DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Liu [US 2024/0088966].
As claims 1 and 19, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving configuration information for a first signal [Ref 2B, S110 discloses the RE receives a configuration for the first signal]; performing a radio resource management (RRM) measurement based on the first signal in a case that a reference signal received power or a reference signal received quality of the first signal is determined to satisfy a first condition based on the configuration information [Par. 0057, 0098 discloses if the measured of the first signal such as RSRP, RSRP satisfied with the condition of configuration information, then perform RRM measurement with the first signal]; and performing the RRM measurement based on a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) in a case that the reference signal received power or the reference signal received quality of the first signal is determined not to satisfy the first condition based on the configuration information [Par. 0058, 0132 discloses if the condition is not satisfied then performing RRM measurement of SSB].
As claims 18 and 20, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information for a first signal [Ref 2B, S110 discloses the RE receives a configuration for the first signal], wherein the configuration information is used to determine whether a reference signal received power or a reference signal received quality of the first signal satisfies a first condition for performing a radio resource management (RRM) measurement based on the first signal [Par. 0057, 0098 discloses if the measured of the first signal such as RSRP, RSRP satisfied with the condition of configuration information, then perform RRM measurement with the first signal]; and receiving a result of the RRM measurement from the UE [Par. 0059-0060].
As claim 2, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses performing the RRM measurement based on the SSB in a case that a second condition is determined to be satisfied [Par. 0058, 0076-0078, 0132].
As claim 3, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses performing the RRM measurement based on the first signal in a case that the second condition is determined not to be satisfied [Par. 0057, 0098].
As claim 4, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses the first condition comprises at least one of: [Par. 0086 discloses measured signal greater than threshold], the reference signal received quality of the first signal being greater than or equal to a fifth threshold value [Par. 0086 discloses measured signal greater than threshold], the cell selection RX level value calculated based on the reference signal received power of the first signal being greater than or equal to a sixth threshold value [Par. 0060 discloses reselection measured signal is greater than threshold], a cell selection quality value calculated based on the reference signal received quality of the first signal being greater than or equal to a seventh threshold value [Par. 0060 discloses reselection measured signal is greater than threshold],
As claim 5, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses the second condition comprises at least one of: [Not consideration because at least one], a cell selection quality value calculated based on the reference signal received quality of the first signal being greater than or equal to a twenty-third threshold value [Par. 0086 discloses measured signal greater than threshold], and the UE not monitoring the first signal [Not consideration because at least one].
As claim 6, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses determining whether to perform cell selection or cell reselection according to the reference signal received power or the reference signal received quality of the first signal or the SSB and one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold], wherein determining whether to perform cell selection or cell reselection comprises at least one of: in a case that the reference signal received power of the first signal is less than or equal to a first threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values or the reference signal received quality is less than or equal to a second threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values, or a cell selection RX level value calculated based on the reference signal received power of the first signal is less than or equal to the first threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold] or a cell selection quality value calculated based on the reference signal received quality of the first signal is less than or equal to the second threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold], performing the cell selection or cell reselection; in a case that the reference signal received power of the first signal being greater than or equal to a third threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold] or the reference signal received quality of the first signal being greater than or equal to a fourth threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold], or the cell selection RX level value calculated based on the reference signal received power of the first signal being greater than or equal to the third threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold] or the cell selection quality value calculated based on the reference signal received quality of the first signal being greater than or equal to the fourth threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold], camping, by the UE, on a current cell [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold]; [Not consideration because at least one]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu [US 2024/0088966] in view of Mattin [US 2024/0397422].
As claim 7, Liu [US 2024/0088966] fails to fully disclose what Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses the first signal is used to indicate whether to monitor a corresponding paging occasion (PO) [Par. 0003 the first signal which indicates the UE need to monitor PO].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the first signal is used to indicate whether to monitor a corresponding paging occasion (PO) as disclosed by Mattin [US 2024/0397422] into the teaching of Liu [US 2024/0088966]. The motivation would have been to improve the consumption of power.
As claim 8, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses monitoring the first signal, wherein monitoring the first signal comprises at least one of: monitoring the first signal within a predefined or preconfigured time unit before a start point of a number of POs or a predefined or preconfigured duration, monitoring the first signal within a predefined or preconfigured time unit before a start point of each PO [Fig 3 discloses monitoring WUA before starting point of POs].
As claim 9, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses monitoring the first signal within a predefined or preconfigured time unit before a start point of each PO comprises: when the UE detects the first signal, waking up to monitor a number of subsequent POs, or until a UE-specific paging message is received [Fig 3 discloses UE monitoring WUS and wakeup when receives it to monitoring POs].
