Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Bai et al (US 2024/0113844). Hereinafter referred to as Bai.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17. Bai et al discloses a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) for Network Energy Saving (NES), the method comprising receiving, from a Base Station (BS), a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message comprising a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) list (see at least figures 5-6 ); storing the TCI list in the UE; receiving, from the BS, a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format; and updating the TCI list stored in the UE based on the DCI format (see at least figures 5-6 and paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, bai disclose a method wherein the first reference signal comprises a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Wang et al (US 2023/0164786). Hereinafter referred to as Wang.
Regarding claims, 2, 10 and 18. Bai discloses a method wherein the TCI list comprises a first TCI state that includes a first Quasi Co-Location (QCL) field, and the first QCL field indicates a first reference signal and a first QCL type (see at least paragraphs [0104], [0109]).
Bai discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception the QCL indicates a reference signal. However, Wang, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the QCL indicates a reference signal (see at least paragraph [0121]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Wang, as indicated, into the communication method of Bai for the purpose of reducing power consumption and overhead.
Regarding claim 3 and 11. Bai in view of Wang discloses a method wherein the first QCL field further indicates at least one spatial pattern associated with the first reference signal (Wang: see at least abstract and paragraph [0093]).
Claims 4, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Wang and further in view of Tseng et al (US 2025/0048252). Hereinafter referred to as Tseng.
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 19, Bai in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of the DCI format includes a first index associated with one of the at least one spatial pattern indicated by the first QCL field, and updating the TCI list stored in the UE comprises selecting the one of the at least one spatial pattern to be applied on the first reference signal based on the first index. However, Tseng, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the DCI format includes a first index associated with one of the at least one spatial pattern indicated by the first QCL field, and updating the TCI list stored in the UE comprises selecting the one of the at least one spatial pattern to be applied on the first reference signal based on the first index (see at least paragraphs [0005], [0008], [0010] and claim 19). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Tseng, as indicated, into the communication method of Bai in view of Wang reducing signaling overhead.
Claims 5-7 and 13-14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Tseng et al (US 2025/0048252). Hereinafter referred to as Tseng.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Bai discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of the first QCL field further indicates at least one candidate reference signal. However, Tseng, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the first QCL field further indicates at least one candidate reference signal (see at least paragraphs [0119]-[0120]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Tseng, as indicated, into the communication method of Bai reducing signaling overhead and network power.
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 20. Bai in view of Tseng discloses a method wherein the DCI format includes a first index associated with one of the at least one candidate reference signal indicated by the first QCL field, and updating the TCI list stored in the UE comprises determining that the first QCL type is associated with the one of the at least one candidate reference signal based on the first index (see at least paragraphs [0005], [0008], [0010] and claim 19).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Bai discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the first TCI state further includes a second QCL field, the second QCL field indicates a second reference signal and a second QCL type, and the first QCL type is different from the second QCL type. However, Tseng, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the first TCI state further includes a second QCL field, the second QCL field indicates a second reference signal and a second QCL type, and the first QCL type is different from the second QCL type (see at least paragraph [0120] and figure 4). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Tseng, as indicated, into the communication method of Bai reducing signaling overhead and network power.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476