DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant previously elected without traverse Invention I and Species B (Figures 8-10) in the reply filed on 3/12/2026.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 6/29/2026 are as follows:
Claims 1-12 are pending;
Claims 4, 5, and 8-12 are withdrawn from consideration;
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are being examined.
Specification
The amended title of the invention was received on 6/29/2026 and is accepted.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosenfeld (US2005/0022984A1, as previously cited).
Re Claim 1. Rosenfeld teaches a heat transfer device (2 is a heat pipe, which is a heat transfer device), comprising:
a thermal conductive shell (12, 14), comprising a closed chamber (10) (Figures 3-4, 8; Paragraphs 47-49);
a capillary structure (25, 62, or 90), arranged in the closed chamber, the capillary structure comprising a plurality of sintered balls (27, 71, 73, or 76), each of the sintered balls being made of a metal powder by firstly sintering, each of the sintered balls comprising a plurality of first pores (first spaces between 27) defined between the metal powder therein, the thermal conductive shell comprising an internal surface comprising at least one portion covered with the sintered balls (Figures 3-4 illustrates the capillary structure on the internal wall of the chamber 10) by secondary sintering, a plurality of second pores (second spaces between 27) defined between the sintered balls, wherein each of the first pores is smaller than each of the second pores (Figures 1-6, 19-20, 36-37, 40-43; Paragraphs 47-52, 58, 63-64; Rosenfeld teaches the metal balls 27 can be bonded via brazing or sintering. Figure 5 illustrates various pores between the balls 27, wherein at least a first plurality of pores is smaller than a second plurality of pores. The claim sets forth no specific size of the pores or uniformity of pores, and thus the various illustrated sizes of pores of Figure 5 satisfies the recited limitations. Additionally, Figures 36-37 and 40-43 illustrate graded wicks with different metal balls 71, 73, 76 that each have different diameters, which results in different pore sizes between the balls due to the different diameters. Paragraphs 60-63. Additionally, the presence of process limitations (i.e. methods of manufacturing) on product claims, which product does not otherwise patentably distinguish over prior art, cannot impart patentability to the product. See MPEP 2113); and
a working fluid, accommodated in the closed chamber (Figure 3; Paragraph 48).
Re Claim 2. Rosenfeld teaches each of the sintered balls is made of a copper powder or an aluminum powder by sintering (Paragraphs 48-49, 58, 63-64).
Re Claim 3. Rosenfeld teaches the thermal conductive shell is made of copper or aluminum (Paragraph 48).
Re Claim 6. Rosenfeld teaches the thermal conductive sell is of a hollow plate shape (Figures 1-4, Paragraphs 47-48).
Re Claim 7. Rosenfeld teaches the capillary structure is disposed in the closed chamber corresponding to one side of the thermal conductive shell (Figures 1-5, 8; Paragraphs 47-49).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7-8 of the reply that Rosenfeld fails to teach “each of the sintered balls being made of a metal powder by firstly sintering, each of the sintered balls comprising a plurality of first pores defined between the metal powder therein, the thermal conductive shell comprising an internal surface comprising at least one portion covered with the sintered balls by secondary sintering”. The applicant is essentially arguing that the capillary structure is formed by a different manufacturing method. The presence of process limitations (i.e. methods of manufacturing) on product claims, which product does not otherwise patentably distinguish over prior art, cannot impart patentability to the product. See MPEP 2113. Rosenfeld teaches the metal balls 27 can be bonded via brazing or sintering. Figure 5 illustrates various pores between the balls 27, wherein at least a first plurality of pores is smaller than a second plurality of pores. The claim sets forth no specific size of the pores or uniformity of pores, and thus the various illustrated sizes of pores of Figure 5 satisfies the recited limitations. Additionally, Figures 36-37 and 40-43 illustrate graded wicks with different metal balls 71, 73, 76 that each have different diameters, which results in different pore sizes between the balls due to the different diameters. Thus, the resultant product of Rosenfeld reads on the claimed invention. Accordingly, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763