DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
reference numeral 1 in Figure 10.
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Figure 1, it appears that reference numeral 136 is pointing to the incorrect structure in the drawing. In particular, reference numeral 136 has been defined in the specification as the “partitions” (see, for example, paragraph [0023]) and it is designating a different structure in Figure 2 that it designates in Figure 1. The structure in Figure 2 appears to be appropriately labeled as the partitions 136. The element that reference numeral 136 is pointing to in Figure 1 appears to be the pressure chamber 118 as described in paragraph [0023] and shown in Figure 2. To correct this problem in Figure 1, it is suggested that either the lead line for reference numeral 136 be adjusted to designate the correct structure or the reference numeral 136 be amended to 118 since the lead line appears to be pointing to the pressure chamber in Figure 1.
Additionally, the drawing Figures contain reference numerals that are underlined and lack any associated lead line. 37 CFR 1.84(q) states that “Lead lines are required for each reference character except for those which indicate the surface or cross section on which they are placed. Such a reference character must be underlined to make it clear that a lead line has not been left out by mistake.” Since the underlined reference numerals in the Figures do not appear to be indicating a surface or cross-section, it is suggested that lead lines be added to each of these reference numerals. Please note that 37 CFR 1.84(r) states that lead lines with arrows can be used to designate the entire section towards which it points. Particular attention is invited to the following reference numerals:
reference numeral 10 in Figures 4A-4B
Additionally, in Figure 7, it is suggested that reference numeral “142C” (uppercase) be deleted and replaced with --142c-- (lowercase) to be consistent with the reference numerals described in the specification as set forth in paragraph [0035].
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0031] it is noted that the distance L1 is defined as the distance between recess portion 142 and the partition 136. However that does not appear to accurately define how the distance L1 has been illustrated in Figure 6. In particular, it appears that the distance L1 is the distance between an edge of the recess portion 142 and the edge of the common channel 132. Therefore, it appears that the language in the specification should be amended to more accurately describe what has been illustrated in the drawing Figures.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, it is noted that the claim recites “a channel” in lines 3-4, then recites “a plurality of channels” in line 7 and references “the adjacent channels” in line 8. It is unclear how all these various structures are related to one another. Furthermore, there is no proper antecedent basis for the term “the adjacent channels” since the plurality of channels were never recited as being adjacent one another.
With respect to claim 4, this language appears to be inconsistent and somewhat different from the language in the specification and this distance as recited does not appear to be illustrated in the drawings and therefore this claim language is unclear in meaning and scope. In particular, note that the language used in the specification to describe the distance is set forth in paragraph [0031] in the sentence bridging pages 8 and 9. Specifically, it states “In this case, a distance L1 between an end of each recess portion 142 closest to the common channel in the array of the recess portions 142 and an end of the common channel 132 adjacent to this recess portion 142 is set to be longer than the width 136e of the partition 136.” To correct this issue, it is suggested that the claim language be amended to use the language as recited in the specification, since the language in the specification appears to properly define the distance L1 as shown in Figure 6.
With respect to claim 12, the term “the second surface” in line 3 has no proper antecedent basis because only “a second surface side” was previously recited. Note that consistent terminology should be used throughout the claims.
With respect to claim 14, it is noted that the claim recites “a channel” in lines 3-4, then recites “a plurality of channels” in line 8 and references “the adjacent channels” in line 9. It is unclear how all these various structures are related to one another. Furthermore, there is no proper antecedent basis for the term “the adjacent channels” since the plurality of channels were never recited as being adjacent one another.
With respect to claim 15, it is noted that the claim recites “a channel” in lines 3-4, then recites “a plurality of channels” in line 6 and references “the adjacent channels” in line 7. It is unclear how all these various structures are related to one another. Furthermore, there is no proper antecedent basis for the term “the adjacent channels” since the plurality of channels were never recited as being adjacent one another. Additionally, the term “the first surface” in line 5 has no proper antecedent basis. Additionally, the term “a first surface” in line 10 is unclear in meaning as to whether this is the same first surface as recited in line 5 or a different first surface. Also, the last two sentences of claim 15 are unclear as to what structure is joining to the first surface of the first substrate.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 11-15 are rejected under each of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murakami et al. (US 2023/0055886 A1).
