DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 1/9/26 is acknowledged. Claim 20 is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wave/spring washer, locking mechanism, lock nut, embossments, and multiple cavities in the body for attaching hooks, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the term “adapted.” Noting that it has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least one bearing" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is the recited “at least one bearing” the same as previously recited “a bearing” at line 6? The scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,384,735 to Clark in view of US 6,719,158 to Goldberg.
Regarding claim 1, Clark ‘735 discloses a sliding hook system for hanging objects, comprising: a body 122; at least one insert (fig. 4 – annotated below) positioned in the body 122, and a smooth surface for accommodating a bearing 124 (noting that the surface would need to be smooth to support typical bearing functioning); a hook member 130 embedded within the body 122; at least one bearing 124 positioned on the smooth surface of the insert (as annotated below).
Clark ‘735 further indicates that structural configurations, materials and design choices may vary depending on cost, structural requirements, available materials and technological advances (col. 3, lines 58-64).
Goldberg ‘158 teaches an insert 36 positioned within the body 35 for supporting a bearing 33, where the components may be formed of metal, plastic, or other durable materials (col. 3, lines 14-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body and insert taught in Clark ‘735 with the body and insert that include plastic and/or metal components, as taught in Goldberg ‘158, in order to allow for enhanced structural support, durability, and bearing performance while utilizing known material selection.
Further, the examiner submits that it is well-known to use injection molding techniques for forming plastic bodies and insert molding techniques for integrally molding metallic parts within molded plastic components. It is further well known that metallic inserts used in molded plastic components include a textured surface, such as knurling or roughening, to improve mechanical interlock with a surrounding molded plastic body.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the body of Clark ‘735, as modified by the material selections and body configurations as taught in Goldberg ‘158, using a molding process to include a metallic insert integrally molded within the body via insert molding for supporting the bearing (the hook member would likewise be embedded within the body during the molding process as part of the same molding operation), wherein the metallic insert provides a load-bearing interface between the bearing and the surrounding molded body, consistent with the insert supported bearing arrangement of Clark ‘735 as modified by Goldberg ‘158, in order to improve structural support, durability, and bearing performance while utilizing known material selection and manufacturing techniques that achieve predictable improvements in structural integrity and bearing support.
Regarding claim 2, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the body 122 is made from a polymer material (as modified by Goldberg ‘158 - col. 3, lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 3, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the body 122 is made from a polymer material (as modified by Goldberg ‘ 158 – col. 3, lines 14-18 – “… plastic, or other durable material). Noting that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was made include a polymer material that is nylon with 33% glass-filled fiber, for durability, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. wherein the
Regarding claim 4, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the textured surface of the metallic insert comprises knurling, as modified above and note the included annotated industry standard insert molding process, included for reference.
Regarding claim 5, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the hook member 130 comprises raised features 146 selected from the group consisting of threads 146 and splines to enhance its securement within the body 122.
Regarding claim 6, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, further comprising a plurality of bearings 124 positioned on the smooth surface of the metallic insert (annotated in fig. 4 above and as modified).
Regarding claim 7, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the metallic insert is made from a material selected from the group consisting of aluminum, steel, and brass (as modified by Goldberg ‘148 (col. 3, lines 14-18) as supported the annotated industry standard insert molding process shown above).
Regarding claim 8, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the body 122 includes a recess for receiving a sticker or company logo (recess annotated below, which could receive a logo due to its configuration).
Regarding claim 9, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the hook member 130 is interchangeable with various end effects, including hooks of different sizes and shapes (col. 5, lines 5-6 - “… allowing for different designed hooks to be utilized.)
Regarding claim 10, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, further comprising a locking mechanism 126 to fix the position of the hook member 130 relative to the body 122.
Regarding claim 11, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the locking mechanism comprises a threaded insert 126 embedded into the body 122 and a corresponding threaded portion 146 on the hook member 130.
Regarding claim 12, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, further comprising a lock nut 148 to secure the hook member 130 in place.
Regarding claim 13, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, further comprising a wave washer or spring washer 154 to provide controlled friction between the hook member 130 and the body 122 (noting that the washer 154 could be a wave or spring washer in that they are functional equivalents in providing controlled friction, in this instance)
Regarding claim 14, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the body 122 is adapted to include embossments or other decorative features formed during the injection molding process, as so modified. Noting it is well known to add features to a molded body during the injection molding process.
Regarding claim 15, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the body 122 is configured to mount to a rail 112 or strut channel system for adjustable positioning.
Regarding claim 16, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, wherein the body 122 could be modified to include multiple cavities to accommodate a multiplicity hook members (plurality of metallic inserts shown in fig. 4, as modified above). Noting that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was made to include multiple cavities to include multiple hooks, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 17, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, further comprising a means for ceiling or wall mounting 100, including brackets or mounting hardware 112 integrally formed with or attached to the body (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Clark ‘735, as modified, where Goldberg ‘158 discloses, wherein the metallic insert 36 includes a flange or other feature 36a to prevent axial movement within the body 35 during use.
Regarding claim 19, Clark ‘735, as modified, discloses, further comprising a protective coating on the hook member 130 to prevent damage to hanging objects (col. 4, lines 46-47 – “ … a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin coating).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and will be used in subsequent office action rejections, as applicable.
The list of support is as follows: US-12371117-B2 OR US-5802889-A OR US-5183162-A OR US-10238212-B1 OR US-12065106-B2 OR US-12030574-B2 OR US-11654989-B2 OR US-11242100-B2 OR US-10864923-B2 OR US-7604131-B1 OR US-5165647-A OR US-9988118-B1 OR US-20040226899-A1.
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632