DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 30, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: a period is missing at the end of claim 12. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “one or more pressure sensors for measuring comprising one or more sensors configured to detect the presence of at least one of a component of the working fluid or a substance in the insulation cavity” in lines 1-4. It is unclear whether the emphasized portion is missing a comma, or whether it is a duplicate limitation. In other words, is the “one or more sensors” the same as the “one or more pressure sensors”? Are the “one or more sensors” a subset of the “one or more pressure sensors”? For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “one or more sensors configured to detect the presence of at least one of a component of the working fluid or a substance in the insulation cavity.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2010/0187237 to Brooks et al. (hereinafter, “Brooks”).
Regarding claim 1, Brooks discloses a storage tank (tank 103, Figs. 1-2) comprising: a storage chamber (inner tank 110, Fig. 2) configured to store a working fluid (para. [0035]); a first skin (hard shell 111, Fig. 2) forming the storage chamber (inner tank 110, see Fig. 2); a second skin (barrier film 117, Fig. 2) positioned radially outwardly of the first skin (inner tank 110, see Fig. 2); an insulation cavity (insulation layers 113, 115, Fig. 2) formed between the first skin (hard shell 111) and the second skin (barrier film 117); and a foam layer (para. [0073]) positioned radially outwardly of the second skin (barrier film 117, para. [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Brooks further discloses the foam layer (para. [0073]) extends over a full extent of the outer surface of the storage tank (para. [0073]).
Regarding claim 5, Brooks further discloses the insulation cavity (insulation layers 113, 115) is a vacuum insulation cavity (para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, Brooks further discloses the working fluid is a cryogenic liquid (para. [0009]).
Regarding claim 7, Brooks further discloses the cryogenic liquid is liquid hydrogen (paras. [0009], [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Brooks further discloses the foam layer (para. [0073]) provides protection against damage to the second skin from impact events (the foam layer is capable of providing protection to the second skin; see also MPEP 2114(I)).
Regarding claim 9, Brooks further discloses the foam layer (para. [0073]) is configured to form a mark or indent to identify the site of an impact event (the foam layer is capable of forming a mark or indent; see also MPEP 2114(I)).
Regarding claim 10, Brooks further discloses a depth of the indent indicates the severity of the impact event (the foam layer is capable of forming a mark or indent based on the severity of an impact event; see also MPEP 2114(I)).
Regarding claim 11, Brooks further discloses the foam layer (para. [0073]) insulates the second skin (barrier film 117) of the storage tank from radiant heat (para. [0073]).
Regarding claim 12, Brooks further discloses one or more pressure sensors (para. [0070]) for measuring a pressure in the insulation cavity or in the storage chamber (para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 13, Brooks further discloses one or more pressure sensors (paras. [0056]-[0057]; [0070]-[0071]) for measuring a rate of change in a pressure in the insulation cavity or in the storage chamber (paras. [0056]-[0057]; [0070]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 15, Brooks discloses an aircraft (aircraft 101, Fig. 1; para. [0028]) comprising: a storage tank as claimed in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and an engine (para. [0028]) supplied by the storage tank (para. [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks as applied to claim 1 and in further view of U.S. Pub. 2016/0059970 to Embler et al. (hereinafter, “Embler”).
Regarding claim 2, Brooks does not expressly disclose the foam layer is bonded to the second skin.
Embler teaches a similar storage tank (vessel 102, Fig. 4) comprising a storage chamber configured to store a cryogenic liquid working fluid (para. [0030]). Embler teaches a first skin (surface 114, Fig. 4) forming the storage chamber and a second skin outward of the first skin (surface 112, Fig. 4). Embler teaches a foam layer (cryofoam 116, Fig. 4) positioned radially outwardly of the second skin (see Fig. 4). Embler teaches that the foam layer may be open cell or closed cell, and made from polyurethane (para. [0032]). Embler teaches that the foam layer is bonded to the second skin (paras. [0032], [0046]). Embler further teaches that the foam layer may be applied “in any manner that facilitates operation of the cryofoam layer 116” (para. [0032]), including spraying, pouring, and/or adhesive (paras. [0032], [0046], [0052]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the storage tank of Brooks such that the foam layer is bonded to the second skin as taught by Embler as it is no more than a simple substitution of one attachment means for another that is known in the art for attaching foam to a cryogenic storage tank and would only produce predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Regarding claim 4, Brooks does not expressly disclose the foam layer comprises a low density polyurethane foam, or wherein the foam layer comprises a mid-high density polyurethane foam. Brooks does teach that the foam layer is an open cell foam that is lightweight (para. [0073]).
