DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2002/0179783 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Kunkel US 2482625 (hereinafter Kunkel).
Re. Cl. 1, Kim discloses: An apparatus (Fig. 1) for holding a plurality of objects (see Fig. 1, via 37-38), comprising: a central holding device (15, Fig. 1); and a plurality of holders (37-38, Fig. 1) separate from the central holding device (see Fig. 1-2, removably attached to 15c) and wherein the plurality of holders are simultaneously couplable to the central holding device (see Fig. 1) and wherein each holder of the plurality of holders includes: a movable clip with an aperture through which an object can be inserted and held within the aperture (see Fig. 1, within 37 and 38).
Re. Cl. 4, Kim discloses: the central holding device includes: a periphery to which the plurality of holders is couplable (see Fig. 2, where 15c are located), wherein the periphery includes a plurality of horizontally-oriented coupling apertures (15c, Fig. 2) configured to couple respective holders of the plurality of holders to the central holding device (see Fig. 1-2).
Re. Cl. 5, Kim discloses: the central holding device further includes one or more vertically-oriented apertures (see 15a, Fig. 2), wherein at least one vertically-oriented aperture of the one or more vertically-oriented apertures is configured to hold an object (27, Fig. 1) that supports the central holding device at a fixed position relative to an external instrument (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 6, Kim discloses: the movable clip of a holder includes a fastener that is operable to couple the holder to a respective horizontally-oriented coupling aperture on the periphery of the central holding device (see Fig. 1, 38b and 37b for fasteners which fit within 15c to attach the parts together as shown; the term “fastener” is understood to mean a device, substance etc. that serves to fasten; as can be seen in Fig. 1 the end of 37b, 38b which fits within 15c meets that definition).
Re. Cl. 7, Kim discloses: the central holding device is a first central holding device (see 15, Fig. 1), the apparatus further comprising a second central holding device (other 15, Fig. 1) that is directly attachable to the first central holding device (see Fig. 1, the two 15s are directly attachable together by sliding them vertically so they rest on one another), wherein each of the first and second central holding devices is configured to couple multiple holders of the plurality of holders (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 8, Kim discloses: the second central holding device includes a periphery to which holders of the plurality of holders are couplable (see Fig. 2, periphery where 15c’s are located); and wherein the second central holding device is attachable to the first central holding device (see Fig. 1, via 27) with a rotational offset relative to the first central holding device (see Fig. 1-2, using 20, the positioning of 15 can be adjusted so that there is a rotational offset between them).
Re. Cl. 9, Kim discloses: the second central holding device includes one or more vertically-oriented apertures (see Fig. 2, aperture 15a where 27 fits) that align with one or more vertically-oriented apertures of the first central holding device (see Fig. 1) when the second central holding device is attached to the first central holding device (see Fig. 1, 15s are attached indirectly via 27).
Re. Cl. 11, Kim discloses: at least one vertically-oriented aperture of the first and second central holding devices is configured to hold an object (15a, Fig. 2) in a center of the first and second central holding devices (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 1, Kim does not disclose the holder includes a tube having a first end and a second end that is opposite to the first end; a movable clip at the first end of the tube, the movable clip is movable between a retracted position and an extended position, and in the extended position the movable clip is moved axially outward from an end surface at the first end of the tube; and a spring that exerts a spring force on the movable clip, such that, in response to movement of the movable clip toward the extended position, the spring exerts a spring force that pulls the movable clip toward the retracted position. Kunkel disclose a holder (Fig. 1) including a tube (10, Fig. 1) having a first end (10b, Fig. 1) and a second end (10a, Fig. 1 that is opposite to the first end (see Fig. 1); a movable clip (15, Fig. 1) at the first end of the tube (see Fig. 1), the movable clip having an aperture (15a, Fig. 2) through which an object can be inserted and held within the aperture (see Fig. 3, object 17), the movable clip is movable between a retracted position and an extended position (see Fig. 1 and 3), and in the extended position the movable clip is moved axially outward from an end surface (13, Fig. 1-3) at the first end of the tube (see Fig. 1-2, when 15 is extended to the right, the clip 15 is moved axially outward from end surface 13); and a spring (18, Fig. 3) that exerts a spring force on the movable clip (see Fig. 1-3), such that, in response to movement of the movable clip toward the extended position (Fig. 2), the spring exerts a spring force that pulls the movable clip toward the retracted position (see Fig. 1-2, as shown, when 15 is pushed to the right as shown in the progression from Fig. 1 to Fig. 2, the spring 18 would provide an opposite “pull” force on 15 so that it is moved back towards the retracted configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the holder of Kim with the holder of Kunkel with reasonable expectation of success since Kunkel states that such a modification is simple, economical and easy to apply which also more resistant to splitting or breaking during use and may not be easily inadvertently dismantled (Col. 1, Line 4-13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Barnes US 2429305, Finger US 3632147, Heibel US 4661891, Ibbitson US 6585207, Lo US 5549408, and Tsai US 7097146 disclose other known holding devices presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632