DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a locking member locking the terminal into a connector housing of claim 14; the first elastic locking piece and the second elastic locking piece are adapted engage with the connector housing to lock the terminal in the connector housing of claim 18; a first guide slot and a second guide slot on the connector housing of claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 lines 1 and 4 recite, “the elastic contact,” and, “the longitudinal direction,” claim should be amended to recite –an elastic contact-- and –a longitudinal direction--.
Claim 11 lines 2 and 4 recite, “the first side edge parts,” and, “the second side edge parts,” claim should be amended to recite --first side edge parts-- and --second side edge parts--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 line 8 recitation, “the elastic contact arm is,” is vague and indefinite. Examiner is not sure if claim 9 is supposed to recite more limitations after this recitation or is the claim actually complete. Before the vague recitation, lines 7-8 are definitive and it is understood where and how the elastic contact arm is connected to the first and second side edge part. What does “the elastic contact arm is” mean? Why is “the elastic contact arm is” recited at the end of claim 9?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 217086934U.
Regarding claim 1, CN ‘934 discloses a terminal body, comprising: a first terminal plate (fig. 2; 120) including a first mating part (fig. 3; 121) and a first welding part (fig. 3; 122) connected to the first mating part (121); and a second terminal plate (fig. 2; 110) including a second mating part (fig. 3; 111) and a second welding part (fig. 3; 112) connected to the second mating part (111), the first mating part (121) and the second mating part (111) are spaced relative to each other in a height direction (fig. 3; z direction) of the terminal body (10) and adapted to permit insertion of a mating terminal (Translation Par [n0047] Ln 3; mating terminal), the first welding part (122) is stacked and welded on the second welding part (112).
Regarding claim 3, CN ‘934 discloses wherein the first mating part (121) and the first welding part (122) are flat-shaped and oriented (fig. 3; y direction) perpendicular to the height direction (z direction) of the terminal body (10).
Regarding claim 4, CN ‘934 discloses wherein the first terminal plate (120) further comprises a bending part (fig. 3; vertical part between 121 and 122) connected between the first mating part (121) and the first welding part (122), the bending part (vertical part between 121 and 122) oriented normal to the first mating part (121) and the first welding part (122), so that the first mating part (121) is at a different height from the first welding part (122).
Regarding claim 8, CN ‘934 discloses a terminal, comprising: a terminal body (10), including: a first terminal plate (120) including a first mating part (121) and a first welding part (122) connected to the first mating part (121); and a second terminal plate (110) including a second mating part (111) and a second welding part (112) connected to the second mating part (111), the first mating part (121) and the second mating part (111) are spaced relative to each other in a height direction (z direction) of the terminal body (10) and adapted to permit insertion of a mating terminal (mating terminal), the first welding part (122) is stacked and welded on the second welding part (112); and a pair of elastic contacts (fig. 4; 220, 210) installed on inner opposed surfaces (fig. 10; inner surfaces of 121 and 111 that face each other) of the first mating part (121) and the second mating part (112), respectively, the pair of elastic contacts (220, 210) are adapted to clamp the mating terminal (mating terminal) inserted between therebetween to achieve electrical connection (Translation Par [n0047]) between the terminal (10) and the mating terminal (mating terminal).
Regarding claim 9, CN ‘934 discloses wherein the elastic contact (220/210) is adapted to establish electrical contact with the inserted mating terminal (mating terminal) to achieve electrical connection between the terminal and the mating terminal, and includes: a first side edge part (fig. 4; 221, 211 with holes) extending along the longitudinal direction (y direction) of the terminal body (10); a second side edge part (fig. 4; 221, 211 without holes) extending along the longitudinal direction (y direction) of the terminal body (10); and an elastic contact arm (fig. 4; 222/212) connected between the first side edge part (221, 211 with holes) and the second side edge part (221, 211 without holes), the elastic contact arm is.
Regarding claim 10, CN ‘934 discloses wherein the elastic contact (220/210) further includes multiple elastic contact arms (222/212) arranged in a row (see fig. 4) along the longitudinal direction (y direction) of the terminal body (10) for establishing simultaneous electrical contact with the inserted mating terminal.
