DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action for serial number 18/792,242, Mounting Device For A Display, filed on August 1, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the partial sphere contact" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. “a flexure bracket” was not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0065800 to Bremmon.
Regarding claim 8, based on 112 rejections above, Bremmon ‘800 discloses a system (30), comprising: a mount (32) attached to a fixed structure, the mount configured to restrict translational motion; a flexure bracket (36) attached to the fixed structure and configured to permit rotational motion of the hanging object around a single axis.
Regarding claim 10, Bremmon ‘800 discloses wherein the mount includes a V-shaped groove (Fig. 1 – center groove between “44”) that accepts insertion of a partial sphere contact attached to the hanging object.
Regarding claim 11, - see 112 rejections
Regarding claim 12, Bremmon ‘800 discloses wherein the mount includes a V-shaped cutout (Fig. 1 – above “50’) and a rectangular cutout (52) configured to mate with flanges attached to the hanging object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bremmon ‘800 in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,793,903 to Dittmer.
Bremmon ‘800 fails to disclose wherein the mount includes a keyhole. Nevertheless, Dittmer ‘903 discloses a mount (104) with several keyholes (176). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hole of Bremon ‘800 to include the keyhole because one would have a motivation to provide an advantageously utilized with fastening buttons attached to flat panel displays as taught by Dittmer ‘903.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the first mounting plate and a flat plate are attached to the fixed structure with an adjustable bracket attached to the fixed structure, and the adjustable bracket is configured to permit compensatory motion of the display (Figs. 8A-C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 8,333,355 - Adjustable Display Mount
/TODD M EPPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 February 6, 2026