Independent claims-thDETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steingart et al. (US20160223498), hereinafter referred to as ‘Kim’ and in further view of Chen et al. (CN109507601), hereinafter referred to as ‘Chen’.
Regarding Claim 1, Steingart discloses a battery management system for managing an energy storage device comprising: an ultrasound emitter configured to direct ultrasound energy into the energy storage device (The method utilizes at least one sound source means for transmitting a signal (e.g., a sound wave or sound pulse) through a part of or across the battery, and at least one sound receiver means for receiving a signal from the battery; the received signal includes information representative of the physical state of the battery being interrogated [0007]; The apparatus further includes at least one controller means operatively coupled to the sound source means, whereby the controller means can be used to control the frequency and amplitude of the sound source such that a controlled signal, such as one or more sound waves, but preferably one or more ultrasonic pulses having a specific amplitude (alternately a specific driving force) and frequency, is transmitted from the sound source and into the battery under interrogation such that the controlled signal is transmitted through one or more of the internal components or parts of a battery [0009]); an ultrasound receiver configured to detect ultrasound energy exiting from the energy storage device (The method utilizes at least one sound source means for transmitting a signal (e.g., a sound wave or sound pulse) through a part of or across the battery, and at least one sound receiver means for receiving a signal from the battery; the received signal includes information representative of the physical state of the battery being interrogated [0007]); a data memory configured to store (i) a capture data instance derived from the detected ultrasound energy exiting the energy storage device and (ii) baseline ultrasound data captured during a plurality of normal charging/discharging cycles of the energy storage device (The processor means may also process data and information received by the sound receiver means and store the processed data and information as a data set or a reference data, i.e. baseline ultrasound data, set in the data storage means, which may be used in a subsequent noninvasive interrogation of a battery [0008]; Noninvasive interrogation of a battery at different charge levels using sound waves, preferably ultrasonic sound waves or pulses, preferably over one or more, especially preferably over a large plurality (preferably 10, more preferably 100 or more) charge and discharge cycles of a battery being interrogated permits the collection of one or more responsive sound signal(s) transmitted into the battery from the one or more one sound source means, preferably across the battery and through the internal components or parts thereof [0031]); and a data processor configured to: compare the capture data instance with the baseline ultrasound data (Such a determination may be by the processor means comparing data and information derived from the received signals with a data set present in a data storage means operatively coupled to the processor means [0008]); and determine an abnormal operating state (The information relevant to one or more of (i), (ii), and (iii) may be optionally used to set an alarm condition concerning one or more of the (i), (ii) and/or (iii) wherein a fault or failure condition of a test battery has occurred, or is expected to occur. Such a fault condition may be, for example, wherein the interrogated battery fails to meet present or expected future performance characteristics [0009]).
However, Steingart does not explicitly disclose determine an abnormal operating state of the capture data instance as compared with the baseline ultrasound data.
Nevertheless, Chen discloses determine an abnormal operating state of the capture data instance as compared with the baseline sound data (When the controller is located on a remote server, the comparison operation between the sound signal and the reference sound signal is performed on the remote server. Specifically, the controller sends the received sound signal to the remote server, which then compares the received sound signal with the reference sound signal and determines whether the battery pack is faulty based on the comparison result [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Steingart with the teachings of Chen to obtain the sound signal change curve and determine whether the battery pack is faulty based on the change curve.
Regarding Claim 2, Steingart and Chen disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Steingart discloses the battery management system is configured to manage charging or discharging of the energy storage device (The apparatus further includes at least one controller means operatively coupled to the sound source means, whereby the controller means, i.e. battery management system, can be used to control the frequency and amplitude of the sound source such that a controlled signal…The sound receiver means which collects a signal received from the battery in response to the transmitted control signal may be operatively coupled to either a signal receiver means or the controller means, each of which is in turn operatively coupled to the processor means [0009];Noninvasive interrogation of a battery at different charge levels using sound waves, preferably ultrasonic sound waves or pulses, preferably over one or more, especially preferably over a large plurality (preferably 10, more preferably 100 or more) charge and discharge cycles of a battery being interrogated permits the collection of one or more responsive sound signal(s) transmitted into the battery from the one or more one sound source means, preferably across the battery and through the internal components or parts thereof [0031]); the ultrasound emitter is configured to transmit ultrasound energy into the energy storage device during charging or discharging of the energy storage device (The method utilizes at least one sound source means for transmitting a signal (e.g., a sound wave or sound pulse) through a part of or across the battery, and at least one sound receiver means for receiving a signal from the battery; the received signal includes information representative of the physical state of the battery being interrogated [0007]); and the ultrasound receiver is configured to detect ultrasound energy exiting the energy storage device during charging or discharging of the energy storage device (The method utilizes at least one sound source means for transmitting a signal (e.g., a sound wave or sound pulse) through a part of or across the battery, and at least one sound receiver means for receiving a signal from the battery; the received signal includes information representative of the physical state of the battery being interrogated [0007]).
