DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/0/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The new limitation of a clearance portion is provided by Biederman et al. (US 3835540 A) in combination with the previous prior art of McSurdy et al. (US 2007/0178421 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McSurdy et al. (US 2007/0178421 A1) in view of Biederman et al. (US 3835540 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, McSurdy discloses a method of designing and producing a series of palatal expanders comprising a plurality of palatal expanders configured to be sequentially worn by a patient to expand the patient's palate (paragraph [0010] all disclosing a method of generating and thus designing, a from an initial model a series of expanders to expand the jaw, paragraph [0011] all disclosing all expanders are produced), the method comprising:
receiving a digital model of a patient's oral cavity in an initial position (paragraph [0010] lines 7-9 disclosing an initial electronic thus digital model of the patient’s initial position);
adjusting the digital model from the initial position to a final position in which a palate is expanded by morphing the digital model to reflect an orthopedic expansion of the patient's midline suture (paragraph [0010] lines 7-15 disclosing the initial model is used to generate a morphing to a final selected desired breadth);
generating a palatal expander model corresponding to each intermediate position of a plurality of intermediate positions of the digital model between the initial position and the final position ( paragraph [0010] lines 7-15 further disclosing the intermediate positions of electronic models are made via a series of intermediate expander geometries),
each palatal expander model including a left tooth engagement region configured to be removably worn over the patient’s teeth in a left maxillary portion of the patient’s upper jaw (Fig. 3 element LMac/LMbc being left upper molars engagement regions),
a right tooth engagement regions configured to be removably worn over the patient’s teeth in a right maxillary portion of the patient’s upper jaw (Fig. 3 element RMac/RMbc being right upper molars engagement regions),
, and
a palatal region between the left tooth engagement region and the right tooth engagement region (Fig. 5 showing a palatal region between left and right tooth engagement regions) and comprising a left portion of the expander that is configured to contact a left lingual side of the patient’s palate when worn (Fig. 5 showing a left lingual contact of a portion of the palatal region) and a right palatal region configured to contact a right lingual side of the patient’s palate (Fig. 5 showing a right lingual contact of a portion of the palatal region),
outputting the palatal expander model corresponding to each intermediate position of the plurality of intermediate positions (paragraph [0026] all disclosing the outputting of the model such a for a computer controlled sculpting device to form templates for the expander appliances),
and wherein for each successive palatal expander in the series of palatal expanders after a first palatal expander in the sequence, the palatal region is progressively expanded relative to a mid-sagittal plane through the first palatal expander (paragraph [0017] lines 1-10).
McSurdy discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose a clearance portion of the palatal region between the left portion and the right portion configured to provide a clearance between the patient’s palate and the clearance portion of the palatal expander.
However Biederman discloses a palatal expander device (title and abstract) having a left portion and right portion for applying pressure to left and right sides of the palate (Fig. 6 elements 26) and a clearance portion between the left and right portions to provide a clearance between the patient’s palate and the clearance portion of the palatal expander (Figs. 6-8 showing a clearance formed between the top of the palate and the clearance portion 10/12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the provision of a clearance between a clearance portion between left and right portions of a palatal expander as taught by Biederman into the space between the left and right portions of the palatal expander as taught by McSurdy for the purpose of providing for a palatal expander that would avoid palatal irritation (column 1 lines 41-47) .
Regarding claim 2, McSurdy further discloses wherein the palatal region is configured to add anti-tipping torque to at least one tooth to control tipping of a crown of the at least one tooth during palatal expansion by applying a lateral force on the lingual side of the palate where the palatal region contacts the lingual side of the palate (paragraph [0023] lines 8-12 disclosing that buccal tipping it limited by the teeth regions, Fig. 5 the buccal regions would transfer torque to the lingual sides of the jaw, further the lingual sides of the palate would be part of the contact region for pressure).
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 14, McSurdy further discloses wherein the palatal region model and subsequent expander is configured to add anti-tipping torque by applying the lateral force to buccally rotate the root of the at least one tooth to control tipping of the crown of the at least one tooth during palatal expansion by applying a lingual force on the lingual side of the palate (paragraph [0023] lines 8-12 disclosing that buccal tipping it limited by the teeth regions, Fig. 5 the buccal regions would transfer torque to the lingual sides of the jaw and thus some buccal rotation force to the roots, further the lingual sides of the palate would be part of the contact region for pressure and by the buccal regions of the shell over the teeth being held against tipping the lingual portion of the shell would be pressed into the lingual surfaces as well).
