DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Fong et al. (US 2017/0092834).
With respect to claim 1, Fong teaches an infrared red (IR) detector (Abstract) comprising: a substrate (120) configured to absorb IR energy ([0046]); at least one pair of electrodes comprising a superconducting material, and at least one pair of electrodes arranged at an outer edge of the substrate, wherein IR energy absorbed by the substrate diffuses toward the outer edge while dissipating as heat from a surface of the substrate, and wherein the at least one electrode conducts the heat at the outer edge (130; [0049]; [0050]).
With respect to claim 2, Fong teaches the substrate comprises graphene ([0046]).
With respect to claim 3, Fong teaches the superconducting material comprises one, or a combination of, titanium (Ti), aluminum (Al), niobium nitride (NbN) ([0049]).
With respect to claim 4, Fong teaches the at least one electrode pair and the substrate are coupled together so as to establish a graphene Josephson junction (130).
With respect to claim 5, Fong teaches the at least one electrode pair includes a first leg coupled to a first surface of the substrate and a second leg connected to an opposing second surface of the substrate (Fig. 2A).
With respect to claim 6, Fong teaches the at least one electrode pair includes a plurality of electrodes disposed uniformly about the outer edge of the substrate (Fig. 2A).
With respect to claims 8 and 17, Fong teaches a detector comprising: at least one infrared (IR) detector configured to absorb IR energy and to conduct heat produced in response to absorbing the IR energy ([0046]); and a readout sensor circuit connected to the at least one IR detector, the readout sensor circuit configured to convert the heat into an electrical signal ([0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong et al. (US 2017/0092834).
Regarding claim 7, Fong is silent regarding the wavelengths absorbed by the substrate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have the IR energy absorbed by the substrate has a wavelength ranging from at least about 750 nanometers (nm) to at least 300,000 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Kamineni et al. (US 2023/0366913) teaches method and structure incorporating photonic circuit that determines spatial mode of a photon according to the waveguide that the photon propagated through ([0031]).
Regarding claims 9-16, the prior art of record does not disclose or reasonably suggest, along with the other claimed limitations, a spatial-mode-resolving bolometer comprising: namely, the controller configured to determine a spatial mode of the IR energy based on the electrical signal.
Regarding claims 18-20, the prior art of record does not disclose or reasonably suggest, along with the other claimed limitations, a method of resolving a spatial-mode of a photon comprising: namely, resolving, via a controller in signal communication with the readout sensor circuit, the spatial mode of the IR energy based on the electrical signal.
Conclusion
/CAROLYN FIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2884