DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to correspondence filed 30 September 2024 in reference to application 18/782,131. Claims 1-9 and 21 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 30 September 2024 has been accepted and considered in this office action. Claims 10-20 were cancelled and claim 21 added new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makuichi et al. (Multimodal Emotional Recognition with High-level Speech and Text Features) in view of Kahn et al. (MSER: Multimodal speech emotion recognition using cross-attention with deep fusion).
Consider claim 1, Makuichi teaches an apparatus for estimating emotion (abstract), the apparatus comprising:
a speech emotion representation (SER) model processing unit configured to input an acquired speaker identity feature and an acquired speaker speech data feature to a predetermined SER model (figure 1, input of features and speaker identity embeddings, s), encode the speaker identity feature and the speaker speech data feature through a speech encoder in the SER model (section 3.1.1 wav2vec feature extraction), and encode the encoded speaker identity feature and speaker speech data feature through a disentangled feature encoder to output phonetic logits (figure 1, and section 3.1.3, disentangled speech representation and logits generated);
a text emotion representation (TER) model processing unit configured to input a text feature acquired from transferred text corresponding to the speaker identity feature and the speaker speech data feature to a predetermined TER model, and encode the text feature through a text encoder in the TER model to output a text feature logits (figure 1, text input into text encoder, section 3.2, TER generates output logits); and
a representation fusion (RF) model processing unit configured to input the output phonetic logits of the speaker and the output text logits to a predetermined RF model, and output a probability for each emotion category of the speaker (figure 1, score fusion, section 3.3 outputs fused to generate final probabilities for emotional categories.).
Makuichi does not specifically teach
the SER outputs a phonetic feature query, a phonetic feature key, and a phonetic feature value of a speaker
the TER outputs a text feature query, a text feature key, and a text feature value of the text feature
a representation fusion (RF) model processing unit configured to input the output phonetic feature query, phonetic feature key, and phonetic feature value of the speaker and the output text feature query, text feature key, and text feature value to a predetermined RF model, and output a probability for each emotion category of the speaker by applying a cross-attention mechanism.
In the same field of multimodal emotion recognition, Kahn teaches
the SER outputs a phonetic feature query, a phonetic feature key, and a phonetic feature value of a speaker (section 3, page 3, SER outputs query, key and value vectors (Q, H and V))
the TER outputs a text feature query, a text feature key, and a text feature value of the text feature (section 3.2 and 3.3, TER also generates query, key and value vectors (Q, H and V))
a representation fusion (RF) model processing unit configured to input the output phonetic feature query, phonetic feature key, and phonetic feature value of the speaker and the output text feature query, text feature key, and text feature value to a predetermined RF model, and output a probability for each emotion category of the speaker by applying a cross-attention mechanism (section 3.3-3.4, cross attention used to fuses SER and TER vectors Q, H and V to generate final output probabilities for classes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to use cross-attention and query, feature, and key values as taught by Kahn in the system of Makuichi in order to improve the accuracy of emotion classification (Kahn abstract).
Consider claim 2, Makuichi teaches The apparatus for estimating emotion according to claim 1, wherein the speaker identity feature and the speaker speech data feature encoded by the speech encoder in the SER model processing unit correspond to speech representation encoded before down- sampling is applied (figure 1, section 3.1.1, down sampling is applied at the end of encoding, ).
Consider claim 3, Kahn teaches The apparatus for estimating emotion according to claim 1, wherein the cross-attention mechanism in the RF model processing unit comprises at least one of a first cross- attention mechanism to which the acquired phonetic feature query, text feature key, and text feature value are applied or a second cross-attention mechanism to which the acquired text feature query, phonetic feature key, and phonetic feature value are applied (figure 1, and section 3.3 cross attention applied to key query and value output from SER and TER).
Consider claim 4, Makuichi and Kahn teach The apparatus for estimating emotion according to claim 1, wherein the RF model processing unit outputs, to the user, an emotion category having a highest probability among probability output values for respective emotion categories of the speaker (Makuichi, figure 1, output class probabilities, section 6, applying model to label data. Kahn, figure 1, outputting classified emotion, also see figure 3, predicted labels).
Consider claim 5, Makuichi teaches the apparatus for estimating emotion according to claim 1, wherein the speaker speech data feature in the SER model processing unit is a wav2vec feature or a wav2vec2.0 feature extracted from a predetermined speech recognition pre-learning model (section 3.1.1 wave2vec feature extraction).
Consider claim 6, Makuichi teaches a method estimating emotion (abstract), the apparatus comprising:
inputting an acquired speaker identity feature and an acquired speaker speech data feature to a predetermined SER model (figure 1, input of features and speaker identity embeddings, ),
encoding the speaker identity feature and the speaker speech data feature through a speech encoder in the SER model (section 3.1.1 wav2vec feature extraction),
encoding the encoded speaker identity feature and speaker speech data feature through a disentangled feature encoder to output phonetic logits (figure 1, and section 3.1.3, disentangled speech representation and logits generated);
inputting a text feature acquired from transferred text corresponding to the speaker identity feature and the speaker speech data feature to a predetermined TER model (figure 1, text feature input into text encoder), and
encoding the text feature through a text encoder in the TER model to output a text feature logits (figure 1, text input into text encoder, section 3.2, TER generates output logits); and
inputting the output phonetic logits of the speaker and the output text logits to a predetermined RF model, and output a probability for each emotion category of the speaker (figure 1, score fusion, section 3.3 outputs fused to generate final probabilities for emotional categories.).
Makuichi does not specifically teach
outputting a phonetic feature query, a phonetic feature key, and a phonetic feature value of a speaker
outputting a text feature query, a text feature key, and a text feature value of the text feature
inputting the output phonetic feature query, phonetic feature key, and phonetic feature value of the speaker and the outputting text feature query, text feature key, and text feature value to a predetermined RF model, and output a probability for each emotion category of the speaker by applying a cross-attention mechanism.
In the same field of multimodal emotion recognition, Kahn teaches
outputting a phonetic feature query, a phonetic feature key, and a phonetic feature value of a speaker (section 3, page 3, SER outputs query, key and value vectors (Q, H and V))
outputting a text feature query, a text feature key, and a text feature value of the text feature (section 3.2 and 3.3, TER also generates query, key and value vectors (Q, H and V))
inputting the output phonetic feature query, phonetic feature key, and phonetic feature value of the speaker and the outputting text feature query, text feature key, and text feature value to a predetermined RF model, and output a probability for each emotion category of the speaker by applying a cross-attention mechanism (section 3.3-3.4, cross attention used to fuses SER and TER vectors Q, H and V to generate final output probabilities for classes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to use cross-attention and query, feature, and key values as taught by Kahn in the system of Makuichi in order to improve the accuracy of emotion classification (Kahn abstract).
Claim 7 contains similar limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 8 contains similar limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 9 contains similar limitations as claim 4 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 21, Makuichi teaches The apparatus for estimating emotion according to claim 1, wherein the speaker identity feature in the SER model processing unit is extracted from Resemblyzer (section 3.1.2, speaker identify features using Resemblyzer).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alisamir et al. (US PAP 2023/197106) teaches a similar multimodal emotion recognition system.
DOUGLAS GODBOLD
Examiner
Art Unit 2655
/DOUGLAS GODBOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655