DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 8/1/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are independent claims.
This application claims benefit of Priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) from Indian Patent Application No. IN202341051783, filed on 8/1/2023, Indian Patent Application No. IN202341052066, filed on 8/2/2023, and Indian Patent Application No. IN202341051783, filed on 7/19/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TS 23.501 V18.1.0; CR 4670 R3 “MBSR registration and authorization support”; S2-2308167 (published on 5/26/2023) (hereafter 3GPP-ref)
As for independent claim 1 A method of a network entity for handling a mobile base station relay (MBSR), the method comprising:
identifying that an MBSR authorization state changes to not authorized;
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
NOTE 2: How the MBSR obtains the configuration information for MBSR operation is described in clause 5.35A.2.
If the MBSR operation is not authorized (e.g. due to location or time limitation), the AMF of the MBSR can indicate to the MBSR IAB-UE that it is not allowed to act as an MBSR, i.e. the MBSR authorization indication (not authorized), as part of registration procedure. In this case, the AMF includes the MBSR authorization indication (not authorized) to donor-gNB. The AMF may provide the indication either in a Registration Accept (if the PLMN allows the MBSR IAB-UE to be registered in the PLMM) or in a Registration Reject (if the PLMN does not allow the MBSR IAB-UE to be registered in the PLMN) message. The MBSR provides the authorization indication (not authorized) to its AS layer. The AMF may provide additional information to the MBSR regarding the authorization indication (not authorized) to assist the MBSR behavior control.”)
transmitting, to a base station (donor-gNB), a first message including an authorization indication indicating that the MBSR authorization state is not authorized;
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
NOTE 2: How the MBSR obtains the configuration information for MBSR operation is described in clause 5.35A.2.
If the MBSR operation is not authorized (e.g. due to location or time limitation), the AMF of the MBSR can indicate to the MBSR IAB-UE that it is not allowed to act as an MBSR, i.e. the MBSR authorization indication (not authorized), as part of registration procedure. In this case, the AMF includes the MBSR authorization indication (not authorized) to donor-gNB. The AMF may provide the indication either in a Registration Accept (if the PLMN allows the MBSR IAB-UE to be registered in the PLMM) or in a Registration Reject (if the PLMN does not allow the MBSR IAB-UE to be registered in the PLMN) message. The MBSR provides the authorization indication (not authorized) to its AS layer. The AMF may provide additional information to the MBSR regarding the authorization indication (not authorized) to assist the MBSR behavior control.”)
receiving, from the base station (IAB-donor gNB), a second message including a first indication indicating that an operation for a non-authorized MBSR has completed (AMF delays the MBSR de-registration);
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
If a PDU session is used to provide OAM access for MBSR when it is not authorized but remains registered, the AMF may notify the SMF serving the PDU session for O&M access to trigger the release of the PDU Session.
NOTE 3: The AMF delays the MBSR de-registration to allow the IAB-donor gNB to move all connected UEs via MBSR to other cells as specified in clause 8.9.10 of TS 38.401 [42].”
AMF delays the MBSR de-registration to ensure the gNB handover all the connected UEs to another cell or gNB. A person with ordinary skill in the art will understand the AMF delays can be a timer or a response the movement of all connected UEs have been completed as defined by 3GPP Handover Complete procedure.)
and performing a de-registration procedure with the MBSR in response to receiving the first indication.
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
If a PDU session is used to provide OAM access for MBSR when it is not authorized but remains registered, the AMF may notify the SMF serving the PDU session for O&M access to trigger the release of the PDU Session.
NOTE 3: The AMF delays the MBSR de-registration to allow the IAB-donor gNB to move all connected UEs via MBSR to other cells as specified in clause 8.9.10 of TS 38.401 [42].”
AMF delays the MBSR de-registration to ensure the gNB handover all the connected to another cell or gNB. A person with ordinary skill in the art will understand the delays can be a timer or a response the movement has been completed as defined by 3GPP Handover Complete procedure.)
As for claim 2, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. The method of claim 1,
wherein the operation for the non-authorized MBSR has completed includes a handover operation of at least one UE related to the MBSR (IAB-donor gNB to move all connected UEs via MBSR to other cells).
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
If a PDU session is used to provide OAM access for MBSR when it is not authorized but remains registered, the AMF may notify the SMF serving the PDU session for O&M access to trigger the release of the PDU Session.
NOTE 3: The AMF delays the MBSR de-registration to allow the IAB-donor gNB to move all connected UEs via MBSR to other cells as specified in clause 8.9.10 of TS 38.401 [42].”)
As for claim 3, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. The method of claim 1,
wherein the network entity is an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity.
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
If a PDU session is used to provide OAM access for MBSR when it is not authorized but remains registered, the AMF may notify the SMF serving the PDU session for O&M access to trigger the release of the PDU Session.
