DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the chiller" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner will interpret the chiller as the cooler of claim 13.
Claims 15-17 are dependent upon claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwashita (KR 10-2021-014673 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Iwashita figure 13 teaches a substrate treating apparatus comprising:
a chamber (261 treatment tank) for liquid-treating a substrate (W) loaded into a treating space with a liquid containing ozone water (L ozone water); and
an ozone water supplying unit (5 ozone water generating part) for supplying ozone water to the treating space,
wherein the ozone water supplying unit includes:
an ozone water generator for generating ozone water (6 ozone water generating unit);
an ozone water supply line (24 second supply path, 300 circuit) for supplying ozone water generated by the ozone water generator to the treating space; and
a cooler (304) provided in the ozone water supply line to cool the ozone water flowing through the ozone water supply line.[page 16]
Regarding claim 2, Iwashita teaches cooler 304 cools the used ozone water L flowing through the circulation path 300 to a given temperature (for example, 10°C to 20°C) thereby reading on the cooler adjusts a temperature of the ozone water to a temperature lower than room temperature.[page 16]
Regarding claim 5, Iwashita figure 13 teaches the ozone water L immediately before being discharged to the inner tank 261a is heated with a heater 64 provided in the second supply path 24 to convert the wafer W into ozone water L. ) can be processed more efficiently.[page 17] Figure 16 further suggests the heat reserving member (64 heater) is provided to be wrapped around the ozone water supply line downstream of the cooler (304).
Regarding claim 12, figure 3 teaches the chamber includes: a housing (80 case) providing an inner space; a cup (110 recovery cup) for providing the treating space; a support unit (92 support unit)for supporting the substrate; a nozzle (101 discharge nozzle) for supplying ozone water to the substrate, and the ozone water supply line is connected to the nozzle.[page 8]
Regarding claim 13, Iwashita figures 3 and 13 teach an ozone water supplying unit (5 ozone water generating part) comprising:
an ozone water supply source (6 ozone water generating unit);
an ozone water nozzle (101 discharge nozzle);
an ozone water supply line (21 processing liquid supply path, 300 circuit) for connecting the ozone water supply source and the ozone water nozzle;
a cooler (304) for cooling the ozone water; and
a filter(303),
wherein the cooler and the filter are disposed in the ozone water supply line.[page 8][page 16]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-11, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwashita (KR 10-2021-014673 machine translation).
Regarding claim 3, Iwashita figure 13 teaches the ozone water supplying unit further includes a filter (303) installed in the ozone water supply line. Iwashita is silent to the filter is installed downstream of the cooler (304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the filter downstream the cooler as a rearrangement of parts is an obvious design choice.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 4, figure 13 teaches the filter (303) is located adjacent to the cooler (304).
Regarding claim 6, figure 2 teaches a treatment solution supply source (26 acid supply chemical supply unit, 22a DIW source, 27 merging portion) for storing a treatment solution; a treatment solution supply line (22 first supply path, 26a acid-based chemical liquid supply path) for supplying a treatment solution from the treatment solution supply source to the ozone water supply line (24 second supply path); and a mixer (32 mixing unit) installed in the ozone water supply line to mix the ozone water with the treatment solution.[page4- 5]
Regarding claim 7, Iwashita is silent to the mixer is provided upstream of the cooler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the mixer upstream of the cooler as a rearrangement of parts is an obvious design choice.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 8, figure 2 suggests the mixer (32) includes an inline mixer.
Regarding claim 9, Iwashita teaches first supply path 22 supplies DIW (Deionized Water: deionized water) as a raw material of ozone water to the tank 23 thereby reading on the treatment solution is deionized water.[page 4]
Regarding claim 10, Iwashita teaches acid-based chemical solution supply unit 26 supplies an acid-based chemical solution such as an organic acid (citric acid, acetic acid, etc.), hydrochloric acid, or sulfuric acid to the first supply path 22 of the treatment solution supply path 21 . In an embodiment, the concentration of ozone dissolved in the DIW can be increased by supplying an acidic chemical to the DIW to adjust the pH of the DIW to be acidic thereby reading on the treatment solution is a chemical solution.[page 4]
Regarding claim 11, Iwashita teaches acid-based chemical solution supply unit 26 supplies an acid-based chemical solution such as an organic acid (citric acid, acetic acid, etc.), hydrochloric acid, or sulfuric acid to the first supply path 22 of the treatment solution supply path 21 thereby reading on the chemical solution is hydrogen fluoride.[page 4]
Regarding claim 14, Iwashita figure 13 teaches the filter (303) is located adjacent to the chiller (304 cooler). However, Iwashita is silent to the filter is installed downstream of the cooler (304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the filter downstream the cooler as a rearrangement of parts is an obvious design choice.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 15, Iwashita teaches cooler 304 cools the used ozone water L flowing through the circulation path 300 to a given temperature (for example, 10°C to 20°C) thereby reading on the cooler adjusts a temperature of the ozone water to a temperature lower than room temperature.[page 16]
Regarding claim 16, Iwashita figure 13 teaches the ozone water L immediately before being discharged to the inner tank 261a is heated with a heater 64 provided in the second supply path 24 to convert the wafer W into ozone water L. ) can be processed more efficiently.[page 17] Figure 16 further suggests the heat reserving member (64 heater) is provided to be wrapped around the ozone water supply line downstream of the cooler (304).
