DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/1/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected to because it should read “fixing the weapon system to the retention system” at line 12. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-26, 29-33 and 36-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,683.
Regarding claims 21-26, 29-33 and 36-37, claim 1 of the ‘683 Patent discloses all of the recited elements of these claims. It is noted that (a) the configuration claimed in the ‘683 Patent would be capable of coupling to the surfaces recited in claim 23 and (b) the first retention element recited in the ‘683 Patent would be capable of wrapping about the weapon as recited in claims 29 and 36 by placing the weapon within the closed loop.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
REJECTION BASED ON GREEN
Claim(s) 21-23, 26-27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,941,434 to Green in view of US Patent 2,176,052 to Beyer.
Regarding claim 21, Green discloses a retention system, comprising: a body (14) comprising a first surface (surface facing the held object) and a second surface (surface facing away from the held object) and defined by a perimeter wall (perimeter wall of 14 – Fig. 1); a first retention element (19A/B) comprising a first elongate body having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the first retention element is permanently coupled to a first portion of the perimeter wall (at 29, left side – Fig. 1) and the second end of the first retention element is permanently coupled to a second portion of the perimeter wall (at 29, right side – Fig. 1), and wherein the first retention element is configured to be coupled to a weapon system to maintain the weapon system in a fixed position with respect to the body (the first retention element is capable of this function, for example by wrapping around the weapon system or threading through a portion of the weapon system); a second retention element (20A/B) comprising a second elongate body and having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the second retention element is permanently coupled to a third portion of the perimeter wall (at 29, left side – Fig. 1) and the second end of the second retention element is configured to overlap a first portion of the weapon system in a retention position (the second end is capable of this function); and a third retention element (18A/B) comprising a third elongate body and having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the third retention element is permanently coupled to a fourth portion of the perimeter wall (at top of 14 in Fig. 1) and the second end of the third retention element is configured to overlap a second portion of the weapon system in the retention position (the second end is capable of this function). To the extent the permanent nature of the coupling is in doubt, Beyer discloses securing a strap to a carrier using sewing (Fig. 1 – near side). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used sewing to attach the ends of the retention elements in Green because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent strap securing method for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 22, the combination from claim 21 discloses wherein the second surface of the body is configured to be coupled to a concealable surface (the second surface is capable of coupling to a concealable surface using any known method, including adhesive and one or more straps).
Regarding claim 23, the combination from claim 21 discloses wherein the concealable surface is selected from a group consisting of: a surface of an article of clothing, a surface of an item of furniture, a surface of a vehicle, a surface of a container, and a surface of a structure (the second surface is capable of coupling to any of these surfaces).
Regarding claim 26, the combination from claim 21 discloses wherein the first retention element, the second retention element, and the third retention element are flexible straps (Green Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 27, the combination from claim 21 discloses wherein the second retention element and the third retention element are placed in the retention position with hook and loop fasteners (Green Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 29, the combination from claim 21 discloses wherein the first retention element comprises a flexible strap (Green Figs. 1-3) and is configured to be coupled to the weapon system by wrapping the flexible strap about the weapon system (Green Figs. 1-3 – the first retention element is capable of wrapping about the outer surface of the weapon system).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green and Beyer, further in view of US Design Patent D374,767 to Leach.
Regarding claim 24, the combination from claim 21 fails to disclose the claimed configuration of the retention elements. However, Leach discloses a holder that uses three aligned holding straps (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used three horizontal holding straps in the combination instead of two because the modification only involves a mere duplication of known elements having only predictable results. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Further, using three holding straps would hold the object more securely. The combination discloses wherein the first retention element is permanently coupled to the perimeter wall between the second retention element and the third retention element (the first retention element would be in the middle).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green, Beyer and Leach, further in view of US Patent 5,887,774 to Bethune.
Regarding claim 25, the combination from claim 24 fails to disclose the first retention element being shorter. However, Green notes holding a variety of objects, including water bottles (Col. 1, lines 20-23), and Bethune discloses a water bottle having a top portion and bottom portion that are larger than a central portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used the holder to carry water bottles having dimensions similar to that of Bethune because it would allow for hands-free carrying of the water bottle. In the combination, the first retention element would be secured tighter on the smaller portion of the water bottle (and therefore would be shorter) than the second and third retention elements.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green and Beyer, further in view of US Patent 8,192,336 to Jacob.
Regarding claim 28, the combination from claim 21 fails to disclose snap fasteners. However, Jacob discloses a carrier that uses snap fasteners (32) to adjustably secure a strap (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used snap fasteners to secure the retention elements because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent strap fastening element for another to obtain predictable results.
REJECTION BASED ON YOUNG
Claim(s) 30-31, 33-34 and 36-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 2003/0205595 to Young in view of Green, Beyer and Leach.
