DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-13, filed May 21, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fujimura (WO 2018/146847 machine translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujimura (WO 2018/146847 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Fujimura figure 1 teaches a substrate treating apparatus comprising:
a chamber (41 cleaning tank) configured for liquid-treating a substrate loaded into a treating space with a liquid containing ozone water; and
an ozone water supplying unit (2) configured to supply the ozone water to the treating space, wherein the ozone water supplying unit includes an ozone water generator (22) configured to generate the ozone water,
an ozone water supply line (L3, L4 supply line) configured to supply the ozone water generated by the ozone water generator to the treating space, and
a cooler (31 chiller) in the ozone water supply line, the cooler configured to cool the ozone water flowing from the ozone water generator through the ozone water supply line to the chamber. [page 3]
Regarding claim 2, Fujimura teaches cooling means 3 is for cooling the ozone water
W2, and has a chiller 31 capable of cooling the ozone water W2 to O° C or higher and lower than 20 °C thereby reading on the cooler is configured to adjust a temperature of the ozone water to a lower than room temperature. [page 3]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimura (WO 2018/146847 machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iwashita (KR 10-2021-014673 machine translation).
Regarding claim 3, Fujimura is silent to a filter in the ozone water supply line, and the filter is downstream of the cooler.
Iwashita is directed towards a substrate processing apparatus where figure 13 teaches the ozone water supplying unit further includes a filter (303) installed in the ozone water supply line. However, Iwashita is silent to the filter is installed downstream of the cooler (304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a filter as taught in Iwashita removes contaminants such as particles contained in the used ozone water L flowing through the circulation path 300.[page 16]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the filter downstream the cooler as a rearrangement of parts is an obvious design choice.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 4, Iwashita figure 13 teaches the filter (303) is adjacent to the cooler (304).
Regarding claim 5, Iwashita figure 13 teaches the ozone water L immediately before being discharged to the inner tank 261a is heated with a heater 64 provided in the second supply path 24 to convert the wafer W into ozone water L. ) can be processed more efficiently.[page 17] Figure 16 further suggests the heat reserving member (64 heater) is provided to be wrapped around the ozone water supply line downstream of the cooler (304).
Regarding claim 6, Iwashita figure 2 teaches a treatment solution supply source (26 acid supply chemical supply unit, 22a DIW source, 27 merging portion) configured to store a treatment solution; a treatment solution supply line (22 first supply path, 26a acid-based chemical liquid supply path) configured to supply the treatment solution from the treatment solution supply source to the ozone water supply line (24 second supply path); and a mixer (32 mixing unit) in the ozone water supply line, the mixer configured to mix the ozone water with the treatment solution. [pages 4-5]
Regarding claim 7, Iwashita is silent to the mixer is upstream of the cooler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the mixer upstream of the cooler as a rearrangement of parts is an obvious design choice.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 8, Iwashita figure 2 suggests the mixer (32 mixing unit) includes an inline mixer
Regarding claim 9, Iwashita teaches first supply path 22 supplies DIW (Deionized Water: deionized water) as a raw material of ozone water to the tank 23 thereby reading on the treatment solution is deionized water. [page 4]
Regarding claim 10, Iwashita teaches acid-based chemical solution supply unit 26 supplies an acid-based chemical solution such as an organic acid (citric acid, acetic acid, etc.), hydrochloric acid, or sulfuric acid to the first supply path 22 of the treatment solution supply path 21 . In an embodiment, the concentration of ozone dissolved in the DIW can be increased by supplying an acidic chemical to the DIW to adjust the pH of the DIW to be acidic thereby reading the treatment solution is a chemical solution. [page 4]
Regarding claim 11, Iwashita teaches acid-based chemical solution supply unit 26 supplies an acid-based chemical solution such as an organic acid (citric acid, acetic acid, etc.), hydrochloric acid, or sulfuric acid to the first supply path 22 of the treatment solution supply path 21 thereby reading on the chemical solution is hydrogen fluoride.[page 4]
Regarding claim 12, Iwashita figure 13 teaches the chamber includes: a housing (80 case) configured to provide an inner space; a cup (110 recovery cup) configured to provide the treating space; a support unit (92 support unit) configured to support the substrate; a nozzle (101 discharge nozzle) configured to supply the ozone water to the substrate, and the ozone water supply line is connected to the nozzle. [page8]
Regarding claim 13, Fujimura figure 1 teaches an ozone water supplying unit (2) comprising:
an ozone water supply source (22 ozone generator) configured to supply ozone water;
an ozone water supply line ( L9, L3, L4) configured to connect the ozone water supply source;
a cooler (31 chiller) configured to cool the ozone water.[page 3][page 5]
Fujimura is silent to an ozone water nozzle and a filter, wherein the cooler and the filter are in the ozone water supply line between the ozone water supply source and the ozone water nozzle.
