DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed January 6, 2026 has been received, Claims 1-11 and 14-19 are currently pending, with Claims 11 and 14-19 remaining withdrawn from prosecution at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 “the first arch protrusion is shaped as a teardrop”. The claim limitation is indefinite as it is unclear what constitutes “shaped as a teardrop”, as teardrops can be many shapes. Claim 5 is rejected as best understood by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swensen (US 7,426,794) in view of Del Vecchio (US 4,084,333).
Regarding Claims 1 and 8, Swensen discloses a biomechanics insole (11), comprising: a forefoot portion (i.e. forefoot region forward of 23); an arch portion (i.e. arch region), connected to the forefoot portion, the arch portion comprising: a first arch protrusion portion (22), disposed at a part of the arch portion; a second arch protrusion portion (24), disposed at another part of the arch portion; a third arch protrusion portion (33), disposed at yet another part of the arch portion; and a heel portion (i.e. heel region), connected to the arch portion, the heel portion comprising: a single heel recess (18); and a heel protrusion (19), disposed around the single heel recess (as seen in Fig.7-9). Swensen does not disclose the forefoot portion comprising: a single forefoot protrusion; and at least one forefoot recess, disposed in a part of the single forefoot protrusion; wherein the forefoot portion further comprises a back recess (A7) disposed on a backside of the single forefoot protrusion. However, Del Vecchio teaches an insole (A) having a forefoot portion comprising: a single forefoot protrusion (A8); and at least one forefoot recess (A9), disposed in a part of the single forefoot protrusion (as seen in Fig.1 & 2); wherein the forefoot portion further comprises a back recess (A7) disposed on a backside of the single forefoot protrusion (A8)(as seen in Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the forefoot portion of Swensen to include a forefoot protrusion, at least one forefoot recess, and a back recess, as taught by Del Vecchio, in order to provide an insole that delivers enhanced support and comfort to a wearer’s toes during use.
Regarding Claim 2, Del Vecchio further teaches a biomechanics insole according to claim 1, wherein the single forefoot protrusion (A8) has a convex protrusion feature (i.e. convex portions of A8)(as seen in Fig.2).
Regarding Claim 3, Del Vecchio further teaches a biomechanics insole according to claim 1, wherein an amount of the at least one forefoot recess is two (i.e. there are two A9), which are respectively disposed on both sides (i.e. medial & lateral sides) of the single forefoot protrusion (A8)(as seen in Fig.2).
Regarding Claim 4, Del Vecchio further teaches a biomechanics insole according to claim 1, wherein the forefoot recess (A9) is provided with a peripheral feature (i.e. side wall of convex portions of A8, A9 & A12), which surrounds the forefoot recess and has a height (as seen in Fig.1 & 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Swensen discloses a biomechanics insole according to claim 1, wherein a part of the arch portion (of 22) is located at a middle position of the arch portion, and the first arch protrusion is shaped as a teardrop (as seen in Fig.7; inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant the first arch protrusion is shaped as a teardrop, in that tear drops can form a variety of shapes).
Regarding Claim 6, Swensen discloses a biomechanics insole according to claim 1, wherein another part of the arch portion (of 24) is located an on inner side (i.e. medial side) of the arch portion, and the second arch protrusion has an extension length (as seen in Fig.7 & 8).
Regarding Claim 7, Swensen discloses a biomechanics insole according to claim 1, wherein yet another part of the arch portion (of 33) is located on an outer side (i.e. lateral side) of the arch portion, and the third arch protrusion and the heel protrusion form a depression in between (as seen in Fig.7-9).
Regarding Claim 9, When in combination, Swensen and Del Vecchio further teach a biomechanics insole according to claim 8, further comprising a forefoot bottom pad (Col.4, lines 56-59) disposed at the back recess (Del Vecchio: A7)(i.e. the resilient pad material of Swensen would be disposed at the back recess of Del Vecchio, as it forms the back recess) .
Regarding Claim 10, Swensen discloses a biomechanics insole according to claim 1, wherein the heel portion further comprises a back protrusion (21) disposed on a backside (i.e. heel end side) of the single heel recess (as seen in Fig.7 & 8).
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732