DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13, 17-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “further comprising an agent assembly…wherein the agent assembly comprises…the filtering element” in lines 1-4 is unclear as the filtering element is already disclosed as being part of tip, but now is being claimed as being part of an additional component of the tip, therefore it is not clear how the tip can be simultaneously part of the tip and the agent assembly.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase “further comprising a chamber defined by the body, the chamber configured to hold one or more oral agents to be delivered to a user's oral cavity” in lines 1-3 is unclear as claim 16, from which claim 16 depends, already claims a chamber configured to hold an oral agent, therefore it is unclear whether the “chamber” of claim 17 is the same or in addition to the “chamber” of claim 16.
The remaining claims are rejected due to rejection of a base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gimelli (WO 2008/046580).
Regarding claim 1, Gimelli discloses (Figs. 1-3) an accessory for an oral hygiene device, the accessory comprising:
an outlet (end of lid 6 coupled to irrigator tip 3); and
a filtering element (sieve 23) configured to filter a fluid flow to the outlet (page 2 paragraph 6);
wherein the filtering element is positioned to be in fluid communication with a chamber (interior of handpiece head 4) configured to hold an oral agent (tablet within pot 8, page 1 paragraph 4) to be delivered to a user's oral cavity.
Regarding claim 2, Gimelli discloses a body (lid 6) having a flow lumen terminating at the outlet (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Gimelli discloses the filtering element is a screen secured to the body (page 4 paragraph 4 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Gimelli discloses a screen support (lid bottom 18) engaging an interior wall (inner wall of head 4) engages interior wall of to secure the screen in position (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Gimelli discloses the accessory further comprising the chamber (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Gimelli discloses a first portion and a second portion releasably coupled together to define at least a portion of the chamber (lid 6 coupled to head 4 to form chamber via screw cap connection, page 3 paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 8, Gimelli discloses a threaded engagement to releasably connect the first portion to the second portion (“screw cap”, page 3 paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 9, Gimelli discloses the accessory is an oral irrigator tip (page 3 paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 10, Gimelli discloses (Figs. 1-3) a system comprising the accessory of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) and the oral agent (tablet, page 1 paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 11, Gimelli discloses (Figs. 1-3) a tip for an oral irrigator, the tip comprising:
a tip body (head 4);
a filtering element (sieve 23) configured to filter a fluid flow through the tip body (page 2 paragraph 6), the filtering element positioned to be in fluid communication with a chamber (interior of handpiece head 4) configured to hold an oral agent (tablet within pot 8, page 1 paragraph 4) to be delivered to a user's oral cavity; and
a releasable connection to secure the tip body in a use configuration (lid 6 coupled to head 4 to form chamber via screw cap connection, page 3 paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 12, Gimelli discloses an agent assembly configured to receive an oral agent (tablet, page 1 paragraph 4) to be delivered to a user's oral cavity, wherein the agent assembly comprises:
a chamber (chamber of pot 8) configured to receive the oral agent; and
the filtering element (filter 23, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Gimelli discloses an upper portion releasably coupled to a lower portion to provide a user access to the chamber (lid 6 coupled to head 4 to form chamber via screw cap connection, page 3 paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 15, Gimelli discloses the filtering element is a screen secured to the tip body (screen 23).
Regarding claim 16, Gimelli discloses (Figs. 1-3) an oral irrigator tip comprising:
a body (comprising lid 6 and head 4);
a tip (tip 3) extending from the body (see Fig. 3), the tip comprising a flow lumen terminating at a tip outlet (outlet of tip shown in Fig. 1); and
a filter or screen (screen 23) associated with the body to filter a fluid flow through the flow lumen (page 2 paragraph 6), wherein the filter or screen is positioned to be in fluid communication with a chamber (interior of handpiece head 4) configured to hold an oral agent (tablet within pot 8, page 1 paragraph 4) to be delivered to a user's oral cavity.
Regarding claim 17, Gimelli discloses further comprising a chamber defined by the body (interior of body 6 housing tablet, see Fig. 2), the chamber configured to hold one or more oral agents to be delivered to a user's oral cavity (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Gimelli the body comprises an upper portion and a lower portion, and wherein the chamber is defined in the lower portion (lid 6 coupled to head 4 to form chamber via screw cap connection, page 3 paragraph 2)..
