Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites “The method of claim 13, wherein the one or more minerals…”, but there is no antecedent basis for “one or more minerals” in claim 13. The examiner recommends that claim 26 be amended to depend on claim 25, which recites a step of removing one or more minerals, and the claim has been examined according to that interpretation below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10, 13, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgardner (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2020/0291234) in view of McIntosh (U.S. Pat. No. 5,560,734).
In paragraph 10 Baumgardner discloses a method for modifying an asphaltic binder using a fractional oil product obtained from waste tire pyrolysis, comprising a step of pyrolyzing, separately from the asphaltic binder, rubber which can be size-reduced rubber particles, corresponding to the step of providing a feedstock comprising rubber and the step of pyrolyzing the particles of claim 1, and where the waste tires meet the limitations of the feedstock of claim 13. In paragraph 37 Baumgardner discloses that the pyrolysis takes place in a pyrolysis reactor, meeting the limitations of the vessel of claim 1. In paragraph 33 Baumgardner discloses that method uses waste tires as a feed, and that the waste tires can be processed to convert the tires to reduced size rubber or ground tire rubber (GTR). In paragraph 5 Baumgardner discloses that the GTR has a maximum particle size of 2.0 mm, indicating that the median particle size must be in a range overlapping the range recited in claims 1-2, and in paragraphs 5 and 36 discloses that the size-reduced rubber can be coarse size-reduced rubber having a maximum size of 12.75 mm, also indicating that the median particle size is in a range overlapping the range recited in claims 1-2, as well as newly added claim 30. In paragraph 33 Baumgardner further discloses that carbon black can be collected from the reaction, meeting the limitations of amended claim 1.
In Figure 1 and paragraphs 33 and 37 Baumgardner discloses that the pyrolysis produces waste gas, meeting the limitations of the volatile species of newly added claim 31, which can be further processed to provide fuel for the pyrolysis reaction or any other process that uses thermal energy. Baumgardner does not specifically disclose how the waste gas is removed from the reactor, but since claim 31 covers both possibilities (sequentially or collectively), recovering the waste gas of Baumgardner will meet the limitations of claim 31.
The differences between Baumgardner and the currently presented claims are that Baumgardner does not specifically disclose reducing the size of the waste tires by milling, and that some of the ranges of Baumgardner overlap the claimed ranges rather than falling within them.
McIntosh, in column 3 lines 15-25, discloses that rubber tires can be milled to produce rubber chips having a particle size of up to 20 mm, such as 5 to 15 mm, encompassing the size ranges of the size-reduced rubber tires of Baumgardner. Additionally, See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” Producing the size-reduced rubber tire particles of Baumgardner by the milling process of McIntosh therefore leads to a method meeting the limitations of claims 1-2, 13, and 30.
Since the particles of Baumgardner and McIntosh have a particle size meeting the limitations of the claims and are produced by milling, the rubber particles will react the target temperature at a rate meeting the limitations of claim 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce the size-reduced rubber tires of Baumgardner by the milling process of McIntosh, since McIntosh teaches that it is a suitable method of preparing rubber particles in the size range desired by Baumgardner.
Claims 3-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgardner in view of McIntosh as applied to claims 1-2, 10, 13, and 30-31 above, and further in view of Nichols (U.S. Pat. No. 6,835,861).
The discussion of Baumgardner and McIntosh in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference. Baumgardner and McIntosh disclose a method meeting the limitations of claim 1. The differences between Baumgardner, McIntosh, and the currently presented claims are:
i) Baumgardner and McIntosh do not specifically disclose carrying out the pyrolysis of the rubber particles in the presence of a catalyst. This relates to claims 3-9.
ii) Baumgardner and McIntosh do not disclose performing the pyrolysis step with an auger. This relates to claims 11-12.
In column 3 lines 33-60 Nichols discloses the pyrolysis of a hydrocarbon material such as rubber in the presence of a clay catalyst and metal dust, as recited in claims 3-4 and 6. In column 5 lines 47-53 Nichols discloses that the clay can be montmorillonite, beidellite, or bentonite, as recited in claim 5. In column 5 lines 11-13 Nichols discloses that the metal dust is magnesium and/or aluminum, as recited in claim 7. From column 7 line 53 through column 8 line 3 and in Figure 3 Nichols discloses that the process can use a continuous feed system where the rubber and catalyst can be mixed prior to introduction into the vessel, as recited in claim 9. Using the catalyst and continuous feed system of Nichols in the method of Baumgardner and McIntosh therefore meets the limitations of claims 3-7 and 9. Additionally, while Nichols does not explicitly disclose that the catalyst can be mixed with the feedstock prior to milling, as recited in claim 8, case law holds that the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930), and in this case one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that mixing the catalyst with the feedstock prior to milling, meeting the limitations of claim 8, would lead to the same product as mixing the catalyst with the feedstock after milling.
