DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation ” a boost valve” in line 2. It is not clear if this boost valve is the same boost valve established in claim 14 from which depends, or if this is an additional boost valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yagashira (US-20170015293).
Regarding claim 1, Yagashira discloses a redundant brake unit (6) for a motor vehicle, comprising: an inlet port configured to receive fluid under pressure from an external source (at least MC 5 and hydraulic line 11A); an outlet port connected to a supply passage and configured for fluid connection to a wheel brake (at least hydraulic line 11B and wheel cylinders 8); a reservoir port connected to a return passage and configured for fluid connection to a fluid reservoir (reservoir 4, inlet line 15, and pressure reducing lines 17/18); a boost valve (21) configured to selectively control fluid communication between the inlet port and the supply passage (at least fig 1); and a pressure supply unit (7/7a/outlet line 16) including a pump element (7) configured to pump fluid between the return passage and the supply passage (fig 1), wherein the pump element has an inlet directly connected to the reservoir port with no actuated valves therebetween (at least fig 1, reservoir 4 -> inlet line 15 -> pump inlet 70).
Claims 7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Oosawa (US20150007559).
Regarding claim 7, Oosawa discloses a redundant brake unit (Fig 1, HU, including dual P/S brake piping systems) for a motor vehicle, comprising: an inlet port configured to receive fluid under pressure from an external source (at least M/C, connected through 15); an outlet port connected to a supply passage and configured for fluid connection to a wheel brake (second fluid passage 26 connected to W/C); a reservoir port connected to a return passage and configured for fluid connection to a fluid reservoir (reservoir RSV, connected through inlet fluid passage 16); a pressure supply unit including a pump element configured to pump fluid to the supply passage (pumps, P/PP/PS, motor M, pump outlet 22b, and passage 26); and a normally-closed valve (31) and a throttle valve (34) in a series configuration between the supply passage and the return passage ( via 33/16), the throttle valve being operable to vary fluid flow therethrough to control a fluid pressure in the supply passage (at least wherein valve 34 varies opening under ECU control to regulate measured pressure).
Regarding claim 9, Oosawa discloses a boost valve (23) configured to selectively control fluid communication between the inlet port and the supply passage (23 controls M/C communication through 15 to 26 wherein 23 closes during pump powered braking and opens for m/c communication).
Regarding claim 10, Oosawa discloses an outlet fluid pressure sensor (36) configured to measure the fluid pressure in the supply passage (26); and an electronic control unit (CU) configured to receive a signal from the outlet fluid pressure sensor ( at least from 35/36) representing the fluid pressure in the supply passage and to provide a control signal to the throttle valve for adjusting the fluid pressure in the supply passage (at least wherein CU controls 34 opening and is varied to the measured pressure approaches target W/C pressure).
