DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the concave shaped" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is taking "the concave shaped" to read "the trapezoidal shaped".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US 2019/0148075).
In regards to claim 1, Nakamura ‘075 discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a multilayer body including dielectric layers (11 & 13 – fig. 1; [0017]) and internal electrode layers (12 – fig. 1; [0017]) alternately laminated, and including main surfaces on both sides in a lamination direction, side surfaces on both sides in a width direction that is orthogonal to the lamination direction, and end surfaces on both sides in a length direction that intersects with the lamination direction and the width direction (seen in fig. 1); and
external electrodes (20a & 20b – fig. 1; [0016]) respectively provided on the end surfaces and each including an end surface portion on the end surface where the external electrode is provided, main surface portions respectively extending on the main surfaces in the length direction from the end surface toward an other end surface, and side surface portions respectively extending on the side surfaces in the length direction from the end surface toward the other end surface (fig. 1); wherein
each of the main surface portions includes a longest portion (fig. 1 & 4; [0024]) that is longer in the length direction than a remainder of the main surface portion, and when the multilayer ceramic capacitor is viewed from the main surface, the longest portion is located on a region that does not overlap with a region in which the internal electrode layers are located (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 2, Nakamura ‘075 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the longest portion is located on a ridge where the main surface meets the side surface (fig. 1 & 4).
In regards to claim 3, Nakamura ‘075 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the main surface portions includes a shortest portion that is shorter in the length direction than a remainder of the main surface portion and is located in a central portion of the main surface in the width direction (fig. 1 & 4; [0024]).
In regards to claim 6, Nakamura ‘075 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein dimensions of the multilayer capacitor are about 0.2 mm or greater and about 2.0 mm or less in the length direction, about 0.1 mm or greater and about 1.0 mm or less in the width direction, and about 0.1 mm or greater and about 0.5 mm or less in the lamination direction ([0018]).
In regards to claim 7, Nakamura ‘075 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the multilayer body has a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 8, Nakamura ‘075 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the external electrodes includes a base electrode layer (21 – fig. 2; [0020-0022]) and a plated layer (22 – fig. 2; [0020-0022]).
In regards to claim 9, Nakamura ‘075 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 8, wherein the base electrode layer includes at least one of a fired layer, a conductive layer resin, and a thin film layer ([0021]).
In regards to claim 10, Nakamura ‘075 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the main surface portions has a concave shaped central portion in the width direction (fig. 1 & 4; [0024]).
In regards to claim 11, Nakamura ‘075 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 10, wherein each of the main surface portions includes a shortest portion that is shorter in the length direction than a remainder of the main surface portion and is located in the concave shaped central portion (fig. 1 & 4; [0024]).
In regards to claim 16, Nakamura ‘075 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the multilayer body includes eight of the longest portions (fig. 1 & 4; [0024]).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-9, 12-14, 17, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onishi et al. (US 2010/0128411).
In regards to claim 1, Onishi ‘411 discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a multilayer body including dielectric layers and internal electrode layers (3-4 – fig. 1; [0039]) alternately laminated, and including main surfaces (2a & 2b – fig. 1; [0038]) on both sides in a lamination direction, side surfaces on both sides (2e & 2f – fig. 1; [0038]) in a width direction that is orthogonal to the lamination direction, and end surfaces (2c & 2d – fig. 1; [0038]) on both sides in a length direction that intersects with the lamination direction and the width direction; and
external electrodes (5/5A/5B & 6/6A/6B – fig. 1; [0041-0047]) respectively provided on the end surfaces and each including an end surface portion on the end surface where the external electrode is provided, main surface portions respectively extending on the main surfaces in the length direction from the end surface toward an other end surface, and side surface portions respectively extending on the side surfaces in the length direction from the end surface toward the other end surface (fig. 1); wherein
each of the main surface portions includes a longest portion that is longer in the length direction than a remainder of the main surface portion, and when the multilayer ceramic capacitor is viewed from the main surface, the longest portion is located on a region that does not overlap with a region in which the internal electrode layers are located (fig. 1A).
In regards to claim 2, Onishi ‘411 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the longest portion is located on a ridge where the main surface meets the side surface (fig. 1A).
In regards to claim 4, Onishi ‘411 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein two of the internal electrode layers that are adjacent to each other in the lamination direction have widthwise ends with a positional deviation of about 5 μm or less in the width direction (fig. 2 – internal electrodes shown to align in widthwise (i.e. deviation is 0)).
In regards to claim 7, Onishi ‘411 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the multilayer body has a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 8, Onishi ‘411 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the external electrodes includes a base electrode layer and a plated layer ([0072-0076]).
In regards to claim 9, Onishi ‘411 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 8, wherein the base electrode layer includes at least one of a fired layer, a conductive layer resin, and a thin film layer ([0072-0076]).
In regards to claim 12, Onishi ‘411 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the main surface portions has a trapezoidal shaped central portion in the width direction (fig. 1; [0042-0043] & [0045]).
In regards to claim 13, Onishi ‘411 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 12, wherein each of the main surface portions includes a shortest portion that is shorter in the length direction than a remainder of the main surface portion and is located in the trapezoidal shaped central portion (fig. 1; [0042-0043] & [0045]).
In regards to claim 14, Onishi ‘411 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 12, wherein the main surface portions have a same trapezoidal shape of the trapezoidal shaped central portions (fig. 1; [0042-0043] & [0045]).
