DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polaganga et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209432), hereinafter referred to as Polaganga
Regarding claim 1, Polaganga discloses a method of wireless communication, the method comprising:
based on at least determining a first mobility profile for a first user equipment (UE) (If UE 504 is a home internet device (e.g., a home internet router) or other stationary non-mobile device such as an IoT smart home device with high bandwidth utilization (e.g., constant data traffic without frequent transitions to RRC_IDLE mode), the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]), determining, by a wireless network, a first preferred cellgroup for the first UE (the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]), the first preferred cellgroup comprising a preferred radio access technology (RAT) (e.g., n41 or NR RAT; See [0063]) and a first preferred frequency layer (NR band n41 layer; See [0057]-[0058]);
upon a trigger event:
monitoring whether the first UE is using the first preferred cellgroup (the base station 502 determines that the connected-mode UE 504 has been operating on the NR band n71 layer for a threshold time which is not the preferred cellgroup; See [0058]); and
monitoring whether a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is available for a steering action of the first UE (after the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server, the base station can initiate a handover of the UE 504 to the higher capacity n41 layer. A handover to the n41 layer can cause the UE to operate at a higher throughput (e.g., higher speed) than a throughput when the UE is operating on the n71 layer; See [0058]), wherein the steering action comprises a handover or a redirection of the first UE to an available frequency layer of the first preferred cellgroup (After the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server, the base station can initiate a handover of the UE 504 to the higher capacity n41 layer. A handover to the n41 layer can cause the UE to operate at a higher throughput (e.g., higher speed) than a throughput when the UE is operating on the n71 layer; See [0058]); and
based on at least the first UE not using the first preferred cellgroup and based on at least the available frequency layer of the first preferred cellgroup becoming available, and without any steering action request by the first UE, instructing the first UE, by the wireless network, to perform the steering action (After the base station 502 determines that the connected-mode UE 504 has been operating on the NR band n71 layer for a threshold time (e.g., for several minutes, hours, days, etc.) or after the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server, the base station can initiate a handover of the UE 504 to the higher capacity n41 layer. A handover to the n41 layer can cause the UE to operate at a higher throughput (e.g., higher speed) than a throughput when the UE is operating on the n71 layer; See [0058]).
Regarding 2, Polaganga further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first mobility profile for the first UE comprises determining that the first UE is associated with a stationary use, and wherein the first UE comprises an internet access point (If UE 504 is a home internet device (e.g., a home internet router) or other stationary non-mobile device such as an IoT smart home device with high bandwidth utilization (e.g., constant data traffic without frequent transitions to RRC_IDLE mode), the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Polaganga further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein monitoring whether a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is available comprises:
determining, by the wireless network, whether a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is operational (the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server; See [0058]);
based on at least determining that a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is operational, instructing, by the wireless network, the first UE to measure a received signal quality of a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup (To initiate the handover, the base station can send an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE to cause the UE to perform radio measurements of the n41 layer (e.g., configure inter-frequency measurement gaps so that the UE can perform the inter-frequency measurements of the n41); See [0059]);
measuring, by the first UE, the received signal quality according to the instruction (implied by the UE receiving the message and sending the report after measuring; See [0059]); and
reporting, by the first UE, to the wireless network, the received signal quality (The UE sends a measurement report to the base station so that the base station can ascertain that the signal quality of the n41 cell is good enough to use; See [0059]).
Regarding claim 7, Polaganga further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
monitoring network conditions of the wireless network (after the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server; See [0058]), wherein the first preferred cellgroup is based on at least two factors selected from the list consisting of:
the network conditions of the wireless network (If UE 504 is a home internet device (e.g., a home internet router) or other stationary non-mobile device such as an IoT smart home device with high bandwidth utilization (e.g., constant data traffic without frequent transitions to RRC_IDLE mode), the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]), capability of the first UE (If UE 504 is a home internet device (e.g., a home internet router) or other stationary non-mobile device such as an IoT smart home device with high bandwidth utilization (e.g., constant data traffic without frequent transitions to RRC_IDLE mode), interpreted as the capability; See [0057]), and subscriber data associated with the first UE.
