DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (WO 2024152779A1, hereinafter “Lu” with machine translation via Espacenet for citations herein) in view of Lin et al. (US 2026/0046976, hereinafter “Lin”).
For claims 1 and 6, Lu discloses A method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system (see Lu page 6 lines 8-21 for AMF performing the method), the method comprising:
receiving, from a managed function entity (The first network element receives the positioning result of the terminal device sent by the second network element; the first network element obtains the coverage of the neighboring cell, which is a cell adjacent to the service cell of the terminal device; the first network element determines the location of the terminal device according to the positioning result and the coverage. Exemplarily, the first network element may be an access and mobility management function network element, and the second network element may be a location management function network element; see Lu page 7 lines 19-24 and also page 25 lines 43-46), information on a non-terrestrial network (NTN) public land mobile network (PLMN) restriction (The correctness of the core network element accessed by the UE can also be expressed as the correct public land mobile network (PLMN) registered by the UE, or the correct PLMN selected for the UE, or the PLMN registered by the UE is allowed to operate at the location of the UE…when the result of the UE's location verification is that the verification accuracy meets the preset threshold interval and the core network element accessed by the UE is correct, the AMF allows the UE to access the NTN network and conduct normal business. In another possible design, when the result of the UE's location verification is that the core network element to which the UE accesses is incorrect, the AMF deregisters the UE; see Lu page 29 lines 1-17), wherein the information includes first information on an identity (ID) of public land mobile network (PLMN) and second information associated with a location for which an access of the PLMN is restricted for an NTN access (AMF verifies the UE location based on the UE location information (userlocation information, ULI) reported by the UE, where the ULI includes the cell ID (Cell ID). AMF determines whether the UE is allowed to obtain services at the current location based on the ULI and PLMN ID (for example, if the ULI is within the area corresponding to the country specified in the PLMN, it is considered that the UE is allowed to obtain the location at the current location; otherwise, it is considered that the UE is not allowed to obtain the location at the current location). If the AMF verifies that the UE is not allowed to obtain services at the current location based on the ULI and PLMN ID, the AMF rejects the UE's non-access stratum (NAS) request; if the UE has been registered with the network, the AMF will de-register the UE; see Lu page 32 lines 9-16 and also page 33 line 53 to page 34 line 9); and
Lu suggests that “Determine whether the UE is allowed to obtain services at the current location based on the positioning result and PLMN ID...If the UE is not allowed to obtain services at the current location, AMF will reject the NAS request of the UE, or AMF accepts the NAS request and then performs the deregistration process. If the UE has been registered with the network, AMF deregisters the UE; see Lu page 32 lines 18-25).
However, Lu does not explicitly disclose restricting the NTN access associated with the location based on the first information and the second information. Lin discloses restricting the NTN access associated with the location based on the first information and the second information (Based on non-terrestrial network (NTN) communication, since a satellite (cell) may be configured to serve a few UEs with national and secure concerns, the UE may receive, during a NAS MM procedure, a specific cause that is used to indicate that a PLMN is not allowed to operate at a present location of the UE. In other words, the UE may be restricted from accessing a current PLMN via a satellite (cell) even though only this satellite may be available at the present location of the UE. However, it is noted that, in current 3GPP standards, there are some unresolved issues with respect to UE operations in handling the specific cause for NTN access. For example, upon receiving the specific cause, if the connection between the UE and the PLMN is not released by the network, the UE will keep the connection and not be able to perform a PLMN selection, causing the UE to be stuck in the current PLMN. Another issue relates to the case that when the specific cause is received in certain messages (e.g., a DL NAS TRANSPORT message), UE operations regarding how to determine when it can access the same PLMN again are unclear. Moreover, some conditions ( e.g., when there is a need for emergency service, or the UE has moved to a new location) should be taken into account in regard to allowing UE to access the same PLMN where the specific cause is received; see Lin par. 0022). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Lin's arrangement in Lu's invention to handle non-access stratum (NAS) mobility management (MM) cause for non-terrestrial network (NTN) access; see Lin par. 0002).
