DETAILED ACTION
The amendments filed 3/18/2026 have been entered. Claims 8 and 10-11 have been amended and claims 1-7, 9, and 12-14 have been cancelled. Claims 8 and 10-11 remain pending in the application and are discussed on the merits below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts “Serstad does not teach, disclose or suggest setting control information to allow or prohibit stopping of an automatic traveling device in a group of tags arranged on a floor surface” in page 7 of Applicant’s Remarks. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The tags were relied upon in Yamamoto, not Serstad. The tags taught by Yamamoto are arranged on a grid (see Yamamoto Fig. 1) which have been combined with the grid of Serstad. Serstad has been brought in to teach that along this grid, there is a dedicated grid for larger vehicles to always travel along. This teaching indicates larger vehicles are restricted from those areas outside of the dedicated large-article grid (first plurality of tags), and allow the larger vehicles to travel along the large-article grid (second plurality of tags) wherein the smaller vehicle is not restricted. Therefore, the combination of Yamamoto and Serstad read on Applicant’s limitations as claimed and Applicant’s arguments are considered not persuasive. The rejection under 35 USC §103 is therefore maintained as outlined below.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the objections to the claims, Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the objections. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §103, amendments made to the claims fail to overcome the rejections. The rejections under 35 USC §103 are maintained as outlined below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“generation processing circuit” in claims 1 and 8. Applicant’s specification discloses “the controller 11 includes various processing units such as… a generation processing unit 113… controller 11 functions as the various processing units by causing the CPU to execute various processes in accordance with the traveling program. Further, some or all of the processing units may be constituted by electronic circuits…” in paragraph [0068].
“setting processing circuit” in claims 1 and 8. Applicant’s specification discloses “the controller 11 includes various processing units such as… a setting processing unit 112… controller 11 functions as the various processing units by causing the CPU to execute various processes in accordance with the traveling program. Further, some or all of the processing units may be constituted by electronic circuits…” in paragraph [0068].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0271261 A1; hereinafter Yamamoto) in view of Serstad et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0166442 A1; hereinafter Serstad).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto discloses:
A traveling system that causes each of a plurality of automatic traveling devices to travel (working vehicle system 1 is a system for managing working vehicles 5 moving in working area LA, see at least [0034]) based on a detection result obtained by detecting a plurality of tags arranged on a floor surface (magnetic markers with wireless tags, see at least [0011] and [0045]; magnetic markers 10 arranged at grid points, see at least [0039] and Figs. 1 and 5), the traveling system comprising:
a generation processing circuit that generates a sectional traveling route that has a predetermined length and forms a part of a traveling route from a current position to a destination position of the automatic traveling device (working vehicle 5 moves along a route going from a starting point to a first point, second point, third point, and fifth point which is a destination, see at least [0123] and Fig. 13; calculate a route to a destination, see at least [0086]) *Examiner sets forth that each section from one point to the next is a predetermined length (grid size)
Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose:
such that the sectional traveling route of the automatic traveling device does not overlap with a sectional traveling route set for another automatic traveling device; and a setting processing circuit that sets, for each of the plurality of tags, control information indicating whether to allow or prohibit stopping of the automatic traveling device at the tag, in accordance with an outer size of the automatic traveling device, such that an interval between the tags, at which an automatic traveling device having a first outer size is stoppable, is wider than an interval between the tags, at which an automatic traveling device having a second outer size smaller than the first outer size is stoppable,
sets the control information to allow stopping of the automatic traveling device having the second outer size and to prohibit stopping of the automatic traveling device having the first outer size in a first group of tags among the plurality of tags, and sets the control information to allow stopping of the automatic traveling device having the second outer size and to allow stopping of the automatic traveling device having the first outer size in a second group of tags among the plurality of tags.
However, Serstad teaches:
such that the sectional traveling route of the automatic traveling device does not overlap with a sectional traveling route set for another automatic traveling device (advanced navigation and collision avoidance algorithm applies a navigation algorithm that keeps track of all grid cells occupied by the large transport vehicle such that no collisions or unintended contacts occur, see at least [0015] and [0017]); and
a setting processing circuit that sets, for each of the plurality of tags, control information indicating whether to allow or prohibit stopping of the automatic traveling device at the tag (grid cells to be occupied by an automated transport vehicle are cleared to prevent collision, see at least [0018]) *Examiner sets forth that for the automated transport vehicle that is travelling, those nodes or grid cells allow stopping/occupying the space while the other vehicles are prohibited from stopping at those grid cells, in accordance with an outer size of the automatic traveling device, such that an interval between the tags, at which an automatic traveling device having a first outer size is stoppable, is wider than an interval between the tags, at which an automatic traveling device having a second outer size smaller than the first outer size is stoppable (large automated transport vehicles occupy multiple grid cells at any given time while smaller vehicles 308 occupy only two cells, see at least [0017], [0032], and Fig. 4),
sets the control information to allow stopping of the automatic traveling device having the second outer size and to prohibit stopping of the automatic traveling device having the first outer size in a first group of tags among the plurality of tags, and sets the control information to allow stopping of the automatic traveling device having the second outer size and to allow stopping of the automatic traveling device having the first outer size in a second group of tags among the plurality of tags (larger vehicles travel along a dedicated large-article grid as determined by the server, see at least [0032]) *Examiner sets forth this indicates that the large vehicles are only able to occupy the large-article grids while the smaller vehicles roam along the entirety of the grid
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the working vehicle navigation management system disclosed by Yamamoto by adding the collision avoidance and dedicated grid space based on size of vehicle taught by Serstad with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order “to prevent collision or contact between the automated transport vehicles” (see [0018]) and “to reduce the chance of the larger automated transport vehicles (or the large articles carried thereon) from colliding with the regular automated transport vehicles (or the regular articles carried thereon)” (see [0032])
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yamamoto and Serstad teaches the elements above but Yamamoto does not disclose:
the setting processing circuit sets the control information such that an interval between the tags, at which the automatic traveling device is stoppable, is wider than a reference value larger than the outer size of the automatic traveling device
However, Serstad teaches:
the setting processing circuit sets the control information such that an interval between the tags, at which the automatic traveling device is stoppable, is wider than a reference value larger than the outer size of the automatic traveling device (grid is modified to offer wide lanes for vehicles moving large articles, see at least [0030] and reference 304 for vehicle 306 on Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the working vehicle navigation management system disclosed by Yamamoto by adding the collision avoidance based on size of vehicle taught by Serstad with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “to leave a wide berth of clearance to the large article automated transport vehicle” (see [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yamamoto and Serstad teaches the elements above but Yamamoto does not disclose:
the setting processing circuit sets the control information such that an interval between the tags, at which the automatic traveling device is stoppable, becomes wider as the outer size of the automatic traveling device becomes larger.
However, Serstad teaches:
the setting processing circuit sets the control information such that an interval between the tags, at which the automatic traveling device is stoppable, becomes wider as the outer size of the automatic traveling device becomes larger (large automated transport vehicles occupy multiple grid cells at any given time, see at least [0017], [0032], and Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the working vehicle navigation management system disclosed by Yamamoto by adding the collision avoidance based on size of vehicle taught by Serstad with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “provide for an automated transport vehicle navigation controller with associated software that operates to plan travel paths for each of the different sized automated transport vehicles such that no two automated transport vehicles or portions thereof occupy the same grid cell at the same time” (see [0015]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662