Regarding Claim 3, Steingart and Chen disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Steingart discloses the ultrasound emitter and the ultrasound receiver are placed in contact with opposite surfaces of a housing of the energy storage device (Fig. 2); the ultrasound emitter transmits the ultrasound energy through the energy storage device (as discussed above); and the ultrasound receiver detects the through-transmitted ultrasound from the energy storage device (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 4, Steingart and Chen disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 3.
Steingart discloses the energy storage device includes one or more battery cells (As used herein, the term “battery” or “batteries” include a single electrical cell as well as a device which includes one or more electrical cells either connected in series or in parallel which are provided in a device or package [0030]); and the ultrasound energy directed into the energy storage device is directed along an ultrasound energy axis that is at least substantially orthogonal to opposite surfaces of each battery cell, such that the ultrasound energy passes through an anode, a separator, and a cathode of each battery cell before exiting from the energy storage device to the ultrasound receiver (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Steingart and Chen disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Steingart discloses the ultrasound emitter and the ultrasound receiver are each held against opposite surfaces of a housing of the energy storage device by a respective biasing member (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Steingart and Chen disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Steingart discloses the ultrasound emitter and the ultrasound receiver are included in a same ultrasound transducer that is coupled with a same surface of the energy storage device (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4); and the ultrasound receiver detects ultrasound reflected from an interior of the energy storage device (In the near proximity of, or attached to the terminals 102 are respectively a transducer 112 which functions as the sound source means, and as the sound signal receiver means a further transducer 114. In FIG. 2 transducer 112 is operatively connected, (e.g, via wires, or other signal transmission means) to a controller means 120 which is used to operate the transducer 112 to operate and transmit one or more sound waves, preferably one or more sound pulses having a specific amplitude and frequency, is transmitted from the sound source and into the battery 101, here from the first terminal 102 towards the second terminal 104 [0039]).
Regarding Claim 8, Steingart discloses a battery system failure detection method comprising: detecting an abnormal operating state of a battery based on ultrasound energy signal changes associated with the battery, (The method utilizes at least one sound source means for transmitting a signal (e.g., a sound wave or sound pulse) through a part of or across the battery, and at least one sound receiver means for receiving a signal from the battery; the received signal includes information representative of the physical state of the battery being interrogated [0007]; The apparatus further includes at least one controller means operatively coupled to the sound source means, whereby the controller means can be used to control the frequency and amplitude of the sound source such that a controlled signal, such as one or more sound waves, but preferably one or more ultrasonic pulses having a specific amplitude (alternately a specific driving force) and frequency, is transmitted from the sound source and into the battery under interrogation such that the controlled signal is transmitted through one or more of the internal components or parts of a battery [0009]); the abnormal operating state indicating one of a plurality of different battery failure modes (The information relevant to one or more of (i), (ii), and (iii) may be optionally used to set an alarm condition concerning one or more of the (i), (ii) and/or (iii) wherein a fault or failure condition of a test battery has occurred, i.e. plurality of different battery failure modes, or is expected to occur. Such a fault condition may be, for example, wherein the interrogated battery fails to meet present or expected future performance characteristics [0009]).
However, Steingart does not explicitly disclose terminating operation of the battery in response to detecting the abnormal operating state.
Nevertheless, Chen discloses terminating operation of the battery (Similarly, the power management system immediately stops injecting current into the battery pack when it receives a charging stop signal from the controller. Therefore, the moment when the power management system stops injecting charging current can be regarded as the moment when the controller sends the charging stop signal [0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Steingart with the teachings of Chen to obtain the sound signal change curve and determine whether the battery pack is faulty based on the change curve.
Regarding Claim 15, Steingart and Chen discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 14.
