turning radius requirement and a second speed requirement that is slower than the first speed requirement
However Gesch teaches wherein the first path has a and wherein the second path has
{Para [0019-0020] “Weight of the trailer 20 strongly depends on the trailer type thereof. Thereby, a regulated speed limit for the vehicle 10 towing the trailer 20 depends on the trailer type of the trailer 20. In general, a house-type trailer is usually heavier than a boat-type trailer. In that case, a vehicle towing the house-type trailer is regulated by a lower speed limit than a vehicle towing the boat-type trailer. FIG. 2 depicts a block diagram illustrating an advanced driver assistance system 100 according to the present embodiment. FIG. 2 shows the advanced driver assistance system 100 that includes a trailer detecting unit 31, a trailer type detecting unit 32, a driving area recognition unit 33, a speed limit recognition unit 40, a speed comparison unit 51, a speed limit control unit 52, an alert unit 61, and a control speed determination unit 62. The advanced driver assistance system 100 provides a driver with help in driving process.”
Where speed is being set by the weight of the trailer. Thus no trailer would have a high limit than when a trailer is attached.
¶[0007] “Another aspect of the present disclosure provides an advanced driver assistance system that includes a trailer detecting unit detecting whether a trailer is connected with a vehicle, and a trailer type detecting unit detecting the type of the trailer when the trailer detecting unit detects that the trailer is connected with the vehicle. The trailer type detecting unit outputs a trailer type signal. The advanced driver assistance system further includes a driving area recognition unit recognizing a driving area where the vehicle is driving when the trailer detecting unit detects that the trailer is connected with the vehicle. The driving area recognition unit outputs a driving area signal. The advanced driver assistance system further includes a speed limit recognition unit recognizing a regulated speed limit in the driving area based on both of the trailer type signal and the driving area signal, and a control speed determination unit determining a parameter of a control speed to have the vehicle driving at the control speed automatically based on the parameter of the control speed. The advanced driver assistance system further includes a speed limit control unit restricting the parameter of the control speed so that the control speed, which is determined by the control speed determination unit, is not over the speed limit, which is recognized by the speed limit recognition unit.”
Where the speed limit that is set is being enforced by the driving assistance system
)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the invention of Hoofard in view of Smith with the features taught by Gesch because attaching trailer adds weight to a vehicle it is safer to drive at lower speeds when there is added weight “In the first embodiment, the control speed determination unit 62 determines the parameter of the control speed to drive the vehicle 10 at the speed limit. However the control speed is not limited to be the same as the speed limit, and may be lower than the speed limit considering safety margins. In the first embodiment, at the same time of Step 102, Step 103 is executed. However the Steps 102, 103 are not limited to be at the same time, and may be in series.” (Gesch, para [0050]).
Hoofard in view Smith and Gesch does not disclose wherein the first path has a first turning radius requirement and wherein the second path has a second turning radius requirement that is wider than the first turning radius requirement
However Mellinger teaches wherein the first path has a first turning radius requirement and and wherein the second path has a second turning radius requirement that is wider than the first turning radius requirement and
{Para [0025] “There are a variety of conventional solutions that could be used to determine a steering angle for a vehicle. For example, some vehicles may be equipped with a system that chooses a steering angle or sets a steering angle limit to prevent a jackknifed condition when the vehicle is towing a trailer and traveling in a reverse direction at low operational speeds. Such a conventional system may be configured to receive a first steering angle command from a first steering module (e.g., park assist system, etc.), receive a second steering angle command from another steering module (e.g., trailer backup assist system, etc.), sense steering column torque, and generate a third (more refined) steering angle command for controlling the vehicle based on the steering column torque and the first and second steering angle commands. The third, and more refined, steering angle could be applied based on detected conditions, such as when the steering torque is less than a threshold torque.”
Where steering angle which is proportional to turning radius is limited based on the presence of a trailer
}
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the invention of Hoofard in view of Smith, and Gesch with the features taught by Mellinger because attaching trailer and going in reverse can cause jackknifing if the turning radius is too small. “There are a variety of conventional solutions that could be used to determine a steering angle for a vehicle. For example, some vehicles may be equipped with a system that chooses a steering angle or sets a steering angle limit to prevent a jackknifed condition when the vehicle is towing a trailer and traveling in a reverse direction at low operational speeds. Such a conventional system may be configured to receive a first steering angle command from a first steering module (e.g., park assist system, etc.), receive a second steering angle command from another steering module (e.g., trailer backup assist system, etc.), sense steering column torque, and generate a third (more refined) steering angle command for controlling the vehicle based on the steering column torque and the first and second steering angle commands. The third, and more refined, steering angle could be applied based on detected conditions, such as when the steering torque is less than a threshold torque.” (Mellinger, para [0025]).
Regarding Claim 9, both Hoofard and Smith teach multiple hoses on each trailer/truck and Hoofard teaches disconnecting multiple hoses thus claim 9 is rejected on the same basis as claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nagase et al. (US 20170351926 A1) teaches in para [0051] “After the turning vehicle speed Vt has been set in S111, the program proceeds to S112, a turning path is set, the right or left turning control is executed based on the turning path, and the program proceeds to S113 in which the self-driving is continued (refer to FIG. 7). In this case, for example, as illustrated in FIG. 13, in the turning path set in S112, a turning radius ρ is set according to the turning vehicle speed Vt set in advance through experiments, calculations, or the like, and the turning radius p is set by securing a region between an outer vehicle body minimum turning radius Rm1 and an inner vehicle body minimum turning radius Rm2 at a portion of the right or left turn road as illustrated in FIG. 14.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668