Iwashita is directed towards a substrate processing apparatus where figures 3 and 13 teach the ozone water supplying unit has an ozone water nozzle (101 discharge nozzle); an ozone water supply line (21 processing liquid supply path, 300 circuit) for connecting the ozone water supply source and the ozone water nozzle; a filter (303), wherein the cooler and the filter are in the ozone water supply line between the ozone water supply source and the ozone water nozzle. [page 8][page 16]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a configuration as taught by Iwashita for efficiently processing a substrate with ozone water.[Abstract]
Regarding claim 14, Iwashita figure 13 teaches the filter (303) is located adjacent to the chiller (304 cooler). However, Iwashita is silent to the filter is adjacent to and downstream of the cooler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the filter downstream the cooler as a rearrangement of parts is an obvious design choice.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 15, Fujimura teaches cooling means 3 is for cooling the ozone water
W2, and has a chiller 31 capable of cooling the ozone water W2 to O° C or higher and lower than 20 °C thereby reading on the cooler is configured to cool the ozone water to a temperature lower than room temperature.
Regarding claim 16, Iwashita figure 13 teaches the ozone water L immediately before being discharged to the inner tank 261a is heated with a heater 64 provided in the second supply path 24 to convert the wafer W into ozone water L. ) can be processed more efficiently.[page 17] Figure 16 further suggests the heat reserving member (64 heater) is provided to be wrapped around the ozone water supply line downstream of the cooler (304).
Regarding claim 17, Iwashita figure 2 teaches a chemical solution supply source (22a DIW source); a chemical solution supply line (22 first supply path); and a mixer (32 mixing unit), wherein the chemical solution supply source is configured to store a chemical solution, the chemical solution supply line is configured to supply the chemical solution to the ozone water supply line, the mixer is configured to mix the chemical solution with the ozone water, the mixer is downstream of a point where the chemical solution supply line is connected with the ozone water supply line, and the chemical solution is deionized water or hydrogen fluoride. [pages 4-5]
Regarding claim 18, Fujimura figure 1 teaches a substrate treating apparatus comprising:
a chamber (41 cleaning tank) configured for liquid-treating a substrate loaded into a treating space with a treatment solution; and
an ozone water supplying unit (2) configured to supply a liquid containing ozone water to the treating space,
wherein the ozone water supplying unit includes an ozone water generator (22) configured to generate the ozone water,
a first ozone water supply line (L3 supply line) configured to connect the ozone water generator,
a first cooler (31 chiller) in the first ozone water supply line, the first cooler configured to cool the ozone water flowing from the ozone water generator through the first ozone water supply line to the chamber.[page 3]
Fujimura is silent to first nozzle configured to supply the ozone water to the treating space, a first heat reserving member configured to be wrapped around the first ozone water supply line downstream of the first cooler, the first heat reserving member configured to maintain a temperature of the first ozone water supply line,
a pure water supply line configured to supply pure water to the first ozone water supply line, a pure water supply source configured to supply the pure water to the pure water supply line,
a first mixer in the first ozone water supply line upstream of the first cooler, and the first mixer configured to mix the pure water with the ozone water,
a second ozone water supply line configured to connect the ozone water generator with a second nozzle configured to supply the ozone water to the treating space,
a second cooler in the second ozone water supply line, the second cooler configured to cool the ozone water flowing from the ozone water generator through the second ozone water supply line to the chamber, a second heat reserving member configured to be wrapped around the second ozone water supply line downstream of the second cooler, the second heat reserving member configured to maintain a temperature of the second ozone water supply line, a chemical solution supply line configured to provide a chemical solution to the second ozone water supply line, a chemical solution supply source configured to provide the chemical solution to the chemical solution supply line, and a second mixer in the second ozone water supply line upstream of the second cooler, and the second mixer configured to mix the chemical solution with the ozone water.