In regards to claim 17, Onishi ‘411 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the main surface portions includes only one of the longest portion (fig. 1; [0042-0043] & [0045]).
In regards to claim 20, Onishi ‘411 discloses
A method of mounting the multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, the method comprising: placing the multilayer ceramic capacitor such that one of the main surfaces defines and functions as a mounting surface (fig. 11).
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 12-14, & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2004039937A hereafter referred to as Abiko.
In regards to claim 1, Abiko discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a multilayer body including dielectric layers (1 – fig. 2-3) and internal electrode layers (31 & 32 – fig. 2-3) alternately laminated, and including main surfaces (15 & 16 – fig. 1) on both sides in a lamination direction, side surfaces (13 & 14 – fig. 1) on both sides in a width direction that is orthogonal to the lamination direction, and end surfaces (11 & 12 – fig. 1) on both sides in a length direction that intersects with the lamination direction and the width direction; and
external electrodes (21 & 22 – fig. 10) respectively provided on the end surfaces and each including an end surface portion on the end surface where the external electrode is provided, main surface portions respectively extending on the main surfaces in the length direction from the end surface toward an other end surface, and side surface portions respectively extending on the side surfaces in the length direction from the end surface toward the other end surface; wherein
each of the main surface portions includes a longest portion that is longer in the length direction than a remainder of the main surface portion, and when the multilayer ceramic capacitor is viewed from the main surface, the longest portion is located on a region that does not overlap with a region in which the internal electrode layers are located (fig. 3 & 10).
In regards to claim 2, Abiko discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the longest portion is located on a ridge where the main surface meets the side surface (fig. 10).
In regards to claim 7, Abiko discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the multilayer body has a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 8, Abiko discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the external electrodes includes a base electrode layer (213 & 223 – fig. 2) and a plated layer (212 & 222 – fig. 2).
In regards to claim 12, Abiko discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the main surface portions has a trapezoidal shaped central portion in the width direction (fig. 10).
In regards to claim 13, Abiko discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 12, wherein each of the main surface portions includes a shortest portion that is shorter in the length direction than a remainder of the main surface portion and is located in the trapezoidal shaped central portion (fig. 10).
In regards to claim 14, Abiko discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 12, wherein the main surface portions have a same trapezoidal shape of the trapezoidal shaped central portions (fig. 10).
In regards to claim 17, Abiko discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the main surface portions includes only one of the longest portion (fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi ‘411 in view of Mizuno (US 2022/0285100).
In regards to claim 5,
Onishi ‘411 fails to discloses wherein the multilayer body includes an inner layer portion in which the dielectric layers and the internal electrode layers are alternately laminated, and side margin portions provided on both sides of the inner layer portion in the width direction, and the side margin portions include Si in a larger amount than the dielectric layers.
Mizuno ‘100 discloses wherein the multilayer body includes an inner layer portion in which the dielectric layers and the internal electrode layers are alternately laminated, and side margin portions provided on both sides of the inner layer portion in the width direction, and the side margin portions include Si in a larger amount than the dielectric layers (fig. 3; [0048] & [0071-0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the capacitor of Onishi ‘411 to have an inner layer portion and side margin portions as taught by Mizuno ‘100 to obtain a capacitor with improved volume efficiency and mechanical strength.
Claim(s) 15 & 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abiko in view of Sato (US 2018/0108479).
In regards to claim 15,
Abiko fails to disclose wherein a trapezoidal shape of the trapezoidal shaped central portions of some of the main surface portions differ from each other.
Sato ‘479 discloses forming one external electrode to be longer on the first main surface than the other external electrode (fig. 1; [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the external electrodes of Abiko such that one is longer on the main surface than the other as taught by Sato ‘479 thus obtaining wherein a trapezoidal shape of the trapezoidal shaped central portions of some of the main surface portions differ from each other (noting the combination will have one trapezoid that will be larger than the other) to obtain a capacitor with improved strength. Furthermore, change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regards to claim 18,
Abiko fails to disclose wherein a length of the longest portion of a first one of the main surface portions is not equal to a length of the longest portion of a second one of the main surface portions l.
Sato ‘479 discloses forming one external electrode to be longer on the first main surface than the other external electrode (fig. 1; [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the external electrodes of Abiko such that one is longer on the main surface than the other as taught by Sato ‘479 thus obtaining wherein a length of the longest portion of a first one of the main surface portions is not equal to a length of the longest portion of a second one of the main surface portions (noting the combination will have one trapezoid that will be larger than the other) to obtain a capacitor with improved strength. Furthermore, change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to claim 19,
Abiko fails to disclose wherein shapes of the main surface portions are not identical.
Sato ‘479 discloses forming one external electrode to be longer on the first main surface than the other external electrode (fig. 1; [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the external electrodes of Abiko such that one is longer on the main surface than the other as taught by Sato ‘479 thus obtaining wherein shapes of the main surface portions are not identical (noting the combination will have one trapezoid that will be larger than the other) to obtain a capacitor with improved strength. Furthermore, change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2003/0169556 – fig. 6 US 2013/0050898 – fig. 3
US 2016/0365196 – fig. 4 US 2008/0297977 – fig. 8
US 7,016,176 – fig. 1 US 6,104,599 – fig. 4
JP60190063U – fig. 1 JP61144812A – fig. 3-4
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848