DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fowler et al. (US 11,750,593).
Regarding claim 1, Fowler et al. (hereinafter “Fowler”) teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a telecommunication system, a communication associated with a caller requesting to make a telephone call to a recipient, wherein the communication includes a reference to a security certificate (i.e., an identity header of a call message request (SIP INVITE message) of a call initiated by a caller (i.e., a salesman (“A” party) to a potential customer (“B” party) wherein the identity header (read on “reference”) comprises the URI to retrieve the associated public key; col.4, lines 43-62) and the SIP INVITE message included the identity header is routed to or received by a service provider 130 (read on “a telecommunication system”) as shown in figure 1; col.4, lines 63-65);
accessing, by the telecommunication system, the security certificate via the reference, wherein the security certificate includes a public key and a document identifier (i.e., the STI-VS 132 identifies the URI found in the identity head to retrieve or access the service provider A’s public certificate (read on “security certificate”)(col.4, line 67 through col.5, lines 4) wherein the public certificate comprises a public and private key pair which is placed or stored on the STI-CR 112; col.4, lines 16-26; further the STI-VS 132 retrieves the telephone number (TN) authorization list from the public certificate data (i.e., the public key) along with the service provider code (SPC) value (read on “document identifier”) within the list (col.5, lines 5-8));
retrieving, by the telecommunication system, identity information from a storage location using the document identifier (i.e., the STI-VS 132 retrieves the SPC (read on “identity information”) in a mapping table for service provider from the STI-CR 112 (read on “storage location”) using the network service provider identifier being calculated from the SPC value (as the document identifier); col.5, lines 8-17); and
in response to verifying the identity information using the public key, flagging, by the telecommunication system, the caller as verified (i.e., if the mapping matches, TN authorization verification is successful or the caller is verified and the call is connected; col.5, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 3, Fowler further teaches a public and private key pair to be stored in the secure key store 122 and a corresponding public certificate placed in the assigned secure telephone identity certificate repository (STI-CR) 112 ‘certificate repository’ (col.4, lines 16-26). Thus, the repository (STI-CR) 112 ‘certificate repository’ is a data repository or blockchain.
Regarding claims 4-5, Fowler further teaches limitations of the claim, such as a verification process failing, not verifying or not completing (col.6, lines 61-67; col.8, lines 30-35).
Regarding claim 7, Fowler further teaches limitations of the claim, such as the secure key store stored a public and private key pair and the secure STI-CR 112 stored the corresponding public certificate of the public and private key pair (col.4, lines 16-25). Thus, the TN authorization list, retrieved by the STI-VS 132, comprises identify information, such as the public certification data along with the service provider code (SPC) value within the list stored in the secure STI-CR 112 (as a decentralized identifier document)(col.4, line 67 through col.5, line 10).
Regarding claim 8, Fowler teaches a telecommunication system (i.e., service provider 130, as shown in figures 1 and 9) comprising:
one or more processors (i.e., processing unit 904); and
one or more memories (i.e., memory 906) including instructions executable by the one or more processors (col.9, lines 4-23) to cause the one or more processors to:
receive a communication associated with a caller requesting to make a telephone call to a recipient, wherein the communication includes a reference to a security certificate (i.e., an identity header of a call message request (SIP INVITE message) of a call initiated by a caller (i.e., a salesman (“A” party) to a potential customer (“B” party) wherein the identity header (read on “reference”) comprises the URI to retrieve the associated public key; col.4, lines 43-62) and the SIP INVITE message included the identity header is routed to or received by a service provider 130 (read on “a telecommunication system”) as shown in figure 1; col.4, lines 63-65);
access the security certificate via the reference, wherein the security certificate includes a public key and a document identifier (i.e., the STI-VS 132 identifies the URI found in the identity head to retrieve or access the service provider A’s public certificate (read on “security certificate”)(col.4, line 67 through col.5, lines 4) wherein the public certificate comprises a public and private key pair which is placed or stored on the STI-CR 112; col.4, lines 16-26; further the STI-VS 132 retrieves the telephone number (TN) authorization list from the public certificate data (i.e., the public key) along with the service provider code (SPC) value (read on “document identifier”) within the list (col.5, lines 5-8));
retrieve identity information from a storage location using the document identifier (i.e., the STI-VS 132 retrieves the SPC (read on “identity information”) in a mapping table for service provider from the STI-CR 112 (read on “storage location”) using the network service provider identifier being calculated from the SPC value (as the document identifier); col.5, lines 8-17); and
in response to verifying the identity information using the public key, flag the caller as verified (i.e., if the mapping matches, TN authorization verification is successful or the caller is verified and the call is connected; col.5, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 10, Fowler further teaches a public and private key pair to be stored in the secure key store 122 and a corresponding public certificate placed in the assigned secure telephone identity certificate repository (STI-CR) 112 ‘certificate repository’ (col.4, lines 16-26). Thus, the repository (STI-CR) 112 ‘certificate repository’ is a data repository or blockchain.