NOTE 3: The AMF delays the MBSR de-registration to allow the IAB-donor gNB to move all connected UEs via MBSR to other cells as specified in clause 8.9.10 of TS 38.401 [42].”)
As for claim 4, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. The method of claim 1,
wherein the first message includes a user equipment (UE) context modification message, and wherein the second message includes a next-generation application protocol (NGAP) UE context release request message (handling of the UE served by MBSR).
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“Reason for change:
Clause 5.35A introduced the MBSR support. However, they are still open issues regarding the MBSR registration procedure and the authorization of the MBSR operations.
This CR proposes to resolve the open issues following the below principles:
AMF provides authorization result indication at NAS layer to MBSR (positive or negative result);
Authorization result is based on subscription and operator (H/V-PLMN) decision;
When authorization status needs update, the AMF can use either Deregistration (with re-registration), or UCU procedure to update MBSR;
AMF provides MBSR authorization status to NG-RAN via N2/NGAP, using either UE Context Modification or Initial Context Setup procedure;”
When the authorization status is changing from positive to negative, the AMF may send NAS signalling (Deregistration, or UCU) to MBSR at a configured time after sending the N2/NGAP message to NG-RAN, to allow proper handling of the UE served by MBSR;
AMF may provide additional information (e.g. cause code or assistance information) when the authorization status is negative, to assist regulating MBSR behaviour;
MBSR provides the authorization status information received from AMF to AS layer.”
As previously mentioned, handling of the UE served by MBSR is to move the UE to another serving cell or gNB.)
As for claim 5, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. The method of claim 1,
wherein the MBSR is configured for using one or more emergency services.
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.1] discloses
“5.35A.1 General
The MBSR uses the IAB architecture as defined in clause 5.35, and operates as an IAB node (with an IAB-UE and gNB-DU) with mobility when integrated with the serving PLMN. The architecture described in clause 5.35 applies unless specific handling is specified in clause 5.35A. Additionally, the following limitations apply to the MBSR:
- the MBSR has a single hop to the IAB-donor node;
- NR Uu is used for the radio link between a MBSR and served UEs, and between MBSR and IAB-donor node.
Regulatory requirements (e.g. emergency services, priority services) are supported when UEs access 5GS via a MBSR. LCS framework as defined in TS 23.273 [87] is used for providing the location service to the served UEs, with additional enhancements described in clause 5.35A.5.”)
As for independent claim 6, claim 6 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same.
As for claim 7, limitation of parent claim 6 have been discussed above. Claim 7 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 2 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 8, limitation of parent claim 6 have been discussed above. Claim 8 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 3 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 9, limitation of parent claim 6 have been discussed above. Claim 9 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 4 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 10, limitation of parent claim 6 have been discussed above. Claim 10 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 5 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claim 11. A method of a base station for handling a mobile base station relay (MBSR), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network entity (AMF), a first message including an authorization indication that an MBSR authorization state changes to not authorized (authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized);
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
The AMF informs the NG-RAN of the new authorization status using UE Context Modification, Initial Context Setup procedure or the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message, with the following principles:
- If the authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized and AMF uses the UE Configuration Updated procedure to update the MBSR, the AMF updates the NG-RAN with the new authorization indication (not authorized) by including this information in the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message. The NG-RAN completes handover of the UEs served by the MBSR before releasing the F1 connection to the MBSR IAB-DU.
- If the authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized and the AMF uses the Deregistration procedure to update the MBSR, the AMF sends the UE Context Modification message to NG-RAN before triggering the deregistration towards MBSR after a certain period (e.g. based on the expiration of a timer configured on the AMF).”)
performing an operation for a non-authorized MBSR based on the authorization indication (The NG-RAN completes handover of the UEs served by the MBSR before releasing the F1 connection to the MBSR IAB-DU);
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
The AMF informs the NG-RAN of the new authorization status using UE Context Modification, Initial Context Setup procedure or the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message, with the following principles:
- If the authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized and AMF uses the UE Configuration Updated procedure to update the MBSR, the AMF updates the NG-RAN with the new authorization indication (not authorized) by including this information in the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message. The NG-RAN completes handover of the UEs served by the MBSR before releasing the F1 connection to the MBSR IAB-DU.
- If the authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized and the AMF uses the Deregistration procedure to update the MBSR, the AMF sends the UE Context Modification message to NG-RAN before triggering the deregistration towards MBSR after a certain period (e.g. based on the expiration of a timer configured on the AMF).”)
and transmitting, to the network entity (AMF), a second message including a first indication indicating that the operation for the non-authorized MBSR has completed (Deregistration procedure to update the MBSR).