Regarding claim 20, Gimelli discloses the filter or screen is attached to the body (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gimelli (WO 2008/046580) in view of Berge (US 2008/0245795).
Regarding claim 5, Gimelli discloses an accessory (end of lid 6 coupled to irrigator tip 3 and filtering element 23) and a oral hygiene device (handpiece 2), but does not disclose a hinge configured to rotatably connect the accessory to the oral hygiene device; and a latch member to releasably connect the accessory to the oral hygiene device.
However, Berge teaches (Figs. 1-5C) a closure device for a container comprising a hinge (hinge 202) configured to rotatably connect the accessory (lid 102) to a container (cap 104); and a latch member (actuator 146) to releasably connect the accessory to the container (see Fig. 4 and paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gimelli to include a hinge configured to rotatably connect the accessory to the oral hygiene device; and a latch member to releasably connect the accessory to the oral hygiene device, as taught by Berge, for the purpose of allowing the medicament to be accessed while the accessory is still connected to the container, reducing likelihood of contamination (i.e. user would not need to put accessory down as accessory is still connected via hinge).
Regarding claim 14, Gimelli discloses a tip (head 4 and a filtering element 23) and oral irrigator (handpiece 2), but does not disclose a hinge configured to rotatably connect the tip to the oral irrigator, and a latch to releasably secure the tip body to the oral irrigator.
However, Berge teaches (Figs. 1-5C) a closure device for a container comprising a hinge (hinge 202) configured to rotatably connect the accessory (lid 102) to a container (cap 104); and a latch member (actuator 146) to releasably connect the accessory to the container (see Fig. 4 and paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gimelli to include a hinge configured to rotatably connect the tip to the oral irrigator, and a latch to releasably secure the tip body to the oral irrigator, as taught by Berge, for the purpose of allowing the medicament to be accessed while the accessory is still connected to the container, reducing likelihood of contamination (i.e. user would not need to put accessory down as accessory is still connected via hinge).
Regarding claim 19, Gimelli discloses a body (lid 6 and head 4), but does not disclose the body comprises a latch member.
However, Berge teaches (Figs. 1-5C) a closure device for a container comprising a hinge (hinge 202) configured to rotatably connect the accessory (lid 102) to a container (cap 104); and a latch member (actuator 146) to releasably connect the accessory to the container (see Fig. 4 and paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gimelli such that the body comprises a latch member, as taught by Berge, for the purpose of allowing the medicament to be accessed while the accessory is still connected to the container, reducing likelihood of contamination (i.e. user would not need to put accessory down as accessory is still connected via hinge).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24, respectively, of US Patent No. 11,179,231.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. The application claims are broader in at least one aspect and also recite additional features not claimed in the patent claims.
For claim 1:
Regarding the broadening aspect of the application claims, the following comparison between the patent claims and the application claims highlights (see underlined features in the patent claims) what elements have been excluded in the presentation of the application claims.
Patent claim 1
Application claim 1
An oral irrigator comprising
a housing including a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet;
a chamber housing positioned within the housing between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet, wherein the chamber housing comprises:
an agent chamber for receiving an oral hygiene agent therein, the agent chamber having a bottom surface, a chamber inlet defined through the bottom surface, and a chamber outlet positioned opposite of the bottom surface, wherein the chamber inlet is configured to direct fluid from the fluid inlet to impinge against a surface of the oral hygiene agent facing towards the bottom surface of the agent chamber; and
a lid pivotably coupled to the housing, wherein in a closed position, the lid at least partially covers the agent chamber and in an open position, the lid uncovers the agent chamber, the lid defining a tip aperture on a top surface thereof, wherein the tip aperture is in fluid communication with the agent chamber; and a tip removably coupled to the lid, the tip comprising:
a filter screen; and
a tip outlet;
wherein the tip is received through the tip aperture of the lid such that in the closed position of the lid the filter screen is positioned below a top surface of the lid and between the agent chamber and the tip outlet so as to filter fluid exiting the agent chamber.
