DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al (US 12,000,564).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses a grating sheet insert module comprising: an insert tongue (at least 63), defining a mounting hole (generally 631,632) extending through the insert tongue and an avoiding groove 80 in communication with the mounting hole, the avoiding groove 80 extending to an edge of the insert tongue; and a grating insert (at least 61,64,65), arranged in the mounting hole, in contact with a hole wall of the of the mounting hole, configured to be rotatable around a central axis of the mounting hole, the grating insert comprising a grating sheet (at least 61) configured to enable light entering the mounting hole to transmit therethrough (see particularly Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20, see also remaining Figures and description).
Regarding claim 2, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses that the grating insert comprises: a carrier (at least 65), arranged in the mounting hole, in contact with the hole wall of the mounting hole, and rotatable around the central axis of the mounting hole; and a clamping member (652,64) arranged on the carrier 65 and configured to cooperate with the carrier to clamp the grating sheet (see at least Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses that the mounting hole comprises a first step hole 631 and a second step hole (generally 632 including wall that periphery of carrier 65 contacts; see Fig. 8) which are coaxial with each other and in communication with each other, the carrier 65 is arranged in the first step hole 631 (at least limiting boss 651 of carrier 65 is arranged in first step hole, see Fig. 8 and col. 11, lines 34-35) and the second step hole 632, a diameter of the first step hole 632 is smaller than a diameter of the second step hole 632, a portion of the carrier is located in the second step hole, and a surface of the portion of the carrier 65 located in the second step hole close the first step hole abuts against the insert tongue 63 (see at least Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the avoiding groove 80 is in communication with the second step hole 631, the carrier 65 is arranged in the second step hole and teeth are arranged on a surface of the carrier 65 facing a hole wall of the second step hole (see at least Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the carrier 65 defines a carrier hole (see Fig. 8 and col. 11, lines 47-50) extending through the carrier and configured to transmit the light, the grating sheet 61 and clamping member are arranged in the carrier hole (see at least Figs. 6-8).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further wherein the grating insert (61,64,65) is detachably arranged on the insert tongue 63 (see at least Figs. 6-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al (US 12,000,564) in view of Xu (US 2022/0243895).
Regarding claim 8, Zheng discloses a lamp comprising: a grating-sheet insert module comprising an insert tongue (at least 63), defining a mounting hole (generally 631,632) extending through the insert tongue and an avoiding groove 80 in communication with the mounting hole, the avoiding groove 80 extending to an edge of the insert tongue; and a grating insert (at least 61,64,65), arranged in the mounting hole, in contact with a hole wall of the of the mounting hole, configured to be rotatable around a central axis of the mounting hole, the grating insert comprising a grating sheet (at least 61) configured to enable light entering the mounting hole to transmit therethrough; a light module (at least 51), configured to emit the light; and a drive module (generally 14), partially arranged in the avoiding groove 80 (at least a portion of 142 is arranged in groove 80; see at least col. 12, lines 12-20) (see particularly Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20, see also remaining Figures and description).
Zheng does not specifically teach that the light module 51 include a laser module. However the use of laser modules in projection lamps is well-known in the art and taught in Xu (see Xu, at least Fig. 3 and para [0061]). Accordingly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the light module in Zheng with a laser module in order to provide a strong collimated beam with higher intensity and focus while projecting images at longer distances.
Regarding claim 9, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 8, and further discloses that the grating insert comprises: a carrier (at least 65), arranged in the mounting hole, in contact with the hole wall of the mounting hole, and rotatable around the central axis of the mounting hole; and a clamping member (652,64) arranged on the carrier 65 and configured to cooperate with the carrier to clamp the grating sheet (see at least Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20).
Regarding claim 10, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 9, and further discloses that the mounting hole comprises a first step hole 631 and a second step hole (generally 632 including wall that periphery of carrier 65 contacts; see Fig. 8) which are coaxial with each other and in communication with each other, the carrier 65 is arranged in the first step hole 631 (at least limiting boss 651 of carrier 65 is arranged in first step hole, see Fig. 8 and col. 11, lines 34-35) and the second step hole 632, a diameter of the first step hole 632 is smaller than a diameter of the second step hole 632, a portion of the carrier is located in the second step hole, and a surface of the portion of the carrier 65 located in the second step hole close the first step hole abuts against the insert tongue 63 (see at least Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20).
Regarding claim 11, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 10, and further discloses wherein the avoiding groove 80 is in communication with the second step hole 631, the carrier 65 is arranged in the second step hole and teeth are arranged on a surface of the carrier 65 facing a hole wall of the second step hole (see at least Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20).