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
The AMF informs the NG-RAN of the new authorization status using UE Context Modification, Initial Context Setup procedure or the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message, with the following principles:
- If the authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized and AMF uses the UE Configuration Updated procedure to update the MBSR, the AMF updates the NG-RAN with the new authorization indication (not authorized) by including this information in the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message. The NG-RAN completes handover of the UEs served by the MBSR before releasing the F1 connection to the MBSR IAB-DU.
- If the authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized and the AMF uses the Deregistration procedure to update the MBSR, the AMF sends the UE Context Modification message to NG-RAN before triggering the deregistration towards MBSR after a certain period (e.g. based on the expiration of a timer configured on the AMF).”)
As for claim 12, limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. The method of claim 11,
wherein the operation for the non-authorized MBSR has completed includes a handover operation of at least one UE related to the MBSR.
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
The AMF informs the NG-RAN of the new authorization status using UE Context Modification, Initial Context Setup procedure or the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message, with the following principles:
- If the authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized and AMF uses the UE Configuration Updated procedure to update the MBSR, the AMF updates the NG-RAN with the new authorization indication (not authorized) by including this information in the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message. The NG-RAN completes handover of the UEs served by the MBSR before releasing the F1 connection to the MBSR IAB-DU.
- If the authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized and the AMF uses the Deregistration procedure to update the MBSR, the AMF sends the UE Context Modification message to NG-RAN before triggering the deregistration towards MBSR after a certain period (e.g. based on the expiration of a timer configured on the AMF).”)
As for claim 13, limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. The method of claim 11,
wherein the network entity is an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity.
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.4] discloses
“5.35A.4 MBSR authorization
The AMF informs the NG-RAN of the new authorization status using UE Context Modification, Initial Context Setup procedure or the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message, with the following principles:
- If the authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized and AMF uses the UE Configuration Updated procedure to update the MBSR, the AMF updates the NG-RAN with the new authorization indication (not authorized) by including this information in the DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message. The NG-RAN completes handover of the UEs served by the MBSR before releasing the F1 connection to the MBSR IAB-DU.
- If the authorization state changes from authorized to not authorized and the AMF uses the Deregistration procedure to update the MBSR, the AMF sends the UE Context Modification message to NG-RAN before triggering the deregistration towards MBSR after a certain period (e.g. based on the expiration of a timer configured on the AMF).”)
As for claim 14, limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. The method of claim 11,
wherein the first message includes a user equipment (UE) context modification message, and wherein the second message includes a next-generation application protocol (NGAP) UE context release request message.
(3GPP-ref [Reason for change] discloses
“Reason for change:
Clause 5.35A introduced the MBSR support. However, they are still open issues regarding the MBSR registration procedure and the authorization of the MBSR operations.
This CR proposes to resolve the open issues following the below principles:
AMF provides authorization result indication at NAS layer to MBSR (positive or negative result);
Authorization result is based on subscription and operator (H/V-PLMN) decision;
When authorization status needs update, the AMF can use either Deregistration (with re-registration), or UCU procedure to update MBSR;
AMF provides MBSR authorization status to NG-RAN via N2/NGAP, using either UE Context Modification or Initial Context Setup procedure;”
When the authorization status is changing from positive to negative, the AMF may send NAS signalling (Deregistration, or UCU) to MBSR at a configured time after sending the N2/NGAP message to NG-RAN, to allow proper handling of the UE served by MBSR;
AMF may provide additional information (e.g. cause code or assistance information) when the authorization status is negative, to assist regulating MBSR behaviour;
MBSR provides the authorization status information received from AMF to AS layer.”)
As for claim 15, limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. The method of claim 11,
wherein the MBSR is configured for using one or more emergency services.
(3GPP-ref [Section 5.35A.1] discloses
“5.35A.1 General
The MBSR uses the IAB architecture as defined in clause 5.35, and operates as an IAB node (with an IAB-UE and gNB-DU) with mobility when integrated with the serving PLMN. The architecture described in clause 5.35 applies unless specific handling is specified in clause 5.35A. Additionally, the following limitations apply to the MBSR:
- the MBSR has a single hop to the IAB-donor node;
- NR Uu is used for the radio link between a MBSR and served UEs, and between MBSR and IAB-donor node.
Regulatory requirements (e.g. emergency services, priority services) are supported when UEs access 5GS via a MBSR. LCS framework as defined in TS 23.273 [87] is used for providing the location service to the served UEs, with additional enhancements described in clause 5.35A.5.”)
As for independent claim 16, claim 16 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 11 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 17, limitation of parent claim 16 have been discussed above. Claim 17 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 12 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 18, limitation of parent claim 16 have been discussed above. Claim 18 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 13 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 19, limitation of parent claim 16 have been discussed above. Claim 19 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 14 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 20, limitation of parent claim 16 have been discussed above. Claim 20 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 15 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH KHANH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646