DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 6/11/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 12, 14, 15, 18, and 20 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 6/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8, and 15under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liang et al. (US 9,552,272) in view of Redlich et al. (US 2005/0132070) in view of Miller et al. (US 2020/0153848).
Double Patenting
The rejection of claims 1-20 on the grounds of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting over claims 1, 9, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,021 is maintained. Applicant’s request to hold this rejection in abeyance is noted but does not overcome the rejection. A terminal disclaimer, or other appropriate action is still required.
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,021. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are an obvious variation of the US 12,058,021 patent’s claims. The core sanitization mechanism (multi-level pruning/redacting/encrypting based on sensitivity) is identical in substance, but the current claims omit the error monitoring, cause determination, and dynamic configuration adjustment. This makes the current claims broader, covering the basic process without the resilience enchantments. The differences are not patentably distinct; the error handling is an obvious addition to the basic sanitization to improve reliability in distributed systems (motivated by the shared specification’s discussion of dynamic adjustments for accuracy and troubleshooting). Applying § 103 principles, one skilled in the art would combine the basic tiers with error-based feedback for better system resilience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 9,552,272) in view of Redlich et al. (US 2005/0132070) in view of Miller et al. (US 2020/0153848).
Regarding claim 1, Liang discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by at least one processor, a data packet for logging (see Liang col. 4/lines 21-52; detx 16; the sensitive data protection subsystem 103 intercepts messages from an application 105 at runtime, which are intended to be logged in a log data store 150, 160. The intercepted message is received specifically for logging purposes);
determining, by the at least one processor, for each data value within the data packet, a corresponding sensitivity level being one of a plurality of different sensitivity levels according to a local classification configuration (Liang search each value in the intercepted message against stored sensitive data patterns. Different pattern types (SSN, credit card, telephone, etc.) are different sensitivity classifications. The stored configurable pattern list is the local classification configuration; col. 5/lines 16 -53; detx 20-21; “The search module 204 can search the intercepted messages 202 using sensitive data patterns that are stored in a data store that is coupled to the sensitive data protection subsystem 200. For example, the sensitive data patterns may be patterns for detecting personal identifiers, bank names, credit card institution names, account balances, etc…The sensitive data patterns used by the search module 204 are configurable by a pattern list configurator 210. There can be a pattern list configurator 210 for each type and/or sub-type of sensitive data…Alternatively, the pattern list configurator 210 may represent a configuration file (e.g., text or XML) that can be modified by the user to add new data patterns or delete or change existing data patterns”);
sanitizing, by the at least one processor, the data packet into a sanitized data packet based on the determined sensitivity levels of the data values within the data packet and the local classification configuration (see Liang col. 11/lines 1-13; detx 42; the number of iterations can be based on the number of predefined sensitive data patterns. For example, there may be three pre-defined sensitive data patterns, such as patterns for social security numbers, credit card numbers, and telephone numbers. Processing logic can search an intercepted message for pattern matches pertaining to a first sensitive data pattern (e.g., social security numbers), validate any matching candidates for the first sensitive data pattern, filter out exceptional cases pertaining to the first sensitive data pattern, and protect the sensitive data, and subsequently perform method 400 for the sensitive data patterns for credit card numbers and for telephone numbers. This discloses the sensitive data is classified by type (e.g., SSN, credit card, telephone)), the sanitizing including:
pruning each data value determined to have a first sensitivity level (see Liang col. 10/lines 4-30; detx 39; by removing, masking, and/or redacting the sensitive information),
redacting each data value determined to have a second sensitivity level (see Liang col. 10/lines 4-30; detx 39; by removing, masking, and/or redacting the sensitive information).
However, the prior art does not explicitly disclose the following:
encrypting each data value determined to have a third sensitivity level from among the plurality of different sensitivity levels; and
logging, by the at least one processor, the sanitized data packet into a data repository.
