DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ming et al. (US 2008/0126076 A1, “Ming”).
As to claims 1, 5, 9, Ming discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a language processing program for causing a computer to execute a process comprising:
extracting, from a second text written in a second language, a second named entity corresponding to a first named entity contained in a first text written in a first language (verification of possibly parallel documents in two different languages is performed using a named entity extraction component 144; para. 0024, 0028, 0038);
associating the first text with the second text based on a similarity between the first named entity and the second named entity and an alignment probability between the first named entity and the second named entity (it is determined that content of the documents are translationally equivalent if the degree of equivalence meets a threshold based on an alignment score; para. 0025-0026); and
outputting association information indicating a result of associating the first text with the second text (if the documents are verified as being parallel documents, the parallel documents are output; para. 0027, 0034).
As to claims 3, 7, 11, Ming discloses: wherein the associating the first text with the second text includes calculating an evaluation index for evaluating a correspondence between the first text and the second text based on the similarity and the alignment probability, and associating the first text with the second text based on a result of comparing the evaluation index with a threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ming in view of Kumaran et al. (US 8,560,298 B2, “Kumaran”).
Ming discloses: wherein the extracting the second named entity from the second text includes extracting, as the second named entity, one or more words similar to the first named entity from among a plurality of words contained in the second text (named entity extraction component; para. 0024, 0028, 0038), but differs from claims 2, 6, 10 in that it does not disclose:
obtaining an alignment probability between a word contained in the first named entity and a word contained in the second named entity, and
the associating the first text with the second text includes calculating a statistical value of an alignment probability between the word contained in the first named entity and the word contained in the second named entity as the alignment probability between the first named entity and the second named entity.
Kumaran teaches determining similarity between a pair of documents in different languages by using a document probability distribution and measuring the degree of equivalence between a source Named Entity and a target language word (col. 4, line 49 – col. 7, line 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ming with the above teaching of Kumaran in order to more effectively identify similar documents from a diverse set of languages, as taught by Kumaran (col. 4, lines 11-33).
As to claims 4, 8, 12, Ming in view of Kumaran teaches: wherein at least one of the first language and the second language is a low-resource language (Kumaran: mining resource-poor languages; col. 13, lines 59-66).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Niu et al. (US 2023/0153542 A1) teach providing cross-lingual sentence alignment with low-resource languages.
Cao et al. (US 2021/0271813 A1) teach acquiring a parallel corpus by determining sentence pairs with alignment degrees greater than a preset alignment degree threshold.
/Stella L. Woo/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693