Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0023], lines 1 – 2, member 20 is described as “a cylindrical member having a rectangular parallelepiped outer shape.” This description cannot be accurate, because an object cannot be both cylindrical and a rectangular parallelepiped. Furthermore, in line 2 “that holding” is grammatically incorrect.
In paragraph [0029], seventh line from the bottom, connector 22A is described as made of resin but then immediately it is said that “as in the first embodiment, the distal end connector may be made of metal.” This is contradictory.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 6, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, line 2, it is recited that a “relative permittivity of … the second dielectric is a value between 0.9 and 1.1 with respect to a relatively permittivity of … the first dielectric.” This language appears to compare the permittivity of two materials so as to define a ratio of the permittivity of two members but is confusingly written. This claim will be interpreted as requiring a ratio value.
In claims 3 and 6, on line 2, “the same plane” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 9, line 2, “are formed” should be is formed.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 4,923,410 (“Suzuki”).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses an electrical-connector-equipped cable, comprising:
a cable (9) including a plurality of conductors (104) arranged side by side and a first dielectric (114) covering the plurality of conductors to expose a distal end portion of each of the plurality of conductors (see Fig. 4); and
a connector (11) holding the distal end portion of each of the plurality of conductors (col. 4, lns. 55 – 56 and col. 5, lns. 41 – 48) to expose a distal end surface of each distal end portion to an outside (11 engages the cable wire portions so as to expose the distal ends of the wires to the mating structures of the connector which are outside the cable body), wherein a first opening is provided in the connector (an opening defined between portions 51), the first opening exposing the distal end portion of at least one first conductor of the plurality of conductors (the wires are exposed within the opening in order to engage terminals of the connector),
wherein the distal end portion of the first conductor is positioned in the first opening (col. 5, lns. 41 – 48), and a second dielectric (21) is provided between a wall defining the first opening and the first conductor.
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki discloses wherein the distal end surface of the first conductor is positioned on a same plane with respect to an end surface of the second dielectric (the distal end of the wire enters into connector 11 and a plane perpendicular to the insertion direction passes through both the w and an end of the second dielectric).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki discloses the connector including an electric conductive portion (41) made of an electric conductive material, wherein a second opening is provided in the connector (a second opening 71), the second opening exposing the distal end portion of a second conductor of the plurality of conductors (a second 104 enters 71 and is exposed in order to connect with 31), and wherein the distal end portion of the second conductor is positioned in the second opening (col. 3, lns. 65 – 66) and the second conductor is electrically connected to the electric conductive portion (41 connects to 31 which connects to 104).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki discloses wherein an electric conductor (31) is provided between a wall defining the second opening and the second conductor (104 enters the opening 71 to connect to 31, a portion of 31 will be between a wall of the opening and 104), and the second conductor is electrically connected to the electric conductive portion through the electric conductor (104 connects to 41 through 31).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki discloses the distal end surface of the second conductor is positioned on a same plane with respect to an end surface of the electric conductor (104 mates with 31 therefore there is a plane which passes through both portions).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki discloses at least one first conductor includes a plurality of first conductors 104 (see Fig. 4), and the second dielectric 21 fixes the plurality of first conductors (the wires 104 are held tightly by 21, see col. 4, lns. 8 - 10).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki discloses wherein the plurality of conductors include at least two ground conductors (earth grounds 83) configured to be connected to a ground and at least one signal conductor (33) configured to propagate electric signals, and the signal conductor is disposed between the ground conductors (see Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of U.S. Pat. No. 8,884,163 (“Chu”).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Suzuki discloses a relative permittivity of a dielectric material forming the second dielectric (21 has a permittivity, i.e. dielectric constant, of 2.0). Suzuki also discloses first dielectric 114 is sintered PTFE which generally is acknowledged to have a similar permittivity, but Suzuki does not specify the sintered PTFE permittivity, and thus does not disclose a ratio of relative permittivity being a value between 0.9 and 1.1 or that the relative permittivity of the material forming the second dielectric is lower than a relative permittivity of a dielectric material forming the first dielectric.
However, Chu teaches sintered PTFE used in electrical structures with a dielectric constant, i.e. relative permittivity, of 2.1 (col. 2, ln. 2). It would have been obvious to utilize such a PTFE material for the device of Suzuki because this is a low permittivity material which would have allowed efficient transmission of electrical signals through conductors within the material. This results in the ratio of the permittivity of the two dielectrics being a value between 0.9 and 1.1, and the material forming the second dielectric being lower than a relative permittivity of a dielectric material forming the first dielectric.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0037827 (“Orris”).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki does not disclose the second dielectric is formed from a UV curable resin. However, Orris teaches that dielectric housing structures may be formed of a UV cured resin (see at least [0023]). It would have been obvious to form the dielectric housing layer of Suzuki using a UV cured resin because this allows the dielectric constant of the material to be tuned to optimize signal transmission (see [0025]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Muroi discloses a cable and connector with dielectric portions.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831