Regarding claim 8, Polaganga further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger event comprises a lapse of a timer started upon the first UE attaching to its current cellgroup (pre-defined configurable threshold time; See [0036]), wherein prior to the lapse of the timer, the first UE reevaluates mobility options once every 10 minutes or less (After the base station 502 determines that the connected-mode UE 504 has been operating on the NR band n71 layer for a threshold time (e.g., for several minutes, hours, days, etc.) or after the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server; See [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Polaganga discloses a system (computer system; See Fig. 6, #600) comprising:
a processor (processor; See Fig. 6, #602); and
a computer-readable medium (main memory; See Fig. 6, #626) storing instructions (instructions; See Fig. 6, #628) that are operative upon execution by the processor to:
based on at least determining a first mobility profile for a first user equipment (UE) (If UE 504 is a home internet device (e.g., a home internet router) or other stationary non-mobile device such as an IoT smart home device with high bandwidth utilization (e.g., constant data traffic without frequent transitions to RRC_IDLE mode), the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]), determine, by a wireless network, a first preferred cellgroup for the first UE (the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]), the first preferred cellgroup comprising a preferred radio access technology (RAT) (e.g., n41 or NR RAT; See [0063]) and a first preferred frequency layer (NR band n41 layer; See [0057]-[0058]);
upon a trigger event:
monitor whether the first UE is using the first preferred cellgroup (the base station 502 determines that the connected-mode UE 504 has been operating on the NR band n71 layer for a threshold time which is not the preferred cellgroup; See [0058]); and
monitor whether a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is available for a steering action of the first UE (after the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server, the base station can initiate a handover of the UE 504 to the higher capacity n41 layer. A handover to the n41 layer can cause the UE to operate at a higher throughput (e.g., higher speed) than a throughput when the UE is operating on the n71 layer; See [0058]), wherein the steering action comprises a handover or a redirection of the first UE to an available frequency layer of the first preferred cellgroup (After the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server, the base station can initiate a handover of the UE 504 to the higher capacity n41 layer. A handover to the n41 layer can cause the UE to operate at a higher throughput (e.g., higher speed) than a throughput when the UE is operating on the n71 layer; See [0058]); and
based on at least the first UE not using the first preferred cellgroup and based on at least the available frequency layer of the first preferred cellgroup becoming available, and without any steering action request by the first UE, instruct the first UE, by the wireless network, to perform the steering action (After the base station 502 determines that the connected-mode UE 504 has been operating on the NR band n71 layer for a threshold time (e.g., for several minutes, hours, days, etc.) or after the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server, the base station can initiate a handover of the UE 504 to the higher capacity n41 layer. A handover to the n41 layer can cause the UE to operate at a higher throughput (e.g., higher speed) than a throughput when the UE is operating on the n71 layer; See [0058]).
Regarding claim 10, Polaganga further discloses the system of claim 9, wherein determining the first mobility profile for the first UE comprises determining that the first UE is associated with a stationary use, and wherein the first UE comprises an internet access point (If UE 504 is a home internet device (e.g., a home internet router) or other stationary non-mobile device such as an IoT smart home device with high bandwidth utilization (e.g., constant data traffic without frequent transitions to RRC_IDLE mode), the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Polaganga further discloses the system of claim 9, wherein monitoring whether a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is available comprises:
determining, by the wireless network, whether a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is operational (the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server; See [0058]);
based on at least determining that a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is operational, instructing, by the wireless network, the first UE to measure a received signal quality of a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup (To initiate the handover, the base station can send an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE to cause the UE to perform radio measurements of the n41 layer (e.g., configure inter-frequency measurement gaps so that the UE can perform the inter-frequency measurements of the n41); See [0059]);
measuring, by the first UE, the received signal quality according to the instruction (implied by the UE receiving the message and sending the report after measuring; See [0059]); and
reporting, by the first UE, to the wireless network, the received signal quality (The UE sends a measurement report to the base station so that the base station can ascertain that the signal quality of the n41 cell is good enough to use; See [0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Polaganga discloses one or more computer storage devices (machine-readable medium; See Fig. 6, #626) having computer-executable instructions stored thereon, which, upon execution by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations comprising:
