DETAILED ACTION
Priority
As noted in previous office actions, the effective filing date for the instant claims is 02 September 2021. This is the filing date of parent application no. 17/465,322. Although this application is a CIP of application no. 16/542,050, application no. 16/542,050 does not contain support for cooling media pouches configured as a band that is wrapped around a cylindrical sample storage chamber in communication with outer cooling media pouches.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, the Figures do not appear to show:
a band of cooling media pouches, wherein the band of cooling media pouches is configured to wrap around the cylindrical sample storage chamber such that a curved inner face of individual cooling media pouch of the band of cooling media pouches is directly in contact with a circumference of the cylindrical sample storage chamber and outer cooling media pouches layered circumferentially around the band of cooling media pouches (claim 1)
or
wrapping the cylindrical sample storage chamber with the band of cooling media pouches such that: a curved inner face of individual cooling media pouch of the band of cooling media pouches is directly in contact with a circumference of the cylindrical sample storage chamber, and the plurality of cooling media pouches is layered circumferentially around the band of cooling media pouches (claim 27).
Therefore, this feature must be shown or canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. More specifically, there does not appear to be support for the 5/26/2026 amendment introducing limitations that describe directly contacting the cylindrical sample storage chamber with a curved inner face of individual cooling media pouches. Applicant did not include a statement in the 5/26/2026 remarks indicating where support may be found in the specification, and the Examiner cannot find any mention of cooling media pouches having curved inner surfaces. Paragraphs [0218] and [0219] of the printed publication, for example, describe the pouches, but do not state that they are characterized by a curved inner surface. The pouches 1015 are shown in Fig. 34 as having flat inner surfaces that do not directly contact the cylindrical sample storage chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-21, 25-31, 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Dell (US 5362622) in view of Haarmann (US 20120266564) and Lee (US 20200002075).
With respect to claims 17 and 27, O’Dell discloses a system and method for transporting biological materials. O’Dell teaches that an insulated vessel (“constructed of a material having a high insulative index, such as styrofoam”) comprising a lid (Figure 9:114) and housing (Figure 9:94) is provided, wherein the housing defines a first cavity (Figure 9:96), and wherein the lid is configured to be movable. A rigid cylindrical sample storage chamber (Figure 10:98) is configured to be positioned within the first cavity and/or removed from the first cavity when the lid is moved to an open configuration. A plurality of cooling media pouches (Figure 10:106) are placed around the cylindrical sample storage chamber to maintain a stable temperature. This is taught in column 8, line 34 to column 9, line 14. O’Dell, however, does not appear to teach that the cooling media pouches are coupled to form a band that wraps around the cylindrical sample storage chamber.
Haarmann discloses a plurality of cooling media pouches (Figure 2:12) configured to maintain a stable temperature during the transportation and storage of a blood sample. Paragraph [0029] states that the pouches are coupled together using a flexible intermediate portion (Figure 2:16). Haarmann expressly recommends directly contacting a container for holding biological material with the cooling media pouches (“In operation, a blood bag is placed on first compartment 12 and second compartment 14 is folded over the blood bag”). Paragraph [0009] states that the pouches are “relatively flat”, which implies that they remain curved at least to a small degree.
Lee discloses a transport apparatus comprising an insulated vessel (Figure 1:13) having a lid (Figure 1:95) and a vessel housing (Figure 1:23). The vessel housing defines a first cavity and a lid, and a storage chamber (Figure 1:61) is positioned within the first cavity and is configured to be removed when the lid is in an open configuration. Lee teaches that a band of cooling media pouches (Figure 1:71-1 to 71-4) is configured to wrap around the sample storage chamber so that the cooling media pouches are directly in contact with a circumference of the storage chamber. Outer cooling media pouches (Figure 1:91-1 to 91-3) are layered circumferentially around the band of cooling media pouches to further control the temperature of the sample storage chamber. This is taught in paragraphs [0080]-[0090]. Paragraph [0083] states that the shape of the pouches may be varied, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have considered pouches having curved inner surfaces.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the O’Dell cooling media pouches are coupled together and directly wrapped and curved around the external surface of the cylindrical sample storage chamber. Haarmann teaches that this is easily and effectively accomplished using a flexible PCM pouches. Haarmann discusses the use of other types of “flexible fasteners made of rubber or a material which can be bent to hold the [cooling media pouches] in a desired configuration and then hold the [cooling media pouches] in that position, e.g., wire”, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the O’Dell pouches could readily be coupled together using a variety of different flexible connection means. Lee similarly shows how flexible cooling pouches are wrapped and curved around a target in direct contact with the target to effectively maintain the temperature of the target over a period of time. Lee teaches that multiple layers of temperature control pouches may be radially oriented so that the pouches offer additional reinforced control over temperature. Lee expressly states in paragraph [0090] that it is well within the ability of one of ordinary skill to optimize and experiment with the position, size and pattern of a plurality of cooling media pouches used in a sample transport apparatus.