An accessory for an oral hygiene device, the accessory comprising:
an outlet; and
a filtering element configured to filter a fluid flow to the outlet; wherein the filtering element is positioned to be in fluid communication with a chamber configured to hold an oral agent to be delivered to a user's oral cavity.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that patent claim 1 includes features that are not in application claim 1. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claim 1 is anticipated by patent claim 1, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claim 1 is obvious over patent claim 1 with respect to the broadening aspect.
For dependent claims 2-10, the recited limitations are contained in patent claims 2-12.
For claim 11:
Regarding the broadening aspect of the application claims, the following comparison between the patent claims and the application claims highlights (see underlined features in the patent claims) what elements have been excluded in the presentation of the application claims.
Patent claim 1
Application claim 11
An oral irrigator comprising
a housing including a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet;
a chamber housing positioned within the housing between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet, wherein the chamber housing comprises:
an agent chamber for receiving an oral hygiene agent therein, the agent chamber having a bottom surface, a chamber inlet defined through the bottom surface, and a chamber outlet positioned opposite of the bottom surface, wherein the chamber inlet is configured to direct fluid from the fluid inlet to impinge against a surface of the oral hygiene agent facing towards the bottom surface of the agent chamber; and
a lid pivotably coupled to the housing, wherein in a closed position, the lid at least partially covers the agent chamber and in an open position, the lid uncovers the agent chamber, the lid defining a tip aperture on a top surface thereof, wherein the tip aperture is in fluid communication with the agent chamber; and a tip removably coupled to the lid, the tip comprising:
a filter screen; and
a tip outlet;
wherein the tip is received through the tip aperture of the lid such that in the closed position of the lid the filter screen is positioned below a top surface of the lid and between the agent chamber and the tip outlet so as to filter fluid exiting the agent chamber.
A tip for an oral irrigator, the tip comprising:
a tip body;
a filtering element configured to filter a fluid flow through the tip body, the filtering element positioned to be in fluid communication with a chamber configured to hold an oral agent to be delivered to a user's oral cavity; and
a releasable connection to secure the tip body in a use configuration.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that patent claim 1 includes features that are not in application claim 11. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claim 11 is anticipated by patent claim 1, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claim 11 is obvious over patent claim 1 with respect to the broadening aspect.
For dependent claims 12-15, the recited limitations are contained in patent claims 2-10.
For claim 16:
Regarding the broadening aspect of the application claims, the following comparison between the patent claims and the application claims highlights (see underlined features in the patent claims) what elements have been excluded in the presentation of the application claims.
Patent claim 1
Application claim 16
An oral irrigator comprising
a housing including a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet;
a chamber housing positioned within the housing between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet, wherein the chamber housing comprises:
an agent chamber for receiving an oral hygiene agent therein, the agent chamber having a bottom surface, a chamber inlet defined through the bottom surface, and a chamber outlet positioned opposite of the bottom surface, wherein the chamber inlet is configured to direct fluid from the fluid inlet to impinge against a surface of the oral hygiene agent facing towards the bottom surface of the agent chamber; and
a lid pivotably coupled to the housing, wherein in a closed position, the lid at least partially covers the agent chamber and in an open position, the lid uncovers the agent chamber, the lid defining a tip aperture on a top surface thereof, wherein the tip aperture is in fluid communication with the agent chamber; and a tip removably coupled to the lid, the tip comprising:
a filter screen; and
a tip outlet;
wherein the tip is received through the tip aperture of the lid such that in the closed position of the lid the filter screen is positioned below a top surface of the lid and between the agent chamber and the tip outlet so as to filter fluid exiting the agent chamber.
An oral irrigator tip comprising:
a body;
a tip extending from the body, the tip comprising a flow lumen terminating at a tip outlet; and
a filter or screen associated with the body to filter a fluid flow through the flow lumen, wherein the filter or screen is positioned to be in fluid communication with a chamber configured to hold an oral agent to be delivered to a user's oral cavity.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that patent claim 1 includes features that are not in application claim 16. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claim 16 is anticipated by patent claim 1, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claim 16 is obvious over patent claim 1 with respect to the broadening aspect.
For dependent claims 17-19, the recited limitations are contained in patent claims 2-12.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW R MOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785