based on at least determining a first mobility profile for a first user equipment (UE) (If UE 504 is a home internet device (e.g., a home internet router) or other stationary non-mobile device such as an IoT smart home device with high bandwidth utilization (e.g., constant data traffic without frequent transitions to RRC_IDLE mode), the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]), determining, by a wireless network, a first preferred cellgroup for the first UE (the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]), the first preferred cellgroup comprising a preferred radio access technology (RAT) (e.g., n41 or NR RAT; See [0063]) and a first preferred frequency layer (NR band n41 layer; See [0057]-[0058]);
upon a trigger event:
monitoring whether the first UE is using the first preferred cellgroup (the base station 502 determines that the connected-mode UE 504 has been operating on the NR band n71 layer for a threshold time which is not the preferred cellgroup; See [0058]); and
monitoring whether a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is available for a steering action of the first UE (after the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server, the base station can initiate a handover of the UE 504 to the higher capacity n41 layer. A handover to the n41 layer can cause the UE to operate at a higher throughput (e.g., higher speed) than a throughput when the UE is operating on the n71 layer; See [0058]), wherein the steering action comprises a handover or a redirection of the first UE to an available frequency layer of the first preferred cellgroup (After the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server, the base station can initiate a handover of the UE 504 to the higher capacity n41 layer. A handover to the n41 layer can cause the UE to operate at a higher throughput (e.g., higher speed) than a throughput when the UE is operating on the n71 layer; See [0058]); and
based on at least the first UE not using the first preferred cellgroup and based on at least the available frequency layer of the first preferred cellgroup becoming available, and without any steering action request by the first UE, instructing the first UE, by the wireless network, to perform the steering action (After the base station 502 determines that the connected-mode UE 504 has been operating on the NR band n71 layer for a threshold time (e.g., for several minutes, hours, days, etc.) or after the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server, the base station can initiate a handover of the UE 504 to the higher capacity n41 layer. A handover to the n41 layer can cause the UE to operate at a higher throughput (e.g., higher speed) than a throughput when the UE is operating on the n71 layer; See [0058]).
Regarding claim 16, Polaganga further discloses the one or more computer storage devices of claim 15, wherein determining the first mobility profile for the first UE comprises determining that the first UE is associated with a stationary use, and wherein the first UE comprises an internet access point (If UE 504 is a home internet device (e.g., a home internet router) or other stationary non-mobile device such as an IoT smart home device with high bandwidth utilization (e.g., constant data traffic without frequent transitions to RRC_IDLE mode), the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]).
Regarding claim 17, Polaganga further discloses the one or more computer storage devices of claim 15, wherein monitoring whether a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is available comprises:
determining, by the wireless network, whether a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is operational (the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server; See [0058]);
based on at least determining that a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup is operational, instructing, by the wireless network, the first UE to measure a received signal quality of a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup (To initiate the handover, the base station can send an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE to cause the UE to perform radio measurements of the n41 layer (e.g., configure inter-frequency measurement gaps so that the UE can perform the inter-frequency measurements of the n41); See [0059]);
measuring, by the first UE, the received signal quality according to the instruction (implied by the UE receiving the message and sending the report after measuring; See [0059]); and
reporting, by the first UE, to the wireless network, the received signal quality (The UE sends a measurement report to the base station so that the base station can ascertain that the signal quality of the n41 cell is good enough to use; See [0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polaganga as applied to claims 1, 9 and 15 above, and further in view of Di Girolamo et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0119176), hereinafter referred to as Di Girolamo.
Regarding claim 4, Polaganga further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein upon receiving the instruction to measure a received signal quality of a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup, the first UE is attached to a non-preferred (To initiate the handover, the base station can send an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE to cause the UE to perform radio measurements of the n41 layer (e.g., configure inter-frequency measurement gaps so that the UE can perform the inter-frequency measurements of the n41); See [0059]); and wherein the wireless network and the UE communicate the instruction to measure a received signal quality of a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup and the received signal quality using a software application (app) on the first UE (implied by the UE receiving the message and sending the report after measuring; See [0059]).
Polaganga fails to teach of the wherein the first preferred cellgroup further identifies the wireless network as a preferred public land mobile network (PLMN).
While Polaganga teaches having a plurality of cellgroups including preferred and not preferred, it fails to teach of having a plurality of PLMN.