Embler teaches a similar storage tank (vessel 102, Fig. 4) comprising a storage chamber configured to store a cryogenic liquid working fluid (para. [0030]). Embler teaches a first skin (surface 114, Fig. 4) forming the storage chamber and a second skin outward of the first skin (surface 112, Fig. 4). Embler teaches a foam layer (cryofoam 116, Fig. 4) positioned radially outwardly of the second skin (see Fig. 4). Embler teaches that the foam layer may be open cell or closed cell foam, and the foam layer can be made from polyurethane (para. [0032]). Embler teaches that the foam could be less dense or denser to achieve a high strength per weight (para. [0034]). Embler further teaches that the foam layer provides insulation that is lightweight (para. [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the storage tank of Brooks to form the foam layer from low or mid-high density polyurethane as taught by Embler for the purpose of providing insulation that is lightweight, as recognized by Embler, and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks as applied to claim 1 and in further view of FR-3131359 to Schulz et al. (hereinafter, “Schulz”).
Regarding claim 14, Brooks does not expressly disclose one or more sensors configured to detect the presence of at least one of a component of the working fluid or a substance in the insulation cavity, wherein the substance is usually present in an environment external to the storage tank but not in the working fluid stored within the storage chamber.
Schulz teaches a similar a similar storage tank (Fig. 1) comprising a storage chamber configured to store a cryogenic liquid working fluid (para. [0001] of attached translation). Schulz teaches a first skin (inner reservoir 1, Fig. 1 forming the storage chamber and a second skin outward of the first skin (outer casing 2, Fig. 1). Schulz teaches an insulation cavity (void 3, Fig. 1) formed between the first and second skins (see Fig. 1). Schulz teaches a sensor configured to detect the presence the working fluid or of a substance in the insulation cavity that is usually present in an environment external to the storage tank (para. [0004]). Schulz further teaches that these presence sensors detect possible leaks from the first or second skin (para. [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the storage tank of Brooks to add a sensor configured to detect the presence of the working fluid or a substance from an external environment as taught by Schulz for the purpose of detecting possible leaks from the first or second skin, as recognized by Schulz (see para. [0004]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/781,326 (“the ‘326 application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of the ‘326 application “anticipates” application claims 1 and 14, as shown below.
Current Claims
Claims of the ‘326 application
Claim 1: A storage tank comprising:
a storage chamber configured to store a working fluid;
a first skin forming the storage chamber;
a second skin positioned radially outwardly of the first skin;
an insulation cavity formed between the first skin and the second skin; and
a foam layer positioned radially outwardly of the second skin.
Claim 1: A storage tank comprising:
a storage chamber configured to store a working fluid;
a first skin forming the storage chamber;
a second skin positioned radially outwardly of the first skin;
an insulation cavity formed between the first skin and the second skin; and
a sensor configured to detect the presence of a substance in the insulation cavity, wherein the substance is usually present in an environment external to the storage tank but not in the working fluid stored within the storage chamber.
Claim 9: The storage tank as claimed in claim 1, comprising a layer of foam provided radially outwardly of the second skin.
Claim 14: The storage tank as claimed in claim 1, in combination with one or more pressure sensors for measuring comprising one or more sensors configured to detect the presence of at least one of a component of the working fluid or a substance in the insulation cavity, wherein the substance is usually present in an environment external to the storage tank but not in the working fluid stored within the storage chamber.
see Claim 1 at lines 6-8.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Pat. 6,347,719 to Rosen et al. discloses a storage tank for an aircraft comprising an inner skin, an outer skin, an insulating cavity between the inner and outer skins, and a foam layer arranged outside the outer skin (see Figs. 1-5).
WO 2022/144971 to Shimoda et al. discloses a cryogenic storage tank comprising first and second skins, an insulating cavity between the first and second skins, and a foam layer (see Figs. 1-10).
U.S. Pub. 2014/0117163 to Simpson discloses a storage tank comprising first and second skins, an insulating cavity, and a foam layer surrounding the second skin (see e.g., Figs. 1-8; para. [0037]).
U.S. Pat. 5,386,706 to Bergsten et al. discloses a cryogenic storage tank comprising first and second skins, an insulating cavity between the first and second skins, and a protective foam layer arranged outside the second skin (see Figs. 1-5).
U.S. Pat. 4,011,963 to Cheng et al. discloses a cryogenic storage tank comprising first and second skins, an insulating cavity, and a foam layer (see Fig. 1).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3733