1. This office action, in response to amendment and remarks received 7/7/2026, is a final office action.
Response to Arguments
2. The terminal disclaimers are approved. The terminal disclaimer have overcome the previous double patenting rejections. The previous double patenting rejections are withdrawn.
3. Applicant states the amended claims are not taught by the previously cited prior art. The examiner disagrees.
Applicant explains the method as stated in amended independent claim 1 on pages 6-7 of the remarks. Applicant states the office action fails to identify a transponder in Rakib and erroneously concludes that Rakib discloses establishing bi-directional communication between at least one of the transponders and the gateway device for transmitting signals on page 7 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Rahib discloses the communication system shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders.
Applicant states the office action never provides an explanation of where Rakib discloses a transponder, much less a transponder included in an amplifier and applicant respectfully submits that Rakib does not disclose bidirectional communication between a transponder in an amplifier and a gateway device on page 8 of the remarks. The gateway device has been removed via the amendment to claim 1. The amendment to claim 1 also adds a limitation of at least one of the RF amplifiers including a transponder to the preamble of claim 1. This newly added limitation is addressed in the rejection of claim 1 stated below.
Applicant states Maxson never discloses that a handheld testing device is used to make adjustments in the amplifiers or to transmit amplifier data on page 8 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Maxson discloses, in paragraph 0003, upstream and downstream measurements are used to install, adjust and troubleshoot amplifiers and other plant components on a CATV network or plant. Conventional testing, using a handheld test meter, includes injecting a test signal of known amplitude onto the plant, whereby the signal propagates through the CATV network, passing through various actives and passives disposed therein. The technician measures the level of the test signal at various points in the network to isolate problem, adjust the active network components, e.g., amplifiers and install/replace components. Paragraph 0005 recites when performing reverse sweep test measurements, care must be taken to prevent interference between injected test signals and active services on the network. Paragraph 0007 recites, accordingly, the present invention relates to a method for measuring the frequency response of a transmission link. The method comprising: generating a first test signal and modulating the test signal using direct sequence spread spectrum with a chip rate, data rate and a spreading code length forming a DSSS test signal. The method transmits the DSSS test data signal into the transmission link at a transmitted power level at a transmitted power level below the noise floor level to limit interference with the signal traffic. The method demodulates the DSSS test signal at a receiver in order to measure the signal level of the first test signal and monitors the received data signal power level as a function of the test signal data rate at a receiver. Paragraph 0022 discloses the present invention relates to the injection of DSSS signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network 1 with a handheld testing device or a permanent transmitter 3 at the head end and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations throughout the CATV network 1, while the active cable channels can be transmitted at the same wavelengths. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted at such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Therefore, Maxson discloses test signals are monitored to isolate problems and adjust the active network components such as amplifiers while not interfering with the traffic generated by those amplifiers. Paragraph 0029 recites, a handheld testing device 21, illustrated in figure 5, can include the transmitter equipment 3 and/or the receiver equipment , along with a display screen 22, a suitable cable connector 23, and a control processor 24. Since, the handheld testing device has both the transmitter and the receiver, the handheld testing device will communicate bi-directionally.
Applicant states Maxson never mentions the transmitter equipment 3, receiver equipment 7 or the handheld testing device being located in an amplifier on page 9 of the remarks. The combination discloses at least one of the RF amplifiers including a transponder as stated above and the rejection of claim 1 stated below as required by the amendment of claim 1. Rahib discloses the communication system shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to the individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders. In addition, Maxson discloses the transmitter equipment 3 in greater detail. The transmitter equipment 3 comprises amplifier 19.
Applicant states the combination of Maxson with Rakib does not disclose the recited portion of the original claim 1 on page 9 of the remarks. The combination of Rakib and Maxson discloses the features of claim 1. The combination discloses establishing bi-directional communication between a transponder and the portable network. Rakib discloses the communication network as shown in figures 5, 6 and 10.
Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to the individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders. Rakib does not disclose the portable communication network communication module. Maxson discloses, in paragraph 0003, upstream and downstream measurements are used to install, adjust and troubleshoot amplifiers and other plant components on a CATV network or plant. Conventional testing, using a handheld test meter, includes injecting a test signal of known amplitude onto the plant, whereby the signal propagates through the CATV network, passing through various actives and passives disposed therein. The technician measures the level of the test signal at various points in the network to isolate problem, adjust the active network components, e.g., amplifiers and install/replace components. Paragraph 0005 recites when performing reverse sweep test measurements, care must be taken to prevent interference between injected test signals and active services on the network. Paragraph 0007 recites, accordingly, the present invention relates to a method for measuring the frequency response of a transmission link. The method comprising: generating a first test signal and modulating the test signal using direct sequence spread spectrum with a chip rate, data rate and a spreading code length forming a DSSS test signal. The method transmits the DSSS test data signal into the transmission link at a transmitted power level at a transmitted power level below the noise floor level to limit interference with the signal traffic. The method demodulates the DSS test signal at a receiver in order to measure the signal level of the first test signal and monitors the received data signal power level as a function of the test signal data rate at a receiver. Paragraph 0022 discloses the present invention relates to the injection of DSSS signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network 1 with a handheld testing device or a permanent transmitter 3 at the head end and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations throughout the CATV network 1, while the active cable channels can be transmitted at the same wavelengths. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted at such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Figures 3a and 3b shows the network for transmitting and receiving the forward and return path through the network. The signals will include the traffic as well as the injected DSSS data test signals. For both of these paths to be transmitted and received, the transmitter components and the monitoring components will be present at each of the nodes shown. Paragraph 0029 recites, a handheld testing device 21, illustrated in figure 5, can include the transmitter equipment 3 and/or the receiver equipment 7, along with a display screen 22, a suitable cable connector 23, and a control processor 24. Since, the handheld testing device has both the transmitter and the receiver, the handheld testing device will communicate bi-directionally. Therefore, the references disclose the limitations of amended claim 1.
Applicant states Maxson does not remedy the shortcomings of Rakib and does not disclose or make obvious amplifier control signals and amplifier data signals are recited in amended independent claim 13 as stated on page 10 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Maxson discloses a handheld testing device 21 can include the transmitter equipment 3 and the receiver equipment 7 as stated in paragraph 0029. The transmitted signals include the injected DSSS test signal for adjusting the amplifiers and the receiving signals comprise the traffic signals with the injected DSSS test signal. The traffic signals are amplified as stated above in the system of the combination.
Applicant states one of ordinary skill in the art would not have applied the teaching of Woytowitz into the method and portable device of the combination as stated on page 11 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Woytowitz discloses a method and system where the wireless links utilize a LoRa transceiver employing spread spectrum modulation based on chirp spread spectrum (CSS) technology (paragraph 0077). The use of a LoRa transceiver will represent the use of a LoRa wide area network in that the transceiver will be but one component in a larger system. Paragraph 0077 further discloses this is a wideband radio system and is more robust to noise and in-band interference. CSS is somewhat resistant to multi-path fading, Doppler effects and nearby interference. Paragraph 0078 discloses on occasions where higher data rates may be used, other modulation systems may be used such as GFSK (Gaussian Frequency Shift Keying). Woytowitz discloses the transceiver integrated circuit can be the Semtech SX1276 LoRa transceiver integrated circuit in paragraph 0076. The applications of this example transceiver, the Semtech SX1276 LoRa transceiver integrated circuit, are not restricted to only the application recited in the reference. The transceiver can be applied to numerous other applications such as wireless networks to utilize the advantages stated on paragraphs 0077-0078 of Woytowitz and stated in the previous rejections of the claims.
The rejections of the claims are stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-5 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakib (US 2015/0172072) in view of Maxson et al (US 2009/0271836).
Regarding claim 1, Rakib discloses a method for communication with radio frequency (RF) amplifiers in a hybrid fiber-coaxial (HFC) network (Title: Virtual converged cable access platform for HFC cable networks.) including a headend, at least one HFC node coupled to the headend with optical fiber, and a coaxial cable distribution network including coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to the coaxial cables (Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.), at least one of the RF amplifiers including a transponder (Figure 10: extended upstream gateway. Figure 10 shows the upstream and downstream data. Rahib discloses the communication system shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to the individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders.), comprising:
transmitting downstream primary signals from the headend to the coaxial cable distribution network (Figures 5 and 6 shows the upstream data and downstream data.), wherein the downstream primary signals are amplified by the RF amplifiers (Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.); and
transmitting upstream primary signals to the headend from the coaxial cable distribution network (Figures 5 and 6 shows the upstream data and downstream data.), wherein the upstream primary signals are amplified by the RF amplifiers (Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.).
