DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (2015/0021063) in view of Brorein (4468089).
Sugiyama discloses a data transmission cable comprising: a signal transfer line (2); an impedance matching sheet (4) configured to cover the signal transfer line; and, a conductive bending tape (7) wound around the impedance matching sheet, wherein the conductive bending tape is disposed to be wound on an outer surface of the impedance matching sheet in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the impedance matching sheet (Figs 1 & 3), wherein the impedance matching sheet (4) comprises an insulating layer ([0026], resin layer made of PET), a metal layer (copper tape) formed on the insulating layer, and wherein the insulating layer is disposed to face the signal transfer line ([0027]) (re-claim 1). Sugiyama also discloses that the conductive bending tape is provided as one conductive bending tape disposed according to the length of the impedance matching sheet when the length of the impedance matching sheet is the minimum length (Figs 1 & 3) (re-claim 8); the minimum length of the impedance matching sheet is the noise antenna length in which the impedance matching sheet is operated as a noise antenna (shield), and the noise antenna length is varied according to the wavelength corresponding to the signal frequency of the data transmitted through the signal transfer line (re-claim 9); the length of the conductive bending tape (7) is longer than the sum of the length of the width of the upper surface and the length of the width of the lower surface of the impedance matching sheet (Figs 1 & 3) (re-claim 11); the conductive bending tape is grounded by directly contacting a grounding part (6) (re-claim 13).
Sugiyama does not disclose the impedance matching sheet comprising a protective layer formed on the metal layer (re-claim 1).
Brorein discloses a transmission cable comprising a impedance matching sheet (shielding sheet, Fig. 7) comprising a protective layer (33) formed on a metal layer (31, semiconductive adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form a protective layer as taught by Brorein on the metal layer (copper tape) of Sugiyama to protect and provide a bond between the impedance matching sheet and adjacent layer.
Claims 2, 3, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Brorein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murakami et al. (6528731).
Sugiyama, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the impedance matching sheet including a first impedance matching sheet disposed above the signal transfer line and a second impedance matching sheet disposed below the signal transfer line.
Murakami et al. (Fig. 6) discloses a data transmission cable comprising a signal transfer line (10), a first impedance matching sheet (31) disposed above the signal transfer line and a second impedance matching sheet (32) disposed below the signal transfer line.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the impedance matching sheet (4) of Sugiyama to comprise a first impedance matching sheet disposed above the signal transfer line and a second impedance matching sheet disposed below the signal transfer line to meet the specific use the resulting cable since an impedance matching sheet (a shield) can be formed as one-piece sheet or two-piece sheet as taught by Murakami et al. (Figs 3 & 6). Furthermore, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure into various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
It is noted that in the modified cable of Sugiyama, the modified first and second impedance matching sheets are electrically connected to each other through the conductive bending tape; and the minimum length of the conductive bending tape is the total length of all of them summed the length of the width of the first impedance matching sheet, the length of the width of the second impedance matching sheet, and the length of the gap between the outer surface of the first impedance matching sheet and the outer surface of the second impedance matching sheet when the impedance matching sheet includes a first impedance matching sheet disposed above the signal transfer line and a second impedance matching sheet disposed below the signal transfer line.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Brorein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakurai et al. (2016/0338197).
Claim 14 additionally recites connectors placed at both ends of the signal transmission line and configured to electrically connecting the signal line to an external device, wherein the connector is connected to a main ground line to ground the impedance matching sheet. Sakurai et al. discloses a data transmission cable (200) comprising connectors (111, 121) placed at both ends of the signal transmission line and configured to electrically connecting the signal line to an external device (110, 120), wherein the connector is connected to a main ground line (not shown). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to place connectors at both ends of the signal transmission line of Sugiyama to electrically connecting the signal line to an external device, with the connector connected to a main ground line, as taught by Sakurai et al. to provide connection means for the cable. It is noted that in the modified cable of Sugiyama, the bending tape and the impedance matching tape are grounded.
Re-claim 15, Sugiyama, as modified, discloses the data transmission cable as claimed, see the above rejection with respect to claim 1. Sugiyama does not disclose the cable being used in a display apparatus which is comprised of a display unit and a driving control unit, wherein the cable is connected between a first circuit part and a second circuit part of a driving control unit to transfer a data signal. Sakurai et al. discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising a display unit ([0029]) configured to display an image; a driving control unit configured to control driving of the display unit; and a data transmission cable (200) connected between a first circuit part (110) and a second circuit part (120) of a driving control unit to transfer a data signal. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the data transmission cable of Sugiyama for connecting between a first circuit part and a second circuit part of a driving control unit to transfer a data signal, as taught by Sakurai et al., since the data transmission cable of Sugiyama has improved physical and electrical properties ([0020]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841