Steingart discloses the data processor generates a potential failure notification (as discussed above); and … a first deviation of one or more of the extracted features and/or a value for a rate of change of the one or more extracted features that differs from a corresponding baseline extracted feature value obtained during normal operation of the energy storage device (as discussed above).
However, Steingart does not explicitly disclose the data processor generates a potential failure notification based at least in part upon determining that the one or more of the extracted features satisfy a first threshold; and the first threshold is a first deviation of one or more of the extracted features and/or a value for a rate of change of the one or more extracted features that differs from a corresponding baseline extracted feature value obtained during normal operation of the energy storage device.
Nevertheless, Chen discloses the one or more of the extracted features satisfy a first threshold (Determining that the sound segment signal is greater than a preset threshold specifically involves determining that the final sound segment signal is greater than the first preset threshold [0034]); and the first threshold that differs from a corresponding baseline extracted feature value (Specifically, determining that the sound signal is greater than a preset threshold involves determining that the sound segment signal is greater than a first preset threshold [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Steingart with the teachings of Chen to obtain the sound signal change curve and determine whether the battery pack is faulty based on the change curve.
Regarding Claim 16, Steingart and Chen discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Steingart discloses the data processor generates the potential failure notification when the data processor additionally determines that the first deviation of the one or more of the extracted features differs from the corresponding baseline extracted feature value by less than or equal to ten standard deviations from a mean of the corresponding baseline extracted feature value (In the nonlimiting embodiment discussed with reference to FIG. 6A, the predesignated performance characteristics are disclosed as deviations from the integrated resultant transmitted and/or reflected signal amplitudes at a particular time interval, e.g. t1, t2, . . . tn, as compared to the values derived from the reference data set at a corresponding time interval…As part of the comparison, a degree of deviation of the performance characteristics of the test battery may be made with data from a reference data set, and if the deviation is considered to be excessive such provide a present indication, as well as a future prediction that the test battery has unacceptable current technical performance in some respect and/or may expected to exhibit unacceptable technical performance at some time in the future [0058]; As is visible therefrom, a degradation in the SOC is correlated to the change in the waveform within band F…Such may then cause the processor means 200 to respond in a suitable manner, e.g. by setting an alarm condition wherein a fault or failure condition of a the interrogated battery has occurred, or is expected to occur [0061]).
Regarding Claim 18, Steingart and Chen discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 14.
Steingart discloses the data processor generates the imminent failure notification (as discussed above); and … a second deviation of the one or more of the extracted features that differs from a corresponding baseline extracted feature value obtained during normal operation of the energy storage device (as discussed above).
However, Steingart does not explicitly disclose the data processor generates the imminent failure notification based at least in part upon determining that the one or more of the extracted features satisfy a second threshold; and the second threshold is a second deviation of the one or more of the extracted features that differs from a corresponding baseline extracted feature value obtained during normal operation of the energy storage device.
Nevertheless, Chen discloses …determining that the one or more of the extracted features satisfy a second threshold (Determining that the sound segment signal is greater than a preset threshold specifically involves determining that the final sound segment signal is greater than the second preset threshold [0039]); and the second threshold … of the one or more of the extracted features that differs from a corresponding baseline extracted feature value (Determining that the sound segment signal is greater than a preset threshold specifically involves determining that the final sound segment signal is greater than the second preset threshold [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Steingart with the teachings of Chen to obtain the sound signal change curve and determine whether the battery pack is faulty based on the change curve.
Regarding Claim 19, Steingart and Chen discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 18.
Steingart discloses the data processor generates the imminent failure notification when the data processor additionally determines that the second deviation of the one or more of the extracted features differs from the corresponding baseline extracted feature value by more than ten standard deviations from a mean of the corresponding baseline extracted feature value (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 20, Steingart and Chen discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 14.
Steingart discloses the BMS is electrically interfaced with the ultrasound interrogation system and is configured to control charging and discharging of the energy storage device, and the ultrasound interrogation system is configured to (as discussed above): transmit the ultrasound energy into the energy storage device during charging or discharging of the energy storage device; and detect the ultrasound either reflected from or transmitted through the energy storage device during charging or discharging of the energy storage device (as discussed above).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steingart and Chen, and further in view of Zink et al. (US20140087217) hereinafter referred to as ‘Zink’.