Regarding claim 17, Iwashita figure 2 teaches the ozone supplying unit comprising:
a chemical solution supply source (22a DIW source);
a chemical solution supply line (22 first supply path); and
a mixer (32 mixing unit),
wherein the chemical solution supply source stores a chemical solution, the chemical solution supply line supplies the chemical solution to the ozone water supply line,
the mixer (32 mixing unit) mixes the chemical solution with the ozone water,
the mixer is installed downstream of a point where the chemical solution supply line is connected with the ozone water supply line connect, and
the chemical solution is deionized water or hydrogen fluoride.[pages 4-5]
Regarding claim 18, Iwashita figures 1-3 and 16 teach a substrate treating apparatus comprising:
a chamber (16 processing unit, 80 case) for liquid-treating a substrate loaded into a treating space with a treatment solution; and
an ozone water supplying unit (5 ozone water generating part) for supplying a liquid containing ozone water to the treating space,
wherein the ozone water supplying unit includes:
an ozone water generator (6 ozone water generating unit) for generating ozone water;
a first ozone water supply line (24 second supply path, 300 circuit) for connecting the ozone water generator with a first nozzle (101 discharge nozzle) supplying the ozone water to the treating space;
a first cooler (304) provided in the first ozone water supply line to cool the ozone water flowing through the first ozone water supply line;
a first heat reserving member (64 heater) provided to be wrapped around the first ozone water supply line downstream of the first cooler to maintain a temperature of the first ozone water supply line;
a pure water supply line (first supply path 22 supplies DIW (Deionized Water: deionized water) as a raw material of ozone water to the tank 23 for supplying pure water to the first ozone water supply line;
a pure water supply source (22a DIW supply source) for supplying the pure water to the pure water supply line.[pages 4-5][page 16]
Figure 2 teaches a first mixer (32 mixing unit) provided in the first ozone water supply line and located upstream of the first cooler, and mixing the pure water with the ozone water.
Iwashita is silent to a second ozone water supply line connecting the ozone water generator with a second nozzle supplying the ozone water to the treating space; a second cooler provided in the second ozone water supply line to cool the ozone water flowing through the second ozone water supply line; a second heat reserving member provided to be wrapped around the second ozone water supply line downstream of the second cooler to maintain a temperature of the second ozone water supply line; a chemical solution supply line for providing a chemical solution to the second ozone water supply line; a chemical solution supply source for providing the chemical solution to the chemical solution supply line; and a second mixer provided in the second ozone water supply line and located upstream of the second cooler, and mixing the chemical solution with the ozone water.
As Iwashita figure 1 teaches a plurality of treatment units (16), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a second ozone water supply line connecting the ozone water generator with a second nozzle supplying the ozone water to the treating space; a second cooler provided in the second ozone water supply line to cool the ozone water flowing through the second ozone water supply line; a second heat reserving member provided to be wrapped around the second ozone water supply line downstream of the second cooler to maintain a temperature of the second ozone water supply line; a chemical solution supply line for providing a chemical solution to the second ozone water supply line; a chemical solution supply source for providing the chemical solution to the chemical solution supply line; and a second mixer provided in the second ozone water supply line and located upstream of the second cooler, and mixing the chemical solution with the ozone water in order to supply ozone water to the additional treatment units.
Regarding claim 19, Iwashita figure 16 teaches a first filter (303) disposed adjacent to the first cooler (304). Iwashita is silent to the first filter being downstream of the first cooler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the filter downstream the cooler as a rearrangement of parts is an obvious design choice.(MPEP 2144.04)
As Iwashita figure 1 teaches a plurality of treatment units (16), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a second filter disposed adjacent to the second cooler downstream of the first cooler as duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 20, Iwashita teaches acid-based chemical solution supply unit 26 supplies an acid-based chemical solution such as an organic acid (citric acid, acetic acid, etc.), hydrochloric acid, or sulfuric acid to the first supply path 22 of the treatment solution supply path 21 thereby reading on the chemical solution is hydrogen fluoride.[page 4]
Conclusion
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711