As claim 10, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses when the UE monitors the number of subsequent POs, not monitoring the first signal associated with the PO [Fig 3, monitoring PDCCH at MO and not monitoring WUS at MO].
As claim 11, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses if the UE is unable to monitor the first signal, monitoring, by the UE, each or associated paging occasion (PO) [Fig 3, the UE monitors PDCCH at MO, after not monitoring WUS].
As claim 12, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses an end point where each or associated paging occasion (PO) is monitored comprises a start of a next first signal or an end point of a paging time window [Fig 4].
As claim 13, Liu [US 2024/0088966] fails to fully disclose what Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses the configuration information further comprises at least one of: a frequency domain position of the first signal [Par. 0192 discloses frequency location of the WUS], [Not consideration because at least one].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the configuration information further comprises at least one of: a frequency domain position of the first signal as disclosed by Mattin [US 2024/0397422] into the teaching of Liu [US 2024/0088966]. The motivation would have been to improve the consumption of power.
As claim 14, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses the frequency domain position of the first signal comprises at least one of: being the same as a frequency domain position where a corresponding PO is located [Par. 0192], being configured in a CORESET0, being configured in an initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) for paging in the initial downlink BWP [Par. 0092], and being configured in a downlink BWP other than the initial downlink BWP for paging in the downlink BWP other than the initial downlink BWP [Par. 0092].
As claim 15, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses[Not consideration because at least one of claim 13].
As claim 16, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses [Not consideration because at least one of claim 13].
As claim 17, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses [Not consideration because at least one of claim 13].
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattin [US 2024/0397422] in view of Liu [US 2024/0088966].
As claims 1 and 19, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving configuration information for a first signal [Par. 0003-0004]. However, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] fails to disclose what Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: performing a radio resource management (RRM) measurement based on the first signal in a case that a reference signal received power or a reference signal received quality of the first signal is determined to satisfy a first condition based on the configuration information [Par. 0057, 0098 discloses if the measured of the first signal such as RSRP, RSRP satisfied with the condition of configuration information, then perform RRM measurement with the first signal]; and performing the RRM measurement based on a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) in a case that the reference signal received power or the reference signal received quality of the first signal is determined not to satisfy the first condition based on the configuration information [Par. 0058, 0132 discloses if the condition is not satisfied then performing RRM measurement of SSB].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by Mattin [US 2024/0397422] into the teaching of Liu [US 2024/0088966]. The motivation would have been to improve the consumption of power.
As claims 18 and 20, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving configuration information for a first signal [Par. 0003-0004]. However, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] fails to disclose what Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses the configuration information is used to determine whether a reference signal received power or a reference signal received quality of the first signal satisfies a first condition for performing a radio resource management (RRM) measurement based on the first signal [Par. 0057, 0098 discloses if the measured of the first signal such as RSRP, RSRP satisfied with the condition of configuration information, then perform RRM measurement with the first signal]; and receiving a result of the RRM measurement from the UE [Par. 0059-0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by Mattin [US 2024/0397422] into the teaching of Liu [US 2024/0088966]. The motivation would have been to improve the consumption of power.
As claim 2, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses performing the RRM measurement based on the SSB in a case that a second condition is determined to be satisfied [Par. 0058, 0076-0078, 0132].
As claim 3, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses performing the RRM measurement based on the first signal in a case that the second condition is determined not to be satisfied [Par. 0057, 0098].
As claim 4, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses the first condition comprises at least one of: [Par. 0086 discloses measured signal greater than threshold], the reference signal received quality of the first signal being greater than or equal to a fifth threshold value [Par. 0086 discloses measured signal greater than threshold], the cell selection RX level value calculated based on the reference signal received power of the first signal being greater than or equal to a sixth threshold value [Par. 0060 discloses reselection measured signal is greater than threshold], a cell selection quality value calculated based on the reference signal received quality of the first signal being greater than or equal to a seventh threshold value [Par. 0060 discloses reselection measured signal is greater than threshold],
As claim 5, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses the second condition comprises at least one of: [Not consideration because at least one], a cell selection quality value calculated based on the reference signal received quality of the first signal being greater than or equal to a twenty-third threshold value [Par. 0086 discloses measured signal greater than threshold], and the UE not monitoring the first signal [Not consideration because at least one].
