DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejections of claims 1-4, 11-14 and 20 rejected under § 103 over Lin et al. (US 2014/0375595) in view of Chang et al. (US 2021/0011091). Claims 5-6 and 15-16 rejected under § 103 over Lin in view of Chang, as applied to claims 4 and 14 above, and further in view of Lu (US 2016/0370413). Claims 7-9 and 17-19 rejected under § 103 over Lin in view of Chang, as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, and further in view of in view of Deas et al. (US 2003/0043900). Claim 10 rejected under § 103 over Lin in view of Chang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Hirai et al. (US 2018/0034454). Applicant’s arguments that the amendments to the independent claims as amended recite where a transmitter provides data on a channel in a data mode and provides a test signal on the channel in a test mode have been fully considered by the examiner. However, the claim subject matters recited each of the independent claims appear well-known in the art and considered inherent functionality in high-speed, modern communications that transmitters have distinct data mode and test mode. See detail in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2014/0375595 A1), hereinafter “Lin”, in view of CHANG et al. (US 2021/0011091 A1), hereinafter “Chang”.
Regarding claim 20, Lin illustrates an information handling system (a touch system shown in FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B or FIG.3, for example, as shown in FIG. 2A), comprising: a first device including a transmitter (TX driving unit 11) for a high-speed data communication interface (the weight is not considered, it is for intended use only); a second device including a receiver (RX detection unit 13) for the high-speed data communication interface (the weight is not considered, it is for intended use only); a channel (a pair of TX electrode lines 12 and an RX electrode line 14) coupled between the transmitter and the receiver, the channel including first and second blocking capacitors (h1 and h2), wherein the transmitter is configured to provide in a data mode to communicate data from the first device to the second device, and in a test mode a test signal on the channel to the receiver, and wherein the receiver is configured to receive the test signal from the channel, and to provide an output signal that is indicative of a value of at least one of the first and second blocking capacitors (the sense signal is induced due to or via capacitances of the capacitors h1 and h2 disposed between the TX electrode lines 12 and the RX electrode line 14, paragraph [0021]) based on the received test signal;
Applicant note it is well-known in the art and considered inherent functionality in high-speed, modern communications that transmitters have distinct data mode and test mode. While specific implementations vary, using the same physical transmission path for both operational data and diagnostic test signals (or patterns) to measure channel performance is a standard practice (e.g., BIST - Built-In Self-Test).
For example, as shown in Lin’s information handling system, the transmitter 11 provides in a data mode to communicate data, …, and a test signal on the channel 12, 14 to the receiver 13 is for optimizing throughput, error correction, and signal integrity of active traffic. The test mode often involves sending PRBS (Pseudo-Random Binary Sequence), square waves, or specialized patterns to measure channel characteristics like insertion loss, reflection, or ISI (Inter-Symbol Interference). The receiver then processes this known signal to analyze channel impairments. In other words, modern high-speed communication systems are used to utilize dual-mode transmitters (data and test). This design approach is standard practice for ensuring signal integrity in channels where components (like connectors, cables, or PCB traces) might vary. High-speed channels require strict impedance matching. A “test mode” signal allows the receiver to analyze the channel's impulse response or reflections to estimate component values (like resistance, capacitance, or inductance).
However, Lin fails to show or teach that the Rx detection unit of the system further comprises a management system configured to receive the output signal, and to determine the value based on the output signal.
Chang illustrates alternative test systems in Figures 3-7a, 8a, 8b, 9a, and 9b, as shown in Figure 8b, the test system comprising: a transmitter (310) including a transmitting circuit (410), a signal generating circuit (430), a comparing circuit (440), and an output circuit (41); a channel including a capacitor (320); and a receiver (DUT 330) including an input circuit, a switcher (520), and a receiving circuit (530). As discussed in at least paragraphs [0033] and [0037], the switcher (520) and/or the receiving circuit (530) may function as the management system configured to receive the output signal (output of the input circuit 510), and to determine the value based on the output signal.
For example, as shown in Figure 8b and recited in claim 18, the switch (520) is coupled between the receiver input circuit (510) and the receiving circuit (530), and configured to be turned on in a first test, turned off in a first process of a second test to avoid providing a discharging path for the capacitor (320), and turned on in a second process of the second test to try to provide the discharging path for the capacitor (320); and the receiving circuit (530) is configured to try to receive and process a predetermined transmission signal from the transmitter (310) during the first test and thereby determine whether the first test passes, and configured to try to provide the discharging path for the capacitor (320) in the second process of the second test.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by Chang to modify Lin’s touch system to include a management circuit in order to ensure that a capacitor(s) in a channel of a system remains within tolerance to maintain proper power factor correction, voltage stability, and signal filtering.
Regarding the apparatus claim 1, similar to the apparatus claim 20, all the claim features recited in claim 1 are included in the claim features of claim 20 for similar reasons stated in claim 20 above.
Regarding the method claim 11, similar to the apparatus claim 20, the claim features recited in the method steps of claim 11 are also included in the claim features of claim 20 for similar reasons stated in claim 20 above.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, as shown in FIG. 2A of Lin’s system, wherein the component includes a blocking capacitor (h1 or h2) on the channel, and as shown in FIG. 8b of Chang’s system, wherein the component includes a capacitor (320) on the channel.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, as shown in FIG. 2B of Lin’s system, wherein the second device further includes a detector (such as mixers 131A and 131B, the induced sense signal on the RX electrode line may be detected or demodulated to simultaneously result in two sense components with respect to the TX electrode lines, paragraph [0022]) coupled to the receiver.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, as shown in FIG. 2B of Lin’s system, wherein the detector includes an analog-to-digital converter (ADC 132).
