DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shih US 20220087063.
Regarding claim 14, Shih US 20220087063 discloses an expansion module (10), comprising:
a main body (400);
a main connector (111), disposed on the main body (400) and configured to be removably assembled with a mainboard connector (connector of motherboard not shown connecting to 111) of a motherboard (motherboard not shown see [0003]); and
two fluid connectors (240/230 in Fig. 2), disposed on the main body (400).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh US 11150705 in view of Shih US 20220087063.
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh US 11150705 discloses (in Fig. 1) a server (10), comprising:
a housing (100), having an accommodation space (space of 100) and a front opening,
wherein the front opening is located at one side of the accommodation space (space of 100) and communicates with the accommodation space;
a motherboard (200), located in the accommodation space (space of 100) and having at least one mainboard connector (connector of 200 not numbered connected to 20 in Fig. 1); and
at least one expansion module (500), removably disposed in the accommodation space (space of 100) and exposed to outside from the front opening,
wherein the at least one expansion module (500) comprises:
a main body (510 in Fig. 3);
a main connector (522 in Fig. 3), disposed on the main body (510) and removably assembled with the at least one mainboard connector (connector of 200 not numbered connected to 20 in Fig. 1) of the motherboard (200).
Hsieh does not explicitly disclose two fluid connectors, disposed on the main body.
However, Shih discloses an expansion card assembly (10 in Fig. 1) with a heat dissipation device (220 in Fig. 1) and two fluid connectors (240/230 in Fig. 2), disposed on a main body (main body of 10 in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the expansion module of Hsieh include an expansion card assembly with a heat dissipation device and two fluid connectors, disposed on the main body, as taught by Shih, in order to provide liquid cooling to the expansion module.
Regarding claim 6, Hsieh in view of Shih discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the main body (510 of Hsieh) comprises
a casing (511/513 in Fig. 3 of Hsieh),
a riser card (520 in Fig. 3 of Hsieh) and
an expansion card assembly (600 in Fig. 1 of Hsieh/10 in Fig. 1 of Shih),
the riser card (520 of Hsieh) and the expansion card assembly (10) are disposed in the casing (511/513 of Hsieh),
the expansion card assembly (10) comprises a circuit board (110 in Fig. 1 of Shih) and a heat dissipation device (220 in Fig. 1 of Shih),
the circuit board (110 of Shih) of the expansion card assembly (10) is inserted into the riser card (520 of Hsieh),
the heat dissipation device (220 of Shih) is thermally coupled to the circuit board (110 of Shih),
the main connector (connector of 200 not numbered connected to 20 in Fig. 1 of Hsieh) is disposed on the casing (511/513 of Hsieh) and is electrically connected to the riser card (520 of Hsieh), and
the two fluid connectors (230/240 of Shih) are disposed on the casing (511/513 of Hsieh) and are connected to the heat dissipation device (220 of Shih as depicted in Fig. 1 of Shih).
Regarding claim 7, Hsieh in view of Shih discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the main body comprises
a casing (511/513 in Fig. 3 of Hsieh),
a riser card (520 in Fig. 3 of Hsieh) and
an expansion card assembly (600 in Fig. 1 of Hsieh/10 in Fig. 1 of Shih),
the casing (511/513 of Hsieh) comprises a cover portion (511 in Fig. 3 of Hsieh) and a base portion (513 in Fig. 3 of Hsieh),
the base portion (513 of Hsieh) is removably mounted on the cover portion (511 of Hsieh), and
the cover portion (511 of Hsieh) and the base portion (513 of Hsieh) together form an inner space (inner space of 511/513 of Hsieh), and
the expansion card assembly (10 of Shih) and the riser card (520 of Hsieh) are located in the inner space (inner space of 511/513 of Hsieh).
Regarding claim 8, Hsieh in view of Shih discloses the server according to claim 7, wherein the main body (510 of Hsieh) further comprises a first fastener (inherent fastener connecting 511 to 513 in Fig. 1 and 3 of Hsieh), and
the first fastener (fastener connecting 511 to 513 of Hsieh) is movably disposed on the base portion (513 of Hsieh) and is selectively engaged with the cover portion (511 of Hsieh).
