Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species A-1, B-1, C-1, and D-1 in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 21-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/22/2026.
Further, claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected Species A2. In regards to the applicant’s election of species A1, while the elected species A1 requires that the first current collecting electrode and the second current collecting electrode are drawn out to opposite surfaces of the battery body in the third direction, respectively, claim 4 does not recite said structure, but rather recites that the first current collecting electrode is drawn out to both surfaces of the first connection portion in the third direction and the second current collecting electrode is drawn out to both surfaces of the second connection portion in the third direction, and is therefore directed to non-elected species A2.
Further, claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected Species B2. In regards to the applicant’s election of species B1, while the elected species requires that the all solid-state battery have a length in the first direction larger than a width in the second direction, claim 6 does not recite said structure, but rather recites that the all solid-state battery has a length in the first direction smaller than a width in the second direction, and is directed to non-elected species B2.
Further, claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected Species D3. In regards to the applicant’s election of species D1, which requires that the all solid-state battery comprises neither a first ceramic layer covering the first current colleting electrode and a second ceramic layer covering the second current collecting electrode, nor a first insulating layer covering the first current electrode and a second insulating layer covering the second current collecting electrode, Claims 9-15 do not recite said limitation, but instead recite that the all-solid state battery comprises a first ceramic layer covering the first current collecting electrode and a second ceramic layer covering the second current collecting electrode, and is therefore directed towards non-elected species D2. Additionally, Claims 16-20 do not recite said limitation, but rather recite that the all solid-state battery comprises a first insulating layer covering the first current collecting electrode and a second insulating layer covering the second current collecting electrode, and are therefore directed to non-elected species D-3.
Accordingly Claims 4, 6, and 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, as discussed above, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/22/2026.
Accordingly, the elected claims to be examined are claims 1-3, 5, and 7-8.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/17/2026, 02/11/2026, 10/15/2025, and 08/01/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3 and 8 are indefinite as a result of their recitation of the language “drawn out”, where the scope of the claims and the specification does not make clear what structure is represented by this language. For the purpose of this office action, the term “drawn out” is interpreted as requiring that an element which is drawn out to a given direction has a section which extends in said direction, consistent with specification paragraph 0062, which requires that the first collecting electrode 141 in figure 1 drawn out to one surface of battery in the third direction/z direction.
Claim 5 is indefinite due to the language “wherein the all solid state battery has a length in the first direction”. This language is indefinite as the solid state battery inherently has a length in the first direction. Accordingly, it is unclear if the language of the claim is referring to this inherently present length, or another length, such as a subsection of the inherent length. For the purpose of this office action, this limitation will be understood as referring to the inherently present length.
Additionally, Claim 5 is inherent due to the language “a width in the second direction”, as the all solid state battery inherently has a width in the second direction. Accordingly, it is unclear if the language of the claim is referring to this inherently present width, or another width, such as a subsection of the inherent width. For the purpose of this office action, this limitation will be understood as referring to the inherently present width.
Additionally, Claims 2-3, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected as indefinite due to their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato (WO 2018186449 A1 with USPTO Machine translation used for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 1, Kato discloses an all solid-state battery (Page 16,” and to provide a highly reliable all-solid secondary battery.”) which comprises a battery body 10b which includes an electrode assembly (See page 17, paragraph 3 for indication that the battery body comprises electrode members 30 and 40, which together make the electrode body) having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, depicted in Kato’s figure 13 along the horizontal axis, having third and fourth surfaces which oppose each other in a second direction, which is depicted Kato’s figure 13 along the vertical axis, and having fifth and sixth surfaces which oppose each other in a third direction, depicted in Kato’s figure 13 along the normal axis, into the page.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the electrode assembly include a first margin portion disposed on the third surface of the electrode assembly, and a second margin portion disposed on the fourth surface of the electrode assembly, said structure is depicted in figure 13, where upper protective layer 65 is the first margin portion (See Page 10 final paragraph) and lower protective layer 66 is the second margin portion (See Page 11 paragraph 3), where the upper protective layer 65 is disposed directly on top of the third surface of the electrode assembly, on a current collector layer 321, and where the lower protective layer is disposed on the fourth surface of the electrode assembly, on current collector layer 322.