Rakib does not disclose establishing bi-directional transmissions between the transponder in at least one of the amplifiers and a portable network communication module for transmitting downstream amplifier control signals from the portable network communication device to the transponder and/or for transmitting upstream data signals from the transponder to the portable network communication device, wherein the bi-directional transmissions use spread-spectrum modulated signals on the coaxial cables together with the downstream and upstream primary signals, wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals used for the bi-directional transmissions have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that the bi-directional transmissions occur without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals.
Maxson discloses a CATV network with direct sequence spread spectrum signals as stated in the abstract. Maxson discloses the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network as stated in paragraph 0022. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible (paragraph 0022). Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic. Maxson discloses establishing bi-directional transmissions between the transponder in at least one of the amplifiers and the portable network communication module to the transponder for transmitting downstream amplifier control signals from the portable network communication module to the transponder and/or for transmitting upstream amplifier data signals from the transponder to the portable communication module
Maxson discloses establishing bi-directional transmissions between the transponder in at least one of the amplifiers and the portable network communication module to the transponder for transmitting downstream amplifier control signals from the portable network communication module to the transponder and/or for transmitting upstream amplifier data signals from the transponder to the portable communication module (Maxson discloses the transmitter equipment 3 in greater detail. The transmitter equipment 3 comprises amplifier 19. Therefore, the transmitted DSSS test signals are amplified control signals. Maxson discloses, in paragraph 0003, upstream and downstream measurements are used to install, adjust and troubleshoot amplifiers and other plant components on a CATV network or plant. Conventional testing, using a handheld test meter, includes injecting a test signal of known amplitude onto the plant, whereby the signal propagates through the CATV network, passing through various actives and passives disposed therein. The technician measures the level of the test signal at various points in the network to isolate problem, adjust the active network components, e.g., amplifiers and install/replace components. Paragraph 0005 recites when performing reverse sweep test measurements, care must be taken to prevent interference between injected test signals and active services on the network. Therefore, the test signals control the amplifiers. Maxson discloses a handheld testing device 21 can include the transmitter equipment 3 and the receiver equipment 7 as stated in paragraph 0029. The transmitted signals include the injected DSSS test signal for adjusting the amplifiers and the receiving signals comprise the traffic signals with the injected DSSS test signal.), wherein the bi-directional transmissions use spread-spectrum modulated signals on the coaxial cables together with the downstream and upstream primary signals (paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network. Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. These are the two directions of the bidirectional communication.), wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals used for the bi-directional transmissions have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that the bi-directional transmissions occur without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals (Paragraph 0022: The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Paragraphs 0023 and 0024 discloses the data rate of the DSSS signal is swept through a predetermined range of data rates corresponding to the frequency range being tested. That range will include higher and lower data rates. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.).
Maxson discloses the present invention relates to testing cable television (CATV networks and using spread spectrum signals in a fully loaded upstream or downstream CATV network to measure frequency response without disrupting active services in paragraph 0002. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Maxson into the method, system and apparatus of Rakib.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses wherein the portable network communication module is connected to a test point in the HFC node (Maxson: Figure 3a. Paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network. The portable device is connected at the headend at a test point since that is the point where the test signals are injected.).
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses further comprising connecting a user interface device to the portable network communications module. (Maxson: paragraphs 0023 and 0024: in use for testing the forward path or the return path, a technician connects the portable transmitter equipment. In one embodiment, the accumulated measurements are communicated back to the transmitting device for display to the user.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses wherein the HFC network is a CATV network, and wherein the downstream primary signals include video and IP data transmitted over a CATV downstream channel spectrum to subscriber devices coupled to the coaxial distribution network (Rakib: Virtual converged cable access platform for HFC cable networks. Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals. Maxson: paragraph 0002: CATV networks and using spread spectrum signals in a fully loaded upstream or downstream CATV network to measure frequency response without disrupting active services.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses wherein the downstream primary signals and the upstream primary signals are modulated using quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) and multiplexed using orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) (Rakib: paragraph 0083: This digitization can be done by various means or by for example demodulating various QAM or OFDM waveforms, determining the underlying QAM or OFDM symbols used to generate the QAM or OFDM waveforms and digitally sending the results. Maxson: 0032: the native QAM signal.).
Regarding claims 9-12, the combination discloses the downstream amplifier control signals and the upstream amplifier control signals are located between channels used for the downstream/upstream primary signals and located below a lowest channel for the downstream/upstream primary signals (Maxson: figures 6, 7, 8: the DSSS signals are shown relative to the traffic signals. The DSSS signals are below the lowest traffic signal and between the traffic signals as shown.).