Regarding claim 12, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the carrier 65 defines a carrier hole (see Fig. 8 and col. 11, lines 47-50) extending through the carrier and configured to transmit the light, the grating sheet 61 and clamping member are arranged in the carrier hole (see at least Figs. 6-8).
Regarding claim 14, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 8, and further wherein the grating insert (61,64,65) is detachably arranged on the insert tongue 63 (see at least Figs. 6-8).
Regarding claim 15, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 8, and further discloses a mounting housing (generally 20), defining a mounting space; wherein the laser module and the drive module are arranged in the mounting space, the mounting housing 20 defines an insert hole 23 (see Fig. 7) in communication with the mounting space and a light outlet 24 in communication with outside of the mounting housing; theg rating insert module is arranged in the insert hole 23 and the mounting space, and configured to slide out of or into the mounting space from the insert hole; wherein the grating-sheet insert module is further configured to: slide in a sliding direction of the grating-sheet insert module to a location where a part of the drive module (part of 142) is located in the avoiding groove 80; and slide in the sliding direction of the grating sheet insert module to a location where the part of the drive module is located out of the avoiding groove; and wherein the light outlet 24 is configured to enable light to be emitted out of the mounting space (see at least Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20).
Regarding claim 16, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 15, and further discloses a grating module (generally 70), arranged at the light outlet, arranged on the grating sheet insert module and configured to enable the light to transmit therethrough (see at least Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20).
Regarding claim 17, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 15, and further discloses a limit base 62 (see Figs. 7-8), defining a limit space (see Fig. 8 and space to receive grating sheet insert module 61,63,64,65) adjacent to the insert hole 23, and defining an avoiding opening (see Fig. 8 and front opening) in communication wit the limit space and the insert hole 23, and the avoiding opening being defined at a position corresponding to the insert hole; wherein the limit space is configured to accommodate the grating sheet insert module and limit a location of the grating sheet insert module (via peripheral wall of 62), the grating sheet insert module is configured to slide out of or into the limit space from the avoiding opening, the limit base defines an avoiding channel (see Figs. 7-8 and channel of 62 the corresponds to avoiding groove 80 and drive portion 142), a portion of the drive module 14 is arranged in the avoiding channel, another portion of the drive module is arranged in the limit space and the portion of the drive module arranged in the limit space is in transmission connection with the grating insert (teeth of carrier 65) (see at least Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20).
Regarding claim 18, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 17, and the insert tongue 63 comprises a snapping portion (see front wall that covers insert hole 23, see Figs. 5-7) at a position corresponding to the insert hole 23, and the snapping portion is configured to seal the insert hole (see Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 19, Zheng discloses a lamp comprising: a mounting housing (generally 20); a mounting bracket (at least mounting bracket 30 and/or 40), received in the mounting housing; a light module (at least 51), mounted on the mounting bracket and configured to emit light; a grating-sheet insert module comprising: an insert tongue (at least 63), detachably connected to the mounting housing 20 and defining a mounting hole (generally 631,632) extending through the insert tongue; and a grating insert (at least 61,64,65), detachably arranged in the mounting hole, configured to enable the light emitted by the light module to transmit therethrough, and rotatable around a central axis of the mounting hole; and a drive module (generally 14), arranged on the mounting bracket, in transmission connection with the grating insert, and configured to drive the grating insert to rotate around the central axis of the mounting hole (see particularly Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20, see also remaining Figures and description).
Zheng does not specifically teach that the light module 51 include a laser module. However the use of laser modules in projection lamps is well-known in the art and taught in Xu (see Xu, at least Fig. 3 and para [0061]). Accordingly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the light module in Zheng with a laser module in order to provide a strong collimated beam with higher intensity and focus while projecting images at longer distances.
Regarding claim 20, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 19, and further discloses that the grating insert comprises: a carrier (at least 65), arranged in the mounting hole, in contact with the drive module, and rotatable around the central axis of the mounting hole under the drive of the drive module; a grating sheet 61, mounted on the carrier and configured to enable the light entering the mounting hole to transmit therethrough; and a clamping member (652,64) arranged on the carrier 65 and configured to cooperate with the carrier to clamp the grating sheet (see at least Figures 5-8 and col.9, line 20 through col. 12, line 20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Zheng does not teach or suggest that the carrier hole of carrier 65 comprise a third step hole and a fourth step hole in communication with each other, a diameter of the third is smaller than a diameter of the fourth step hole, the grating sheet and the clamping member are arranged in the fourth step hole, the grating sheet is arranged closer to the third step hole than the clamping member, the clamping member is configured to cooperate with the carrier to enable a surface of the grating sheet close to the third step hole to abut against the carrier. Accordingly, the claims are deemed patentable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/SEAN P GRAMLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875