Regarding Claim 7, Steingart and Chen disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Steingart discloses the battery management system is further configured to issue an E-Stop command to the energy storage device when the capture data instance is determined, by the data processor, to exhibit a precursor to thermal runaway (as discussed above).
However, Steingart does not explicitly disclose the battery management system is further configured to issue an E-Stop command to the energy storage device when the capture data instance is determined, by the data processor, to exhibit a precursor to thermal runaway; and the E-stop command causes autonomous isolation of the energy storage device from any current sources.
Nevertheless, Zink discloses issuing an E-Stop command to the energy storage device by the data processor, to exhibit a precursor to thermal runaway (Due to, for example, a strong temperature rise ("thermal runaway") in the battery cell, which may occur, for example, during a very large power withdrawal or with very high charging currents, a pressure rise may result within the housing of the battery cell. To avoid a hazardous overpressure in the battery cell which could endanger the integrity of the battery cell as well as its surroundings, a safeguard may be provided on the housing which may act as a type of emergency stop switch, and which deactivates the battery cell by producing a short circuit when there is an excess internal pressure in the housing [0012]); and the E-stop command (Due to, for example, a strong temperature rise ("thermal runaway") in the battery cell, which may occur, for example, during a very large power withdrawal or with very high charging currents, a pressure rise may result within the housing of the battery cell. To avoid a hazardous overpressure in the battery cell which could endanger the integrity of the battery cell as well as its surroundings, a safeguard may be provided on the housing which may act as a type of emergency stop switch, and which deactivates the battery cell by producing a short circuit when there is an excess internal pressure in the housing [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Steingart with the teachings of Zink to avoid a hazardous overpressure in the battery cell which could endanger the integrity of the battery cell as well as its surroundings.
Regarding Claim 17, Steingart discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 14.
Steingart discloses the BMS … failure of the energy storage device (as discussed above).
However, Steingart does not explicitly disclose the BMS terminates the energy storage device prior to catastrophic failure of the energy storage device.
Nevertheless, Zink discloses the BMS terminates the energy storage device prior to catastrophic failure of the energy storage device (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Steingart with the teachings of Zink to avoid a hazardous overpressure in the battery cell which could endanger the integrity of the battery cell as well as its surroundings.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steingart and Chen, and further in view of Nakashima et al. (US20090220825) hereinafter referred to as ‘Nakashima’.
Regarding Claim 10, Steingart discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Steingart discloses wherein the abnormal operating state indicates an imminent battery failure mode (as discussed above), and the abnormal operating state indicating an imminent battery failure mode (as discussed above).
However, Steingart and Chen does not explicitly disclose performing the method during an overcharge condition created by an energy source and an energy load attached to the battery at room ambient temperature, the overcharge condition starting at an overcharge start time, wherein the abnormal operating state indicates an imminent battery failure mode, and the abnormal operating state indicating an imminent battery failure mode is detected at least 30 minutes before a time of an actual failure of the battery.
Nevertheless, Nakashima discloses performing the method during an overcharge condition created by an energy source and an energy load attached to the battery at room ambient temperature, the overcharge condition starting at an overcharge start time, wherein the abnormal operating state indicates an imminent battery failure mode, and the abnormal operating state indicating an imminent battery failure mode (For example, in the abnormal state concerning charging, only the overcharge state based on the detected value of charge voltage was determined in the related arts, however, in the embodiment, it is also possible to determine overcurrent charge state based on the detected value of charge current in addition to the overcharge state. The return from the overcurrent charge state should be performed by the detection of discharge based on charge current, which is different from the overcharge state, however, the appropriate return operation can be executed only by updating the abnormality determination flag, applying such right return condition. In addition, not only abnormal states based on detected values of voltage and current but also abnormal states based on the detected value of temperature can be determined [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Steingart and Chen with the teachings of Nakashima to detect values of voltage and current but also abnormal states based on the detected value of temperature can be determined.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steingart and Chen, and further in view of Zink.