Additionally, Kato discloses that the electrode assembly includes a solid electrolyte layer and a cathode and an anode stacked in the second direction with the sold electrolyte layer interposed in between (Abstract, “with at least one laminated structure which comprises a first electrode member 30, a solid electrolyte layer 50 and a second electrode member 40.”, Page 12, “negative electrode active material layer 41”), which is depicted in Kato’s figure 13, where the second direction is the vertical axis of the figure, as discussed above, and where the battery body comprises a stack of active material layers 31/41, current collector layers 32/42 and solid electrolyte layers 50 (See page 17, paragraph 3).
Additionally, Kato further a first connection portion disposed on the first surface of the electrode assembly, which comprises the current collecting electrode 71 and the portions of protective layer 80 as defined by the first outer surface 81 (Page 10, “A first connection portion 91 that covers the first electrode 71 and is connected to the first electrode 71 (specifically, in contact with the first electrode 71) is provided on the first outer surface 81 of the exterior member 80”). Specifically, the first surface of the electrode assembly is the surface which the first current collecting electrode 71 is placed upon, depicted in figure 13 as being located along the first direction, that being the horizontal direction, as discussed above.
Additionally, based on the structure discussed above, the second connection portion which comprises the current collecting electrode 72 and the portions of protective layer 80 as defined by the second outer surface 82 (Page 10, “The second outer surface 82 of the exterior member 80 facing the first outer surface 81 covers the second electrode 72 and is connected to the second electrode 72”) is located on the opposite side form the first connecting portion. Specifically, the second surface of the electrode assembly is the surface which the second current collecting electrode 72 is placed upon, depicted in figure 13 as being located along the first direction, that being the horizontal direction, as discussed above.
Additionally, where discussed above the first connection portion comprises the current collecting electrode 71 and the portions of protective layer 80 as defined by the first outer surface 81 (Page 10, “A first connection portion 91 that covers the first electrode 71 and is connected to the first electrode 71 (specifically, in contact with the first electrode 71) is provided on the first outer surface 81 of the exterior member 80”), the first current collecting electrode 71 is the first current collecting electrode connected to the cathode, and the portion of the protection layer 80 defined by the first outer surface 81, as shown in figure 13, is the first protection portion disposed on the first current collecting electrode 71.
Additionally, where discussed above the second connection portion comprises the current collecting electrode 72 and the portions of protective layer 80 as defined by the second outer surface 82 (Page 10, “The second outer surface 82 of the exterior member 80 facing the first outer surface 81 covers the second electrode 72 and is connected to the second electrode 72”), the second current collecting electrode 72 is the second current collecting electrode connected to the anode, and the portion of the protection layer 80 defined by the second outer surface 82, as shown in figure 13, is the second protection portion disposed on the second current collecting electrode 72.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation that requires that the first current collecting electrode is drawn out to one surface of the first connection portion in the third direction, as discussed above, this is interpreted as requiring where the first current collecting electrode has section which extends in the third direction. As depicted in figures 13 and 5, where the first current collecting electrode 71 is placed so as to wrap around the exterior of the electrode body (Page 13, “FIG. 5 is a schematic perspective view of the obtained electrodes 71, 72 and the laminate 20 'viewed from the second electrode side, the first electrode side, the fourth surface side of the laminate”), it therefore extends in both the second direction and the third direction, and is therefore considered to be drawn out in the third direction. Additionally where the first current collecting electrode is a part of the first connection portion, the outer surface of the first current collecting electrode can be considered to be the surface of the first connection portion in the third direction which the first current collecting electrode is drawn out to.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation that requires that the second current collecting electrode is drawn out to one surface of the second connection portion in the third direction, as discussed above, this is interpreted as requiring where the second current collecting electrode has section which extends in the third direction. As depicted in figures 13 and 5, where the second current collecting electrode 72 is placed so as to wrap around the exterior of the electrode body (Page 13, “FIG. 5 is a schematic perspective view of the obtained electrodes 71, 72 and the laminate 20 'viewed from the second electrode side, the first electrode side, the fourth surface side of the laminate”), it therefore extends in both the second direction and the third direction, and is therefore considered to be drawn out in the third direction. Additionally where the second current collecting electrode 72 is a part of the first connection portion, the outer surface of the first current collecting electrode 72 can be considered to be the surface of the first connection portion in the third direction which the second current collecting electrode 72 is drawn out to.