The applied reference has a common inventor/assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under both 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to claim 1, Murakami et al. teaches a liquid ejection head 101 comprising a liquid ejection substrate 102, 104, 108, 109 configured to eject liquid, wherein
the liquid ejection substrate 102, 104, 108, 109 is configured to include a first substrate 102 in which a channel 110 for the liquid is formed and a second substrate 104 joined to a first surface 118 of the first substrate 102 via an adhesive agent 105,
the first substrate 102 has, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface 118,
a channel region (i.e., the area in the center as shown in Figures 1A-1B) including a plurality of the channels 110 for the liquid and a partition (i.e., the solid areas between channels) sectioning the adjacent channels 110 for the liquid from each other, and
a joining region (i.e., the area surrounding the center area as shown in Figures 1A-1B) adjacent to the channel region and including a recess portion 103A, 103B open on the first surface 118, and
the adhesive agent 105 is accommodated in the recess portion 103A, 103B. See, for example, Figures 1-2, 10-13 and 17 and paragraphs [0027]-[0033], [0040]-[0054].
With respect to claim 2, Murakami et al. teaches a liquid ejection head 101 comprising a liquid ejection substrate configured to eject liquid, wherein
the liquid ejection substrate 102, 104, 108, 109 is configured to include a first substrate 102 in which a channel 110 for the liquid is formed and a second substrate 104 joined to the first substrate 102 via an adhesive agent 105,
the first substrate 102 includes a joining region (i.e., the area surrounding the center region as shown in Figures 1A-1B) that is a region joined to the second substrate 104 and that is adjacent to the channel 110 only on one side in the first substrate 102, and a recess portion 103A, 103B is formed in the joining region, and
the adhesive agent 105 is accommodated in the recess portion 103A, 103B. See, for example, Figures 1-2, 10-13 and 17 and paragraphs [0027]-[0033], [0040]-[0054].
With respect to claim 3, Murakami et al. teaches wherein the first substrate 102 includes a partition (i.e., the solid areas between the channels 110) configured to form the channel 110 for the liquid.
With respect to claim 4, Murakami et al. teaches wherein a distance between the recess portion 103A, 103B and the partition adjacent to the recess portion is larger than a width of the partition, as shown, for example, in Figures 1A-2.
With respect to claim 5, Murakami et al. teaches wherein an opening of the recess portion 103A, 103B has a quadrangle shape, as shown, for example, in Figures 1A-2 and 10-11.
With respect to claim 7, Murakami et al. teaches wherein the recess portion 103A, 103B is provided along a longitudinal direction end portion of the first substrate 102, as shown in Figures 1B-2 and 10-11.
With respect to claim 8, Murakami et al. teaches wherein the recess portion is provided along a transverse direction end portion of the first substrate 102, as shown in Figures 1B-2 and 10-11.
With respect to claim 11, Murakami et al. teaches wherein, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface, the plurality of channels 110 and the partition extend in a first direction, and the joining region is adjacent to the channel region in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, as shown in Figures 1A-2 and 10-11.
With respect to claim 12, Murakami et al. teaches a nozzle layer 108, 109 that is joined to a second surface side of the first substrate 102 and that includes a nozzle 107 for ejecting the liquid, the second surface being an opposite surface to the first surface 118 of the first substrate 102, as shown in Figure 1A.
With respect to claim 13, Murakami et al. teaches wherein the channels 110 are common channels that supply the liquid to a plurality of the nozzles 107, as shown in Figure 1A.
With respect to claim 14, Murakami et al. teaches a liquid ejection apparatus comprising a liquid ejection head 101 including a liquid ejection substrate 102, 104, 108, 109 configured to eject liquid, wherein
the liquid ejection substrate 102, 104, 108, 109 is configured to include a first substrate 102 in which a channel 110 for the liquid is formed and a second substrate 104 joined to a first surface 118 of the first substrate 102 via an adhesive agent 105,
the first substrate 102 includes, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface,
a channel region (i.e., the area in the center as shown in Figures 1A-1B) including a plurality of the channels 110 for the liquid and a partition (i.e., the solid areas between channels) sectioning the adjacent channels 110 for the liquid from each other, and
a joining region (i.e., the area surrounding the center area as shown in Figures 1A-1B) adjacent to the channel region and including a recess portion 103A, 103B open on the first surface 118,
the adhesive agent 105 is accommodated in the recess portion 103A, 103B, and
the liquid ejection apparatus performs printing by ejecting ink from the liquid ejection head to a print medium (see paragraph [0002]). See, for example, Figures 1-2, 10-13 and 17 and paragraphs [0027]-[0033], [0040]-[0054].