Regarding claim 12, Oosawa discloses a second inlet port configured to receive fluid under pressure from another external source; a second outlet port (10) connected to a second supply passage and configured for fluid connection to a second wheel brake; and a second normally-closed valve and a second throttle valve in a series configuration between the second supply passage and the return passage, the second throttle valve being operable to vary fluid flow therethrough to control a fluid pressure in the second supply passage.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee (US 20230174033).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses a brake system (fig 6, 50) for a motor vehicle, comprising: a wheel brake configured to apply a braking force in response to a fluid pressure (fig 6, 22a-22d); a primary brake unit including a first pressure supply unit configured to generate the fluid pressure (at least PSU module 54, pump 182 and pump elements 185/186), and a fluid discharge port for providing the fluid pressure (at least PSU module connections to ESC module 52); and a redundant brake unit (ESC module 52, receiving pressure from 54) including: an inlet port (77/79) fluidly coupled to the fluid discharge port of the primary brake unit (at least via 76/78), an outlet port connected to a supply passage and to the wheel brake (88/89 connected to 22a-22d), a boost valve configured to selectively control fluid communication between the inlet port and the supply passage (at least ESC valves 104 and/or 106), a reservoir port connected to a return passage and configured for fluid connection to a fluid reservoir (90/91->92), and a second PSU including a pump element (ESC pump 82, elements 85/86) configured to pump fluid between the return passage and the supply passage (fig 6), wherein the pump element has an inlet directly connected to the reservoir port with no actuated valves therebetween (fig 6).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses a wherein the redundant brake unit further comprises: a throttle valve (152/154) disposed between the supply passage and the return passage (176/178 and bypasses 190/191) and being operable to vary fluid flow therethrough to control a fluid pressure in the supply passage (at least wherein 152/154 are normally open isolation valves capable of variable control); an outlet fluid pressure sensor (108/160) configured to measure the fluid pressure in the supply passage; and an electronic control unit configured to receive a signal ( at least wherein ESC ECU 80 receives 108 and PSU ECU receives 160) from the outlet fluid pressure sensor representing the fluid pressure in the supply passage and to provide a control signal to the throttle valve for adjusting the fluid pressure in the supply passage (at least wherein esc 180 controls valves 152/154).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses a normally-closed valve (at least 100/102) connected in series with the throttle valve (152/154 and/or 104/106) between the supply passage and the return passage (fig 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagashira (US-20170015293) in view of Oosawa (US20150007559).
Regarding claim 2, Yagashira discloses as set forth above but lacks a normally-closed valve and a throttle valve in a series configuration between the supply passage and the return passage, the throttle valve being operable to vary fluid flow therethrough to control a fluid pressure in the supply passage. OOsawa teaches wherein a normally-closed valve (reservoir shutoff valve 31) and a throttle valve (proportional control valve 34) in a series configuration (figs 1 and 9-10, wherein flow path through valve 34, inlet passage 16 and valve 31) between the supply passage and the return passage (26->33->34->16->31-> reservoir RSV).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydraulic pressure-reducing circuit of Yagashira by incorporating the series-connected normally-closed isolation valve and proportionally adjustable pressure-control valve arrangement as taught by Oosawa at least in order to selectively isolate the reservoir-return path while providing fine adjustment of fluid discharge and corresponding wheel-cylinder pressure and thus, the controllability can be much increased (Oosawa, [0079]).
Regarding claim 3, Yagashira discloses an outlet fluid pressure sensor (92) configured to measure the fluid pressure in the supply passage; and an electronic control unit (ECU 100) configured to receive a signal from the outlet fluid pressure sensor representing the fluid pressure in the supply passage and to provide a control signal to the throttle valve for adjusting the fluid pressure in the supply passage (at least wherein ECU adjusts the opening of proportional pressure regulating valve 27 and feedback control brings measured pressure toward the target wheel-cylinder pressure Pw*).
Regarding claim 7, Yagashira discloses a redundant brake unit (6) for a motor vehicle, comprising: an inlet port configured to receive fluid under pressure from an external source (at least MC 5 and hydraulic line 11A); an outlet port connected to a supply passage and configured for fluid connection to a wheel brake (at least hydraulic line 11B and wheel cylinders 8); a reservoir port connected to a return passage and configured for fluid connection to a fluid reservoir (reservoir 4, inlet line 15, and pressure reducing lines 17/18); a boost valve (21) configured to selectively control fluid communication between the inlet port and the supply passage (at least fig 1); and a pressure supply unit (7/7a/outlet line 16) including a pump element (7) configured to pump fluid between the return passage and the supply passage (fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, Yagashira discloses as set forth above but lacks a normally-closed valve and a throttle valve in a series configuration between the supply passage and the return passage, the throttle valve being operable to vary fluid flow therethrough to control a fluid pressure in the supply passage. Oosawa teaches wherein a normally-closed valve (reservoir shutoff valve 31) and a throttle valve (proportional control valve 34) in a series configuration (figs 1 and 9-10, wherein flow path through valve 34, inlet passage 16 and valve 31) between the supply passage and the return passage (26->33->34->16->31-> reservoir RSV).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydraulic pressure-reducing circuit of Yagashira by incorporating the series-connected normally-closed isolation valve and proportionally adjustable pressure-control valve arrangement as taught by Oosawa at least in order to selectively isolate the reservoir-return path while providing fine adjustment of fluid discharge and corresponding wheel-cylinder pressure and thus, the controllability can be much increased (Oosawa, [0079]).
