DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on August 01, 2024
Claims 1-12 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/28/2025 and 03/04/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiong et al (USP: 2019/0306923 A1).
As per Claim 1 Xiong teaches a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: storing reservation signal information, wherein the reservation signal information is associated with one or more priorities of data (Paragraph 0438, 0439, 0444, 0459 the UE may reserve resource for pre-defined or configured amount of time until resource re-selection trigger happens, transmitting reservation signal before actual channel access in the next small scale transmission opportunity. This option follows the principles of OFDM multiple access where inter-carrier and inter-symbol interference is not raised due to CP insertion.. The decreasing factor may be also a function of associated priority of the transmission. It continues transmission of the reservation signal until the next small-scale channel access occasion where it switches to the transmission of useful signals such as AGC, control, data. This option may not be friendly to FDM of multiple sub-channels when the channel access granularity is smaller than one OFDM symbols that may lead to inter-carrier and inter-symbol interference. );
determining, based on the reservation signal information and a priority of data to be transmitted by the WTRU, a duration of a reservation signal (Paragraph 0438, 0439 transmitting reservation signal before actual channel access in the next small scale transmission opportunity. The PUCCH duration decided by the finally chosen starting and ending symbols. Furthermore, the number of PRBs for the UCI on PUCCH can be determined in accordance with the selected duration for PUCCH transmission.This option follows the principles of OFDM multiple access where inter-carrier and inter-symbol interference is not raised due to CP insertion. A UE may gain channel access on time instance not aligned with neither OFDM symbol boundary nor small scale channel access boundary. In order to preserve reasonable receiving complexity, the transmitting UE may start transmission with a reservation signal which does not carry any control/data information. It continues transmission of the reservation signal until the next small-scale channel access occasion where it switches to the transmission of useful signals such as AGC, control, data ); and
transmitting the reservation signal at a starting position based on the determined duration of the reservation signal (Paragraph 0438, 0459, 0521 the starting position of the grant-free UL transmission can be selected from the set {34, 43, 52, 61 μs and start of OS #1}, UE may start transmission with a reservation signal while for grant-free UL transmissions performed outside the MCOT acquired by gNB, the starting position can be selected from the set {16, 25, 34, 43, 52, 61 μs and start of OS #1}. A UE may send a sidelink control information in PSCCH with an indication of reserved resources respecting a pre-defined gap between reservation signal transmission and other transmissions in the reserved resources. In some aspects, the gap duration may be derived from the processing time).
As per Claim 2 Xiong teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving configuration information associated with one or more channel access times, wherein the determination of the duration of the reservation signal is further based on the one or more channel access times (Paragraph 0300, 0438 UE may gain channel access on time instance not aligned with neither OFDM symbol boundary nor small scale channel access boundary. In order to preserve reasonable receiving complexity, the transmitting UE may start transmission with a reservation signal ).
As per Claim 3 Xiong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the data to be transmitted by the WTRU comprises a media access control (MAC) packet data unit (PDU) (Paragraph 0166, 0171, 0173 comprise a medium access control (MAC) MAC SDUs to one or more logical channels from transport blocks (TB) delivered from the PHY via transport channels, multiplexing MAC SDUs onto TBs, perform in-sequence delivery of upper layer PDUs at re-establishment of lower layers, perform reordering and eliminate duplicates of lower layer SDUs, execute PDCP PDU routing for the case of split bearersscheduling information reporting, error correction through hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), and logical channel prioritization. ).
As per Claim 4 Xiong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the reservation signal information is associated with a latency of data (Paragraph 0065, 0250 0300 the shortest time scale may be defined with respect to NR slot duration in given numerology configured by parameter, NR V2X can be configured to support shorter minimum transmission durations than 1 ms LTE V2X in order to facilitate lower latency communications, robustness in high-speed channel conditions, reduced sensitivity to the half-duplex problem and in-band emissions, etc FIG. 40 illustrates a dropping rule when PUCCH for ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) overlaps with NOMA-based PUSCH for enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), in accordance with some aspects. ).
As per Claim 5 Xiong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the duration of the reservation signal is further based on a latency of the data to be transmitted by the WTRU (Paragraph 0383, 0405 the packet size in bits may be fixed, correlated in time or random variable bounded within some range. In addition, V2X packets/traffic can be characterized by the higher layer attributes such as latency and priority (e.g., ProSe Per Packet Priority—PPPP), reliability (e.g., ProSe Per Packet Reliability), and/or QoS. The following UE behavior can be proposed in one embodiment: (a) a UE is configured with large scale sidelink sensing window, which parameters can be a function of the packet latency budget (L), transmission priority (P) and reliability (R) levels (e.g., sidelink sensing window duration, configuration of control channel resources).
As per Claim 6 Xiong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the duration of the reservation signal is further based on a quality of service (QOS) of the data to be transmitted by the WTRU (Paragraph 0383 V2X packets/traffic can be characterized by the higher layer attributes such as latency and priority (e.g., ProSe Per Packet Priority—PPPP), reliability (e.g., ProSe Per Packet Reliability), and/or QoS. ).
Claims 7-12 are wireless transmit/receive claims corresponding to the method claims 1 – 6 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1 – 6. Claims 7-12 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-6.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See form 892).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached on (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463