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Chang, as applied to claims 4 and 14 above, and further in view of LU (US 2016/0370413 A1), hereinafter “Lu”.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 15-16, as applied to claims 4 and 14, respectively, stated above. Lin does not explicitly show or teach that the ADC (132) is configured to provide a digitized stream is used to measure a capacitive discharge of the blocking capacitor (h1 and h2), and wherein the receiver configured to determine a capacitance value of the blocking capacitor is based on the digitized stream of the capacitive discharge.
Lu also relates to touch system shown in Figure 3 comprising a detector circuit (10) of a reception device coupled to touch control lines (202) of a transmission device similar to the TX and RX electrode lines (12 and 14).
As shown in Figure 3, the detector circuit (10) comprises: a first switch (Q1) and a second switch (Q2); a charging circuit (101); a voltage measuring module (102) including an amplifying circuit (1021) and an analog-to-digital conversion circuit (1022); a control module (103) including a control logic unit (1031) and a pulse signal generating unit (1032); a multiplexer (104); a process module (105); a display module (106); and a storage module (107).
Lu further teaches that the voltage measuring module (102) is a discharging circuit. Although the voltage measuring module (102) is employed to realize the discharging to the parasitic capacitance to receive the voltage measured value fed back from the parasitic capacitance after charging (paragraph [0042]), as shown in Lin’s touch system of Figure 2B, when the touch control lines in the transmission channel, such as the TX and RX electrode lines (12 and 14) including the capacitors (h1 and h2), a skilled person in the art understands that Lu’s voltage measuring module (102) is capable of measuring the discharging to the capacitances of the capacitors (h1 and h2) to receive the voltage measured value fed back from the capacitances after charging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by Lu to modify Lin’s touch system to include a voltage measuring module or a discharging circuit after the ADC (132) of the RX detection unit (13) capable of measuring a capacitive discharge of the blocking capacitor (h1 or h2) and determining a capacitance value of the blocking capacitor based on the digitized stream of the capacitive discharge in order to detect capacitance discharge involves monitoring the voltage drop across a capacitor over time.
Claims 7-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Chang, as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, and further in view of in view of Deas et al. (US 2003/0043900 A1), hereinafter “Deas”.
Regarding claims 7-9 and 17-19, as applied to claims 3 and 13 stated above. Lin does not explicitly show or teach that the RX detection unit (13) of the touch system of Figure 2A, 2B, or 3 includes a data eye detector, which measures an eye width of the test signal, and the RX detection unit (13) determines a capacitance value of the blocking capacitor based on the eye width of the test signal.
Deas illustrates a communication system in Figure 1 comprising features similar to Lin’s touch system of a transmitting device (A) and a receiving device (B), connected via transmission lines, such as a set of traces on a printed circuit board (PCB). As shown in Figure 1, Deas also shows and teaches in at least paragraph [0042] that the receiving device (B) includes a finite state machine (33) which functions as a data eye detector configured to estimate or detect the width of an eye opening based on information received from the sampler (39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by Deas to modify Lin’s touch system of the RX detection unit (13) to include a finite state machine (33) which functions as a data eye detector to estimate or detect the width of an eye opening of the received signal in order to perform the width of the eye opening of the received signal through which incoming signals or particles are detected with factors such as resolution, noise levels, and the specific application requirements to optimize detector performance.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Chang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of HIRAI et al. (US 2018/0034454 A1), hereinafter “Hirai”.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 1 stated above. Lin does not explicitly show or teach that the touch system of Figure 2A, 2B, or 3 is apply to a high-speed data communication interface which is a differential signal interface.
Hirai illustrates a transmission/reception system in Figure 1 comprising similar structures of Lin’s touch system of a transmitter (10) and a receiver (20) which is connected to the transmitter by differential signal lines (paragraph [0022]).
Hirai further teaches that the termination resistors (12a and 12b) of the transmitter (10) and the termination resistors (22a and 22b) of the receiver (20) are provided for high-speed transmission (paragraph [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by Hirai to modify Lin’s touch system of the TX and RX electrode lines with differential transmission lines coupled between the TX driving unit (11) and the RX detection unit (13) in order to transmit signals with minimal interference and high quality on the conductor lines to carry equal and opposite signals, which help to cancel out noise and electromagnetic interference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chada et al. illustrates an information handling system in FIG. 1, comprising: a transmitter 110 configured to transmit data over a channel; and a receiver 120 configured to receive the transmitted data from the channel, the receiver including a data sampler 126 and an eye sampler 128; wherein the transmitter operates in a normal operating mode to transmit user data and in a test mode to transmit a test sequence including a sequence of a number (N) of consecutive logic 1's and the number (N) of consecutive logic 0's, the sequence being transmitted repeatedly, thereby lowering an apparent frequency of the test sequence to minimize channel loss, reflections, crosstalk, and inter-symbol interference in the test sequence; and wherein the receiver operates in the normal operating mode to receive the user data with the data sampler, and in the test mode to detect noise injected onto the channel based upon an output from the data eye sampler in response to the test sequence with the eye sampler.
/Young T. Tse/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632