DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babicz (US20110259171) in view of Foley (WO 9218973A1).
Regarding claim 1, Babicz (US20110259171) discloses the use of a saddle (10) for use with the bridge of an electric guitar comprising: a generally rectangular further comprising a peaked projection (the top in figure 21)) in which the generally rectangular peaked projection comprise a height, a width and a depth and further comprising; a front; a back; a bottom; two sides; a rounded guitar string contact face comprising a first part of the peaked projection (see figure 21); a back face comprising a second part of the peaked projection; a threaded intonation screw hole further comprising two hood (the sides) components associated with one hood component associated with each of the rounded guitar string contact face and the back face; and a guitar string groove (see figure 20).
Babicz does not disclose a protrusion.
Foley (WO 9218973A1) discloses the use of a protrusion (12) extending from the bottom of a saddle suitable to be retained in a guitar saddle groove (33) of a bridge for an electric guitar of a solid projection.
WO 9218973A1 and Foley do not disclose the use of a solid projection.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Babicz to include the protrusion as disclosed in Foley and a solid projection since Babicz and Foley disclose that the use of solid elements are conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Babicz and Foley do not disclose a guitar string groove that has a width in which the width is determined based on the type of guitar string used on the electric guitar.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Babicz to include a string with a specific width since the use of string width that’s accommodate different sized strings is conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Babicz and Foley do not disclose a guitar string groove that is sized for use with a specific string type.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device to include a specific string groove size as claimed by the applicant since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837