DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 5, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The specification does not provide clear evidence that the claimed biological material is known and readily available to the public; reproducible; and deposited per the deposit rules under 37 C.F.R 1.801 - 1.809.
Every patent must contain a written description of the invention sufficient to enable a person skilled in the art to which the invention pertains to make and use the invention. Where the invention involves a biological material and words alone cannot sufficiently describe how to make and use the invention in a reproducible manner, access to the biological material may be necessary for the satisfaction of the statutory requirements for patentability under 35 U.S.C. 112. Courts have recognized the necessity and desirability of permitting an applicant for a patent to supplement the written disclosure in an application with a deposit of biological material which is essential to meet some requirement of the statute with respect to the claimed invention. See, e.g., Ajinomoto Co. v. Archer-Daniels-Midland Co., 228 F.3d 1338, 1345-46, 56 USPQ2d 1332, 1337-38 (Fed. Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 121 S.Ct. 1957 (2001) (explaining how deposit may help satisfy enablement requirement); Merck and Co., Inc. v. Chase Chemical Co., 273 F. Supp. 68, 155 USPQ 139 (D. N.J. 1967); In re Argoudelis, 434 F.2d 666, 168 USPQ 99 (CCPA 1970). To facilitate the recognition of deposited biological material in patent applications throughout the world, the Budapest Treaty on the International Recognition of the Deposit of Microorganisms for the Purposes of Patent Procedure was established in 1977, and became operational in 1981. The Treaty requires signatory countries, like the United States, to recognize a deposit with any depository which has been approved by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).
The deposit rules (37 CFR 1.801 - 1.809) set forth examining procedures and conditions of deposit which must be satisfied in the event a deposit is required. The rules do not address the substantive issue of whether a deposit is required under any particular set of facts. (MPEP 2402).
Since the microorganism Lactobacillus fermentum is recited in the claims, it is essential to the invention recited in those claims. It must therefore be obtainable by a repeatable method set forth in the specification or otherwise be readily available to the public. If the microorganism is not so obtainable or available, a deposit of the microorganism may satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112. The specification does not disclose a repeatable process to obtain the microorganism and it is not apparent if the microorganism is readily available to the public. Moreover, because no taxonomic information appears in the specification, it is not clear what the microorganism actually is.
However, since a deposit has been made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, then an affidavit or declaration by Applicants, someone associated with the patent owner who is in a position to make such assurances, or a statement by an attorney of record over his/her signature and registration number, stating that the specific strain has been deposited under the Budapest Treaty and that all restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public of the deposited material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent, would satisfy the deposit requirements. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.808.
Claims 1and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is drawn to a nucleotide, however is indefinite because it is unclear if the claim is drawn to a single nucleotide or a nucleotide sequence. Clarification is required.
Claim 1 is further indefinite for failing to recite a transitional phrase, as it is unclear whether the sequence is open or closed ended. Applicant may overcome this rejection by reciting “comprising,” “consisting essentially of,” or “consisting.” For purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as “comprising” and open ended.
Claim 2 is drawn to a composition comprising a bacteria or nucleotide fragment, however is rendered indefinite for reciting “its nucleotide fragments thereof” as it is unclear what the nucleotide fragment is of since a bacteria is not a nucleic acid. Applicant may overcome this rejection by replacing the phrase with “nucleotide fragments derived therefrom.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to products of nature without significantly more.
Step 1: Yes, claim 1 is drawn to a nucleotide while claim 2 is drawn to a composition comprising a Lactobacillus fermentum or a nucleotide fragment therefrom, which are compositions of matter.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Yes, the claims recite a nucleotide fragment and a Lactobacillus fermentum isolated from human gastrointestinal tract (2006/0083723, 0021), which are both products of nature (MPEP 2106.04(b)I.i).
Step 2A, Prong 2: No, the claims do not recite any additional elements. As such, the claims do not integrate the products of nature into a practical application. Although the claims recite that the bacteria and nucleotide fragments have immunity regulating effects, these are interpreted as qualities of the bacteria and nucleotide sequences which are natural phenomena (MPEP 2106.04(b)I.vii).
Step 2B: No, the claims do not recite any additional elements. As such, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ching-Hsiang et al. (US 2006/0083726).
Regarding claims 1 – 2, Ching-Hsiang teaches compositions comprising Lactobacillus fermentum GM 090, deposited as CCTCC M 204055 (abstract, 0020, claims). Although the reference does not teach the composition comprises nucleotide fragments comprising SEQ ID NO: 7, the reference teaches compositions comprising the same bacteria which inherently comprise the claimed nucleotide fragments therefrom.
Therefore, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claims 1 – 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Dijkhuizen et al. (US 10808271).
Regarding claims 1 – 2, Dijkhuizen teaches compositions comprising a nucleotide comprising SEQ ID NO: 7 which is obtained from Lactobacillus fermentum (col.10, line 40 – col.11 line 23) (100% match with SEQ ID NO: 2, per search results).
Since the claims are interpreted as “comprising” and open ended with respect to the nucleotide fragments, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699