Regarding claim 30, Young discloses a system, comprising: an article of clothing (pants 50); and a retention system coupled to the article of clothing, the retention system comprising: a body (Fig. 4 – rear half of holster 11) comprising a first surface (surface facing outward in Fig. 4) and a second surface (surface facing inward in Fig. 4); and a first retention element (front half of holster 11). Young fails to disclose the claimed details of the body and retention elements. However, Green discloses a personal carrier including a body (14) comprising a first surface (surface facing the held object) and a second surface (surface facing away from the held object) and defined by a perimeter wall (perimeter wall of 14 – Fig. 1); a first retention element (19A/B) comprising a first elongate body having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the first retention element is permanently coupled to a first portion of the perimeter wall (at 29, left side – Fig. 1) and the second end of the first retention element is permanently coupled to a second portion of the perimeter wall (at 29, right side – Fig. 1), and wherein the first retention element is configured to be coupled to a weapon system to maintain the weapon system in a fixed position with respect to the body (the first retention element is capable of this function, for example by wrapping around the weapon system or threading through a portion of the weapon system); a second retention element (20A/B) comprising a second elongate body and having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the second retention element is permanently coupled to a third portion of the perimeter wall (at 29, left side – Fig. 1) and the second end of the second retention element is configured to overlap a first portion of the weapon system in a retention position (the second end is capable of this function). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used Green’s body/retention element in Young because doing so only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent holding element for another to obtain predictable results. To the extent the permanent nature of the coupling is in doubt, Beyer discloses securing a strap to a carrier using sewing (Fig. 1 – near side). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used sewing to attach the ends of the retention elements in the combination because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent strap securing method for another to obtain predictable results. The combination fails to disclose a third retention element. However, Leach discloses a holder that uses three aligned holding straps (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used three horizontal holding straps in the combination because it only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent strap holding configuration for another to obtain predictable results. The combination discloses a third retention element comprising a third elongate body and having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the third retention element is permanently coupled to a fourth portion of the perimeter wall (Green/Beyer) and the second end of the third retention element is configured to overlap a second portion of the weapon system in the retention position (the second end is capable of this function).
Regarding claim 31, the combination from claim 30 discloses wherein the first retention element is permanently coupled to the perimeter wall between the second retention element and the third retention element (the middle strap is considered the first retention element for this claim (Green/Leach), and it is permanently coupled to the perimeter wall (Beyer)).
Regarding claim 33, the combination from claim 30 discloses wherein the first retention element, the second retention element, and the third retention element are flexible straps (Green Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 34, the combination from claim 30 discloses wherein the second retention element and the third retention element are placed in the retention position with hook and loop fasteners (Green Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 36, the combination from claim 30 discloses wherein the first retention element comprises a flexible strap (Green Figs. 1-3) and is configured to be coupled to the weapon system by wrapping the flexible strap about the weapon system (Green Figs. 1-3 – the first retention element is capable of wrapping about the outer surface of the weapon system).
Regarding claim 37, the combination from claim 30 discloses wherein the article of clothing comprises a concealment feature (releasable flap in Young Fig. 2) configured to be transitioned from a first position (flap open – Young Fig. 2) in which the retention system is visible to a second position (flap closed) in which the retention system is concealed by the concealment feature.
Regarding claim 38, the combination from claim 30 discloses wherein the concealment feature comprises a first coupling element (half of zipper – Young Fig. 2) and the article of clothing comprises a second coupling element (other half of zipper – Young Fig. 2), and wherein the first coupling element and the second coupling element are configured to releasably couple a portion of the concealment feature to the article of clothing (Young Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 39, the combination from claim 30 discloses a method comprising: coupling a weapon system to a retention system (Young/Green) with a first retention element (19A/B – Green), the retention system having a body (14 – Green) comprising a first surface (surface facing the held object – Green) and a second surface (surface facing away from the held object – Green) and defined by a perimeter wall (perimeter wall of 14 – Green Fig. 1), wherein the first retention element comprises a first elongate body having a first end (one end of 19A/B – Green) permanently coupled (Beyer) to a first portion of the perimeter wall and a second end (other end of 19A/B – Green) permanently coupled (Beyer) to a second portion of the perimeter wall; fixing the weapon system to the retention system in a retention position (securing the firearm to the body) with a second retention element (20A/B – Green), the second retention element comprising a second elongate body and having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end (one end of 20A/B) of the second retention element is permanently coupled (Beyer) to a third portion of the perimeter wall and the second end of the second retention element is configured to overlap a first portion of the weapon system (the second end is capable of overlapping as claimed); and fixing the weapon system to the retention system in the retention position (securing the firearm to the body) with a third retention element (third horizontal strap – Green/Leach), the third retention element comprising a third elongate body (strap – Green) and having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end (one end of strap – Green) of the third retention element is permanently coupled (Beyer) to a fourth portion of the perimeter wall and the second end (other end of strap – Green) of the third retention element is configured to overlap a second portion of the weapon system (the second end is capable of this function as claimed).
Regarding claim 40, the combination from claim 39 discloses removing at least one of the second retention element or the third retention element from the weapon system; and removing the weapon system from the first retention element (Green Figs. 1-3 – removing the object (the weapon) from the holder).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young, Green, Beyer and Leach, further in view of US Published Application 2015/0144673 to Dahl.
Regarding claim 32, the combination from claim 31 fails to disclose the dimensions of the weapon, or the relative lengths of the straps. However, Dahl discloses a weapon which has a barrel that is relatively smaller than the trigger guard and handle portions of the gun. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used the combination to hold the gun from Dahl because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent firearm for another to obtain predictable results. In the combination, the first retention element (holding the barrel) would be shorter than the second retention element (holding the trigger guard) and the third retention element (holding the handle).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young, Green, Beyer and Leach, further in view of Jacob.
Regarding claim 35, the combination from claim 30 fails to disclose snap fasteners. However, Jacob discloses a carrier that uses snap fasteners (32) to adjustably secure a strap (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used snap fasteners to secure the retention elements because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent strap fastening element for another to obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references disclose configurations similar to that disclosed by applicant.
/SCOTT T MCNURLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734