Regarding claim 13, Hsieh in view of Shih discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the housing (100 of Hsieh) has at least one guide channel (channel receiving 500 in Fig. 1 of Hsieh),
the main body (500 of Hsieh) further comprises a casing (511/513 in Fig. 3 of Hsieh) and a plurality of guide blocks (512 in Fig. 3 of Hsieh),
the plurality of guide blocks (512 of Hsieh) are fixed to the casing (511/513 of Hsieh) and are arranged along a straight line (as depicted in Fig. 3 of Hsieh), and
the plurality of guide blocks (512 of Hsieh) are mounted in the at least one guide channel (channel receiving 500 as depicted in Fig. 1 of Hsieh).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh US 11150705 in view of Shih US 20220087063 as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Zhang US 20230062355.
Regarding claim 12, Hsieh in view of Shih discloses the server according to claim 6, wherein the casing comprises a cover portion (511 of Hsieh) and a base portion (513 of Hsieh),
the base portion (513 of Hsieh) is removably mounted on the cover portion (511 of Hsieh),
the cover portion (511 of Hsieh) and the base portion (513 of Hsieh) together form an inner space,
the expansion card assembly (10 of Shih) and the riser card (520 of Hsieh) are located in the inner space, and
the expansion card assembly (10 of Shih) has a bracket structure (bracket of 10 of Shih),
the main body (510 of Hsieh) further comprises a positioning component (515 of Hsieh),
the positioning component (515 of Hsieh) is disposed on the cover portion and is abutted against the base portion (513 of Hsieh),
the positioning component (515 of Hsieh) has a positioning groove (groove of 515 of Hsieh), and
the bracket structure (bracket of 10) of the expansion card assembly (10) is partially located in the positioning groove (groove of 515 of Hsieh) of the positioning component (515 as depicted in Fig. 1 of Hsieh).
Hsieh in view of Shih discloses do not explicitly discloses that the positioning component is pivotably disposed on the cover portion.
However, Zhang US 20230062355 disclose a positioning component (2) is pivotably disposed on the cover portion (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the positioning component of Hsieh in view of Shih be pivotably disposed on the cover portion, as taught by Zhang in order to rotatably secure the expansion card assembly.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih US 20220087063 as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Hsieh US 11150705.
Regarding claim 16, Shih discloses the expansion module according to claim 14, wherein the main body (400 in Fig. 1) comprises an expansion card assembly (100 in Fig. 1), the expansion card assembly (100) comprises a circuit board (110 in Fig. 1) and a heat dissipation device (220 in Fig. 1), the heat dissipation device (220) is thermally coupled to the circuit board (110), the two fluid connectors (130/140) are disposed on the main body (400) and are connected to the heat dissipation device (220 as depicted in Fig. 1).
Shih does not explicitly disclose wherein the main body comprises
a casing, a riser card, the riser card and the expansion card assembly are disposed in the casing,
the circuit board of the expansion card assembly is inserted into the riser card,
the main connector is disposed on the casing and is electrically connected to the riser card, and
the two fluid connectors are disposed on the casing.
However, Hsieh US 11150705 discloses a main body (510 in Fig. 2-3) comprises
a casing (511/513 in Fig. 2-3),
a riser card (520 in Fig. 3) and
an expansion card assembly (600 in Fig. 1),
the riser card (520) and the expansion card assembly (600) are disposed in the casing (511/513),
the circuit board (circuit board of 600) of the expansion card assembly (600) is inserted into the riser card (520),
a main connector (522 in Fig. 3) is disposed on the casing (511/513) and is electrically connected to the riser card (520).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the main body of Shih comprise a casing,
a riser card, the riser card and the expansion card assembly disposed in the casing,
the circuit board of the expansion card assembly being inserted into the riser card,
the main connector disposed on the casing and electrically connected to the riser card, as taught by Hsieh and the two fluid connectors are disposed on the casing and are connected to the heat dissipation device, in order to provide a mounting frame.
Regarding claim 17, Shih discloses the expansion module according to claim 14, wherein the main body (400 in Fig. 1) comprises
an expansion card assembly (100 in Fig. 1).
Shih does not explicitly disclose wherein the main body comprises
a casing, a riser card and the expansion card assembly,
the casing comprises a cover portion and a base portion, the base portion is removably mounted on the cover portion, and
the cover portion and the base portion together form an inner space, and
the expansion card assembly and the riser card are located in the inner space.
However, Hsieh discloses a main body (510 in Fig. 2-3) comprises
a casing (511/513 in Fig. 3),
a riser card (520 in Fig. 3) and
an expansion card assembly (600 in Fig. 1),
the casing (511/513) comprises a cover portion (511 in Fig. 3) and a base portion (513 in Fig. 3),
the base portion (513) is removably mounted on the cover portion (511), and
the cover portion (511) and the base portion (513) together form an inner space (inner space of 511/513), and
the expansion card assembly (600) and the riser card (520) are located in the inner space (inner space of 511/513).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the main body of Shih comprise a casing,
a riser card, the casing comprising a cover portion and a base portion, the base portion removably mounted on the cover portion, and the cover portion and the base portion together form an inner space, and the expansion card assembly of Shih and the riser card are located in the inner space, as taught by Hsieh, in order to provide a mounting frame.