Di Girolamo teaches having a plurality of PLMN (A UE may be steered to a specific PLMN using “Steering of Roaming”. If the UE receives a command of type “Steering of Roaming”, it is expected to take certain actions. First, the UE should replace the highest priority entries in the “Operator Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology” list stored in the UE with the list provided in the received command. Second, the UE should delete the PLMNs identified by the list in the received command from the Forbidden PLMN list, if they are present in these lists. Third, the UE should take the new information into account in subsequent attempts to access a higher priority PLMN. Last, the UE should immediately attempt to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN. determining a set of PLMN lists and supplying this set to the UE. The UE may then use a local policy to determine which PLMN list to use. The policy may be based on one or more of the following: UE location, UE load, applications running on UE, etc.; See [0059] and [0125]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Polaganga to include having a plurality of PLMN taught by Di Girolamo in order to enhance routing based on congestion, load or application needs.
Regarding claim 12, Polaganga further teaches the system of claim 9, wherein upon receiving the instruction to measure a received signal quality of a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup, the first UE is attached to a non-preferred (To initiate the handover, the base station can send an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE to cause the UE to perform radio measurements of the n41 layer (e.g., configure inter-frequency measurement gaps so that the UE can perform the inter-frequency measurements of the n41); See [0059]); and wherein the wireless network and the UE communicate the instruction to measure a received signal quality of a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup and the received signal quality using a software application (app) on the first UE (implied by the UE receiving the message and sending the report after measuring; See [0059]).
Polaganga fails to teach of the wherein the first preferred cellgroup further identifies the wireless network as a preferred public land mobile network (PLMN).
While Polaganga teaches having a plurality of cellgroups including preferred and not preferred, it fails to teach of having a plurality of PLMN.
Di Girolamo teaches having a plurality of PLMN (A UE may be steered to a specific PLMN using “Steering of Roaming”. If the UE receives a command of type “Steering of Roaming”, it is expected to take certain actions. First, the UE should replace the highest priority entries in the “Operator Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology” list stored in the UE with the list provided in the received command. Second, the UE should delete the PLMNs identified by the list in the received command from the Forbidden PLMN list, if they are present in these lists. Third, the UE should take the new information into account in subsequent attempts to access a higher priority PLMN. Last, the UE should immediately attempt to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN. determining a set of PLMN lists and supplying this set to the UE. The UE may then use a local policy to determine which PLMN list to use. The policy may be based on one or more of the following: UE location, UE load, applications running on UE, etc.; See [0059] and [0125]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Polaganga to include having a plurality of PLMN taught by Di Girolamo in order to enhance routing based on congestion, load or application needs.
Regarding claim 18, Polaganga further teaches the one or more computer storage devices of claim 15, wherein upon receiving the instruction to measure a received signal quality of a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup, the first UE is attached to a non-preferred (To initiate the handover, the base station can send an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE to cause the UE to perform radio measurements of the n41 layer (e.g., configure inter-frequency measurement gaps so that the UE can perform the inter-frequency measurements of the n41); See [0059]); and wherein the wireless network and the UE communicate the instruction to measure a received signal quality of a frequency layer in the first preferred cellgroup and the received signal quality using a software application (app) on the first UE (implied by the UE receiving the message and sending the report after measuring; See [0059]).
Polaganga fails to teach of the wherein the first preferred cellgroup further identifies the wireless network as a preferred public land mobile network (PLMN).
While Polaganga teaches having a plurality of cellgroups including preferred and not preferred, it fails to teach of having a plurality of PLMN.
Di Girolamo teaches having a plurality of PLMN (A UE may be steered to a specific PLMN using “Steering of Roaming”. If the UE receives a command of type “Steering of Roaming”, it is expected to take certain actions. First, the UE should replace the highest priority entries in the “Operator Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology” list stored in the UE with the list provided in the received command. Second, the UE should delete the PLMNs identified by the list in the received command from the Forbidden PLMN list, if they are present in these lists. Third, the UE should take the new information into account in subsequent attempts to access a higher priority PLMN. Last, the UE should immediately attempt to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN. determining a set of PLMN lists and supplying this set to the UE. The UE may then use a local policy to determine which PLMN list to use. The policy may be based on one or more of the following: UE location, UE load, applications running on UE, etc.; See [0059] and [0125]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the one or more computer storage devices of Polaganga to include having a plurality of PLMN taught by Di Girolamo in order to enhance routing based on congestion, load or application needs.