With respect to ii), Nichols further discloses in the above-cited portion that the pyrolysis can use a helicoid auger, meeting the limitations of the auger of claim 11. Using the auger of Nichols in the method of Baumgardner and McIntosh therefore meets the limitations of claim 11, and since the method limitations of the claims are met, and the rubber particles have a size meeting the limitations of the claims, the heat flux will meet the limitations of claim 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the catalyst system, continuous feed system, and auger of Nichols in the method of Baumgardner and McIntosh, since Nichols discloses in column 3 lines 37-61 that the use of the specific catalyst leads to various advantages, and because Nichols teaches in the above-cited sections that the continuous feed system using an auger is a suitable system for performing the pyrolysis of waste tire material.
Claims 15-18 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgardner in view of McIntosh as applied to claims 1-2, 10, 13, and 30-31 above, and further in view of Lovette (U.S. Pat. No. 4,025,990).
The discussion of Baumgardner and McIntosh in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference. Baumgardner and McIntosh disclose a method meeting the limitations of claim 13, but do not disclose a step of removing polymer fiber or metal wire from the waste tire feedstock.
In column 1 lines 56-60 Lovette discloses a process for reclaiming rubber, fabric, and metal components present in tires, and from column 1 line 60 through column 2 line 15 Lovette outlines the process. In column 2 lines 44-50 Lovette discloses that the tires are shredded into relatively small pieces prior to processing, and from column 2 line 65 through column 3 line 5 Lovette discloses that the rubber is further comminuted, for example by a hammer mill, to liberate the rubber from the cord and metal components. In column 3 lines 6-27 Lovette discloses that the tire pieces are then sent to a magnetic separator to separate a magnetic fraction containing 99% of the steel present in the tires from a non-magnetic fraction containing predominantly rubber and fiber cord. This magnetic separation step therefore meets the limitations of claims 22-24. Lovette further discloses that the magnetic fraction comprises 25 to 75% of the fiber cord from the tires, indicating that the magnetic separation step also removes polymer fiber, as in recited in claim 15, in an amount overlapping the ranges recited in claims 16-17. In column 3 lines 28-33 and 50-59 Lovette discloses a further step of removing fiber cord from the non-magnetic portion by means of a density separation (air is used to separate the lighter cord fragments from the heavier rubber), meeting the limitations of claims 15 and 18. Performing the method of Lovette on the size-reduced rubber of Baumgardner and McIntosh prior to the pyrolysis therefore meets the limitations of claims 15-18 and 22-24.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the method of Lovette on the size-reduced rubber of Baumgardner and McIntosh prior to the pyrolysis, in order to remove contaminants from the rubber to be fed to the pyrolysis reactor while also allowing for reclamation of the metal and fiber cord.
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgardner in view of McIntosh as applied to claims 1-2, 10, 13, and 30-31 above, and further in view of Karpetsky (U.S. Pat. No. 7,497,929).
The discussion of Baumgardner and McIntosh in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference. Baumgardner and McIntosh disclose a method meeting the limitations of claim 13, but do not disclose a step of removing a tread from the tire waste tire feedstock. In paragraph 33 Baumgardner discloses that carbon solids can be collected from the pyrolysis reaction as carbon black and used as an ingredient for the manufacture of tires or other rubber products.
Karpetsky discloses a method for the pyrolytic conversion of waste (scrap) tires to carbon products. In column 11 lines 24-32 Karpetsky discloses that the carbon black used in the tread is different than that used in the sidewall, and the char obtained by pyrolyzing the materials is different than that obtained from whole tires. Karpetsky discloses in the cited section that the rubber in preparing these char samples is obtained by buffing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to remove either the tread or sidewall prior to the pyrolysis, meeting the limitations of claims 19-20, in order to obtain a sample of rubber particles having a desired carbon black composition which can be used in a specific tire component after recovery from the pyrolysis reaction, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to remove separate the tread by buffing, as Karpetsky teaches that it is a suitable method of obtaining a sample from a specific part of the tire.