Specifically for claim 6, Lu discloses An access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the AMF entity comprising:
a transceiver; and
a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: ( Figure 18 is a schematic diagram of the structure of an AMF provided in an embodiment of the present application. The AMF can be applied to the system shown in Figures 1 to 4 to perform the functions of the AMF in the above method embodiment, or to implement the steps or processes performed by the AMF in the above method embodiment. As shown in FIG18 , the AMF includes a processor 1801 and a transceiver 1802. Optionally, the AMF also includes a memory 1803. The processor 1801, the transceiver 1802 and the memory 1803 can communicate with each other through an internal connection path to transmit control and/or data signals, the memory 1803 is used to store a computer program, and the processor 1801 is used to call and run the computer program from the memory 1803 to control the transceiver 1802 to send and receive signals; see Lu page 47 lines 34-43).
For claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, Lu discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second information further includes geographical information on the location at which the PLMN is not allowed for the NTN access (the services within the restricted range include at least one of the following: emergency calls, lawful interception, and public warning services. Exemplarily, the preset threshold interval can be 5km to 10km. The correctness of the core network element accessed by the UE can also be expressed as the correct public land mobile network (PLMN) registered by the UE, or the correct PLMN selected for the UE, or the PLMN registered by the UE is allowed to operate at the location of the UE. Optionally, the AMF may send an eighth indication message to the UE, where the eighth indication message is used to instruct the UE to re-report the location information for location verification. In this way, the AMF verifies the location of the UE based on the re-reported location information, and cancels the service restriction on the UE after the verification is passed. In another possible design, when the result of the UE's location verification is that the verification accuracy meets the preset threshold interval and the core network element accessed by the UE is correct, the AMF allows the UE to access the NTN network and conduct normal business. In another possible design, when the result of the UE's location verification is that the core network element to which the UE accesses is incorrect, the AMF deregisters the UE; see Lu page 29 lines 1-17).
For claims 5 and 10, Lu discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a message including information on a location of a user equipment (UE) associated with the NTN access (the gNB may report the GNSS location of the UE to the AMF, or the gNB may report the cell identifier that meets the location accuracy requirements to the AMF (for example, the mapped cell identifier determined by the gNB according to the location reported by the UE, such as Mapped Cell ID), so that the AMF obtains the location of the UE according to the cell identifier. That is, this step is for the AMF to obtain the location information of the UE. The location information of the UE may be the GNSS location of the UE, or the physical location of the UE obtained by the AMF according to the mapped cell identifier corresponding to the UE. The base station and the core network device (such as the AMF) both have a corresponding relationship between the mapped cell identifier and the physical area. Therefore, the AMF can obtain the physical location of the UE according to the mapped cell identifier corresponding to the UE; see Lu page 25 lines 46-55); and
identifying whether the UE is allowed to operate at the location of the UE (the services within the restricted range include at least one of the following: emergency calls, lawful interception, and public warning services. Exemplarily, the preset threshold interval can be 5km to 10km. The correctness of the core network element accessed by the UE can also be expressed as the correct public land mobile network (PLMN) registered by the UE, or the correct PLMN selected for the UE, or the PLMN registered by the UE is allowed to operate at the location of the UE. Optionally, the AMF may send an eighth indication message to the UE, where the eighth indication message is used to instruct the UE to re-report the location information for location verification. In this way, the AMF verifies the location of the UE based on the re-reported location information, and cancels the service restriction on the UE after the verification is passed. In another possible design, when the result of the UE's location verification is that the verification accuracy meets the preset threshold interval and the core network element accessed by the UE is correct, the AMF allows the UE to access the NTN network and conduct normal business. In another possible design, when the result of the UE's location verification is that the core network element to which the UE accesses is incorrect, the AMF deregisters the UE; see Lu page 29 lines 1-17, see also page 33 lines 53-59).
