DETAILED ACTION
Priority
In light of Applicant’s amendments and explanations given in the reply of 02/06/2026, Examiner acknowledges and accepts the claim for priority to 16/768682.
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: “including” should be “includes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-22 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said rear-side UV exposure" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 18-22 are rejected based upon their dependency on claim 17.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the operator" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannes (US 2003/0219659). Regarding claim 32, Mannes discloses “a system for identifying a relief precursor (paragraph 43: flexography) or a relief comprising a carrier and a relief-forming layer, the system comprising an optical reading device (item 23) configured to read a code” on the plate which has information related to the processing of the plate (paragraph 27); the system further comprising a plate processor device (item 7) and a transmission means for transmitting said code from the reading device to the plate processing device (paragraph 27) and use information for processing said identified type of relief precursor or relief (paragraph 27). Mannes does not specifically disclose that the information in the code is used to identify the type of relief precursor or relief, or that the plate processing device is configured to retrieve, based on said code, from a database associated process-relevant data for processing said identified type of relief precursor or relief. However, Mannes does disclose that the information is “related” to the processing of the plate(paragraph 27), and that information related to the precursor can be stored in a data store, and used by the controller to process the relief precursor (paragraph 26, claims 1, 17, and 18). Mannes further discloses that the information is written into the plate in the form of a “code” (paragraph 27) which must implicitly be ‘de-coded.’ Furthermore, Mannes discloses “transferring a type identifier to processor 7 for or with each plate (paragraph 36).” Examiner asserts that one having ordinary skill in the art could at once envisage that the “information related to the processing of the plate” would include the type of plate, as shown in paragraph 21. Thus, in such a scenario, it would be necessary for the controller to retrieve from the database the information for processing based upon the type of precursor read by the reader device in order to process the plate based upon the coded information.
Regarding claim 33, Mannes further discloses “wherein the process-relevant data for processing the relief precursor or the relief comprise at least one of the following: exposure conditions, ablation conditions, temperature conditions, cleaning conditions, development conditions, drying conditions, storage conditions, device configurations and settings, priority in the process flow and any combination thereof (paragraph 21).” Regarding claim 34, Mannes further discloses “wherein the database is an updated database (paragraph 21: data store is interpreted to read on this limitation).” Regarding claim 35, Mannes further discloses “wherein the code is representative of data relating to a type of relief precursor among any one of the following: an article number, a batch number, an identification number, information relating to the thickness of the plate or a layer, information relating to length and width, type or any desired combinations thereof (paragraph 21).”
Double Patenting
Claims 17-29 and 32-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 9, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12076974. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because even though the instant claims are drawn to a system, the method claims of the patent necessarily would require a system to carry out the method. Furthermore, the specific components recited in the instant claims, such as a laser image, scanner, etc., would be components known to one having ordinary skill in the art to be suitable for each task, and would be motivated to use them because of their suitability. See MPEP §2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Examiner notes that in the reply filed 08/05/2025, Applicant stated that a Terminal Disclaimer was filed concurrently. However, no Terminal Disclaimer was found to be filed. Thus, the Double Patenting rejection is made over the instant claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Mannes are not persuasive. Examiner maintains that Mannes intended for the database and the code in the plate to be used together. Mannes discloses “transferring a type identifier to processor 7 for or with each plate to be processed by processor 7 (paragraph 36).” Examiner interprets the this to mean that when the type identifier is transferred with each plate, the type identifier is located on the plate, vis-à-vis the code. In such instance, the type identifier would have to be correlated with the table of processing parameters in order to properly process the plate.
Thus, it is still deemed that the claims are not patentable in view of Mannes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853