Regarding claim 11, CN ‘934 discloses wherein: the first side edge parts (221, 211 with holes) of the pair of elastic contacts (220, 210) are fixed to inner surfaces of the first mating part (inner surfaces of 121) and the second mating part (inner surfaces of 111), respectively; the second side edge parts (221, 211 without holes) of the pair of elastic contacts (220, 210) are slidably supported on the inner surfaces of the first mating part (inner surfaces of 121) and the second mating part (inner surfaces of 111), respectively.
Regarding claim 12, CN ‘934 discloses wherein: the first mating part (121) has two sides opposite (figs. 8-9; sides where 12a are located) to each other in a transverse direction (fig. 3; x direction) of the terminal body (10), and a pair of first protrusions (figs. 8-9; 12a) are formed on the inner surface (inner surfaces of 121) of the first mating part (121) and respectively located at the two sides (sides where 12a are located) of the first mating part (121), to support the mating terminal (mating terminal) inserted between the pair of elastic contacts (220, 210), to prevent the elastic contact arm (222) from being excessively compressed by the mating terminal (Translation Par [n0050] Ln 5-8); the second mating part (111) has two sides (figs. 6-7; sides were 11a are located) opposite to each other in the transverse direction (x direction) of the terminal body (10), and a pair of second protrusions (figs. 6-7; 11a) are formed on the inner surface (inner surfaces of 111) of the second mating part (111) and respectively located at the two sides of the second mating part (111), to support the mating terminal inserted between the pair of elastic contacts (220, 210), to prevent the elastic contact arm (212) from being excessively compressed by the mating terminal (Translation Par [n0050] Ln 2-4).
Regarding claim 13, CN ‘934 discloses wherein: a first rib (fig. 9; 12b) is formed on an inner surface (inner surfaces of 121) of the first mating part (121) and extends along the longitudinal direction (y diection) of the terminal body (10) to support the elastic contact arm (222) of one elastic contact (220), to prevent excessive deformation (Translation Par [n0051] Ln 5-8) of the elastic contact arm (222) of the one elastic contact (220); and a second rib (fig. 7; 11b) is formed on an inner surface (inner surfaces of 111) of the second mating part (111) and extends along the longitudinal direction (y direction) of the terminal body (10) to support the elastic contact arm (212) of the other elastic contact (210), to prevent excessive deformation (Translation Par [n0051] Ln 1-4) of the elastic contact arm (212) of the other elastic contact (210).
Regarding claim 14, CN ‘934 discloses a locking member (fig. 5; 30) selectively fitted on ends of the first mating part (fig. 3; distal end of 121 in the y direction) and the second mating part (fig. 3; distal end of 111 in the y direction) and locking the terminal into a connector housing (Translation Par [n0053]).
Regarding claim 15, CN ‘934 discloses wherein the locking member (30) includes: a top plate (fig. 2; 312) fixed to an outer side of the first mating part (121); a bottom plate (fig. 2; 311) fixed to an outer side of the second mating part (111); and an end plate (fig. 2; 320) connected between the top plate (312) and the bottom plate (311), and fixed to the ends of the first mating part (distal end of 121 in the y direction) and the second mating part (distal end of 111 in the y direction).
Regarding claim 16, CN ‘934 discloses wherein: the first mating part (121) has two side edges (fig. 3; edges that comprises 102 and 12a of fig. 8) opposite to each other in the transverse direction (x direction) of the terminal body (10), and a first positioning slot (fig. 3; 102) and a first limiting tongue (fig. 3; protrusion within 102) extending into the first positioning slot (102) are formed on each side edge (edges that comprises 102 and 12a) of the first mating part (121); and a first elastic clamping part (fig. 5; 332) bent inward into a C-shape is formed on the side of the top plate (312) of the locking member (30), and the first elastic clamping part (332) is positioned in the first positioning slot (102) and clamps the first limiting tongue (protrusion within 101).
Regarding claim 17, CN ‘934 discloses wherein: the second mating part (111) has two side edges (fig. 3; edges that comprises 101 and 11a of fig. 6) opposite to each other in the transverse direction (x direction) of the terminal body (10), and a second positioning slot (101) and a second limiting tongue (fig. 3; protrusion within 101) extending into the second positioning slot (101) are formed on each side edge (edges that comprises 101 and 11a) of the second mating part (111); a second elastic clamping part (fig. 5; 331) bent inward into a C-shape is formed on the side of the bottom plate (311) of the locking member (30), and the second elastic clamping part (331) is positioned in the second positioning slot (101) and clamps the second limiting tongue (protrusion within 101).