For claims 11 and 16, Lu discloses A method performed by a managed function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (The first network element receives the positioning result of the terminal device sent by the second network element; the first network element obtains the coverage of the neighboring cell, which is a cell adjacent to the service cell of the terminal device; the first network element determines the location of the terminal device according to the positioning result and the coverage. Exemplarily, the first network element may be an access and mobility management function network element, and the second network element may be a location management function network element; see Lu page 7 lines 19-24 and also page 25 lines 43-46), information on a non-terrestrial network (NTN) public land mobile network (PLMN) restriction (The correctness of the core network element accessed by the UE can also be expressed as the correct public land mobile network (PLMN) registered by the UE, or the correct PLMN selected for the UE, or the PLMN registered by the UE is allowed to operate at the location of the UE…when the result of the UE's location verification is that the verification accuracy meets the preset threshold interval and the core network element accessed by the UE is correct, the AMF allows the UE to access the NTN network and conduct normal business. In another possible design, when the result of the UE's location verification is that the core network element to which the UE accesses is incorrect, the AMF deregisters the UE; see Lu page 29 lines 1-17),
wherein the information includes first information on an identity (ID) of public land mobile network (PLMN) and second information associated with a location for which an access of the PLMN is restricted for an NTN access (AMF verifies the UE location based on the UE location information (userlocation information, ULI) reported by the UE, where the ULI includes the cell ID (Cell ID). AMF determines whether the UE is allowed to obtain services at the current location based on the ULI and PLMN ID (for example, if the ULI is within the area corresponding to the country specified in the PLMN, it is considered that the UE is allowed to obtain the location at the current location; otherwise, it is considered that the UE is not allowed to obtain the location at the current location). If the AMF verifies that the UE is not allowed to obtain services at the current location based on the ULI and PLMN ID, the AMF rejects the UE's non-access stratum (NAS) request; if the UE has been registered with the network, the AMF will de-register the UE; see Lu page 32 lines 9-16 and also page 33 line 53 to page 34 line 9), and
Lu does not explicitly disclose wherein a restriction of the NTN access associated with the location is based on the first information and the second information. Lin discloses wherein a restriction of the NTN access associated with the location is based on the first information and the second information (Based on non-terrestrial network (NTN) communication, since a satellite (cell) may be configured to serve a few UEs with national and secure concerns, the UE may receive, during a NAS MM procedure, a specific cause that is used to indicate that a PLMN is not allowed to operate at a present location of the UE. In other words, the UE may be restricted from accessing a current PLMN via a satellite (cell) even though only this satellite may be available at the present location of the UE. However, it is noted that, in current 3GPP standards, there are some unresolved issues with respect to UE operations in handling the specific cause for NTN access. For example, upon receiving the specific cause, if the connection between the UE and the PLMN is not released by the network, the UE will keep the connection and not be able to perform a PLMN selection, causing the UE to be stuck in the current PLMN. Another issue relates to the case that when the specific cause is received in certain messages (e.g., a DL NAS TRANSPORT message), UE operations regarding how to determine when it can access the same PLMN again are unclear. Moreover, some conditions ( e.g., when there is a need for emergency service, or the UE has moved to a new location) should be taken into account in regard to allowing UE to access the same PLMN where the specific cause is received; see Lin par. 0022). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Lin's arrangement in Lu's invention to handle non-access stratum (NAS) mobility management (MM) cause for non-terrestrial network (NTN) access; see Lin par. 0002).
