DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities: “from a database associated” should be “from a database, associated”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 32, the claim requires a plate processing device to retrieve process-relevant data from a database, and then to use said data for processing the relief precursor. The specification defines process-relevant data as also including “messages or advice to the operator” (page 4, lines 19-20). However, the specification does not show how messages or advice to an operator are used for processing the relief precursor. Support in the specification is only found for using “process parameters” for processing relief precursors when using a database to retrieve information relating to the type of relief precursor (page 24, lines 22-33).
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claims 32-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 32, the claim requires a plate processing device to retrieve process-relevant data from a database, and then to use said data for processing the relief precursor. The specification defines process-relevant data as also including “messages or advice to the operator” (page 4, lines 19-20). It is not clear how “messages or advice to the operator” can be used by a plate processing device to process the relief precursor.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannes (US 2003/0219659). Regarding claim 32, Mannes discloses “a system for identifying a relief precursor (paragraph 43: flexography) or a relief comprising a carrier and a relief-forming layer, the system comprising an optical reading device (item 23) configured to read a code” on the plate which has information related to the processing of the plate (paragraph 27); the system further comprising a plate processor device (item 7) and a transmission means for transmitting said code from the reading device to the plate processing device (paragraph 27) and use information for processing said identified type of relief precursor or relief (paragraph 27). Mannes does not specifically disclose that the information in the code is used to identify the type of relief precursor or relief, or that the plate processing device is configured to retrieve, based on said code, from a database associated process-relevant data for processing said identified type of relief precursor or relief. However, Mannes does disclose that the information is “related” to the processing of the plate (paragraph 27), and that information related to the precursor can be stored in a data store (paragraph 21), and that information used by the controller to process the relief precursor (paragraph 26, claims 1, 17, and 18). Mannes further discloses that the information is written into the plate in the form of a “code” (paragraph 27) which must implicitly be ‘de-coded.’ Furthermore, Mannes discloses “transferring a type identifier to processor 7 for or with each plate” and that the processor “can determine to process a specific plate differently from other plates” (paragraph 36). That is, the processor determines how to process each plate separately, based on a type identifier which is transferred to the processor. Paragraph 27 sets forth that in the alternative embodiment of a communication path, the information is transferred to the processor by the code. Therefore, since the type identifier is the information which is used by the processor to determine how to process each plate, implicitly, the processor must have some means to correlate the type identifier to the processing functions specific to each plate. Since Mannes already discloses using a data store of precursor types correlated with parameters (paragraph 21), Examiner asserts that one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use such a data store which correlates plate types to processing conditions/parameters. See MPEP §2144.07. Regarding claim 33, Mannes further discloses “wherein the process-relevant data for processing the relief precursor or the relief comprise at least one of the following: exposure conditions, ablation conditions, temperature conditions, cleaning conditions, development conditions, drying conditions, storage conditions, device configurations and settings, priority in the process flow and any combination thereof (paragraphs 26 and/or 36).” Regarding claim 34, Mannes further discloses “wherein the database is an updated database (paragraph 21: data store is interpreted to read on this limitation).” Regarding claim 35, Mannes further discloses “wherein the code is representative of data relating to a type of relief precursor among any one of the following: an article number, a batch number, an identification number, information relating to the thickness of the plate or a layer, information relating to length and width, type or any desired combinations thereof (paragraph 21 and/or 36).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-29 and 36 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Mannes are not persuasive. Mannes discloses “transferring a type identifier to processor 7 for or with each plate to be processed by processor 7 (paragraph 36).” Examiner interprets the this to mean that when the type identifier is transferred with each plate, in the alternative embodiment of communication path, the type identifier is located on the plate, vis-à-vis the code. In such instance, the type identifier would have to be correlated with processing parameters in order to properly process the plate. Examiner contends that using the known method of using a data store which correlates plate types with plate parameters would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853