Regarding claim 13, Rakib discloses a device (Figure 10: extended upstream gateway. Figure 10 shows the upstream and downstream data.) for communicating with RF amplifiers (Rahib discloses the communication system shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to the individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood.) in a headend of a hybrid fiber-coaxial (HFC) network including a coaxial cable distribution network (Title: Virtual converged cable access platform for HFC cable networks.), the coaxial cable distribution network including coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers (Rahib discloses the communication system shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to the individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables.),
the device comprising: a computing device (Figure 10: extended upstream gateway. Figure 10 shows the upstream and downstream data. Paragraphs 0149, 0272, 0286 and 0319 disclose the computer and processor coupled to the network to carry out the functions of the devices. Figure 6 shows the coupling of the IP backbone to the system.); a gateway processor coupled to the host computer (Figure 10: extended upstream gateway. Figure 10 shows the upstream and downstream data. Paragraphs 0149, 0272, 0286 and 0319 disclose the computer and processor coupled to the network to carry out the functions of the devices.); and at least one gateway transceiver coupled to the gateway processor and configured to transmit downstream signals and to receive upstream data signals (Figures 5 and 6 show the upstream and downstream data.).
Rakib discloses establishing bi-directional transmissions between at least one of the transponders and the gateway device for transmitting signals. Rakib does not disclose the device is a portable network communication module, wherein the downstream control signals and the upstream data signals are spread-spectrum modulated signals capable of being carried on the coaxial cable distribution network together with the downstream and upstream primary signals, wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that bi-directional transmission of the spread-spectrum signals occurs without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals.
Maxson discloses a CATV network with direct sequence spread spectrum signals as stated in the abstract. Maxson discloses the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network as stated in paragraph 0022. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible (paragraph 0022). Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.
Maxson discloses a portable network communication module (paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network.), wherein the downstream amplifier control signals and the upstream amplifier data signals (Maxson discloses the transmitter equipment 3 in greater detail. The transmitter equipment 3 comprises amplifier 19. Therefore, the transmitted DSSS test signals are amplified control signals. Maxson discloses, in paragraph 0003, upstream and downstream measurements are used to install, adjust and troubleshoot amplifiers and other plant components on a CATV network or plant. Conventional testing, using a handheld test meter, includes injecting a test signal of known amplitude onto the plant, whereby the signal propagates through the CATV network, passing through various actives and passives disposed therein. The technician measures the level of the test signal at various points in the network to isolate problem, adjust the active network components, e.g., amplifiers and install/replace components. Paragraph 0005 recites when performing reverse sweep test measurements, care must be taken to prevent interference between injected test signals and active services on the network. Therefore, the test signals control the amplifiers. Maxson discloses a handheld testing device 21 can include the transmitter equipment 3 and the receiver equipment 7 as stated in paragraph 0029. The transmitted signals include the injected DSSS test signal for adjusting the amplifiers and the receiving signals comprise the traffic signals with the injected DSSS test signal.) are spread-spectrum modulated signals capable of being carried on the coaxial cable distribution network together with the downstream and upstream primary signals (paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network. Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. These are the two directions of the bidirectional communication.), wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that bi-directional transmission of the spread-spectrum signals occurs without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals (Paragraph 0022: The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Paragraphs 0023 and 0024 discloses the data rate of the DSSS signal is swept through a predetermined range of data rates corresponding to the frequency range being tested. That range will include higher and lower data rates. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.).
Maxson discloses the present invention relates to testing cable television (CATV networks and using spread spectrum signals in a fully loaded upstream or downstream CATV network to measure frequency response without disrupting active services in paragraph 0002. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Maxson into the method, system and apparatus of Rakib.
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses further comprising connecting a user interface device to the portable network communications module. (Maxson: paragraphs 0023 and 0024: in use for testing the forward path or the return path, a technician connects the portable transmitter equipment. In one embodiment, the accumulated measurements are communicated back to the transmitting device for display to the user.)
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses wherein the at least one gateway transceiver is configured to transmit and receive signals via a test point in the HFC node (Maxson: Figure 3a. Paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network. The portable device is connected at the headend at a test point since that is the point where the test signals are injected.).