Regarding claims 4 and 15 McSurdy further discloses, wherein the palatal region is configured to apply a lateral expansion force where it contacts the lingual side of the patient’s palate, the force based on a planned treatment stage that is part of a planned palatal expansion treatment for the patient (Fig. 5 showing the expander for a given stage of the planned treatment would contact and apply a pressure to the lingual side of the patient’s palate and thus apply lateral expansion force).
Regarding claims 5, and 18, McSurdy further discloses wherein a first palatal expander from a first model in the series is configured to be worn earlier in treatment and contact and apply a first expansion force on the lingual side of the palate and a second expander form a second model in the series is configured to contact and apply a second expansion force on the lingual side of the palate, the first force different than the second force due to the first and second palatal models having different configurations (Fig. 5 showing the expander for a given stage of the planned treatment would contact and apply a pressure to the lingual side of the patient’s palate and thus apply lateral expansion force, and that the amount of force that the first expander from the first model would apply would be more than the amount of force a second/subsequent modeled expander would apply in paragraph [0006] lines 10-17 disclosing that the amount of pressure for each adjustment step would be eased and thus different by the next expander adjustment being less than the previous expander thus having different configurations of different forces and widths).
Regarding claim 16 McSurdy further discloses wherein for the first and second of the palatal expander models, configuring the respective palatal regions such that palatal regions of first and second palatal expanders that correspond to the first and second palatal expander models contact a lingual side of the patient’s palate when worn (Fig. 5 showing the expander for a given stage of the planned treatment would contact and apply a pressure to the lingual side of the patient’s palate) , and wherein the palatal regions of the first and second palatal expander models have different configurations (paragraph [0032] lines 1-12 disclosing the configuration of the palatal regions would be different by the second configured to be at least 0.5mm wider than the first) .
Regarding claims 6 and 17, McSurdy further discloses wherein the first and second palatal expanders are designed and configured to achieve different expansion distances during respective stages during the planned palatal expansion treatment for the patient (paragraph [0032] all disclosing that the first/second expanders would each have different expansion distances, as the second expander would have an expansion distance greater than the previous expander until the final position was achieved).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, McSurdy further discloses wherein for the one or more palatal expanders in the series, an average thickness of the palatal region is different/greater than an average thickness of an occlusal region of the left and right tooth engagement regions (Fig. 5 showing a thickness of the center of the palatal portion is thicker that the occlusal regions), and an average thickness of a buccal region of the left and right tooth engagement regions is less than the average thickness of the occlusal region (Fig. 5 showing the thickness of the buccal regions being thinner than that of the occlusal regions).
Regarding claim 10, McSurdy further discloses where for the one or more palatal expanders in the series, the palatal expander comprises a buccal extension region configured to extend at least partially over the patient's gingiva when the palatal expander is worn by the patient (fig. 2 showing a portion of the buccal part of the expander extends over at least a portion of the gingiva).
Regarding claim 11, McSurdy further discloses where for the one or more palatal expanders in the series, the palatal expander includes a central region configured to create a gap between the patient’s palate and the palatal region (Fig. 5 showing that as the palatal suture would release and widen a central portion of the expander would no longer be in contact with the center of the palate a thus gap would form).
Further regarding claim 19, McSurdy further discloses where the first palatal expander is designed to be worn in a treatment stage that occurs earlier than a treatment stage during which the second palatal expander is designed to be worn, the treatment stages part of the planned palatal expansion treatment for the patient (paragraph [0033] lines 1-9 disclosing the first palatal expander is worn first and then is replaced by a number of intermediate expanders thus the next intermediate expander being the designed to be worn after the first).
Further regarding claim 20, McSurdy further discloses fabricating a series of monolithic palatal expanders from the palatal expander model corresponding to each intermediate position of the plurality of intermediate positions (paragraph [0011] all disclosing that all the expanders are produced and thus all the intermediate position expanders are fabricated).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McSurdy et al. (US 2007/0178421 A1) in view of Biederman et al. (US 3835540 A) and further in view of Wen et al. (WO 2006/096558 A2).
Regarding claim 7, McSurdy/Biederman as combined above discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose where the palatal expanders are configured to achieve different expansion distances or rates by having different stiffness.
However, Wen discloses a series of expanders to widen a palate (title and abstract, paragraph [0065 all disclosing expanding the upper palate), where the expander would have a palate region that would have different stiffness between expanders (paragraph [0041] lines 1-7 disclosing the different portions of the different appliances can have different hardness and thus stiffnesses)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of different stiffness in appliances as taught by Wen into the series of appliances as taught by McSurdy for the purpose of providing for the ability to enhance performance of the appliances as taught by Wen (abstract disclosing the varying stiffness would enhance performance of dental aligners).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.P.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 07/29/2026
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772