Claims 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgardner in view of McIntosh as applied to claims 1-2, 10, 13, and 30-31 above, and further in view of Wertz (U.S. Pat. No. 5,889,063).
The discussion of Baumgardner and McIntosh in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference. Baumgardner and McIntosh disclose a method meeting the limitations of claim 13, but do not disclose steps of removing metal wire and minerals from the rubber.
In column 1 lines 7-11 Wertz discloses a process for treating scrap tires to remove inorganic components and steel belts. In column 2 lines 31-37 Wertz discloses that the tires are first reduced into smaller pieces, and then in column 2 lines 39-51 Wertz discloses that the resulting tire pieces are treated with nitric acid, followed by removing the steel belts with a magnet, meeting the limitations of claims 22-24. In column 3 lines 14-45 Wertz discloses that the nitric acid removes inorganic components such as sulfur, zinc, and calcium from the tire pieces, meeting the limitations of claims 25-29. Treating the milled rubber particles of Baumgardner and McIntosh with nitric acid and removing the steel belts with magnets, as taught by Wertz, prior to the pyrolysis reaction in the method of Baumgardner and McIntosh, meets the limitations of claims 22-29.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the rubber particles of Baumgardner and McIntosh with nitric acid and to remove the steel belts with magnets, in order to remove impurities from the rubber prior to the pyrolysis reaction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not combine Baumgardner with McIntosh to use the milling method of McIntosh since McIntosh is directed to a method of laying a bitumastic simulated paved surface rather than a method of obtaining pyrolysis oil from rubber. However, as discussed in the rejections, Baumgardner already discloses a method of obtaining pyrolysis oil from rubber, including a step of reducing the size of waste tires; McIntosh is only cited to teach that milling is a suitable method of reducing the size of waste tires to the sizes desired by Baumgardner. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that McIntosh’s teachings regarding methods of reducing the size of rubber tires are applicable to Baumgardner even if the desired end use for the reduced-size rubber of McIntosh is different than that of Baumgardner, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the milling method of McIntosh to produce the size-reduced rubber in the method Baumgardner. Applicant has not provided any reasoning or evidence to suggest that the size reduction method is contingent on the desired end use. Applicant’s arguments on this point are therefore unpersuasive.
Regarding claim 8, applicant separately argues that mixing the catalyst with the feedstock prior to milling would not lead to the same product as mixing the catalyst with the feedstock after milling. Applicant cites the assertions in paragraphs 78 and 105 of the specification (paragraphs 85 and 112) as evidence that blending the catalyst prior to milling leads to a different product than blending after milling. Paragraph 78 of the specification, however, refers to blending the catalyst during comminution (corresponding to the milling step of the claims), and paragraph 105 refers to pre-blending the catalyst with size reduced rubber during shredding, which is not recited in the claims. Neither cited section of the specification discusses blending the catalyst with the feedstock prior to a milling step. Furthermore, applicant has not provided any comparative data to establish that mixing the catalyst with the feedstock prior to milling leads to different products that mixing the catalyst with the feedstock after milling, or produces unexpected results. Applicant’s arguments on this point are therefore also unpersuasive.
Regarding claim 30, applicant argues that there is a considerable difference between the claimed range and the ranges in the cited prior art, and cites Atofina, which discusses the lack of anticipation in such circumstances. However, the current rejections are obviousness rejections, not anticipation rejections, and case law is clear that prior art ranges with overlap or encompass the claimed ranges render the claimed ranges prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). As discussed in the rejections, the ranges of Baumgardner and McIntosh overlap or encompass the ranges recited in claim 30 as well as the other claims which recite size ranges, and therefore render those claims prima facie obvious.
Applicant also asserts that the size range recited in claim 30 “has great advantages”, pointing to data provided in the specification. The requirements for a sufficient showing of unexpected results are set forth in MPEP 716.02. Applicant’s inventive examples, which use only particles having a 6 mm particle size, are not sufficient to establish that superior results would be maintained across the full scope of the claims. See MPEP 716.02(d). Applicant also has not argued or demonstrated that that advantages allegedly demonstrated in the inventive examples are unexpected. See MPEP 716.02(a). Applicant therefore has not demonstrated unexpected results sufficient to overcome the prima facie cases of obviousness set forth in the rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES C GOLOBOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771