DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed August 21, 2026 has been received and entered. Claims 116 and 134-152 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 116 and 136-152, and dihydromethysticin for the species in the reply filed on August 21, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
4. Claims 134 and 135 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
5. Claims 116 and 136-152 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 116, 136, 138, 143, 144, 149-152 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
The analysis then moves to Step 2A, Prong One, which asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claims recite dihydromethysticin where the composition contains less than 0.3% by weight of flavokawain B and A and is substantially free of compounds specified in claims 149-151. Dihydromethysticin is a naturally occurring compound. Thus, the claims do recite a product of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”.
In this case, the claims 116 and 149-152 read on dihydromethysticin itself. Thus, the claims 116 and 149-162 are drawn directly to a product of nature. Therefore, there can be no markedly distinct characteristic between the closest occurring natural counterpart and the claimed invention because they are one and the same. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, applicant’s claims are directed to a composition with a formulation as a “unit dosage” . MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) specifically states that a claim is only directed to “an intended use of a claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the ‘treatment or prophylaxis’ consideration.” Therefore, applicant’s intended use is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because “unit dosage” form can be satisfied by the judicial exception itself. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, the additional element in the claims is the combination of the dihydromethysticin with solid carriers or a liquid to form a drink, spray, elixir, or suspension. However, MPEP § 2106.05(d) states that well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not sufficient to show that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Mixing specific a compound with naturally occurring carriers does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Thus, mixing the ingredients together does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field.
In addition, applicant’s intended use of as a dosage form is not considered to amount to significantly more. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A), “Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use” is not considered to be enough to qualify as significantly more. An intended use of a claimed composition only generally links the exception to the field of use. Therefore, the additional elements are not considered to amount to significantly more. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 116, 136-138, and 149-152 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Macdonough (US 2004/0047967).
This reference teaches a beverage composition that contains dihydromethysticin and microcrystalline cellulose (see paragraph 16 and claims 1-3 and 7). The reference does not require flavokawain B or A or any of the compounds recited by applicant in claims 149-151.
8. Claim(s) 116, 136, 138, 143, 146 and 149-152 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosenbaum (US 5,585,386).
This reference teaches a cream, gel, or spray composition that contains dihydromethysticin (see claims 1, 7, 25, and 26). The reference does not require flavokawain B or A or any of the compounds recited by applicant in claims 149-151.
9. Claim(s) 116, 136, 138-140, 142 and 148-152 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gow (US 2004/0071794).
This reference teaches a composition containing kavalactones extracted from kava. The reference teaches that the composition contains dihydromethysticin and less than 3% flavokawain B and flavokawain A (see paragraphs 80-86). The reference teaches that the composition is formulated as a ingestible tablet, rapid-dissolve (buccal) tablet, capsule or wafer (see paragraphs 2, 4, and 27). The composition is not taught as containing any of the compounds recited by applicant in claims 149-151.
10. Claim(s) 116, 136, 138, 139, 141, 142, 143, 145 and 149-152 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2003/0229137).
This reference teaches a dosage form that contains dihydromethysticin. The reference teaches that the composition can be formulated as a tablet, capsule, lozenge (troche), spray, or patch (see paragraphs 9, 10, 12, 24, 28, and 29). The reference does not require flavokawain B or A or any of the compounds recited by applicant in claims 149-151.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 116, 138, 114, and 147 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gow (US 2004/0071794) OR Chen (US 2003/0229137).
As discussed above, each of Gow and Chen teach formulating dihydromethysticin for oral administration. Neither reference specifically teaches formulating the dihydromethysticin into a syrup or a gum. However, each of these formulations are well known in the art to be appropriate for formulating oral pharmaceutical compositions. Thus, an artisan would have been motivated to modify either Gow or Chen to include formulation of the dihydromethysticin into a gum or a syrup.
Double Patenting
12. Claims 116 and 136-152 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,624,943. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a composition comprising dihydromethysticin where the composition is substantially free of flavokawain B or A and any of the compounds recited by applicant in claims 149-151. The composition is formulated as a tablet, capsule, wafer, gum, nano-emulsion, cream, or gel. The claims of US ‘943 do not teach the use of microcrystalline cellulose or the other formulations claimed by applicant. However, microcrystalline cellulose and the other formulations claimed by applicant are well known in the art to be appropriate to use for oral pharmaceuticals. Thus, an artisan of ordinary skill would be motivated to modify the claims of US ‘943 to include microcrystalline cellulose and the other formulations claimed by applicant.
13. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655