With respect to claims 18 and 28, O’Dell, Haarmann and Lee disclose the combination as described above. Haarmann further teaches that the cooling media pouches comprise eutectic cooling blocks. See, for example, paragraphs [0029]-[0032].
With respect to claims 19 and 29, O’Dell, Haarmann and Lee disclose the combination as described above. O’Dell teaches throughout the reference that the biological sample may be a tissue or an organ (Figure 1:18).
With respect to claims 20, 21, 30 and 31, O’Dell, Haarmann and Wen Lee green disclose the combination as described above. O’Dell further states in column 3, lines 57-61 that the temperature within the cylindrical sample storage chamber is maintained at 4°C.
With respect to claims 25, 26, 35 and 36, O’Dell, Haarmann and Lee disclose the combination as described above. As noted above, Haarmann shows how the cooling media pouches 12 are joined side by side using the intermediate portion 16. See also Figs. 18, 26 and 34 of Lee. O’Dell shows 8 cooling media pouches 106 in Fig. 10.
With respect to claims 37 and 38, O’Dell, Haarmann and Lee disclose the combination as described above. O’Dell further shows that the sample storage chamber includes a port (Figure 1:38) configured to purge gas from the cylindrical sample storage chamber (“gas from the perfusate 16, which now has a concentration of carbon dioxide expelled from tissue 18, permeates membrane 26 into pumping compartment 29, where it is expelled through lid port 42 and in turn through gas exhaust port 38”).
Claims 22-24 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Dell (US 5362622) in view of Haarmann (US 20120266564) and Lee (US 20200002075) as applied to claims 17 and 27, and further in view of Owen (US 20040058432).
O’Dell, Haarmann and Lee disclose the combination as described above, however do not expressly describe the use of a basket, temperature sensors and a digital display.
Owen discloses a method for the hypothermic transport of an organ within a transport container (generally, Figure 23:1900). The organ is placed in the interior of the container (see also Figure 2:40) using a basket (Figure 2:65). This is shown in Figs. 11A-11D. A removable lid (Figure 11D:67d) is operable to couple with walls to form a sterile environment within the sample storage chamber. Paragraphs [0105] and [0166] state that a temperature sensor (Figure 2:T1, T2) is provided within the sterile environment. The sensor is in communication with a display (Figure 1:5c) that is readable outside the sterile environment without opening the removable lid. Owen also describes that a cooling media (Figure 21:2110) is used to maintain a stable temperature within the sterile environment.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to modify O’Dell to include standard organ transport features, including a basket, temperature sensors and a digital display. As evidenced by Owen, the provision of a basket would have stabilized the organ when the insulated vessel is shaken or vibrated during transportation. Owen further states that baskets generally include soft and elastic materials that are compatible with organ/tissue handling. Furthermore, those of ordinary skill would have recognized the value of providing common temperature control means, such as sensors and displays, especially given that O’Dell already recognizes the importance of maintaining a desired temperature suitable for organ preservation.
Response to Arguments
In response to the 26 May 2026 amendment, a new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been made.
Applicant’s remarks regarding the objection to the Drawings are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the configuration of the claimed cooling media pouches is a new and patentable improvement. It stands to reason, therefore, that Figures representing and showing this inventive feature are necessary for understanding the innovative subject matter. Any structural detail that is of sufficient importance to be described should be shown in the drawing. (Ex parte Good, 1911 C.D. 43, 164 OG 739 (Comm’r Pat. 1911).)
Applicant's arguments filed 26 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Haarmann and Lee fail to teach pouches having curved inner surfaces. However, Haarmann teaches in paragraph [0009] that the pouches are “relatively flat”, which implies that they remain curved at least to a small degree. Lee teaches in paragraph [0083] that the shape of the pouches may be varied, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have considered pouches having curved inner surfaces. Haarmann and Lee both use the term “pouch”, which itself, even in the absence of any additional teaching, strongly suggests a bag-like enclosure having curved surfaces. Furthermore, Applicant does not appear to describe in the written specification or show in the Figures a curved surface, and therefore if this is a sufficient showing of support, then so too is it when applying prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN A BOWERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799