Claims 5-6, 13-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polaganga as applied to claims 1, 9 and 15 above, and further in view of Nalla et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0133549), hereinafter referred to as Nalla.
Regarding claim 5, Polaganga fails to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the wireless network, the first mobility profile for the first UE (monitors or determines radio cell configurations of one or more non-mobile UEs operating in connected mode (an RRC-CONNECTED mode); See [0036]);
determining, by the wireless network, a second mobility profile for a second UE (monitors or determines radio cell configurations of one or more non-mobile UEs operating in connected mode (an RRC-CONNECTED mode); See [0036]);
based on at least determining the second mobility profile for the second UE (monitors or determines radio cell configurations of one or more non-mobile UEs operating in connected mode (an RRC-CONNECTED mode); See [0036]), determining, by the wireless network, a second preferred cellgroup for the second UE (For example, the eNB/gNB determines that the UE is currently being served by a serving cell operating on a first frequency band and had been served by that serving cell for a certain pre-defined configurable threshold time (e.g., for minutes, hours, days, etc.); See [0036]); and
monitoring whether the second UE is using the second preferred cellgroup (the base station 502 determines that the connected-mode UE 504 has been operating on the NR band n71 layer for a threshold time which is not the preferred cellgroup; See [0058]).
Polaganga fails to teach but fails to explicitly teach of having the second preferred cellgroup comprising a second preferred frequency layer not in the first preferred cellgroup.
Nalla teaches having different frequency layers that can be part of different preferred cellgroups that are not in the first preferred cellgroup (These frequency measurements are stored for performing carrier aggregation of frequency bands, dual connectivity of the frequency bands and handover of the UE 102 from one frequency band to another frequency band in multi-layer deployment; See [0044]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Polaganga to include having different frequency layers that can be part of different preferred cellgroups that are not in the first preferred cellgroup taught by Nalla in order to enhance the user experience.
Regarding claim 6, Polaganga fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first preferred cellgroup further comprises a preferred carrier aggregation (CA) combination of multiple frequency layers.
Nalla teaches wherein the first preferred cellgroup further comprises a preferred carrier aggregation (CA) combination of multiple frequency layers (These frequency measurements are stored for performing carrier aggregation of frequency bands, dual connectivity of the frequency bands and handover of the UE 102 from one frequency band to another frequency band in multi-layer deployment; See [0044]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Polaganga to include wherein the first preferred cellgroup further comprises a preferred carrier aggregation (CA) combination of multiple frequency layers taught by Nalla in order to enhance the user experience.
Regarding claim 13, Polaganga further teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the instructions are further operative to:
determine, by the wireless network, the first mobility profile for the first UE (monitors or determines radio cell configurations of one or more non-mobile UEs operating in connected mode (an RRC-CONNECTED mode); See [0036]);
determine, by the wireless network, a second mobility profile for a second UE (monitors or determines radio cell configurations of one or more non-mobile UEs operating in connected mode (an RRC-CONNECTED mode); See [0036]);
based on at least determining the second mobility profile for the second UE (monitors or determines radio cell configurations of one or more non-mobile UEs operating in connected mode (an RRC-CONNECTED mode); See [0036]), determining, by the wireless network, a second preferred cellgroup for the second UE (For example, the eNB/gNB determines that the UE is currently being served by a serving cell operating on a first frequency band and had been served by that serving cell for a certain pre-defined configurable threshold time (e.g., for minutes, hours, days, etc.); See [0036]); and
monitor whether the second UE is using the second preferred cellgroup (the base station 502 determines that the connected-mode UE 504 has been operating on the NR band n71 layer for a threshold time which is not the preferred cellgroup; See [0058]).
Polaganga fails to teach but fails to explicitly teach of having the second preferred cellgroup comprising a second preferred frequency layer not in the first preferred cellgroup.
Nalla teaches having different frequency layers that can be part of different preferred cellgroups that are not in the first preferred cellgroup (These frequency measurements are stored for performing carrier aggregation of frequency bands, dual connectivity of the frequency bands and handover of the UE 102 from one frequency band to another frequency band in multi-layer deployment; See [0044]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Polaganga to include having different frequency layers that can be part of different preferred cellgroups that are not in the first preferred cellgroup taught by Nalla in order to enhance the user experience.
