DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “a plurality of unit knot” should read --a plurality of unit knots--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 1, the structure of the invention is unclear; specifically the phrase “crossing of fiber strands”. Claim 1 seems to indicate that multiple strands are used, but the figures only show one strand. One of ordinary skill in the art would not know whether multiple strands, are sections of a single strand, are used to form the knot-architectured fabric actuator.
In regards to Claim 6, the limitations are unclear because the dependency is incorrect. Claim 6 depends form Claim 5, which has been canceled.
In regards to Claim 7, the phrase “the fiber strand” is unclear. Which fiber strand?
The remaining claims inherit the rejection by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected, to the degree definite, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weichelt (6257629).
In regards to Claim 1, Weichelt teaches a knot-architectured fabric actuator (capable of being used to actuator) comprising:
a plurality of unit knots, each unit knot comprising:
two knots each including a node formed at a crossing of fiber strands, and
two petals formed by portions of the fiber strands extending form both ends of each knot to define closed curves,
wherein the plurality of unit knots are connected to one another in a longitudinal direction to form a plurality of columns,
wherein, in each column, each knot of each unit knot is connected to a corresponding knot of an adjacent unit knot, and
wherein the columns are connected to one another in a transverse direction to form a two-dimensional architecture,
whereby the crossing nodes and closed-curve petals form an interlocked structure that resists sliding between the unit knots under tension.
In regards to Claim 6, Weichelt teaches a distance (d) between adjacent unit knots in the transverse direction is less than or equal to twice a width (w0) of each unit knot (see spacing in annotated figure above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weichelt in view of Harrison et al (20220211187).
In regards to Claim 7, while Weichelt essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, it fails to specifically teach the myriad materials which could be used to form the structure. Harrison, however, teaches that when dealing with similar structures, it is well known to utilize a shape memory polymer (Paragraphs 28, 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized shape memory polymer fiber in the structure of Weichelt, so as to aid in recovery once a load is removed. The ordinarily skilled artisan would understand the properties of shape memory polymer and know to utilize it as taught.
In regards to Claims 8-10, no specific structure is claimed. As such, the device of Weichelt is capable of being used as part of a generic wearable robot, as part of a generic soft gripper, and curved as a generic sleeve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732