DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of “wherein the lower opening comprises a return part protruding in the upstream direction” is indefinite. It is not clear how an opening can comprise a physical part because the opening is merely a space that is defined by a physical part.
Claims not specifically referenced are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (CN 114633606 A).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses an air blowing structure (Figs. 1-4) comprising an outlet (see Exhibit A) for supplying air to a vehicle interior of a vehicle (intended use), wherein, among directions orthogonal to an up-down direction, a direction in which the air blows out from the outlet is a downstream direction, and a direction opposite to the downstream direction is an upstream direction (Fig. 1), the air blowing structure further comprising: an upper panel constituting an upper edge of an opening of the outlet (Exhibit A); a lower panel constituting a lower edge of the opening of the outlet (Exhibit A); an upper flow path (11) through which the air passes; and a lower flow path (12) that is provided below the upper flow path and through which the air passes, wherein the upper flow path comprises an upper opening that opens downward and that supplies the air to the vehicle interior through the outlet, wherein the lower flow path comprises a lower opening that opens upward and that supplies the air to the vehicle interior through the outlet (see Exhibit A), and wherein the lower opening has an opening area smaller than an opening area of the upper opening (as shown in Figs. 1-4, the lower opening is smaller than the upper opening).
Exhibit A
Regarding claim 2, Huang further discloses the air blowing structure according to claim 1, wherein the lower opening comprises a return part protruding in the upstream direction. (as best understood, see how the part of 1 defining the lower opening is being interpreted as the return part and protrudes in the upstream direction)
Regarding claim 3, Huang further discloses the air blowing structure according to claim 2, wherein at least a part of the upper panel is located in the downstream direction with respect to the return part. (as shown in Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 4, Huang further discloses the air blowing structure according to claim 1, wherein the lower panel comprises an inclined surface that extends downward and in the downstream direction from an opening periphery of the outlet. (as shown in Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 5, Huang further discloses the air blowing structure according to claim 1, further comprising a curved surface (the portion at the point positioned furthest downstream of 2 as shown in Fig. 1) that is provided between the upper opening and the lower opening in the upstream direction with respect to the outlet and that is curved in a convex shape in the downstream direction. (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 6, Huang further discloses the air blowing structure according to claim 5, wherein the air blowing structure further comprises a lower fin (4) that is provided in the lower flow path and that changes a direction of flow of the air, and wherein the lower fin has an end in the downstream direction that is located in the upstream direction with respect to the curved surface. (Figs. 1-4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Hamke (DE 102021123760 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Huang further discloses the air blowing structure according to claim 5, wherein the curved surface comprises a decorative part (the curved surface defined above is being interpreted as meeting this limitation because it can be “decorative”), but fails to disclose wherein the upper panel comprises a light projector that projects light toward the decorative part.
Hamke teaches an air blowing structure (Fig. 11) wherein an upper panel comprises a light projector (7) that projects light toward the decorative part. (para. [0068] – [0079])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the air blowing structure of Huang to include a light source as taught by Hamke in order to provide a light source so that the user can visually see the upstream area of the air blowing structure. (para. [0068] – [0079])
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753