As claim 6, Liu [US 2024/0088966] discloses determining whether to perform cell selection or cell reselection according to the reference signal received power or the reference signal received quality of the first signal or the SSB and one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold], wherein determining whether to perform cell selection or cell reselection comprises at least one of: in a case that the reference signal received power of the first signal is less than or equal to a first threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values or the reference signal received quality is less than or equal to a second threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values, or a cell selection RX level value calculated based on the reference signal received power of the first signal is less than or equal to the first threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold] or a cell selection quality value calculated based on the reference signal received quality of the first signal is less than or equal to the second threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold], performing the cell selection or cell reselection; in a case that the reference signal received power of the first signal being greater than or equal to a third threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold] or the reference signal received quality of the first signal being greater than or equal to a fourth threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold], or the cell selection RX level value calculated based on the reference signal received power of the first signal being greater than or equal to the third threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold] or the cell selection quality value calculated based on the reference signal received quality of the first signal being greater than or equal to the fourth threshold value of the one or more predefined or preconfigured threshold values [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold], camping, by the UE, on a current cell [Par. 0060 the UE instructs to reselection/Hangover new cell based the measured signal with threshold]; [Not consideration because at least one]
As claim 7, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses the first signal is used to indicate whether to monitor a corresponding paging occasion (PO) [Par. 0003 the first signal which indicates the UE need to monitor PO].
As claim 8, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses monitoring the first signal, wherein monitoring the first signal comprises at least one of: monitoring the first signal within a predefined or preconfigured time unit before a start point of a number of POs or a predefined or preconfigured duration, monitoring the first signal within a predefined or preconfigured time unit before a start point of each PO [Fig 3 discloses monitoring WUS before starting point of POs].
As claim 9, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses monitoring the first signal within a predefined or preconfigured time unit before a start point of each PO comprises: when the UE detects the first signal, waking up to monitor a number of subsequent POs, or until a UE-specific paging message is received [Fig 3 discloses UE monitoring WUS and wakeup when receives it to monitoring POs].
As claim 10, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses when the UE monitors the number of subsequent POs, not monitoring the first signal associated with the PO [Fig 3, monitoring PDCCH at MO and not monitoring WUS at MO].
As claim 11, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses if the UE is unable to monitor the first signal, monitoring, by the UE, each or associated paging occasion (PO) [Fig 3, the UE monitors PDCCH at MO, after not monitoring WUS].
As claim 12, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses an end point where each or associated paging occasion (PO) is monitored comprises a start of a next first signal or an end point of a paging time window [Fig 4].
As claim 13, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses the configuration information further comprises at least one of: a frequency domain position of the first signal [Par. 0192 discloses frequency location of the WUS], [Not consideration because at least one].
As claim 14, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses the frequency domain position of the first signal comprises at least one of: being the same as a frequency domain position where a corresponding PO is located [Par. 0192], being configured in a CORESET0, being configured in an initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) for paging in the initial downlink BWP [Par. 0092], and being configured in a downlink BWP other than the initial downlink BWP for paging in the downlink BWP other than the initial downlink BWP [Par. 0092].
As claim 15, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses[Not consideration because at least one of claim 13].
As claim 16, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses [Not consideration because at least one of claim 13].
As claim 17, Mattin [US 2024/0397422] discloses [Not consideration because at least one of claim 13].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
He [US 20250374190[] discloses method of wireless communication at a UE includes performing one or more RRM measurements on a LP-RS of at least one cell. The method further includes selecting a cell on which to camp based on the one or more RRM measurements performed on the LP-RS.
He [US 20240373303] discloses Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communication are described. A user equipment (UE) may receive an indication via a first radio at the UE. The indication may indicate one or more resources for reception of low-power synchronization signals (LP-SSs). The LP-SSs may be associated with a second radio of the UE. The second radio of the UE may be associated with lower power consumption than the first radio at the UE. The UE may receive one or more LP-SSs via the second radio over the one or more resources and in accordance with an idle mode of the UE. The UE may perform a cell reselection in accordance with receiving the one or more LP-SSs while in the idle mode. The UE may associate with one or more network entities in accordance with the cell reselection.
Lin [US 20180368034] discloses apparatus and methods are provided for RRM measurement in the NR network. In one novel aspect, the RRM measurement is configured with one measurement gap for SS block and CSI-RS. In one embodiment, an extended MGL (eMGL) is configured such that the SS block and CSI-RS is measurement within one measurement gap. In another embodiment, the shorter MGL (sMGL) that is shorter than the standard MGL is configured. In another novel aspect, the CSI-RS is allocated adjacent to the SS blocks such that one measurement gap is configured for both the SS block and CSI-RS measurement. In another novel aspect, the CSI-RS measurement is conditionally configured. In yet another novel aspect, the UE decodes the time index of the SS block conditionally.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414