Regarding claim 18, CN ‘934 discloses wherein a first elastic locking piece (fig. 5; top 34) and a second elastic locking piece (fig. 5; bottom 34) are respectively formed on the top plate (312) and bottom plate (311) of the locking member (30), the first elastic locking piece (top 34) and the second elastic locking piece (bottom 34) are adapted engage with the connector housing to lock the terminal in the connector housing (Translation Par [n0057] Ln 3-4).
Regarding claim 19, CN ‘934 discloses wherein a first guide rib (fig. 5; top 35) and a second guide rib (fig. 5; bottom 35) are respectively formed on the outsides of the top plate (312) and the bottom plate (311) of the locking member (30), the first guide rib (top 35) and the second guide rib (bottom 35) are used to respectively cooperate with a first guide slot and a second guide slot (Translation Par [n0058]; guide grooves) on the connector housing (Translation Par [n0058]), to guide the terminal to be inserted into the connector housing (Translation Par [n0058]).
Regarding claim 20, CN ‘934 discloses wherein a first positioning protrusion (see mark-up below from fig. 3; 1P) and a second positioning protrusion (mark-up; 2P) are respectively formed on the end faces of the first mating part (distal end of 121 in the y direction) and the second mating part (distal end of 111 in the y direction), and a first positioning slot hole (see mark-up #2 below from fig. 5; 1H) and a second positioning slot hole (mark-up #2; 2H) are respectively formed in the end plate (320) of the locking member (30), the first positioning protrusion (1P) and the second positioning protrusion (2P) are respectively fitted into the first positioning slot hole (1H) and the second positioning slot hole (2H, see figs. 1, 2 and 6-9).
Mark-up Mark-up #2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 217086934U in view of Liu et al. US 2022/0131300.
Regarding claim 2, CN ‘934 discloses wherein the first terminal plate (120) and the second terminal plate (110) are components formed integrally.
CN ‘934 does not disclose the first and second terminal plates being independent components formed separately.
However, Liu teaches the first (fig. 6; 310) and second terminal plates (fig. 6; 320) being independent components formed separately (310 and 320 are separate components joined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first and second terminal plates being independent components formed separately as suggested by Liu since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art, Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179, and also for the benefit of providing improved manufacturing methods in order to lower production cost and shorten fabrication times of a terminal body.
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 217086934U in view of Nishijima US 12,542,390.
Regarding claim 5, CN ‘934 discloses wherein the second mating part (111) and the second welding part (112) are flat-shaped and oriented perpendicular (y direction) to the height direction (z direction) of the terminal body (10).
CN ‘934 does not disclose the second mating part and the second welding part are arranged at the same height such that the entire second terminal plate is in flat-shaped.
However, Nishijima teaches the second mating part (fig. 4; 28) and the second welding part (fig. 4; flat section behind 28 in the same plane) are arranged at the same height such that the entire second terminal plate (28 and flat section behind 28) is in flat-shaped (see fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second mating part and the second welding part being arranged at the same height such that the entire second terminal plate is in flat-shaped as suggested by Nishijima for the benefit of providing an improved compact terminal body.
Regarding claim 6, CN ‘934 modified by Nishijima has been discussed above. CN ‘934 discloses wherein: the first terminal plate (120) has a front end (area of 121) and a rear end (area of 122) opposite to each other in a longitudinal direction (y direction) of the terminal body (10), and the first mating part (121) and the first welding part (122) are respectively located at the front end (area of 121) and rear end (area of 122) of the first terminal plate (120); and the second terminal plate (110) has a front end (area of 111) and a rear end (area of 112) opposite to each other in the longitudinal direction (y direction) of the terminal body (10), and the second mating part (111) and the second welding part (112) are respectively located at the front end (area of 111) and rear end (area of 112) of the second terminal plate (110).
Regarding claim 7, CN’ 943 discloses the first and second terminal plates (120, 110) are integral stamped components.
CN ‘943 does not disclose aluminum or aluminum alloy components.
However, Nishijima teaches aluminum or aluminum alloy components (Col 5 Ln 50-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate aluminum or aluminum alloy components as suggested by Nishijima since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, and also for the benefit of providing optimum signal transmission quality due to the improved conduction properties aluminum inherently possesses.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831