Regarding claim 18, Shih in view of Hsieh discloses the expansion module according to claim 17, wherein the main body (510 of Hsieh) further comprises a first fastener (inherent fastener connecting 511 to 513 in Fig. 1 and 3 of Hsieh), and
the first fastener (fastener connecting 511 to 513 of Hsieh) is movably disposed on the base portion (513 of Hsieh) and is selectively engaged with the cover portion (511 of Hsieh).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih US 20220087063 in view of Hsieh US 11150705 as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Zhang US 20230062355.
Regarding claim 20, Shih in view of Hsieh discloses the expansion module according to claim 16, wherein the casing (511/513 of Hsieh) comprises a cover portion (511 in Fig. 3 of Hsieh) and a base portion (513 in Fig. 3 of Hsieh),
the base portion (513 of Hsieh) is removably mounted on the cover portion (511 of Hsieh),
the cover portion (511 of Hsieh) and the base portion (513 of Hsieh) together form an inner space (inner space of 511/513 of Hsieh),
the expansion card assembly (10 of Shih) and the riser card (520 of Hsieh) are located in the inner space (inner space of 511/513 of Hsieh), and
the expansion card assembly (10 of Shih) has a bracket structure (bracket of 10 of Shih),
the main body further comprises a positioning component (515 of Hsieh),
the positioning component (515 of Hsieh) is disposed on the cover portion (511 of Hsieh) and is abutted against the base portion (513 of Hsieh),
the positioning component (515 of Hsieh) has a positioning groove (positioning groove of 515 in Fig. 1 and 3), and
the bracket structure (bracket of 10 of Shih) of the expansion card assembly (10 of Shih) is partially located in the positioning groove (positioning groove of 515 of Hsieh) of the positioning component (515 of Hsieh as depicted in Fig. 1 of Hsieh).
Shih in view of Hsieh do not explicitly discloses that the positioning component is pivotably disposed on the cover portion.
However, Zhang US 20230062355 disclose a positioning component (2) is pivotably disposed on the cover portion (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the positioning component of Hsieh in view of Shih be pivotably disposed on the cover portion, as taught by Zhang in order to rotatably secure the expansion card assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 9-11, 15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “further comprising a power distribution board, wherein the power distribution board is located in the accommodation space, the power distribution board has an electrical connection portion, the at least one expansion module further comprises a power connector, and the power connector is disposed on the main body and is removably assembled with the electrical connection portion of the power distribution board”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 3-5 depending from claim 2 would therefore also be allowable.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1 and 7, a combination of limitations that “wherein the main body further comprises a latch and a second fastener,
the latch has a first end and a second end located opposite to each other,
the first end of the latch is pivotably disposed on the cover portion of the casing and is selectively engaged with the housing, and
the second fastener is movably disposed on the base portion of the casing and is selectively engaged with the second end of the latch”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claim 10 depending from claim 9 would therefore also be allowable.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1 and 7, a combination of limitations that “wherein the main body further comprises a mount component,
the mount component comprises a wide portion and a narrow portion,
a width of the wide portion is greater than a width of the narrow portion,
the wide portion is connected to the cover portion via the narrow portion,
the base portion has a guide slot,
the guide slot has a release portion and an engagement portion connected to each other,
the width of the wide portion of the mount component is greater than a width of the engagement portion,
the narrow portion of the mount component is located in the engagement portion, and the base portion is partially located between the wide portion of the mount component and the cover portion”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 14, a combination of limitations that “further comprising a power connector, wherein the power connector is disposed on the main body, and the power connector is located between the main connector and the two fluid connectors”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 14 and 17, a combination of limitations that “wherein the main body further comprises a latch and a second fastener,
the latch has a first end and a second end located opposite to each other,
the first end of the latch is pivotably disposed on the cover portion of the casing,
the second fastener is movably disposed on the base portion of the casing and is selectively engaged with the second end of the latch”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Scholder US 5831821 Fig. 2-8; Carver US 20240357763 Fig. 4a-5a; Hsieh US 20240314967 Fig. 1-4 disclose a server comprising a mother board and an expansion module.
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841