Regarding Claim 2, Kato anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Kato discloses structure which comprises a first terminal electrode (93) connected to the first current collecting electrode (71) and a second terminal electrode 92 connected to the second current collecting electrode 72 (Page 16, “The first conductive material member 93 that penetrates the exterior member 80 and electrically connects the first electrode 71 and the first connection portion 91 and the second electrode 72 and the second connection portion 92 are electrically connected. A second conductive material member 94 is further provided.”). Additionally, as shown in Kato’s figures 13 the terminal electrodes 93 and 94 are disposed to be spaced apart from each other on the outer surface of the battery body, where the first and second current collector are drawn in the direction of the outer surface of the battery body. As discussed above, this limitation is interpreted as requiring that the first and second collectors 93 and 94 extend in a direction towards a surface of the battery body. As the collectors 93 and 94 both extend towards an outer surface of the battery body, as shown in figure 13, and are located on opposite sides of the battery body, they are therefore disposed to be spaced apart from each other on an outer surface of the battery body to which the first current collecting electrode and second current collecting electrode are drawn out.
Regarding Claim 3, Additionally, Kato discloses structure where the first current collecting electrode 71, and the second current collecting electrode 72 are drawn out to opposite surfaces of the battery body in the third direction respectively, being both drawn up and down the battery in the third direction, as can be seen in Kato’s figure 13 and 5. Here the first current collecting electrode 71 is placed so as to wrap around the exterior of the electrode body (Page 13, “FIG. 5 is a schematic perspective view of the obtained electrodes 71, 72 and the laminate 20 'viewed from the second electrode side, the first electrode side, the fourth surface side of the laminate”), it therefore extends in both the second direction and the third direction, and is therefore considered to be drawn out in both directions of the third direction’s axis. As discussed above, the same structure applies to the second current collecting electrode, with it being drawn out in both directions of the third directions axis. Accordingly, with both electrodes being drawn to the into-page direction of figure 13, and the out-of-page direction of figure 13, they are drawn out to opposite surfaces of the battery body in the third direction respectively.
Regarding Claim 7, Kato anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Kato further discloses structure where a first protection portion entirely covers the first current collecting electrode (Page 10, “A first connection portion 91 that covers the first electrode 71 and is connected to the first electrode 71 (specifically, in contact with the first electrode 71) is provided on the first outer surface 81 of the exterior member 80.”), and a second protection portion entirely covers the second current collecting electrode (Page 10, “The second outer surface 82 of the exterior member 80 facing the first outer surface 81 covers the second electrode 72 and is connected to the second electrode 72”). The protection portions entirely covering the current collecting electrodes is illustrated in Kato’s figure 13.
Regarding Claim 8, Kato anticipates the invention of Claim 7. Additionally, Kato discloses structure which comprises a first terminal electrode connected to the first current collecting electrode and a second terminal electrode connected to the second current collecting electrode (Page 16, “The first conductive material member 93 that penetrates the exterior member 80 and electrically connects the first electrode 71 and the first connection portion 91 and the second electrode 72 and the second connection portion 92 are electrically connected. A second conductive material member 94 is further provided.”). Additionally, as shown in Kato’s figures 13 and 16, the terminal electrodes 93 and 94 are disposed to be spaced apart from each other on the outer surface of the battery body, where the first and second current collector are drawn in the direction of the outer surface of the battery body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (WO 2018186449 A1 with USPTO Machine translation used for citation purposes), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 5, Kato teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth above. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the all solid state battery has a length in the first direction larger than a width in the second direction, Kato is silent in regards to said structure, where Kato does not disclose any details regarding the spatial dimensions of their solid state battery.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to try each of the relative combinations of first-direction length and second-direction length, where the lengths in the directions may be equal, may have the first direction length be greater than the second direction length, or have the first direction length be less than the second direction length, to allow for the all solid state battery to appropriately fit into any given environment, based on the needs of the user. This therefore makes obvious an arrangement of the battery where the all solid state battery has a length in the first direction larger than a width in the second direction.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725