Regarding claims 11-12, Fowler further teaches limitations of the claim, such as a verification process failing, not verifying or not completing (col.6, lines 61-67; col.8, lines 30-35).
Regarding claim 14, Fowler further teaches limitations of the claim, such as the secure key store stored a public and private key pair and the secure STI-CR 112 stored the corresponding public certificate of the public and private key pair (col.4, lines 16-25). Thus, the TN authorization list, retrieved by the STI-VS 132, comprises identify information, such as the public certification data along with the service provider code (SPC) value within the list stored in the secure STI-CR 112 (as a decentralized identifier document)(col.4, line 67 through col.5, line 10).
Regarding claim 15, Fowler teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program code that is executable by a processor to cause the processor to:
receive a communication associated with a caller requesting to make a telephone call to a recipient, wherein the communication includes a reference to a security certificate (i.e., an identity header of a call message request (SIP INVITE message) of a call initiated by a caller (i.e., a salesman (“A” party) to a potential customer (“B” party) wherein the identity header (read on “reference”) comprises the URI to retrieve the associated public key; col.4, lines 43-62) and the SIP INVITE message included the identity header is routed to or received by a service provider 130 (read on “a telecommunication system”) as shown in figure 1; col.4, lines 63-65);
access the security certificate via the reference, wherein the security certificate includes a public key and a document identifier (i.e., the STI-VS 132 identifies the URI found in the identity head to retrieve or access the service provider A’s public certificate (read on “security certificate”)(col.4, line 67 through col.5, lines 4) wherein the public certificate comprises a public and private key pair which is placed or stored on the STI-CR 112; col.4, lines 16-26; further the STI-VS 132 retrieves the telephone number (TN) authorization list from the public certificate data (i.e., the public key) along with the service provider code (SPC) value (read on “document identifier”) within the list (col.5, lines 5-8));
retrieve identity information from a storage location using the document identifier (i.e., the STI-VS 132 retrieves the SPC (read on “identity information”) in a mapping table for service provider from the STI-CR 112 (read on “storage location”) using the network service provider identifier being calculated from the SPC value (as the document identifier); col.5, lines 8-17); and
in response to verifying the identity information using the public key, flag the caller as verified (i.e., if the mapping matches, TN authorization verification is successful or the caller is verified and the call is connected; col.5, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 16, Fowler further teaches a public and private key pair to be stored in the secure key store 122 and a corresponding public certificate placed in the assigned secure telephone identity certificate repository (STI-CR) 112 ‘certificate repository’ (col.4, lines 16-26). Thus, the repository (STI-CR) 112 ‘certificate repository’ is a data repository or blockchain.
Regarding claims 17-18, Fowler further teaches limitations of the claim, such as a verification process failing, not verifying or not completing (col.6, lines 61-67; col.8, lines 30-35).
Regarding claim 20, Fowler further teaches limitations of the claim, such as the secure key store stored a public and private key pair and the secure STI-CR 112 stored the corresponding public certificate of the public and private key pair (col.4, lines 16-25). Thus, the TN authorization list, retrieved by the STI-VS 132, comprises identify information, such as the public certification data along with the service provider code (SPC) value within the list stored in the secure STI-CR 112 (as a decentralized identifier document)(col.4, line 67 through col.5, line 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowler et al. (US 11,750,593) in view of Ranalli (US 2025/0392663) and Hoffner et al. (US 2017/0300402).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Fowler teaches the SIP invite comprising identifier head having a passport (Personal Assertion Token) and other information fields, such as the URI (col.4, lines 51-59 and col.5, lines 1-2). Fowler failed to teach further the JSON web code, URL and URN. However, PASSporT is an IETF standard that defined a JSON Token structure for identifying the originator (i.e., caller or calling device) of a communication (para. [0008]). Hoffner et al. (hereinafter “Hoffner”) teaches the JSON schema and a URI may be a URN, a URN and/or other format of a path, address or other network location (para. [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of JSON web code, URL and URN in the identifier header, as taught by Ranalli and Hoffner, in order to pass or convey identification information for the communication in the network.
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowler et al. (US 11,750,593) in view of Frendo et al. (US 2023/0276205).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, Fowler teaches all subject matters as claimed above, except for the features of wherein the identity information includes at least a description of the caller and a reason for calling. However, Frendo et al. (hereinafter “Frendo”) teaches a system and methods of transmitting or conveying a reason for a call from a user device (caller’s device) to a recipient’s device in paragraphs [0014]-[0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of wherein the identity information includes at least a description of the caller and a reason for calling, as taught by Frendo, into view of Fowler in order to aware of the call recipient and reason for the call prior to answer the incoming call.
Any response to this action should be mailed or handed carry deliveries to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Or faxed to: (571) 273-8300
/Binh Kien Tieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694
Date: July 2026