Specifically for claim 16, Lu discloses A managed function entity in a wireless communication system, the managed function entity comprising:
a transceiver; and
a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: (Figure 19 is a schematic diagram of the structure of a location management function network element provided in an embodiment of the present application. The location management function network element can be applied to the system shown in Figures 1 to 4 to perform the functions of the location management function network element in the above method embodiment, or to implement the steps or processes performed by the location management function network element in the above method embodiment. As shown in FIG19 , the location management function network element includes a processor 1901 and a transceiver 1902. Optionally, the location management function network element further includes a memory 1903. The processor 1901, the transceiver 1902 and the memory 1903 can communicate with each other through an internal connection path to transmit control and/or data signals. The memory 1903 is used to store a computer program, and the processor 1901 is used to call and run the computer program from the memory 1903 to control the transceiver 1902 to send and receive signals; see Lu page 48 lines 31-42).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 8, 9, 13-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu and Lin, and further in view of Tamura et al. (WO 2025/018244 A1, hereinafter “Tamura”).
For claims 3, 8, 13, 14, 18 and 19, Lu discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second information further includes information on a time duration for which the PLMN is not allowed for the NTN access at the location (when the result of the UE's location verification is verification passed, the AMF or LMF saves the UE's location verification passed identification. The AMF or LMF can maintain the validity period of the location verification result. If the UE re-accesses the network within the validity period, the process of confirming the location of the UE can be exempted, allowing the UE to directly access the network. Optionally, when the UE re-accesses the network, the AMF or LMF can send the identification to the gNB. In another possible design, when the result of the UE's location verification is verification failure, the AMF or LMF saves an identifier of the UE's location verification failure. In addition, the AMF may start a timer and allow the UE to access the network after the timer expires, so as to limit the frequency of the UE's access to the network. Optionally, before the timer expires, the AMF does not allow the UE to access the network; see Lu page 28 lines 18-27), and
The combination of Lu and Lin does not explicitly disclose information on a network slice for which the PLMN is not allowed for the NTN access at the location. Tamura discloses information on a network slice for which the PLMN is not allowed for the NTN access at the location (the Allowed Service type could be indicated as { eMBB (VPLMN 1, VPLMN 2), mloT(VPLMN 3)}. This implies that when the UE 3 is registered to eMBB network slice in VPLMN 1 or VPLMN 2 the UE 3 can access service of mloT network slice in the VPLMN 3. The UE 3 can't perform registration procedure to register for the mloT network slice in a PLMN other than the VPLMN 3 when the UE 3 is registered for the eMBB network slice in a VPLMN 1 or VPLMN 2. In another example, a certain service (e.g., service on S-NSSAI 1) may be isolated for better 5G security and privacy. For example, a service on S-NSSAI 1 is available on PLMN 1 only and while a service on S-NSSAI 1 is active, no service on the other Radio Access is allowed. In this case, Allowed Service type may be indicated as {S-NSSAl#l (PLMN#l), NULL (PLMN#2)}. In another example, only a particular slice/service type (SST) (e.g., eMBB) is supported by specific RATs. For example, terrestrial NR and E-UTRA support eMBB and URLLC SSTs and NTN NRs support eMBB and mloT SSTs; see Tamura par. 0061 page 25). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Tamura's arrangement in Lu's invention to improve access and network resources utilization, capacity, coverage, reliability and QoE (Quality of Experience) (see Tamura par. 0002).
For claims 4, 9, 15 and 20, the combination of Lu and Lin does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 1, wherein the information on the NTN PLMN restriction includes location restrictions per PLMN associated with the NTN access. Tamura discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the information on the NTN PLMN restriction includes location restrictions per PLMN associated with the NTN access (The RAN 502 may broadcast in the system information the DSATSSS Service profile(s) per PLMN. The DSATSSS Service profile(s) per PLMN may be provided for the purpose of RAN sharing or roaming. The UE 3 may apply or follow the DSATSSS Service profile of a PLMN that the UE 3 is allowed to initiate registration procedure or the UE 3 had registered before; see Tamura par. 0066). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Tamura's arrangement in Lu's invention to improve access and network resources utilization, capacity, coverage, reliability and QoE (Quality of Experience) (see Tamura par. 0002).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Matolia et al. (US 2022/0232464);
-Gruber et al. (US 2022/0369266);
-Wu et al. (US 2023/0164685).
/CHAE S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415