Redlich discloses a process, program and system which operates to secure files and data objects in a computer system and network with an editor. The editor assists in the extraction of security sensitive data and data objects on a granular basis, and the balance of the system disperses data, via a controlled release, to storage locations, and permits reconstruction utilizing security protocols to provide a security system for data. In particular, Redlich teaches the following:
encrypting each data value determined to have a third sensitivity level from among the plurality of different sensitivity levels (see Redlich [0046]; the cryptographically separated, need to know, security levels correspond to respective ones of the plurality of security levels and the method includes, in one embodiment, encrypting subsets of extracted data with corresponding degrees of encryption associated with the plurality of security levels. This discloses “encrypting each data value” as encrypting extracted “subsets of extracted data” (sensitive data values like words/objects) that are “determined to have” a specific sensitivity via automatic selection “third sensitivity level from among the plurality of different sensitivity levels” maps to one of the “plurality of security level” with “corresponding degrees of encryption,” where encryption is applied per level (e.g., “third” level is inherently one among multiple, as Redlich describes variable degrees/types for different sensitivities). This discloses the element because sensitive data values are encrypted based on their assigned level among multiple levels); and
logging, by the at least one processor, the sanitized data packet into a data repository (see Redlich [0046]; the subsets of extracted data are stored in one or more computer memories in the network identified as extracted stores. The remainder data is also stored in the network if necessary).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the prior art with the teaching of Redlich to incorporate techniques for securing sensitive data/objects found in a data source document. One would have been motivated because it would enhance privacy protection in distrusted security system by removing or securing sensitive information from monitored data packets.
However the prior art does not explicitly disclose the following:
receiving from a backend server an updated classification configuration in response to a detected error at the backend server; and
resensitize the data packet according to the updated classification configuration.
Miller in the field of the same endeavor discloses techniques for detection of malicious content. Miller teaches the following:
receiving from a backend server an updated classification configuration in response to a detected error at the backend server (Miller’s security server, after detecting that is is overloaded and cannot complete classification (an error at the backend), later obtains updated security intelligence data, (the classification configuration) from its intelligence resource which may push the new rules and overwrite the stored set; [0023-0024] “when the security server 102 is no longer overloaded, the security server 102 classifies whether the second data is undesirable to produce a second classifying result and also re-classifies whether any previously-classified data is undesirable based on updated security intelligence data obtained by the security server 102 at a later time”); and
resensitize the data packet according to the updated classification configuration (Miller reprocesses the same previously classified data against the new security intelligence so a result produced under the old rules is corrected (equivalent of resensitizing that data packet under the updated classification configuration); [0025] “it can also re-classify previously-classified data in the same lookup process based on updated security intelligence data such that data can be checked against the latest security intelligence data and any mis-classification based on the old security intelligence data can be corrected”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the prior art with the teaching of Miller. One would have been motivated because when the backend that supplies the classification rules faults or is overloaded, log packets already sanitized under a stale pattern set are reprocessed with the updated configuration which is Miller’s known fix for misclassification after a server-side error.
Regarding claim 2, Liang-Redlich-Miller discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data packet includes, for each data value, a respective label (see Redlich [0046]; filtering data from the data input computer, extracting security sensitive words, phrases, characters, icons, or data objects and forming subsets of extracted data and remainder data).
Regarding claim 3, Liang-Redlich-Miller discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising classifying each data value into a respective one of the first sensitivity level, the second sensitivity level, or the third sensitivity level based on the respective label (see Redlich [0055]; the innovation enables automatic response to security challenges and threats. The innovation can maintain, upgrade and downgrade the levels of security through implementation of a leveled granular extraction process and a controlled-release mechanism).
Regarding claim 4, Liang-Redlich-Miller discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the classifying is further based on a classification configuration (see Redlich [0055]; the innovation enables automatic response to security challenges and threats. The innovation can maintain, upgrade and downgrade the levels of security through implementation of a leveled granular extraction process and a controlled-release mechanism).
Regarding claim(s) 8-11 and 15-17, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 1-4 and 1-3 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 8-11 and 15-17, is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 1-4 and 1-3 respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 12-14 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
For the reasons above, claims 1-20 have been rejected and remain pending.
JIMMY H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/JIMMY H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451