Regarding claim 14, Polaganga further teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the instructions are further operative to:
monitor network conditions of the wireless network (after the base station determines that the NR band n41 layer which had been temporarily taken out of service is now back in server; See [0058]), wherein the first preferred cellgroup is based on at least two factors selected from the list consisting of:
the network conditions of the wireless network (If UE 504 is a home internet device (e.g., a home internet router) or other stationary non-mobile device such as an IoT smart home device with high bandwidth utilization (e.g., constant data traffic without frequent transitions to RRC_IDLE mode), the preferred serving cell might be NR band n41 (e.g., band n41 could have a higher SIB priority to allow the UE to more likely attach to this band during initial cell selection and reselection); See [0057]), capability of the first UE (If UE 504 is a home internet device (e.g., a home internet router) or other stationary non-mobile device such as an IoT smart home device with high bandwidth utilization (e.g., constant data traffic without frequent transitions to RRC_IDLE mode), interpreted as the capability; See [0057]), and subscriber data associated with the first UE.
Polaganga fails to teach wherein the first preferred cellgroup further comprises a preferred carrier aggregation (CA) combination of multiple frequency layers.
Nalla teaches wherein the first preferred cellgroup further comprises a preferred carrier aggregation (CA) combination of multiple frequency layers (These frequency measurements are stored for performing carrier aggregation of frequency bands, dual connectivity of the frequency bands and handover of the UE 102 from one frequency band to another frequency band in multi-layer deployment; See [0044]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Polaganga to include wherein the first preferred cellgroup further comprises a preferred carrier aggregation (CA) combination of multiple frequency layers taught by Nalla in order to enhance the user experience.
Regarding claim 19, Polaganga further teaches the one or more computer storage devices of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining, by the wireless network, the first mobility profile for the first UE (monitors or determines radio cell configurations of one or more non-mobile UEs operating in connected mode (an RRC-CONNECTED mode); See [0036]);
determining, by the wireless network, a second mobility profile for a second UE (monitors or determines radio cell configurations of one or more non-mobile UEs operating in connected mode (an RRC-CONNECTED mode); See [0036]);
based on at least determining the second mobility profile for the second UE (monitors or determines radio cell configurations of one or more non-mobile UEs operating in connected mode (an RRC-CONNECTED mode); See [0036]), determining, by the wireless network, a second preferred cellgroup for the second UE (For example, the eNB/gNB determines that the UE is currently being served by a serving cell operating on a first frequency band and had been served by that serving cell for a certain pre-defined configurable threshold time (e.g., for minutes, hours, days, etc.); See [0036]); and
monitoring whether the second UE is using the second preferred cellgroup (the base station 502 determines that the connected-mode UE 504 has been operating on the NR band n71 layer for a threshold time which is not the preferred cellgroup; See [0058]).
Polaganga fails to teach but fails to explicitly teach of having the second preferred cellgroup comprising a second preferred frequency layer not in the first preferred cellgroup.
Nalla teaches having different frequency layers that can be part of different preferred cellgroups that are not in the first preferred cellgroup (These frequency measurements are stored for performing carrier aggregation of frequency bands, dual connectivity of the frequency bands and handover of the UE 102 from one frequency band to another frequency band in multi-layer deployment; See [0044]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the one or more computer storage devices of Polaganga to include having different frequency layers that can be part of different preferred cellgroups that are not in the first preferred cellgroup taught by Nalla in order to enhance the user experience.
Regarding claim 20, Polaganga fails to teach the one or more computer storage devices of claim 15, wherein the first preferred cellgroup further comprises a preferred carrier aggregation (CA) combination of multiple frequency layers.
Nalla teaches wherein the first preferred cellgroup further comprises a preferred carrier aggregation (CA) combination of multiple frequency layers (These frequency measurements are stored for performing carrier aggregation of frequency bands, dual connectivity of the frequency bands and handover of the UE 102 from one frequency band to another frequency band in multi-layer deployment; See [0044]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the one or more computer storage devices of Polaganga to include wherein the first preferred cellgroup further comprises a preferred carrier aggregation (CA) combination of multiple frequency layers taught by Nalla in order to enhance the user experience.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
8/8/2026