With respect to claim 15, Murakami et al. teaches a manufacturing method of a liquid ejection head 101 comprising a liquid ejection substrate 102, 104, 108, 109 configured to eject liquid, wherein
the liquid ejection substrate 102, 104, 108, 109 is configured to include a first substrate 102 in which a channel 110 for the liquid is formed and a second substrate 104,
the first substrate 102 has, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface,
a channel region (i.e., the area in the center as shown in Figures 1A-1B) including a plurality of the channels 110 for the liquid and a partition (i.e., the solid areas between channels) sectioning the adjacent channels 110 for the liquid from each other, and
a joining region (i.e., the area surrounding the center area as shown in Figures 1A-1B) adjacent to the channel region and including a recess portion 103A, 103B open on the first surface 118,
the method including joining to a first surface 118 of the first substrate 102 via an adhesive agent 105, wherein the adhesive agent is accommodated in the recess portion 103A, 103B.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsui (JP 2011-207072 A).
With respect to claim 1, Mitsui teaches a liquid ejection head (Fig. 1) comprising a liquid ejection substrate 10, 20, 30, 40, 50 configured to eject liquid, wherein
the liquid ejection substrate 10, 20, 30, 40, 50 is configured to include a first substrate 10, 50 in which a channel 12 for the liquid is formed and a second substrate 30 joined to a first surface (i.e., the lower surface of 10 as shown in Figure 3(c)) of the first substrate 10 via an adhesive agent 35,
the first substrate 10, 50 has, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface,
a channel region (i.e., the center region as shown in Figures 1, 5 and 7) including a plurality of the channels 12 for the liquid and a partition 11 sectioning the adjacent channels 12 for the liquid from each other, and
a joining region (i.e., the region surrounding the center region as shown in Figures 1, 5, and 7) adjacent to the channel region and including a recess portion 112 open on the first surface (as shown in Figures 6 and 8), and
the adhesive agent 35 is accommodated in the recess portion 112. See, in particular, Figures 1-8 and the attached English language translation.
With respect to claim 2, Mitsui teaches a liquid ejection head (Fig. 1) comprising a liquid ejection substrate 10, 20, 30, 40, 50 configured to eject liquid, wherein
the liquid ejection substrate is configured to include a first substrate 10, 50 in which a channel 12 for the liquid is formed and a second substrate 30 joined to the first substrate 10, 50 via an adhesive agent 35,
the first substrate 10, 50 includes a joining region (i.e., region surrounding the center region as shown in Figures 1, 5 and 7) that is a region joined to the second substrate 30 and that is adjacent to the channel 12 only on one side in the first substrate 10, 50, and a recess portion 112 is formed in the joining region (see Figures 5-8), and
the adhesive agent 35 is accommodated in the recess portion 112.
With respect to claim 3, Mitsui teaches wherein the first substrate 10, 50 includes a partition 11 configured to form the channel 12 for the liquid, as shown in Figure 1.
With respect to claim 4, Mitsui teaches wherein a distance between the recess portion 112 and the partition adjacent to the recess portion is larger than a width of the partition as shown by Figures 1, 4(c)-4(d), 6, and 8.
With respect to claim 5, Mitsui teaches wherein an opening of the recess portion 112 has a quadrangle shape, as shown in Figures 6-8.
With respect to claim 7, Mitsui teaches wherein the recess portion 112 is provided along a longitudinal direction end portion of the first substrate 10, 50, as shown in Figures 1, 6 and 8.
With respect to claim 8, Mitsui teaches wherein the recess portion is provided along a transverse direction end portion of the first substrate 10, 50, as shown in Figures 1, 6, and 8.
With respect to claim 11, Mitsui teaches wherein, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface, the plurality of channels 12 and the partition 11 extend in a first direction, and the joining region is adjacent to the channel region in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, as shown in by Figure 1.
With respect to claim 12, Mitsui teaches a nozzle layer 20 that is joined to a second surface side of the first substrate 10, 50 and that includes a nozzle 21 for ejecting the liquid, the second surface being an opposite surface to the first surface of the first substrate, as shown in Figures 1-2.
With respect to claim 13, Mitsui teaches wherein the channels 12 are common channels that supply the liquid to a plurality of the nozzles 21.
