Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2024/014823 A1); hereinafter Kim, in view of Huang (EP 4 161 209 A1); hereinafter Huang.
7. Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive information indicative that a cell corresponding to a network entity is an air to ground cell ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. [Page 14, paragraph 6] The plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells may be based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. [Page 19, paragraph 10] Referring to FIG. 1C, NTN according to an embodiment may be referred to as a technology that provides data services to terminals on the ground by utilizing a satellite or UAS (Unmanned Aerial System) located at a high altitude); generate, based at least in part on the information, a timing advance report; and transmit the timing advance report in accordance with the format ([Page 14, paragraph 4] Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells. [Page 20 paragraph 7] According to one embodiment, the T_TA value can be used by the NTN cell to schedule the terminal. Therefore, the UE can report a Timing Advance Report MAC CE (TAR MAC CE) including the T_TA value to the NTN cell. [Page 21, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, the derived T_TA values may be included in one TAR MAC CE and reported to the serving NTN cell (1e-05). In order to indicate which NTN cell the timing advance value belongs to, the TAR MAC CE may need to additionally include identification (ID) or index information to indicate a specific NTN cell), but does not explicitly teach generate, based at least in part on the information, a timing advance report in accordance with a format that corresponds to air to ground communications;
8. Huang, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches generate, based at least in part on the information, a timing advance report in accordance with a format that corresponds to air to ground communications ([Page 55, line 38] The UE assistance information report may be a UE location report, a measurement report, and/or a TA report. [Page 57 lines 23-31] The first UE assistance information report and the second UE assistance information report may be differentiated based on a cell type. The cell may be a serving cell of the UE. For example, the first UE assistance information report may be triggered when a serving cell of the UE is of a first type. The second report may be when a serving cell of the UE is of a second type. The first type is different from the second type. The first type and/or the second type may be at least one of the types specified in the following - NW type of a cell, e.g., TN, NTN; - NTN type of a cell, e.g., LEO, MEO, HEO, GEO, GSO, NGSO, HAPS).
9. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Huang. Kim teaches generating and transmitting a timing advance report for air-to-ground or non-terrestrial network communications and Huang teaches that UE assistance reports, including timing advance reports, are differentiated based on the type of serving cell, including terrestrial and non-terrestrial network cell types. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Huang’s dedicated format based on different cells, such as air-to-ground NTN cells to Kim’s generating and transmitting timing advance report to improve signaling efficiency and timing accuracy across different cell types.
10. Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit information indicative that a cell corresponding to the network entity is an air to ground cell; ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. [Page 14, paragraph 6] The plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells may be based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. [Page 19, paragraph 10] Referring to FIG. 1C, NTN according to an embodiment may be referred to as a technology that provides data services to terminals on the ground by utilizing a satellite or UAS (Unmanned Aerial System) located at a high altitude); receive, from a user equipment (UE) and responsive to transmission of the information, a timing advance report; and communicate with the UE in accordance with the timing advance report. ([Page 14, paragraph 4] Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells. [Page 20 paragraph 7] According to one embodiment, the T_TA value can be used by the NTN cell to schedule the terminal. Therefore, the UE can report a Timing Advance Report MAC CE (TAR MAC CE) including the T_TA value to the NTN cell. [Page 21, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, the derived T_TA values may be included in one TAR MAC CE and reported to the serving NTN cell (1e-05). In order to indicate which NTN cell the timing advance value belongs to, the TAR MAC CE may need to additionally include identification (ID) or index information to indicate a specific NTN cell), but does not explicitly teach receive, from a user equipment (UE) and responsive to transmission of the information, a timing advance report in accordance with a format that corresponds to air to ground communications.
11. Huang, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches receive, from a user equipment (UE) and responsive to transmission of the information, a timing advance report in accordance with a format that corresponds to air to ground communications ([Page 55, line 38] The UE assistance information report may be a UE location report, a measurement report, and/or a TA report. [Page 57 lines 23-31] The first UE assistance information report and the second UE assistance information report may be differentiated based on a cell type. The cell may be a serving cell of the UE. For example, the first UE assistance information report may be triggered when a serving cell of the UE is of a first type. The second report may be when a serving cell of the UE is of a second type. The first type is different from the second type. The first type and/or the second type may be at least one of the types specified in the following - NW type of a cell, e.g., TN, NTN; - NTN type of a cell, e.g., LEO, MEO, HEO, GEO, GSO, NGSO, HAPS).
12. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Huang. Kim teaches generating and transmitting a timing advance report for air-to-ground or non-terrestrial network communications and Huang teaches that UE assistance reports, including timing advance reports, are differentiated based on the type of serving cell, including terrestrial and non-terrestrial network cell types. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Huang’s dedicated format based on different cells, such as air-to-ground NTN cells to Kim’s generating and transmitting timing advance report to improve signaling efficiency and timing accuracy across different cell types.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 2-7, 11-12, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2024/014823 A1); hereinafter Kim, in view of Huang (EP 4 161 209 A1); herein after Huang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of (3GPP TS 38.321 version 17.5.0 Release 17).
14. Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
15. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach generate a timing advance value indicated by a first subset of bits of a plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the first subset of bits corresponding to a respective quantity of symbols, wherein a second portion of bits of the plurality of bits are null bits.
16. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, teaches generate a timing advance value indicated by a first subset of bits of a plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the first subset of bits corresponding to a respective quantity of symbols, wherein a second portion of bits of the plurality of bits are null bits ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] The Timing Advance Report MAC CE is identified by MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-2. It has a fixed size and consists of two octets defined as follows (Figure 6.1.3.56-1): - R: Reserved bit, set to 0; - Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing). The length of the field is 14 bits
).
17. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s structure of the first subset of bits corresponding a respective quantity of symbols and the remaining bits are null bits. The motivation to do so would have been to ensure consistent signaling of timing advance values.
18. Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
19. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach wherein a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing that the UE is configured with during generation of the timing advance value.
20. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing that the UE is configured with during generation of the timing advance value ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing). The length of the field is 14 bits.).
21. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s subcarrier spacing that is configured during the generating of the TA value. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance timing accuracy and ensure that the timing advance value is consistent with the subcarrier spacing.
22. Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
23. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach wherein a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing with which the UE is configured via control signaling.
24. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing). The length of the field is 14 bits.) with which the UE is configured via control signaling ([Page 75, 5.4.8 Timing Advance Reporting] The Timing Advance reporting procedure is used in a non-terrestrial network to provide the gNB with an estimate of the UE's Timing Advance value (i.e., TTA as defined in the UE's TA formula, see TS 38.211 [8] clause 4.3.1). RRC controls Timing Advance reporting by configuring the following parameters: - offsetThresholdTA; - timingAdvanceSR).
25. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s timing advance structure based on subcarrier spacing and configured via control signaling. The motivation to do would have been to improve consistency and accuracy that the timing advance value is consistent with the subcarrier spacing.
26. Regarding claim 5, Kim and Huang teach the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells; Kim), the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: set a first bit of a plurality of bits of the timing advance report to indicate the format corresponding to the timing advance report ([Page 55, line 38] The UE assistance information report may be a UE location report, a measurement report, and/or a TA report. [Page 57 lines 23-31] The first UE assistance information report and the second UE assistance information report may be differentiated based on a cell type. The cell may be a serving cell of the UE. For example, the first UE assistance information report may be triggered when a serving cell of the UE is of a first type. The second report may be when a serving cell of the UE is of a second type. The first type is different from the second type. The first type and/or the second type may be at least one of the types specified in the following - NW type of a cell, e.g., TN, NTN; - NTN type of a cell, e.g., LEO, MEO, HEO, GEO, GSO, NGSO, HAPS; Huang).
27. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach generate a timing advance value indicated by a subset of bits of the plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the subset of bits indicating a respective quantity of symbols; and set one or more remaining bits to zero.
28. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, teaches generate a timing advance value indicated by a subset of bits of the plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the subset of bits indicating a respective quantity of symbols; and set one or more remaining bits to zero. ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] The Timing Advance Report MAC CE is identified by MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-2. It has a fixed size and consists of two octets defined as follows (Figure 6.1.3.56-1): - R: Reserved bit, set to 0; - Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing). The length of the field is 14 bits
).
29. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications and NTN cell indicator and reserved bits in the timing advance report to distinguish a particular report format with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s structure of the first subset of bits corresponding a respective quantity of symbols and the remaining bits are set to 0. The motivation to do so would have been to ensure consistent signaling of timing advance values.
30. Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells),
the one or more remaining bits, the first bit, and the subset of bits, comprise a single octet and the timing advance report to indicate the format corresponding to the timing advance report ([Page 21, paragraph 4] In order to indicate which NTN cell the timing advance value belongs to, the TAR MAC CE may need to additionally include identification (ID) or index information to indicate a specific NTN cell. As previously explained, since Reserved bits exist in the conventional TAR MAC CE, the Reserved bits can be used to include information indicating an NTN cell. The modified TAR MAC CE is described in detail later in FIG. 1F in an octet structure. [Page 22, paragraph 6] According to one embodiment, the second TAR MAC CE 602 in FIG. 1F may be a TAR MAC CE including NTN cell indicator information)
,
but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
31. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing that the UE is configured with during generation of the timing advance value.
32. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing that the UE is configured with during generation of the timing advance value. ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] The Timing Advance Report MAC CE is identified by MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-2. It has a fixed size and consists of two octets defined as follows (Figure 6.1.3.56-1): - R: Reserved bit, set to 0; - Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing). The length of the field is 14 bits
).
33. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report comprising a single octet that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s subcarrier spacing that is configured during the generating of the TA value. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance timing accuracy and ensure that the timing advance value is consistent with the subcarrier spacing.
34. Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), and a first bit of a plurality of bits of the timing advance report to indicate the format corresponding to the timing advance report ([Page 21, paragraph 4] In order to indicate which NTN cell the timing advance value belongs to, the TAR MAC CE may need to additionally include identification (ID) or index information to indicate a specific NTN cell. As previously explained, since Reserved bits exist in the conventional TAR MAC CE, the Reserved bits can be used to include information indicating an NTN cell. The modified TAR MAC CE is described in detail later in FIG. 1F. [Page 22, paragraph 6] According to one embodiment, the second TAR MAC CE 602 in FIG. 1F may be a TAR MAC CE including NTN cell indicator information), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
35. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach wherein: a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1). The length of the field is 14 bits.) with which the UE is configured via control signaling ([Page 75, 5.4.8 Timing Advance Reporting] The Timing Advance reporting procedure is used in a non-terrestrial network to provide the gNB with an estimate of the UE's Timing Advance value (i.e., TTA as defined in the UE's TA formula, see TS 38.211 [8] clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing). RRC controls Timing Advance reporting by configuring the following parameters: - offsetThresholdTA; - timingAdvanceSR).
36. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications and NTN cell indicator with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s timing advance structure based on subcarrier spacing and configured via control signaling. The motivation to do would have been to improve consistency and accuracy that the timing advance value is consistent with the subcarrier spacing.
37. Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
38. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach generate a timing advance value indicated by a subset of bits of a plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the subset of bits indicating a respective quantity of symbols; and set one or more reserved bits to zero.
39. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, teaches generate a timing advance value indicated by a subset of bits of a plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the subset of bits indicating a respective quantity of symbols; and set one or more reserved bits to zero ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] The Timing Advance Report MAC CE is identified by MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-2. It has a fixed size and consists of two octets defined as follows (Figure 6.1.3.56-1): - R: Reserved bit, set to 0;- Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing)
).
40. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s structure of the first subset of bits corresponding a respective quantity of symbols and setting one or more reserved bits to 0. The motivation to do so would have been to ensure consistent signaling of timing advance values.
41. Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), and the one or more reserved bits, and the subset of bits, comprise a single octet of the timing advance report ([Page 21, paragraph 4] In order to indicate which NTN cell the timing advance value belongs to, the TAR MAC CE may need to additionally include identification (ID) or index information to indicate a specific NTN cell. As previously explained, since Reserved bits exist in the conventional TAR MAC CE, the Reserved bits can be used to include information indicating an NTN cell. The modified TAR MAC CE is described in detail later in FIG. 1F in an octet structure. [Page 22, paragraph 6] According to one embodiment, the second TAR MAC CE 602 in FIG. 1F may be a TAR MAC CE including NTN cell indicator information).
,
but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
42. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing that the UE is configured with during generation of the timing advance value.
43. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing that the UE is configured with during generation of the timing advance value. ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] The Timing Advance Report MAC CE is identified by MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-2. It has a fixed size and consists of two octets defined as follows (Figure 6.1.3.56-1): - R: Reserved bit, set to 0; - Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing).
).
44. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report comprising a single octet that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s subcarrier spacing that is configured during the generating of the TA value. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance timing accuracy and ensure that the timing advance value is consistent with the subcarrier spacing.
45. Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein, to receive and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
46. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach wherein the timing advance report comprises a timing advance value indicated by a first subset of bits of a plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the first subset of bits corresponding to a respective quantity of symbols, wherein a second portion of bits of the plurality of bits are null bits.
47. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein the timing advance report comprises a timing advance value indicated by a first subset of bits of a plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the first subset of bits corresponding to a respective quantity of symbols, wherein a second portion of bits of the plurality of bits are null bits. ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] The Timing Advance Report MAC CE is identified by MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-2. It has a fixed size and consists of two octets defined as follows (Figure 6.1.3.56-1): - R: Reserved bit, set to 0; - Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing). The length of the field is 14 bits
).
48. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of receiving and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s structure of the first subset of bits corresponding a respective quantity of symbols and the remaining bits are set to a fixed value of null bits. The motivation to do so would have been to ensure consistent signaling of timing advance values.
49. Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein, to receive and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
50. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach wherein a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing with which the UE is configured.
51. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing with which the UE is configured. ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing). The length of the field is 14 bits.).
52. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s subcarrier spacing that is configured during the generating of the TA value. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance timing accuracy and ensure that the timing advance value is consistent with the subcarrier spacing.
53. Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein, to receive the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), wherein the timing advance report comprises a first bit of a plurality of bits that indicates the format corresponding to the timing advance report ([Page 21, paragraph 4] In order to indicate which NTN cell the timing advance value belongs to, the TAR MAC CE may need to additionally include identification (ID) or index information to indicate a specific NTN cell. As previously explained, since Reserved bits exist in the conventional TAR MAC CE, the Reserved bits can be used to include information indicating an NTN cell. The modified TAR MAC CE is described in detail later in FIG. 1F. [Page 22, paragraph 6] According to one embodiment, the second TAR MAC CE 602 in FIG. 1F may be a TAR MAC CE including NTN cell indicator information), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
54. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach a timing advance value indicated by a subset of bits of the plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the subset of bits indicating a respective quantity of symbols, and one or more reserved bits.
55. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, teaches a timing advance value indicated by a subset of bits of the plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the subset of bits indicating a respective quantity of symbols, and one or more reserved bits. ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] The Timing Advance Report MAC CE is identified by MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-2. It has a fixed size and consists of two octets defined as follows (Figure 6.1.3.56-1): - R: Reserved bit, set to 0; - Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing).
).
56. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications and NTN cell indicator with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s structure of the first subset of bits corresponding a respective quantity of symbols and the one or more reserved bits. The motivation to do so would have been to ensure consistent signaling of timing advance values.
57. Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein, generating the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), and the one or more reserved bits, and the subset of bits, comprise a single octet of the timing advance report ([Page 21, paragraph 4] In order to indicate which NTN cell the timing advance value belongs to, the TAR MAC CE may need to additionally include identification (ID) or index information to indicate a specific NTN cell. As previously explained, since Reserved bits exist in the conventional TAR MAC CE, the Reserved bits can be used to include information indicating an NTN cell. The modified TAR MAC CE is described in detail later in FIG. 1F in a single octet. [Page 22, paragraph 6] According to one embodiment, the second TAR MAC CE 602 in FIG. 1F may be a TAR MAC CE including NTN cell indicator information)
,
but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
58. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing with which the UE is configured.
59. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing with which the UE is configured. ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] The Timing Advance Report MAC CE is identified by MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-2. It has a fixed size and consists of two octets defined as follows (Figure 6.1.3.56-1): - R: Reserved bit, set to 0; - Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing).
).
60. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report comprising a single octet that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s subcarrier spacing that is configured during the generating of the TA value. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance timing accuracy and ensure that the timing advance value is consistent with the subcarrier spacing.
61. Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein, to receive and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
62. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach the timing advance report comprises a timing advance value indicated by a subset of bits of a plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the subset of bits indicating a respective quantity of symbols, and one or more reserved bits.
63. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, teaches the timing advance report comprises a timing advance value indicated by a subset of bits of a plurality of bits of the timing advance report, each code point of the subset of bits indicating a respective quantity of symbols, and one or more reserved bits. ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] The Timing Advance Report MAC CE is identified by MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-2. It has a fixed size and consists of two octets defined as follows (Figure 6.1.3.56-1): - R: Reserved bit, set to 0; - Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing)
).
64. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s structure of the first subset of bits corresponding a respective quantity of symbols and one or more reserved bits. The motivation to do so would have been to ensure consistent signaling of timing advance values.
65. Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein, generating the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), and the one or more reserved bits, and the subset of bits, comprise a single octet of the timing advance report ([Page 21, paragraph 4] In order to indicate which NTN cell the timing advance value belongs to, the TAR MAC CE may need to additionally include identification (ID) or index information to indicate a specific NTN cell. As previously explained, since Reserved bits exist in the conventional TAR MAC CE, the Reserved bits can be used to include information indicating an NTN cell. The modified TAR MAC CE is described in detail later in FIG. 1F. [Page 22, paragraph 6] According to one embodiment, the second TAR MAC CE 602 in FIG. 1F may be a TAR MAC CE including NTN cell indicator information), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
66. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing with which the UE is configured.
67. (3GPP TS 38.321), in the same field of wireless communications, a symbol duration corresponding to the timing advance value is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing with which the UE is configured. ([Page 217, 6.1.3.56] The Timing Advance Report MAC CE is identified by MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-2. It has a fixed size and consists of two octets defined as follows (Figure 6.1.3.56-1): - R: Reserved bit, set to 0; - Timing Advance: In FR1, the Timing Advance field indicates the least integer number of slots, using subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz, greater than or equal to the Timing Advance value (see TS 38.211 [8], clause 4.3.1 defines each slot consists a number of OFDM symbols and symbol duration is determined based on the configured subcarrier spacing).
).
68. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report comprising a single octet that corresponds to air to ground communications with (3GPP TS 38.321)’s subcarrier spacing that is configured during the generating of the TA value. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance timing accuracy and ensure that the timing advance value is consistent with the subcarrier spacing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
69. Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2024/014823 A1); hereinafter Kim, in view of Huang (EP 4 161 209 A1); hereinafter Huang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kunt (WO 2021/230815 A1); hereinafter Kunt.
70. Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), and generate a timing advance value indicated by two octet of bits in the timing advance report ([Page 22, paragraph 5]) Referring to FIG. 1F (indicated by two octets), the first TAR MAC CE 601 of FIG. 1F may be a TAR MAC CE including a plurality of timing advance values. The terminal according to one embodiment may derive or obtain timing advance values of the serving NTN cell and adjacent NTN cells.
), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
71. Huang, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches the format of a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications ([Page 55, line 38] The UE assistance information report may be a UE location report, a measurement report, and/or a TA report. [Page 57 lines 23-31] The first UE assistance information report and the second UE assistance information report may be differentiated based on a cell type. The cell may be a serving cell of the UE. For example, the first UE assistance information report may be triggered when a serving cell of the UE is of a first type. The second report may be when a serving cell of the UE is of a second type. The first type is different from the second type. The first type and/or the second type may be at least one of the types specified in the following - NW type of a cell, e.g., TN, NTN; - NTN type of a cell, e.g., LEO, MEO, HEO, GEO, GSO, NGSO, HAPS).
72. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Huang. Kim teaches generating and transmitting a timing advance report for air-to-ground or non-terrestrial network communications and generating timing advance value indicated by two octets of bits and Huang teaches that UE assistance reports, including timing advance reports, are differentiated based on the type of serving cell, including terrestrial and non-terrestrial network cell types. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Huang’s dedicated format based on different cells, such as air-to-ground NTN cells to Kim’s generating and transmitting timing advance report to improve signaling efficiency and timing accuracy across different cell types.
73. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach each code point of the two octets of the timing advance report corresponding to a respective sampling time unit of a plurality of candidate sampling time units.
74. Kunt, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches each code point of the two octets of the timing advance report corresponding to a respective sampling time unit of a plurality of candidate sampling time units ([Page 9, Paragraph 2-3] In some implementations of the present disclosure, the TA report reported by UE may comprise a TA value, which may be an actual TA value computed or measured by processor 212 or an index KI of a quantized TA value. The quantization step A may be defined in second, for example A = 0.lus. Alternatively, or additionally, the quantization step A may be defined with respect to sampling time Ts as A =k*Ts or the chip time Tc as A =k*Tc, where k is an integer number).
75. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications with Kunt’s representation of timing values using quantized code points corresponding to sampling time units. The motivation to do so would have been to improve timing accuracy, support multiple candidate sampling time units, and enable more precise timing alignment in air to ground communications.
76. Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), and generate a timing advance value indicated by two octet of bits in the timing advance report ([Page 22, paragraph 5]) Referring to FIG. 1F (indicated by two octets), the first TAR MAC CE 601 of FIG. 1F may be a TAR MAC CE including a plurality of timing advance values. The terminal according to one embodiment may derive or obtain timing advance values of the serving NTN cell and adjacent NTN cells.
),
but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
77. Huang, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches the format of a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications ([Page 55, line 38] The UE assistance information report may be a UE location report, a measurement report, and/or a TA report. [Page 57 lines 23-31] The first UE assistance information report and the second UE assistance information report may be differentiated based on a cell type. The cell may be a serving cell of the UE. For example, the first UE assistance information report may be triggered when a serving cell of the UE is of a first type. The second report may be when a serving cell of the UE is of a second type. The first type is different from the second type. The first type and/or the second type may be at least one of the types specified in the following - NW type of a cell, e.g., TN, NTN; - NTN type of a cell, e.g., LEO, MEO, HEO, GEO, GSO, NGSO, HAPS).
78. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Huang. Kim teaches generating and transmitting a timing advance report for air-to-ground or non-terrestrial network communications and generating timing advance value indicated by two octets of bits and Huang teaches that UE assistance reports, including timing advance reports, are differentiated based on the type of serving cell, including terrestrial and non-terrestrial network cell types. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Huang’s dedicated format based on different cells, such as air-to-ground NTN cells to Kim’s generating and transmitting timing advance report to improve signaling efficiency and timing accuracy across different cell types.
79. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach wherein a reserved logical channel identity code point comprises an indication that the format corresponds to a granularity of sampling time units.
80. Kunt, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein a reserved logical channel identity code point comprises an indication that the format corresponds to a granularity of sampling time units ([Page 12, paragraphs 7-8] In some embodiments of the present disclosure, a new MAC CE may be introduced (e.g. TA Report MAC CE), and may use a currently unused (reserved) logical channel identifier (LCID) value. FIG. 5 illustrates an example TA Report MAC CE in accordance with an implementation of the present disclosure. The TA information (e.g. the "TA report" in FIG. 5) may consist of 8 bits.).
81. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications with Kunt’s timing advance report element that uses a reserved logical channel identity (LCID) value to indicate the report format and convey specific timing advance information. The motivation to do so would have been to improve timing accuracy, support multiple candidate sampling time units, and support different timing advance granularities.
82. Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), and generate a timing advance value indicated by two octet of bits in the timing advance report ([Page 22, paragraph 5]) Referring to FIG. 1F (indicated by two octets), the first TAR MAC CE 601 of FIG. 1F may be a TAR MAC CE including a plurality of timing advance values. The terminal according to one embodiment may derive or obtain timing advance values of the serving NTN cell and adjacent NTN cells.
), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
83. Huang, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches the format of a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications ([Page 55, line 38] The UE assistance information report may be a UE location report, a measurement report, and/or a TA report. [Page 57 lines 23-31] The first UE assistance information report and the second UE assistance information report may be differentiated based on a cell type. The cell may be a serving cell of the UE. For example, the first UE assistance information report may be triggered when a serving cell of the UE is of a first type. The second report may be when a serving cell of the UE is of a second type. The first type is different from the second type. The first type and/or the second type may be at least one of the types specified in the following - NW type of a cell, e.g., TN, NTN; - NTN type of a cell, e.g., LEO, MEO, HEO, GEO, GSO, NGSO, HAPS).
84. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Huang. Kim teaches generating and transmitting a timing advance report for air-to-ground or non-terrestrial network communications and generating timing advance value indicated by two octet of bits and Huang teaches that UE assistance reports, including timing advance reports, are differentiated based on the type of serving cell, including terrestrial and non-terrestrial network cell types. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Huang’s dedicated format based on different cells, such as air-to-ground NTN cells to Kim’s generating and transmitting timing advance report to improve signaling efficiency and timing accuracy across different cell types.
85. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach receive an indication that the cell supports the format corresponding to the air to ground cell.
86. Kunt, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches receive an indication that the cell supports the format corresponding to the air to ground cell. ([Page 14, paragraphs 5-7]) In some implementations, network node 125 may trigger the TA report by sending the UE MAC CE or RRC message. In some embodiments of the present disclosure, a new MAC CE may be introduced (e.g. TA Report Request MAC CE), and may use a currently unused (reserved) LCID value. In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the TA report request may be transmitted via or with a new RRC message, such as RRCTimingAdvanceReportRequest)
87. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report with a format that corresponds to air to ground communications with Kunt’s trigger or request by sending the UE MAC CE or RRC message, with an indication that a particular timing advance format can be supported or requested by the cell. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signaling efficiency and timing accuracy across different cell types, and improve interoperability between the UE and network.
88. Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to generate and transmit the timing advance report ([Page 14, paragraph 4] According to one embodiment, a method performed by a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) includes receiving information about a plurality of NTN cells from a satellite, and based on the information about the plurality of NTN cells. Identifying a plurality of TA (timing advance) values of NTN cells and transmitting, to the satellite, a TAR MAC CE (timing advance report MAC control element) including the plurality of TA values of the plurality of NTN cells), but does not explicitly teach the format a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications.
89. Huang, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches the format of a timing advance report that corresponds to air to ground communications ([Page 55, line 38] The UE assistance information report may be a UE location report, a measurement report, and/or a TA report. [Page 57 lines 23-31] The first UE assistance information report and the second UE assistance information report may be differentiated based on a cell type. The cell may be a serving cell of the UE. For example, the first UE assistance information report may be triggered when a serving cell of the UE is of a first type. The second report may be when a serving cell of the UE is of a second type. The first type is different from the second type. The first type and/or the second type may be at least one of the types specified in the following - NW type of a cell, e.g., TN, NTN; - NTN type of a cell, e.g., LEO, MEO, HEO, GEO, GSO, NGSO, HAPS).
90. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Huang. Kim teaches generating and transmitting a timing advance report for air-to-ground or non-terrestrial network communications and Huang teaches that UE assistance reports, including timing advance reports, are differentiated based on the type of serving cell, including terrestrial and non-terrestrial network cell types. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Huang’s dedicated format based on different cells, such as air-to-ground NTN cells to Kim’s generating and transmitting timing advance report to improve signaling efficiency and timing accuracy across different cell types.
91. Further, Kim and Huang do not explicitly teach receive control signaling indicating a threshold timing offset triggering transmission of the timing advance report, wherein transmitting the timing advance report is based at least in part on determining that a transmission timing value satisfies the threshold timing offset.
92. Kunt, in the same field of wireless communications, receive control signaling ([Page 14, Paragraph 5-7] In some implementations, network node 125 may trigger the TA report by sending the UE MAC CE or RRC message. In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the TA report request may be transmitted via or with a new RRC message, such as RRCTimingAdvanceReportRequest.) indicating a threshold timing offset triggering transmission of the timing advance report, wherein transmitting the timing advance report is based at least in part on determining that a transmission timing value satisfies the threshold timing offset ([Page 9, paragraph 2-3] In some implementations of the present disclosure, the TA report reported by UE may comprise a TA value, which may be an actual TA value computed or measured by processor 212 or an index KI of a quantized TA value. Alternatively, or additionally, the quantization step A may be defined with respect to sampling time Ts as A =k*Ts or the chip time Tc as A =k*Tc, where k is an integer number).
93. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings with the teachings of Kunt. Kim teaches generating and transmitting a timing advance report for air-to-ground or non-terrestrial network communications and Huang teaches that UE assistance reports, including timing advance reports, are differentiated based on the type of serving cell, including terrestrial and non-terrestrial network cell types. Kunt teaches that the UE determines a timing advance value or a quantized index of the timing advance value prior to reporting and that transmission of the timing advance report is performed to the triggering condition. The motivation to do so would have been to improve timing accuracy, support multiple candidate sampling time units, and enable more precise timing alignment in air to ground communications. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine Kim and Huang’s teachings of generating and transmitting a time advance report with a format that corresponds to air to ground communications with Kunt’s threshold timing offset triggering transmission to reduce signaling overhead and ensure signaling efficiency.
Conclusion
/LABIBAH ILMA ALI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465