Iwashita is directed towards a substrate processing apparatus where figures 3 and 13 teach the ozone water supplying unit has an ozone water nozzle (101 discharge nozzle); an ozone water supply line (21 processing liquid supply path, 300 circuit) for connecting the ozone water supply source and the ozone water nozzle flowing through the first ozone water supply line;
a first heat reserving member (64 heater) provided to be wrapped around the first ozone water supply line downstream of the first cooler to maintain a temperature of the first ozone water supply line;
a pure water supply line (first supply path 22 supplies DIW (Deionized Water: deionized water) as a raw material of ozone water to the tank 23 for supplying pure water to the first ozone water supply line;
a pure water supply source (22a DIW supply source) for supplying the pure water to the pure water supply line.[pages 4-5][page 16]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a configuration as taught by Iwashita for efficiently processing a substrate with ozone water.[Abstract]
Iwashita is silent to a second ozone water supply line connecting the ozone water generator with a second nozzle supplying the ozone water to the treating space; a second cooler provided in the second ozone water supply line to cool the ozone water flowing through the second ozone water supply line; a second heat reserving member provided to be wrapped around the second ozone water supply line downstream of the second cooler to maintain a temperature of the second ozone water supply line; a chemical solution supply line for providing a chemical solution to the second ozone water supply line; a chemical solution supply source for providing the chemical solution to the chemical solution supply line; and a second mixer provided in the second ozone water supply line and located upstream of the second cooler, and mixing the chemical solution with the ozone water.
As Iwashita figure 1 teaches a plurality of treatment units (16), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a second ozone water supply line connecting the ozone water generator with a second nozzle supplying the ozone water to the treating space; a second cooler provided in the second ozone water supply line to cool the ozone water flowing through the second ozone water supply line; a second heat reserving member provided to be wrapped around the second ozone water supply line downstream of the second cooler to maintain a temperature of the second ozone water supply line; a chemical solution supply line for providing a chemical solution to the second ozone water supply line; a chemical solution supply source for providing the chemical solution to the chemical solution supply line; and a second mixer provided in the second ozone water supply line and located upstream of the second cooler, and mixing the chemical solution with the ozone water in order to supply ozone water to the additional treatment units.
Regarding claim 19, Iwashita figure 16 teaches a first filter (303) disposed adjacent to the first cooler (304). Iwashita is silent to the first filter being downstream of the first cooler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the filter downstream the cooler as a rearrangement of parts is an obvious design choice.(MPEP 2144.04)
As Iwashita figure 1 teaches a plurality of treatment units (16), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a second filter disposed adjacent to the second cooler downstream of the first cooler as duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 20, Iwashita teaches acid-based chemical solution supply unit 26 supplies an acid-based chemical solution such as an organic acid (citric acid, acetic acid, etc.), hydrochloric acid, or sulfuric acid to the first supply path 22 of the treatment solution supply path 21 thereby reading on the chemical solution contains hydrogen fluoride.[page 4]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711