With respect to claim 14, Mitsui teaches a liquid ejection apparatus comprising a liquid ejection head (Fig. 1) including a liquid ejection substrate 10, 20, 30, 40, 50 configured to eject liquid, wherein
the liquid ejection substrate 10, 20, 30, 40, 50 is configured to include a first substrate 10, 50 in which a channel 12 for the liquid is formed and a second substrate 30 joined to a first surface (i.e., the lower surface of 10 as shown in Figure 3(c)) of the first substrate 10 via an adhesive agent 35,
the first substrate 10, 50 has, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface,
a channel region (i.e., the center region as shown in Figures 1, 5 and 7) including a plurality of the channels 12 for the liquid and a partition 11 sectioning the adjacent channels 12 for the liquid from each other, and
a joining region (i.e., the region surrounding the center region as shown in Figures 1, 5, and 7) adjacent to the channel region and including a recess portion 112 open on the first surface (as shown in Figures 6 and 8), and
the adhesive agent 35 is accommodated in the recess portion 112; and
the liquid ejection apparatus performs printing by ejecting ink from the liquid ejection head to a print medium. See, in particular, Figures 1-8 and the attached English language translation.
With respect to claim 15, MItsui teaches a manufacturing method of a liquid ejection head (Fig. 1) comprising a liquid ejection substrate 10, 20, 30, 40, 50 configured to eject liquid, wherein
the liquid ejection substrate 10, 20, 30, 40, 50 is configured to include a first substrate 10, 50 in which a channel 12 for the liquid is formed and a second substrate 30,
the first substrate 10, 50 has, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (i.e., the lower surface of 10 as shown in Figure 3(c)),
a channel region (i.e., the center region as shown in Figures 1, 5 and 7) including a plurality of the channels 12 for the liquid and a partition 11 sectioning the adjacent channels for the liquid from each other, and
a joining region (i.e., the region surrounding the center region as shown in Figures 1, 5, and 7) adjacent to the channel region and including a recess portion 112 open on the first surface (i.e., the lower surface of 10 as shown in Figure 3(c)),
the method including joining to a first surface of the first substrate via an adhesive agent 35, wherein the adhesive agent is accommodated in the recess portion 112. See, in particular, Figures 1-8 and the attached English language translation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsui (JP 2011-207072 A).
With respect to claim 6, Mitsui teaches a liquid ejection head as recited with exception of the details of the size of the opening ratio of the recess, specifically whether in the joining region, an opening ratio of the recess portion per unit area is 5% to 30%. Note that the particular optimum size of the opening ratio of the recess could easily be determined through obvious routine experimentation. In view of this, there is no unobviousness in the selection of the opening ratio of the recess portion per unit area to be any desired value such as 5% to 30% to allow for the recess portion to be appropriately sized to store the surplus adhesive effectively.
With respect to claim 10, Mitsui teaches a liquid ejection head as recited but is silent with respect to the particular dimensions of the head and whether a distance between an end of the recess portion in the joining region and an end of the channel region adjacent to the joining region is 150 μm or more. Note that the particular optimum size of distance between an end of the recess portion in the joining region and an end of the channel region adjacent to the joining region could easily be determined through obvious routine experimentation. In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the substrate to have the recess portion and the channel region spaced apart as desired to allow for sufficient spacing for the recess portion from the channel portion.
With respect to claim 16, Mitsui teaches a liquid ejection head as recited but is silent with respect to the particular thickness of the adhesive agent and whether the thickness of the adhesive agent is 0.5 to 4.0 μm in a case where the second substrate is joined to the joining region of the first substrate. Note that the particular optimum thickness of the adhesive agent could easily be determined through obvious routine experimentation. In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the optimum thickness of adhesive agent for joining the second substrate to the first substrate so as to insure the two substrates are firmly joined together.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsui (JP 2010-207072 A) in view of Otsuka et al. (US 2023/0088231 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Mitsui teaches a liquid ejection head having all of the structure as recited including a plurality of recess portions such as shown in the embodiment shown in Figure 7(b), but fails to specifically teach wherein the plurality of the recess portions are aligned in a longitudinal direction of the channel, and are aligned with the recess portions in every other row, in a direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the channel. However, Otsuka et al. teaches a liquid ejection head having a plurality of recess portions 5 around a channel 3, the plurality of recesses 5 are aligned in a longitudinal direction of the channel and are aligned with the recess portions in every other row, in a direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the channel, as shown in Figures 6 and 8. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the recess portions to be arranged as recited as it would simply require the obvious substitution of one known recess configuration for another to allow for secure attachment of the substrates while allowing for the surplus adhesive to be appropriately stored.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tanaka (JP 2001-047620 A) teaches a liquid ejection head having similarities to the claimed subject matter that are readily apparent.
/Leslie J Thompson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853