Regarding claim 16, the combination disclose a power source for powering the computing device, the gateway processor and the at least one gateway transceiver (It is inherent that the components of the device receive power from a power source. A power source is inherently required to provide power to the elements of the device for the elements of the device to operate.).
Regarding claim 17, the combination discloses wherein the portable network communication module is configured to be connected to a test point in an HFC node of the HFC network (Maxson: Figure 3a. Paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network. The portable device is connected at the headend at a test point since that is where the signals are injected.), and wherein the computing device is configured to collect and store information from RF amplifiers downstream from the HFC node in the HFC network and configured to format commands to be sent to the RF amplifiers downstream from the HFC node in the HFC network (Maxson: Figure 3a. Figure 5. Paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of DSSS signals as test signals into a cable television network with a hand held testing device. The receivers 7 include an RF input and some form of signal processor. The processor will inherently include a memory for executing commands. For testing the return path, the receiver 7 would be in the head end while the transmitters 3 would be positioned at various locations throughout the network. Paragraph 0029: a handheld testing device 21 can include the transmitter equipment and/or the receiver equipment 7 along with a display screen and a control processor. The displayed information will be store prior to and during the displaying of that information.).
5. Claims 6-8 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakib (US 2015/0172072) in view of Maxson et al (US 2009/0271836) further in view of Woytowitz (US 2021/0360884).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, the combination discloses the method and system stated above. The combination discloses the DSSS signals are modulated using CDMA (Maxson: abstract, paragraph 0030: DSSS signals, of which code division multiple access (CDMA) signals are a subset.). The combination does not disclose wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals are modulated using Gaussian frequency shift keying (GFSK).
Woytowitz discloses a method and system where the wireless links utilize a LoRa transceiver employing spread spectrum modulation based on chirp spread spectrum (CSS) technology (paragraph 0077). The use of a LoRa transceiver will represent the use of a LoRa wide area network in that the transceiver will be but one component in a larger system/network. Paragraph 0077 further discloses this is a wideband radio system and is more robust to noise and in-band interference. CSS is somewhat resistant to multi-path fading, Doppler effects and nearby interference. Paragraph 0078 discloses on occasions where higher data rates may be used, other modulation systems may be used such as GFSK (Gaussian Frequency Shift Keying). For the reasons stated above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Woytowitz into the method, system, apparatus and device of the combination of Rakib and Maxson.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, the combination of Rakib and Maxson discloses the method and system stated above. The combination discloses the DSSS signals are modulated using CDMA (Maxson: abstract, paragraph 0030: DSSS signals, of which code division multiple access (CDMA) signals are a subset.). The combination does not disclose wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals are chirp spread spectrum (CSS) modulated signals.
Woytowitz discloses a method and system where the wireless links utilize a LoRa transceiver employing spread spectrum modulation based on chirp spread spectrum (CSS) technology (paragraph 0077). The use of a LoRa transceiver will represent the use of a LoRa wide area network in that the transceiver will be but one component in a larger system. Paragraph 0077 further discloses this is a wideband radio system and is more robust to noise and in-band interference. CSS is somewhat resistant to multi-path fading, Doppler effects and nearby interference. Paragraph 0078 discloses on occasions where higher data rates may be used, other modulation systems may be used such as GFSK (Gaussian Frequency Shift Keying). For the reasons stated above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Woytowitz into the method, system, apparatus and device of the combination of Rakib and Maxson.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, the combination discloses the method and system stated above. The combination discloses the DSSS signals are modulated using CDMA (Maxson: abstract, paragraph 0030: DSSS signals, of which code division multiple access (CDMA) signals are a subset.). The combination does not disclose wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals are generated in accordance with the LoRaWAN specification.
Woytowitz discloses a method and system where the wireless links utilize a LoRa transceiver employing spread spectrum modulation based on chirp spread spectrum (CSS) technology (paragraph 0077). The use of a LoRa transceiver will represent the use of a LoRa wide area network in that the transceiver will be but one component in a larger system/network. Paragraph 0077 further discloses this is a wideband radio system and is more robust to noise and in-band interference. CSS is somewhat resistant to multi-path fading, Doppler effects and nearby interference. Paragraph 0078 discloses on occasions where higher data rates may be used, other modulation systems may be used such as GFSK (Gaussian Frequency Shift Keying). For the reasons stated above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Woytowitz into the method, system, apparatus and device of the combination of Rakib and Maxson.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 9/8/2026