Regarding Claim 14, Steingart discloses a system for managing an energy storage device, the system comprising: an ultrasound interrogation system configured to transmit ultrasound energy into the energy storage device and to detect ultrasound either reflected from or transmitted through the energy storage device (The method utilizes at least one sound source means for transmitting a signal (e.g., a sound wave or sound pulse) through a part of or across the battery, and at least one sound receiver means for receiving a signal from the battery; the received signal includes information representative of the physical state of the battery being interrogated [0007]; The apparatus further includes at least one controller means operatively coupled to the sound source means, whereby the controller means can be used to control the frequency and amplitude of the sound source such that a controlled signal, such as one or more sound waves, but preferably one or more ultrasonic pulses having a specific amplitude (alternately a specific driving force) and frequency, is transmitted from the sound source and into the battery under interrogation such that the controlled signal is transmitted through one or more of the internal components or parts of a battery [0009]); a data processor configured to: extract one or more features from an electrical signal representative of the detected ultrasound (The method utilizes at least one sound source means for transmitting a signal (e.g., a sound wave or sound pulse) through a part of or across the battery, and at least one sound receiver means for receiving a signal from the battery; the received signal includes information representative of the physical state of the battery being interrogated [0007]); generate one or more notifications that indicate a battery fault in response to the data processor determining that the one or more of the extracted features satisfy one or more thresholds (The information relevant to one or more of (i), (ii), and (iii) may be optionally used to set an alarm condition concerning one or more of the (i), (ii) and/or (iii) wherein a fault or failure condition of a test battery has occurred, or is expected to occur. Such a fault condition may be, for example, wherein the interrogated battery fails to meet present or expected future performance characteristics [0009]) ; and a battery management system (BMS) in communication with the data processor (The sound receiver means which collects a signal received from the battery in response to the transmitted control signal may be operatively coupled to either a signal receiver means or the controller means, each of which is in turn operatively coupled to the processor means. The collected signal may be a transmitted signal which has passed through one or more parts of the battery, a reflected signal which has been reflected from one or more parts of the battery or may include both. A processor means is also present which includes a data processor and a data storage means. The data storage means may be used to contain information and data derived from the collected signal, which may be used by the data processor [0009]).
However, Steingart does not explicitly disclose wherein the BMS is configured to terminate operation of the energy storage device in response to the BMS receiving an imminent failure notification from the data processor.
Nevertheless, Zink discloses terminating operation of the energy storage device (…To avoid a hazardous overpressure in the battery cell which could endanger the integrity of the battery cell as well as its surroundings, a safeguard may be provided on the housing which may act as a type of emergency stop switch, and which deactivates the battery cell by producing a short circuit when there is an excess internal pressure in the housing [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Steingart with the teachings of Zink to avoid a hazardous overpressure in the battery cell which could endanger the integrity of the battery cell as well as its surroundings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner' s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 11-13 are allowable.
Claim 11 is allowable because the closest prior art Steingart, Chen, Zink, and Nakashima either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious the overcharge condition is a constant current overcharge of approximately 400 milliamperes (mA) applied to the battery as compared to a norrnal current charge of approximately 250 mA at a voltage limit of approximately 4.2 volts, in combination with all other limitations in the claim as claimed and defined by applicant.
Claim 12 is allowable because the closest prior art Steingart, Chen, Zink, and Nakashima either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious the overcharge condition is a constant voltage overcharge of approximately 400 milliamperes (mA) applied to the battery, as compared to a normal voltage charge of approximately 4.2 volts at a current of approximately 250 mA, in combination with all other limitations in the claim as claimed and defined by applicant.
Claim 13 is allowable because the closest prior art Steingart, Chen, Zink, and Nakashima either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious : performing the method during an overcharge condition created by an energy source and an energy load attached to the battery at an ambient temperature of 65 degrees Celsius, the overcharge condition starting at an overcharge start time, wherein the abnormal operating state indicates an imminent battery failure mode, and the abnormal operating state indicating an imminent battery failure mode is detected at least 15 minutes before a time of an actual failure of the battery, in combination with all other limitations in the claim as claimed and defined by applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andrew Hsieh (US20180164383) discloses Systems and methods of determining physical conditions of a battery, such as state of charge (SOC), state of health (SOH), quality of construction, defect, or failure state include driving two or more acoustic signals of two or more amplitudes.
Jian Xie (20120188086) discloses An early warning and monitoring system is disclosed for battery cells and battery packs. During normal cycling of a battery, surface temperature, voltage, current and impedance may be monitored to determine if abnormalities exist in the battery and/or battery structure.
William Fechalos (US20110298626) discloses A system and method for monitoring the status of a system of battery strings is described. The system includes a current sensor for each of the battery strings, and a controller configured to compare the measured current with criteria to determine whether the battery is in a thermal runaway state
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857