Regarding claim 8, Yagasawa discloses wherein the pump element has an inlet directly connected to the reservoir port with no actuated valves therebetween (at least fig 1, reservoir 4 -> inlet line 15 -> pump inlet 70).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11, and 16-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 4, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein an inlet fluid pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure at the inlet port and to provide a corresponding signal to the electronic control unit, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to determine a pressure differential across the boost valve based on a difference between the fluid pressure in the supply passage and the fluid pressure at the inlet port, wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to determine a desired output pressure setting based on the difference between the fluid pressure in the supply passage and the fluid pressure at the inlet port, wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to generate the control signal for the throttle valve based on a difference between the desired output pressure setting and the fluid pressure in the supply passage.
As to claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a second inlet port configured to receive fluid under pressure from another external source; a second outlet port connected to a second supply passage and configured for fluid connection to a second wheel brake; a second boost valve configured to selectively control fluid communication between the second inlet port and the second supply passage; and wherein the pressure supply unit further includes a second pump element configured to pump fluid between the return passage and the second supply passage, and the second pump element has an inlet directly connected to the reservoir port with no actuated valves therebetween.
As to claim 11, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an inlet fluid pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure at the inlet port and to provide a corresponding signal to the electronic control unit, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to determine a pressure differential across the boost valve based on a difference between the fluid pressure in the supply passage and the fluid pressure at the inlet port, wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to determine a desired output pressure setting based on the difference between the fluid pressure in the supply passage and the fluid pressure at the inlet port, wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to generate the control signal for the throttle valve based on a difference between the desired output pressure setting and the fluid pressure in the supply passage.
As to claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an inlet fluid pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure at the inlet port and to provide a corresponding signal to the electronic control unit, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to determine a pressure differential across the boost valve based on a difference between the fluid pressure in the supply passage and the fluid pressure at the inlet port, wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to determine a desired output pressure setting based on the difference between the fluid pressure in the supply passage and the fluid pressure at the inlet port, wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to determine the control signal for the throttle valve based on a difference between the output pressure setting and the fluid pressure at the inlet port.
As to claim 17, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a throttle valve disposed between the supply passage and the return passage and being operable to vary fluid flow therethrough to control a fluid pressure in the supply passage; and an electronic control unit configured to receive a brake request signal from an autopilot controller and, in response to the brake request signal: command the boost valve to a closed state; energize the second PSU to cause the pump element to pump fluid between the return passage and the supply passage; and provide a control signal to the throttle valve for adjusting the fluid pressure in the supply passage and to cause the wheel brake to apply the braking force.
As to claim 18, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a second inlet port configured to receive fluid under pressure from another external source; a second outlet port connected to a second supply passage and configured for fluid connection to a second wheel brake; and a second normally-closed valve and a second throttle valve in a series configuration between the second supply passage and the return passage, the second throttle valve being operable to vary fluid flow therethrough to control a fluid pressure in the second supply passage.
As to claim 20, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a first electronic control unit associated with the primary brake unit and configured to control operation of the first PSU; a second electronic control unit associated with the redundant brake unit and configured to control operation of the second PSU; and two independent wheel speed sensors each configured to measure a speed of a wheel coupled to the wheel brake, and wherein each of the first electronic control unit and the second electronic control unit is configured to monitor the speed of the wheel via a corresponding one of the two independent wheel speed sensors.
Conclusion
/JAMES K HSIAO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3616