DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 16-28 are rejected
Claims 1-15 are allowed
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-12, filed 08/14/20226, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-12, filed 08/14/20226, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 16 and 23 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference(s).
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only (claim 24 depends from both independent claims 1 and 23, hence it is in improper form). See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17, 20-23, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pare (US PUB 20180191389, hereinafter Pare) in view of Wang et al (CN114890372, EPO Machine Translation, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 16, Pare discloses a thin plate pressure attenuator (see figure 3A), comprising: a housing (e.g. an enclosing substrate 54) including a base (e.g. a base substrate 50) and an annular wall (e.g. circular sidewall), (see figure 3A); and a thin plate (e.g. an attenuation disk 46) attached to the housing and configured to vibrate, the housing and the thin plate defining a first acoustic sound cavity (e.g. an air cavity 42), (see [0029]-[0031], figure 3A).
Pare does not explicitly disclose that the thin plate vibrates according to thin plate vibration theory.
However, Wang in the same field of endeavor teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a thin plate (e.g. a vibrating thin plate 4) that vibrates according to thin plate vibration theory as set forth in page 5, [n0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a thin plate that vibrates according to thin plate vibration theory as taught by Wang in the teachings of Pare in order to achieve an optimum resonant frequency based on carefully selected structural parameters of the thin plate, and thereby further enhancing the overall performance of the device.
Regarding Claim 17, Pare as modified by Wang discloses the thin plate pressure attenuator of claim 16, wherein the base includes a printed circuited board.(e.g. a PCB 50), (see Pere, [0030], and figure 3A).
Regarding Claim 20, Pare as modified by Wang discloses the thin plate pressure attenuator of claim 16, wherein the thin plate vibrates according to thin plate vibration theory (see Wang, page 5, [n0003]).
Regarding Claim 21, Pare as modified by Wang discloses the thin plate pressure attenuator of claim 16, but fails to explicitly disclose that the thin plate is made of metal.
However, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art to make the thin plate 46 of metal material for intended use purposes, since it has been held that selection of material of a known material based on its suitability for intended purpose use is primal facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 22, Pare as modified by Wang discloses the thin plate pressure attenuator of claim 16, wherein a microphone (e.g. microphone 48) is in fluid communication with the first acoustic sound cavity (see Pere, figure 3A).
Regarding Claim 23, Pare discloses a thin plate pressure attenuator (see figure 3A), comprising: a housing (e.g. an enclosing substrate 54) defining a sound cavity (e.g. a cavity 42), a thin plate (e.g. an attenuation disk 46) attached to the housing and configured to vibrate, and a microphone (e.g. a MEMS microphone 48) coupled to the sound cavity (see [0029]-[0031], figure 3A).
Pare does not explicitly disclose that the thin plate vibrates according to thin plate vibration theory.
However, Wang in the same field of endeavor teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a thin plate (e.g. a vibrating thin plate 4) that vibrates according to thin plate vibration theory.as set forth in page 5, [n0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a thin plate that vibrates according to thin plate vibration theory as taught by Wang in the teachings of Pare in order to achieve an optimum resonant frequency based on carefully selected structural parameters of the thin plate, and thereby further enhancing the overall performance of the device.
Regarding Claim 26, Pare as modified by Wang discloses the thin plate pressure attenuator of claim 23, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the pressure inside the sound cavity is attenuated by at least 10 dB. However, it would have been obvious for any person having an ordinary skill in the art to try to configure the pressure inside the sound cavity to be attenuated by at least 10 dB if such would yield an optimum outcome, since it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding Claim 27, Pare as modified by Wang discloses the sound cavity of claim 23, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the maximum dimension of the sound cavity is less than 4.3 cm (approximately 1.69 inches). However, it would have been obvious for any person having an ordinary skill in the art to try to configure the sound cavity to have a maximum dimension less than 4.3 cm (approximately 1.69 inches) if such would yield an optimum outcome, since it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding Claim 28, Pare as modified by Wang discloses the thin plate pressure attenuator of claim 23, but fails to explicitly teach where the compliance of the thin plate is less than 1/3 the compliance of the cavity. However, it would have been obvious for any person having an ordinary skill in the art to try to configure the compliance of the thin plate as less than 1/3 the compliance of the cavity if such would yield an optimum outcome, since it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claim(s) 18-19 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pare in view of Wang as applied to Claims 16 and 23 above, and further in view of Duanmu et al (US PUB 20240151576, hereinafter Duanmu).
Regarding Claim 18, Pare as modified by Wang discloses the thin plate pressure attenuator of claim 16, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the base includes a vent hole therethrough.
However, Duanmu in the same field of endeavor teaches that it is well known in the art to provide the base (e.g. base 32) with a vent hole therethrough (e.g. vent hole 34), as set forth in [0046] and [0062], also figure 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate a vent hole in the base as taught by Duanmu in the teachings of Pare in view of Wang in order to achieve a balanced airflow and pressure equalization within the device, and thereby further enhancing the acoustic response of the device.
Regarding Claim 19, Pare as modified by Wang and Duanmu discloses the thin plate pressure attenuator of claim 16, wherein the housing includes a first vent hole (e.g. vent hole 21) therethrough (see Duanmu, figure 1).
Regarding Claim 25, Pare as modified by Wang and Duanmu discloses the thin plate pressure attenuator of claim 23 wherein the microphone is located inside the sound cavity (e.g. microphone 10 is located inside a sound cavity 80), (see Duanmu, figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:.
Claim 1 is allowed over the prior arts of record, because none of the prior arts taken singly or in combination with the other said prior arts teaches all the limitations of claim 1. For instance, the combination of the closest prior arts directed to similar subject matter of the claimed invention ‘Pare (US PUB 20180191389) and Wang et al (CN114890372)’ teaches: a microphone comprising: a housing (e.g. an enclosing substrate 54) comprising: a thin plate (e.g. an attenuation disk 46) attached to the housing and configured to vibrate according to thin plate vibration theory, the thin plate and the housing defining a first acoustic cavity (e.g. an air cavity 42), a first printed circuited board (e.g. a PCB 50) attached to the housing.
However, the combination of ‘Pare and Wang’ fails to explicitly teach or suggest the following limitations of claim 1 in combination with the other limitations of the claim: a case attached to the first printed circuit board, the first printed circuit board and the case defining a second acoustic cavity; a support structure attached to the first printed circuit board, the support structure being in the second acoustic cavity; and a membrane attached to the support structure.
Claims 2-15 are allowed based on their corresponding dependency from claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OYESOLA C OJO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695