DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung US 20070231193 A1.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Jung teaches: A system for centrally controlled sanitization of a lavatory of an aircraft using ultraviolet (UV) light, the system comprising: a first UV light source configured to emit a first UV light; a second UV light source configured to emit a second UV light; and a central controller coupled to the first UV light source and the second UV light source and configured to independently control the first UV light source and the second UV light source to emit the first UV light and the second UV light at least one of at different times or for different durations. (Jung [0047]-[0049],[0058],[0069]-[0072],[0075]-[0078],[0085]-[0086],[0095],[0114],[0135]-[0136],[0141]- [0148])
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Jung teaches: further comprising at least one sensor configured to detect data corresponding to usage of the lavatory, wherein the central controller is further configured to control at least one of the first UV light source or the second UV light source based on the data corresponding to the usage of the lavatory. (Jung [0047]-[0049],[0058],[0069]-[0072],[0075]-[0078],[0085]-[0086],[0095],[0114],[0135]-[0136],[0141]- [0148])
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Jung teaches: A method for centrally controlled sanitization of a lavatory of an aircraft using ultraviolet (UV) light, the method comprising: providing, in the lavatory, a first UV light source configured to emit a first UV light and a second UV light source configured to emit a second UV light; and independently controlling, by a central controller, the first UV light source and the second UV light source to emit the first UV light and the second UV light at least one of at different times or for different durations. (Jung [0047]-[0049],[0058],[0069]-[0072],[0075]-[0078],[0085]-[0086],[0095],[0114],[0135]-[0136],[0141]- [0148])
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Jung teaches: further comprising detecting, by a sensor, data corresponding to usage of the lavatory, wherein independently controlling the first UV light source and the second UV light source includes controlling at least one of the first UV light source or the second UV light source based on the data corresponding to the usage of the lavatory. (Jung [0047]-[0049],[0058],[0069]-[0072],[0075]-[0078],[0085]-[0086],[0095],[0114],[0135]-[0136],[0141]- [0148])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung US 20070231193 A1 in view of Dayton US 20160317690 A1.
Regarding Claim(s) 3,6, Jung does not adequately teach: wherein the central controller is further configured to determine a health status of the system including at least one of a remaining life of the first UV light source, a remaining life of the second UV light source, or surface wear experienced by a surface of the lavatory in response to the first UV light or the second UV light.
Dayton teaches: wherein the central controller is further configured to determine a health status of the system including at least one of a remaining life of the first UV light source, a remaining life of the second UV light source, or surface wear experienced by a surface of the lavatory in response to the first UV light or the second UV light. (Dayton [0024])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to augment the control system taught in Jung with the replacement monitoring system taught in Jung for the benefit of ensuring replacement before system failures thereby improving performance and reliability. (Dayton [0024])
Conclusion
1. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
SEAN LUCK
Examiner
Art Unit 2878
/SEAN LUCK/Examiner, Art Unit 2878